about | support
home
 

Search Used

Tokina 12-24mm f/4 AT-X 124 AF PRO DX SD

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
72 152801 May 25, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
90% of reviewers $458.27
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.64
9.33
9.0
atx124afprodx

Specifications:
Mount availability: Canon and Nikon Digital Only*
Recommended Sensor size: APS-C Sized (23.7 X15.6mm)
CCD or CMOS sensor (w/1.5-1.6x magnification factor)
Zoom Range: 12-24mm
Maximum Aperture: F/4
Minimum Aperture: F/22
Optical Construction: 13 Elements / 11Groups
Coatings: Multi-layer Coatings
Zooming System: Rotary-type
Minimum Focus Distance: 11.8 in. (30cm)
Macro Ratio: 1:8
Number of Diaphragm Blades: 9
Filter Size: 77mm
Dimensions: 3.3 in. (84mm) X 3.5 in. (89.5mm)
Weight: 20.1 oz. (570g)
Included Accessories: BH-777 Dedicated Lens Hood
Optional Accessories: Fitted Case
Suggested List Price: $899.00


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5  next
      
gabrielgartner
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 5, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 45
Review Date: May 25, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

Pros: build, price
Cons:
color rendering

This is an outstanding lens for a budget conscience photographer. Built like a tank but not so large that it's cumbersome in the field. Accepts standard width filters (though i was told there would be vignetting without a slim polarizer, this does not seem to be the case).

My copy seems to give a slightly warm color cast to most of my photos (on a d300s) which is noticeable enough in many photos to mark my overall rating down to an average grade of 7. However, this color cast can be removed fairly easily in post--but it's still one more thing added to my workflow.


May 25, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add gabrielgartner to your Buddy List  
Betacamman
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Jun 12, 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 351
Review Date: May 24, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Build quality, sharpness
Cons:
Maybe a bit large and heavy, but not unmanagable

Only reason I sold it is because I moved to APS-H from APS-C. Quality was great, especially for the price.

May 24, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Betacamman to your Buddy List  
hokiejimbo
Offline
Buy and Sell: On

Registered: Aug 24, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 10
Review Date: May 22, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $450.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Great IQ, Great Colors, Contrast.
Cons:
AF is a tad slow... luckily at 12-24mm you don't spend much time focusing... and focus is still precise. Not for full frame! I want something this well built with this price on my 5DMKII.

This was my favorite lens for my 7D. I let a friend borrow it on a trip to Bolivia, and they were in a car accident. The vehicle flipped several times, and only 2 lenses survived - this was one of them, and the 70-200/4ISL was the other. This thing is rugged, and has been on my camera for many of my best photos. I'd recommend this over any of the other wide-angles I've tested.

May 22, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add hokiejimbo to your Buddy List  
seagrove01
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 16, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 119
Review Date: Aug 16, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Absolutely outstanding lens in my judgment! I have owned this lens since it first hit the streets and have used it for everything from newspaper work to weddings to personal. It is a solid performer in DX clothing. Absolutely stunning images out of my "vintage" D2H bodies. Brand new it costs half of what the [then] new Nikkor 12-24 f4 was costing.
Cons:



Aug 16, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add seagrove01 to your Buddy List  
r.reule
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 23, 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 23, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: the range 12-24 is perfect on a cropped camera. Colours and Sharpness are nice, including a hood
Cons:
It looks an feels like a tank, but i had an apparture problem after the garanty period what takes me a month for repair. Sometimes it isn,t fast enough. Doesnt fit to a FF body.

I had e problem with the apparture after two years, it was no garanty anymore, Tokina Netherlands fixed it for me (about 130,=) It is a well known problem with al lot of copies they told me...

Before and after that problem it is my favorite lens. I used it all the time on a canon 20D. For indoor events, sometimes i wish I had a faster 2.8 lens,most of the time I prefere al tripod with f11.

I would like to change to FF in futere, in didnt change till now because of this lens doesn't fit to Full Frame.

