about | support
home
 

Search Used

Sigma 17-70mm F2.8-4.5 DC MACRO

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
45 156219 Jun 6, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
98% of reviewers $366.50
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.95
9.02
8.5
137_small

Specifications:
Lens Construction: 15 Elements in 12 Groups
Angle of View: 72.4 - 20.2 degrees (Sigma SD format)
Number of Diaphragm Blades: 7 Blades
Minimum Aperture: F22
Minimum Focusing Distance: 20cm/7.9 in.
Maximum Magnification: 1:2.3
Filter Size Diameter: 72mm
Dimensions Diameter: 79mm X Length 82.5mm
3.1 in. X 3.2 in.
Weight: 455g/16.0 oz


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3  next
          
martinsmith
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 17, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3
Review Date: May 21, 2008 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Just about everything.
Cons:
I can't take it off the camera

I've already reviewed this lens, but it still impresses me. I cannot say enough good things about it. Well built and good IQ. I'm shooting portraits a lot with it. I do have the 50mm F1.8, but tend to leave this one on as it has the edge on the fifty in IQ.

The image tone does have the Sigma warmth about it.


May 21, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add martinsmith to your Buddy List  
pfreeze
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 17, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Apr 17, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $389.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Excellent IQ; Fairly fast focus; Good macro capability. Very good prime lens.
Cons:
Required calibration and new logic board right out of the box.

I have had this lens for just about 1 year now. Initially, I thought the image quality was great at times, not so great at others. I had infrequent problems with my Canon 20D NOT recognizing the lens, The display would seize up when the lens was not recognized.

I finally sent it in for warranty repair and boy what a difference. The logic board was replaced and the lens was recalibrated. I can see the difference in the quality of the images. I expected this good a prime lens when I first bought it, but I'm glad I'm able to experience it now.

For my price range, this lens does very well. I'm very much a parental novice (kids sports events, nature, etc), so I've only taken maybe a few thousand pics with the lens. But I've been very happy with it, especially after the warranty service.

For future Sigma purchases, I will probably only go with the EX series just to get the longer warranty. I'm a little gun-shy about buying another non-EX lens after this experience.

I didn't rate it higher only because it required repairs out of the box. I would've given it a "9" otherwise.


Apr 17, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add pfreeze to your Buddy List  
Jeremy Conoley
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 27, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 112
Review Date: Apr 16, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Solid quality, useful range, good color and contrast
Cons:
"Digital" lens-made for 1.6 crop factor (not a downside at all really just something to be cognizant of when purchasing)

This lens has been my walkabout lens since I purchased it. I put it in the same category as the XTI kit lens, but nowhere near the same class. In all the aspects that matter to me it out performs the kit lens hands down. This plus my 70-300 IS USM is probably one of the best combos for non L glass I've seen. I will be sad to lose it when I change bodies, even more sad to spend the $$ on a 24-70 and lose that 7mm on the wide end for double the money.

The only "negative" I can think of for this lens is it's not futureproof for when I move to a different sensor size. I should have read the descripton a little better, but I don't regret the purchase at all.


Apr 16, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Jeremy Conoley to your Buddy List  
fb1903
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 14, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 14, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $299.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent build quality Very sharp across entire focal range Macro is very nice Good usable range for crop sensor D-SLRs
Cons:
Not a USM motor

Bought this lens a few days ago, so not much experience with it yet (will update later), but I must say that I am favorably impressed.

Having read many reviews of this lens, I must admit that I was a bit concerned that I may get a 'dud' that is plagued by front/back focusing or that this simply would not be what I expected. Not the case at all... my copy is a real beauty! No focusing issues of any kind.

I won't go into tremendous technical detail as this is not my fortay, but I will say this... the pictures that I took in my backyard last night are super! I did compare it to my Canon 'nifty-fifty' and the results were virtually indistinguishable (and I was pixel peeping).

The Sigma motor is quite a bit quieter than the 50, that's for sure. This isn't saying much I suppose, but it isn't like the Sigma is grinding around either - compared to my other USM lenses, is it louder? Clearly 'yes' - but the USM is almost silent!

