about | support
home
 

Search Used

Sigma 30mm F1.4 EX DC HSM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
79 161906 Feb 16, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
91% of reviewers $386.98
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.13
8.88
8.9
113_small

Specifications:
Lens Construction: 7 Elements in 7 Groups
Angle of View: 45 degrees (SD format)
Number of Diaphragm Blades: 8 Blades
Minimum Aperture: F16
Minimum Focusing Distance: 40cm / 15.7 inches
Maximum Magnification: 1:10.4
Filter Size Diameter: 62mm
Lens Hood: DiaPetal Hood
Dimensions Diameter: 75.5mm X Length 59mm
2.97 inches x 2.3 inches
Weight: 430g/15.2 oz.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5  next
          
ImNOTpermanent
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 13, 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Review Date: Feb 16, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $285.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: beautiful bokeh, sharp, great in low light and at night.
Cons:
in very low light the lens hunts a bit, ive had to switch over to manual from time to time.

it's seriously an amazing lens, and at $285 it's an incredible bargain. i got lucky finding this deal and am very very pleased with its' performance. night portrait shots came out beautiful with incredible background blur. i tried taking a sample picture of a glass in a dimly lit bar and it hunted endlessly, that's been the only downside. it works flawlessly in anything above the dimmest of places and ive had not a single autofocus issue with it. i took my canon 50/1.4 off and i'll probably be leaving this on there exclusively as the 50 just didn't have enough of the kind of images i like to take, in frame. this is perfect. i'd highly recommend this lens to anyone on a budget. buydig/b&h and adorama consistently have deals on this lens and they usually can be had for under 300. you won't be disappointed.

Feb 16, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ImNOTpermanent to your Buddy List  
montymoe
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 8, 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 13, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $460.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharpness, colour, contrast
Cons:
Misses its focus periodically

After humming and hawing for a couple of years I finally went out and bought a 50mm for my 7D. I figured that it would be an awkward focal length on a crop body and, after spending a year with it, I found that I was right. The shots were good but the field of view caused me problems. For Canon crop cameras there isn't much out there in the "normal" range, especially if you like a fast lens and don't want to spend $1,000+. I had already owned the Canon 28 1.8 which was a POS that I sold so that really just left the Sigma 30 1.4. Naturally I'd read about the focusing issues and, having had a couple of Sigmas already, I was very familiar with them. Still, I decided to take a chance and buy a used one. My copy came with a warranty and it had already been in for calibration. The 7D allows for micro adjustments to focusing which I played with and to my relief I found that the lens was already bang on in that department. Compared with my 50 1.4 centre sharpness is better on the Sigma and MUCH better in the corners. The saturation and contrast are also miles ahead on the Sigma. There really is no comparison. The only complaint I have about it is that it misses its focus in low light probably one in every 4 or 5 shots. That could be a problem since low light is where this thing is going to be used a lot. We'll see but knowing this I've been getting in the habit of shooting a few extra frames just to be sure I got the shot.

Feb 13, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add montymoe to your Buddy List  
florenz
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 23, 2012
Location: Singapore
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 23, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $580.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: stunningly sharp from from f2.8-f5.6, fast focusing, manual focus override, light weight, not so expensive as L, sweet bokeh
Cons:
soft at f1.4, bit pricey for a third party lens,

http://www.flickr.com/photos/31247034@N05/6207455488/in/set-72157627616581774/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/31247034@N05/6713610325/in/photostream/
Im nervous of buying this lens because of bad reviews from the internet due to focusing issues, I cant afford the L primes so I'd tried my luck with this lens, but to my suprise focusing of my copy was spot on with my 60D and I was very happy with the IQ


Feb 23, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add florenz to your Buddy List  
shroud72
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 11, 2011
Location: Spain
Posts: 77
Review Date: Nov 18, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $430.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: amazingly sharp, f/1.4, perfect for crop sensor, Full time manual focus (FTM), build quality, AF Speed
Cons:
bad online reviews for chart shooters, a bit expensive, MFD is a bit long compared to other lenses in class