Il like to use this lens an I like the results i made with it,

Herewith some samples:

www.flickr.com/photos/robertreule/sets/72157625087985991/


Oct 23, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add r.reule to your Buddy List  
Snopchenko
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 18, 2010
Location: Russia
Posts: 2099
Review Date: Oct 1, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $420.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Sharpness, build quality, great range
Cons:
CA (and lots of 'em), 24mm/f4 setting not very sharp

This (and its 11-16 sister) is the best current choice for an APS-C ultrawide, at least in the Canon scope. It's sharp, it's decently fast (f/4 vs. f/4-5.6 or even f/4.5-5.6 as the Sigmas) and it's built well. Typically Tokina.

Another typical Tokina feature, though much less desirable, is the amount of chromatic aberrations. Also the lens is getting noticeably less sharp towards 24mm wide open, but it wasn't a deal breaker for me. Stopped down to about f/6.3 it was fully sharp again. The 12mm/f4 combination was excellent.

Eventually I sold it as I didn't want an ultrawide at the time and envisioned switching to 1D in the future. Now I wish it had been compatible so that I would have kept it.


Oct 1, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Snopchenko to your Buddy List  
Patricio Murphy
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 16, 2009
Location: Argentina
Posts: 0
Review Date: Sep 24, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Excellent build. Sharp, outstanding image quality, specially if you consider the price tag.
Cons:
Will vignette with standard polarizers.

Might sound too enthusiastic, but I give this lens an absolute 10.
Does this mean it's perfect? No, not at all, but it's better than you'd expect for the money. A lot better. It's built like a much more expensive lens, gives oustanding image quality.
Can't ask more. Absolutely happy with it.


Sep 24, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Patricio Murphy to your Buddy List  
fstopped
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 18, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Review Date: Mar 25, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Simple, solid, sharp -- can't imagine any better!
Cons:
i've only had this lens a week -- no negatives so far



Mar 25, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add fstopped to your Buddy List  
halaros
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 21, 2009
Location: Greece
Posts: 38
Review Date: Jan 29, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: build quality, good price/value, wharm colours,
Cons:
sharpness

A very honest choise at this focal range. It 's not an L lens but it doesn't have L price as well. I suggest it this lens

Jan 29, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add halaros to your Buddy List  
bobcita68
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 3, 2009
Location: Italy
Posts: 0
Review Date: Nov 4, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Excellent build quality, very good image quality, price
Cons:
12mm not as large as 10mm, but one can live with it

I bought this lens in Nikon mount, used in perfectly new conditions, while I was looking for a UWA lens that goes down to 10mm. Since I didn't want to pay the cost of the new Nikkor 10-24, I was considering the Sigma 10-20 f/4-5.6 and Tamron 10-24, but eventually went for the better image quality and remarkable build quality of the Tokina.
I use this lens mostly to "play" with the perspective, and for this purpose the longer minimum focal length is not really that big of a limitation (you just try to get closer to your subject).
Build quality is top-notch, on-par with professional Nikkors. In fact, this is the heaviest UWA for DX, and it feels. Barrel is made mostly of metal and both zoom and focus rings are smooth and nice to use.
Image quality is very good already wide open. I read it suffers of CA, but in my experience it is not so bad to make you turn away from it at all.


Nov 4, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add bobcita68 to your Buddy List  
baraynavab
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 21, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Review Date: Nov 1, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Amazing build, Very Sharp, Constant F/4, Great Colors, The AF/MF clutch is actually useful the way its made, Price
Cons:
None

I love this lens. I bought it used and its one of my favorite lens. I use it all the time. Its very sharp, the colors on this lens are just amazing...

Ofcourse the build quality of this lens is awesome as well. If Tokina makes lens like this I would not mind buying only Tokina Len's as my Canon alternates...my first experience with them has been great.

Here are some examples...

http://www.flickr.com/photos/saud/4062199491/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/saud/4059784080/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/saud/4037665547/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/saud/4037339821/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/saud/4038519592/


Nov 1, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add baraynavab to your Buddy List  
erick_C
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 10, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 100
Review Date: Oct 14, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: sharp, (almost) bomb-proof construction, controlled barrel distortion (at the widest angle), intuitive MF/AF switch
Cons:
hood

I owned this lens very briefly, I ended up selling it to help fund another lens purchase and I MISS IT. It was one of the best UWA lenses I've used having never used the Nikon variant and will definitely buy it again.