I just can't imagine that it would be a big issue for anyone in most situations. Now, would I try to a snap a pic of John McEnroe (McNasty) at the height of his serve from my courtside seat at Wimbledon in 1981... perhaps not. But then again how many of us operate under these limitations and even if we do, how often...

After significant searching, pondering and agonizing about all sorts of potential lenses, I ended up with this lens... and I am ecstatic. As with any lens choice, there is always a series of tradeoffs that must be made... budget... brightness... focal length... build quality... manufacturer (lens snobs!) to mention only a few. I can tell you, I think my decision was a good one (for me). Here's why:

Focal Range: 17-70mm (~28-112mm on 1.6x crop) covers much of what most people use most of the time. If you have more specific needs (super wide/extra long), this may require further consideration, but for me, 90% of the time this does the trick - the other 10% for me is long range soccer photos of the kiddies. When I compared other lenses that reach only to 50mm, the additional 20mm (actually ~30mm on 1.6x crop)made a difference. Here's why... for someone like me that is looking to travel light (2 lenses) this bridges all or most of the gap between lens #1 and longer telephotos that tend to start at 70 or 100 and move out to 300 or so. If lens #1 only takes you out out to 50mm, the gap can be a bit too wide - there's a lot of territory between 50 and 100 (I have a Canon 100-300). That 50mm gap turns into 80mm on crop... that's not a gap... that's a chasm!! Some may say, just move your feet... I say "no thanks, I'll just zoom".

Price: How can you beat $300 for a good quality lens that performs as well as this one does? Not saying anything about quality, but compare price to Canon 17-55 f/2.8, Canon 17-40L, or even a Tamron 17-50 f/2.8. Can't beat this deal!

Bright: True, the max aperature decreases when zoomed, but having the 2.8 for indoors is nice. Would like it to cover the whole range, but that's one of the tradeoffs that we all know and (don't) love. Here's where you can use the 'move your feet arguement to your favor - move your feet, get some additional max aperature. Max aperature at 35mm is a very usable f/3.5.

Macro: I'm not a huge macro guy, but this lens may change all of that! The macro capabilities of this lens is pretty amazing. Nice to have it in you arsenal when you are hiking down a path (or in your backyard) and something catches your eye... not essential for me, but it is really is nice to have the capability. The beauty of macro photography is that your lot line doesn't need to abutt Grand Teton National Park to get out and take photos... you can have a good time in any back yard... that's what it is all about isn't it.

So in closing, I hope you enjoyed my review and perhaps have gained some additional insight into the uses and benefits of this truly wonderful lens.

Now let's all get out there and enjoy our hobby... make it a good day!


Mar 14, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add fb1903 to your Buddy List  
jimbo67
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 10, 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 10, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp at both wide and zoom ends, good low light operation, fast AF.
Cons:
AF is a little louder than USM...but not much.

IQ on this lens is incredible. Sigma included very nice hood, that Canon would charge 60 dollars for...what's up with that??
I will never part with this lens, sharp sharp sharp, fast AF even in low light, the motor is a little louder than USM, but it's bearable...comparable IQ to my 70-200mm F4 L that costs 200 dollars more. I have 2 Sigma lenses and they are both built solid, maybe I got lucky...but there doesn't seem to be a QC issue that some people speak of.


Mar 10, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jimbo67 to your Buddy List  
yohay
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 9, 2008
Location: Israel
Posts: 1
Review Date: Mar 9, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: not bad preformance. also the bulid quality is good. it's has a very nice macro to such a lens (1:2.3). pretty cheap.
Cons:
soft in the borders.

well. i think it's could be a good choice for many of the beginers.
Because it's chaep, has nice range, pretty good optical.
the focos isn't bad but not as good as USM/HSM.
the great thing in this lens that it provied not bad aprutre+basic macro+good range-anything to the beginnig.
and all this in good price.
it's isn't has 2.8 all the range like tameron 17-50 or sigma 18-50, it's isn't as sharp as nikom 18-135 or canon 17-85 (that extremely sharp in the middle) but it's a very good lens to stat with.