Iīve had this lens for 6 weeks and have taken it on a few trips and I have been impressed with the results.
30mm is the perfect walk around lens for my shooting style and the f/1.4 lets me get photos that I would either need a tripod for or would miss.
All of the bad reviews on the net about how unsharp the corners are and its only good in the center I found are a bit overblown.
First when shooting at f/1.4 who cares about the corners? They will be blurred into bokeh anyways at short distances. At longer distances I havenīt noticed any problems with my corners at f/1.4 (example photos below). When you stop down to f/8 to shoot landscapes the corners are much better and will yield good results.
Build quality is solid, feels good and heavy in the hand and even feels more solid then my Canon EF 100mm L macro lens.
For all of the negative reviews out there I guess there are some bad copies, however my first copy was perfect and sharp at f/1.4 while my Canon 50mm f/1.8 I need to stop down to f/2.0 to get good results.
If you need a lens in the 28-35mm range there really arenīt that many options for Canon. The 35L is a great lens but is three times the price of this lens. The Samyang 35mm can keep up with this lens and even beat it in the corners but its only manual focus.
I chose this over a Canon EF 28 f/1.8 which was even more expensive and I didnīt look back. After shooting with the Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 I knew that I needed something a bit wider and faster and for me the Sigma 30mm f/1.4 is the perfect choice.

Sample Photos

http://flic.kr/p/au6XDi
Nightime 3 shot panoramic at f/1.4 no tripod used

http://flic.kr/p/aA2WkL
Landscape at f/8

http://flic.kr/p/aC3tkd
Another Landscape test at f/8

http://flic.kr/p/axAoMu
Bokeh test (MFD at f/1.4)

http://flic.kr/p/aBqcrK
Another Bokeh test at f/1.4

http://flic.kr/p/aA6f7r
Shooting inside dark church no flash

http://flic.kr/p/aBgmNp
Another inside church shot

http://flic.kr/p/asSGSe
First shot with lens (at f/1.4) and cropped 50%

The Minimum Focus Distance (MFD) is a bit long compared to other lenses in its class but this lens is so sharp and the resolution is so good that you can crop photos and still retain a solid image.
Highly recommended!


Nov 18, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add shroud72 to your Buddy List  
L.J.G.
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 12, 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 36
Review Date: Sep 29, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $430.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, good colours, quick focus, good build quality, small light and unobrusive, great DOF
Cons:
None that I have found yet

I was very apprehensive buying another Sigma lens after the hit and miss success with my first Sigma. But after trying this one I was sold on it. My copy has none of the focus or softness issues I have experienced and that is so often complained about. I brought it as a wider lens mainly for indoor use, rather than my 50mm f1.4 Canon (which is a bit too long indoors). Surprisingly it is as sharp as my Canon 50mm. It is such a surprise packet I have all but put my zooms away since getting it. It has put a bit of spark back into my photography and really is a fun lens to use.

Sep 29, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add L.J.G. to your Buddy List  
Bizcut1
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 18, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 402
Review Date: Sep 24, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $375.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, fast to focus and fabulous DOF possibilities
Cons:
None that I can see - it does what it does very well

A superb low-light tool, the Sigma 30mm 1.4 provides so many creative options. Crisp images across the spectrum, including 1.4. I have shot so many great indoor scenes with this lens. Great isolation of subjects in the lower F-range and the Bokeh is very consistent and attractive. Build is superior to the Canon lenses in this range, except for the L's of course, and the HSM focus is bang-on. Low-light is where this lens lives and it is very comfortable in the neighborhood. Have heard of some focusing issues with some people, but mine came out of the box crisp and sharp and hasn't slowed down since. For the price and everything that comes with the lens this is just an outstanding value. A keeper.