The lens is sharp. At 12mm, you will see some very visible barrel distortion but it's so predictable that it can easily be fixed through software. At first, I was skeptical of the MF/AF clutch but after using it, it's a smart and intuitive implementation.

The construction, as many others have pointed out, is phenomenal. In my opinion, it's built to last you a very very long time. Kudos to Tokina.

As for my one caveat, the hood leaves much to be desired. When reveresed, it tends to pop off once in a while. Not too often, but once in a while that it becomes annoying.

Also, on a side note: IMHO, Tokina has one of the best designed rear caps. Better than the Nikon one. Positive engagement, good coverate (to help protect more of your lens' mount), and, unlike the other third party brands, you don't have to line it up with a dot.


Oct 14, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add erick_C to your Buddy List  
JRomie
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 12, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 84
Review Date: Jul 31, 2009 Recommend? no | Price paid: $469.00 | Rating: 6 

Pros: Beautifully built, constant wide open aperture, sharp when focused manually.
Cons:
Autofocus WAY soft on my copy

My overall 6 rating is acknowledgement that my lens probably was not a representative copy; however, with this thought aside, I'd probably give it a four or 5, as it really didn't meet my expectations.

With all I've heard about this lens, I believe I got a bad copy and my mistake was not fully testing it before the 15-day return period (lesson learned!). I could take very sharp photos with it, but the AF was way soft -- out of focus alltogether. I sent it in for recalibration under the warranty period and was told it met factory specifications. I can't agree. See my post in the Canon forum on 3/19/09 (http://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/topic/752268/0?keyword=Tokina#6856670). I was very unimpressed with my copy, and with Tokina's service as well.

I've owned Tokina before and I think they're good lenses, but this one was not for me. I recently picked up a Canon EF-S 10-22 and am VERY pleased with it in every respect (though you can't beat Tokina's build). Very happy with the Canon.


Jul 31, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add JRomie to your Buddy List  
maddog76
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 11, 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 23, 2009 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

Pros: Built like a tank. Excellent all round performance. IQ. Price
Cons:
None

Have been using this lens, for almost a year now, and it still never fails to impress me.

The build qualitity is great, good robust feel, well finished, silent and smooth operation. Better build IMHO than any other wide angle lens out there.

I have used this lens in all weather and light conditions, no problem with hunting or CA. The IQ has been consistantly good.

If you are thinking of getting a wide angle, please do not dismiss this lens. Yes some have a wider field of view, but generally the 2mm is not missed. I have not had any situation where it has not been wide enough for my uses.


Jul 23, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add maddog76 to your Buddy List  
dhphoto
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 15, 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9680
Review Date: May 12, 2009 Recommend? no | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 5 

Pros: Build quality, clutch for manual focusing, price
Cons:
Average image quality, hideous chromatic abberations at 12mm (even at f8-f9), innacurate focusing

Not nearly as good as I was expecting. Indeed I even sent it back for calibration and testing as I didn't think it could be supposed to be this average. The lab said it was 'within tolerances'. Not impressed.

Nicely built and relatively cheap and the push-pull manual focusing works well, but not properly sharp at any focal length and with simply awful chromatic abberations at 12mm, even at the best apertures.

A big disappointment.


May 12, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews View gallery Add dhphoto to your Buddy List  
rtse
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 3, 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 0
Review Date: May 3, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Price, build quality, handling
Cons:
Corner softness at 12mm

Bought this lens this week and used it on 2 outings. Lens sharpness in the centre is great but does get soft towards the corners especially wide open.

Great perspective at 12mm and is solidly built. On my second trip, I was drenched by a wave and the lens was soaked but survived without a problem.

See examples.

<a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/rtse/3493605570/">Example 1</a>


May 3, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add rtse to your Buddy List  




Tokina 12-24mm f/4 AT-X 124 AF PRO DX SD

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
72 152801 May 25, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
90% of reviewers $458.27
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.64
9.33
9.0
atx124afprodx


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5  next