Mar 9, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add yohay to your Buddy List  
dhphoto
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 15, 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 10053
Review Date: Feb 29, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $430.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good range, decent build, included hood, good general sharpness & contrast
Cons:
A bit slow except at 17mm, extends a lot for a 70mm lens, wide front element means a big hood, a bit patchy - mine has a weak spot around 35mm

This is a much better lens than I was expecting. I have owned (& sold) two previous Sigmas, the 18-200 non OS and 18-125 and both were dreadful - couldn't focus, poor in the corners, low contrast. I have been looking for a good smallish general purpose lens (hate the term 'walkaround').

This lens does fit that bill. It is consistently sharp and contrasty, focuses accurately and has a very useful range. Mine has a dodgy patch around 35mm where it loses some sharpness but I can live with it.

It's good to see it come with a hood (come on Canon).

All in all this is the best of it's type that I have found for a crop camera. 24-105L's and 24-70L's are vastly better lenses but they are just too long to provide a proper wideangle on a 1.6 crop. My Tamron 17-50 is probably slightly sharper, but I do value the extra 20mm so I will probably sell it.

All in all, very good.


Feb 29, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews View gallery Add dhphoto to your Buddy List  
The Creedence
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 25, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 24
Review Date: Feb 29, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $380.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Useful crop sensor range, sharp, decent build quality, min. focus distance
Cons:
Vignetting, some CA, kind of slow on tele end, creep (but there is a lock)

A really great general walk around lens. For the price I'd say its an excellent "first lens," after the kit. Few problems, but overall has far more positives.

Feb 29, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add The Creedence to your Buddy List  
c00kiem0nster
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 13, 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 165
Review Date: Feb 25, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp; excellent saturation, colors and contrast; excellent built quality; internal focussing; very comfortable zoom and focus wheel; extremely low level of distortions, even at 17mm
Cons:
soft @ 17mm @ 2,8; very little vignetting when wide open, but when stopped down that problem is no longer existent

all in all i could not be happier with my choice. i looked for a replacement for my 400D kit lens (the 18-55mm) and found this lens. it proved very reliable both in excellent and poor lighting conditions, other than the kit lens.
if you look for a good replacement for your kit lens, consider this lens. you do not have to pay a lot of money to get an excellent lens, this baby right here is definately a bargain!


Feb 25, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add c00kiem0nster to your Buddy List  
forestmage
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 9, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 986
Review Date: Feb 22, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp throughout the zoom range. 1.2 Macro ability at 70mm. Faster at the long end than much of the competition (f4.5). Good build and quick AF with HSM.
Cons:
Wish it were 2.8 throughout the zoom range.

The Sigma 17-70 is quite the piece of glass for the price. The sharpness rivals the competition and sometimes tops it. Very convenient range to go along with that excellent IQ and 1.23 macro ability at the tele end comes in handy when you don't have your dedicated macro lens about or don't have time to change lenses. The added HSM and improved lens cap design are most welcome to an already excellent piece of kit. If the range and the 2.8-4.5 works for you, then you can't go wrong with this lens.

Feb 22, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add forestmage to your Buddy List  
mufutau
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 19, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 564
Review Date: Jan 21, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $390.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very good focal length for walkaround lens.
Cons:
Wish it was constant f/2.8 throughout the ranges of 17-70mm. The f/2.8 dissappear very quickly.

I got this lens (Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5) few years ago, the same week it was released for my Canon 20D and it was on my camera for many years as my walkaround lens. But there are times I needed a constant f/2.8 for low light shooting, the f/2.8 on this lens I think goes up to only 20-22mm and after that it was free fall aperture range. So, I bought a Tamron 17.50mm f/2.8 as soon as it was released because of the constant f/2.8 but then I wish the Tamron was with a longer reach of 70mm like Sigma, I missed this on the focal range on Tamron, but then I moved the Sigma 17-70mm to my Canon XTi/400D which is my backup camera because I cannot bring myself up to selling it.
But all in all I still love the Sigma. Nice color, sharp and everyhting. I highly recommend this lens.