Sep 24, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Bizcut1 to your Buddy List  
Aputure
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 10, 2010
Location: China
Posts: 4
Review Date: Mar 8, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: fast, sharp (if you get a good copy), excellent build quality, good colors
Cons:
heavy, bulky, soft (if you get a bad copy), expensive

This has been my most used lens, by far, for the past several years. It lives on my camera, and captures just about everything I need it to. The only thing I wish were different: it was sharper stopped down, and it was smaller and lighter. Anyways, a great lens, highly recommended. If you want to read more, here is my detailed review here: http://www.aputure.com/blog/2011/03/08/sigma-30mm-f1-4-lens-review-with-samples/

Mar 8, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Aputure to your Buddy List  
djradavies
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 17, 2010
Location: Philippines
Posts: 0
Review Date: Nov 17, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Price, sharp wide open, fast
Cons:
satin finish

I just got this lens and all I can say is that is it very sharp wide open. I actually tried 3 copies of the lens and I was able to find one that was very sharp.


Nov 17, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add djradavies to your Buddy List  
BipBip
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 29, 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 29, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fantastic lens for the price
Cons:
It should have been a canon ;)

I was very cautious at first before buying another brand than Canon. I've owned a 35 f2, and found it too noisy. It was also front focusing a bit. I've been waiting and hoping one day Canon would release a new version (ef-s ?) of it. But nothing came. When I finally decided it was time to get a better medium range (eq 50mm) lens,I was tempted to exchange it with the Canon 28 1.8, but when I compared it to the Sigma, there was no contest: The Sigma was always spot on, perfect sharpness, while the 28 1.8 was a bit hit and miss.
Also the look of the Bokeh is great. Actually I'm not really convinced the 35 1.4 L can be that much better. With all the reviews I read about the focusing problems of the Sigma, I must tell I'm very surprised (and pleased) it is so good !!


Oct 29, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add BipBip to your Buddy List  
EdwinCanon
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 3, 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 22, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: It's got a solid build and is fast and quiet. It also has a beautiful bokeh (love the f/1.4)
Cons:
It's crop only, sometimes a little CA

I also have the EF 50mm f/1.4 on my EOS 7D (crop 1.6) but was looking for a lens that gave me the 50mm equivalent on my 7D. I also had limited myself to a budget of max €500.
After reading lots of reviews and testing this lens in the store I was sold.

I haven't had a moment of remorse because it's a great lens, fast, quiet, focussing is no problem. I have my camera with my at all times and now have the EF 24-105mm f/4 and this lens with me.

Here are a few example photos I shot, it's a set on Flickr so it grows over time, and fast because I use this lens almost everyday:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/vannuil/tags/sigma30mmf14exdchsm/


Oct 22, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add EdwinCanon to your Buddy List  
sethny
Offline
[ X ]

Registered: Sep 6, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 361
Review Date: Oct 18, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: good at 2.8 and up.
Cons:
AF not good at all: sporadic, jumps. nikon mount makes no sense being the 35 1.8DX much better and cheaper

Sigma likes to advertise absurd apertures , like we don't know how to see that they are not really 1.4 or 1.8 but 2.8 at the most. This lens is a joke wide open. Good only at 2.8 and up.

Nikon gave to Sigma a first "wake-up call" with the cheaper and much better 35mm 1.8DX. I wish Canon will do the same.

Sigma should work harder on the AF imitation (and reverse engineering) instead of marketing "joke" aperture at absurd prices.

and call this lens a 2.8 please.

I shoot Nikon and I had to return this lens immediately to get the 35 DX , which is a real "1.8" with a stable AF (for much less money)

please excuse the "tone" of this review but I believe that Sigma should really "review" their marketing, price their second grade products as such and don't play the "numbers" with us. If not they should expect reviews like this one.





Oct 18, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add sethny to your Buddy List  
Neekon
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 2, 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 98
Review Date: Oct 7, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Smooth bookeh (ƒ/1.4) · Sharp · Solid build · Price · Fast
Cons:
Hood · Focus-ring · Not everyone can get it for free like me

I got this with my Nikon D300 when I bought it for literally no cash.

I really love this lens in so many aspects –
it's fast
it's sharp
it's dreamy bookeh
in low-light conditions

However, the hood is crap – it's got a huge plastic-feel to it plus that it falls off very easily after several times screwed on/off.
The focus-ring isn't that bad, but neither that good.

9.0 overall:
As of a 30mm ƒ/1.4 – you can't expect more to almost no money.

8.0 build quality:
It feels solid and metalish, however, the hood is a big negative aspect in my opinion.

10.0 price rating:
For the money, you'll be very happy and surprised!

Highly recommended for a semi-pro Nikon-body!

/Johan

Sample shots taken by myself:

Action:
http://i54.tinypic.com/16a748y.jpg

Portrait (moving):
http://i56.tinypic.com/2wcpc7t.jpg


Oct 7, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Neekon to your Buddy List  
Matt Kerby
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Jun 9, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 511
Review Date: Sep 29, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $439.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Fast, sharp, accurate AF, build, Bokeh, IQ....30mm@1.4
Cons:
MF ring isn't great....Wish the MFD was closer

I've owned a few 35L's, they're great lenses, that's for sure...I've also owned and really enjoyed the Canon 28/1.8. But I have to say, this little 30mm has as great IQ, as good as the 35L when shooting wide open, the center is VERY sharp. Stopped down the L wins (mostly because of corner sharpness) But the truth is I shoot this lens from 1.4 to f2 pretty much exclusively so corner sharpness means almost nothing.

This lens is a step up from the EF 28/1.8......With the 1.4 aperture and the extra aperture blade it smokes the 28 when it comes to bokeh and matches or exceeds it in sharpness.

Canon USM is better than Sigma HSM, but if you can just be patient and learn how to use the HSM it's very accurate and sometimes quicker than the Canon.

I also own the Sigma 50mm/1.4.....I consider these two brothers, same creamy bokeh, AF feels the same and they are both sharp at 1.4....

For the price, there is no better standard prime for the 1.6 cropped sensors.


Sep 29, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Matt Kerby to your Buddy List  
amesbah
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 19, 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 12
Review Date: Sep 10, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very solid build, fast AF and sharp.
Cons:
None at this point.

I've spent the past two years with a Canon 24-70L and 100-400L, both great and sadly sending my expectations on lenses a little high. With prices so high and my use being only casual, I decided I really didnt need L glass. To be honest, when reviewing my images I always favoured the fast shots taken with the 50 1.4 I used to own. So I've recently bought this Sigma 30 1.4.

At this price, I'm staggered at the quality of this lens. Rock solid body with a very smooth focus mechanism. Excellent focus accuracy and as sharp as the 24-70.

This is now my primary lens and as humble as it is, I'm getting the pictures I really want. A prime convert you might say.

Highly recommended.


Sep 10, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add amesbah to your Buddy List  
Ulan
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 14, 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 124
Review Date: Aug 6, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Nicely built, relatively fast AF
Cons:
soft

The lens is quite well built, nice feeling and easy to handle. Also elegant with its hood. I had some fears about the precision of its AF, but I am lucky to have a good copy. Image quality is not that exceptionnal and I am a little disappointed. There seems to be a lack of contrast, images are not crispy, yet usable. Softness until 2.8, but even at smaller apertures, it's not great. My Canon 17-55 zoom is far better in comparison. Maybe I am not able to work properly without IS, but then, why do I get better results with the prime Canon 60 mm ?

Aug 6, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Ulan to your Buddy List  
asamimasa
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 28, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 199
Review Date: Aug 2, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Includes hood and pouch, focuses quickly, produces pretty good images
Cons:
For crop cameras only

I got mine used, and I was lucky I didn't run into the focusing issue that some users have gotten. I am very satisfied with the quality of this lens. If only it were full-frame compatible

Aug 2, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add asamimasa to your Buddy List  

   



Sigma 30mm F1.4 EX DC HSM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
79 161906 Feb 16, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
91% of reviewers $386.98
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.13
8.88
8.9
113_small


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5  next