Jan 21, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mufutau to your Buddy List  
patrickj
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 15, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Review Date: Jan 18, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $279.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Feels well constructed, sharp, quiet
Cons:
Focusing rings turns with AF, but you get used to it.

Just got this yesterday for my 20D, from what I can tell so far it will make a wonderful everyday lens.

Jan 18, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add patrickj to your Buddy List  
Keithcws
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 2, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Review Date: Dec 8, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $389.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharpness, fast aperture (f/2.8) at 17mm, fast focus speed, lightness and compactness, good range, close focus ability, feels sturdy and well built...
Cons:
Not many... The focus motor is kind of loud, the focus ring rotates during auto-focus, if I was being picky I would say lack of USM/HSM and weather-proofing, but for this price it is hard to complain...

I have been using this lens for a little over a month now, and I love it. It has become my normal walk-around lens, and spends a good amount of time on my camera (Canon Rebel XTi). The lens produces very sharp images wide open at both ends of the spectrum (17mm and 70mm), and gets even sharper stopped down one stop. I own two canon 'L' series lenses (70-200mm f/4L and 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6) and this lens holds its own against them in sharpness. The lens also produces a pleasing "bokeh" or out-of-focus area that is outside of the depth of field. The ability to focus very closely is nice, but don't let the name fool you... it will never replace a dedicated macro lens. I have used the lens for everything from portraits to landscapes; I am completely happy with it. If you are considering purchasing one of the Canon 1.6 crop bodies (30D, 40D, Rebel XT, Rebel XTi) then I would recommend purchasing the body only and picking this lens up to replace the kit lens that usually comes with them.

Dec 8, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Keithcws to your Buddy List  
Peter twohey
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 21, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 118
Review Date: Oct 31, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $390.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Price,build and performance.
Cons:
None for the money.

This has been my walkabout lens for the last 6 weeks and I have been astonished with its performance.Image quality is first rate and really sharp and crisp through the range.I had worried about f/4.5 at the long end but I have worried needlessly.This lens really delivers and is brilliant value for money.I have primes at 20,35 and50mm and this lens runs them close----thats how good this lens is!

Oct 31, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Peter twohey to your Buddy List  
martinsmith
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 17, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3
Review Date: Oct 4, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp, good AF, well built, zoom lock
Cons:
None for the price.

This is my walkabout lens. It's as sharp as my 50mm F1.8ii with almost the IQ of my 70-200 F/4 L. I bought it as a replacement for the Canon kit lens and it really makes the kit lens look silly.

I use it mainly for landscapes, but also use it for candids and even portraits when my 50mm isn't wide enough.

The AF is not slow, but it isn't USM and does make a high pitched whine, though by no means unacceptable. It would be nice if the aperture was a fixed 2.8 but this would effect the price.


Oct 4, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add martinsmith to your Buddy List  
Clovermead
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 9, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 675
Review Date: Sep 6, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $370.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image quality of course! Nice build for the price. Zoom lock. 1:2 Macro at long end of tele.
Cons:
Distortion at 17mm. Soft wide open at 17mm.

This lens really surprised me. I originally purchased it for my then 350D as I was rather underwhelmed by the performance and build of my Canon 17-85 IS lens. I had my doubts about Sigma, worried a bit about their QC but this lens has been nothing but superb on my Canon crop bodies. I took it out for a spin on the new 40D last weekend and it delivered the same great results. I honestly have no complaints when it comes to this lens. Great color, sharp results, good build, pretty quiet AF though it's not HSM.

Sep 6, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Clovermead to your Buddy List  

   



Sigma 17-70mm F2.8-4.5 DC MACRO

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
45 156219 Jun 6, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
98% of reviewers $366.50
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.95
9.02
8.5
137_small


Page:  1 · 2 · 3  next