about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
313 490199 Sep 26, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $350.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.91
9.44
9.4
ef85mmf_18usm_1_

Specifications:
A highly practical medium telephoto lens with superb delineation and portability. Images are sharp and clear at all apertures. Through computer simulations, the lens has been designed to give beautiful background blur. Since the front lens group does not rotate during focusing special filter effects are not affected.


 


Page:  10 · 11 · 12 · 13 · 14 · 15 · 16 · 17 · 18 · 19 · 20>  next
          
Johno
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 26, 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 70
Review Date: Mar 14, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Lovely Bokeh, Nice size & weight.
Cons:
None

I use mainly L and Zeiss primes on full frame. This lens holds its own. Brilliant value for money. Get one.

Mar 14, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Johno to your Buddy List  
stev315
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 22, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Review Date: Mar 13, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $335.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything
Cons:
Nothing

My first non-L Series Canon lens. This is not the consumer lens that will remind you why you spent all that money on premium glass. Sans the red ring, the only difference is the smaller size, weight, and price.

Mar 13, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add stev315 to your Buddy List  
juberisk2
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 16, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 406
Review Date: Mar 6, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $320.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: very good at 1.8, sharp at 2.8 and beyond, good value, relatively small, fast clip on hood, 58mm filters
Cons:
can't reverse hood

I recently purchased the 100mm macro, so this lens now falls in between my 50mm and my 100mm. I initially felt this would make my 85 a bit redundant and thus unnecessary, but then I realized.....I don't care. I'm not selling this lens; it's fun, compact, and the image quality is outstanding.

Mar 6, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add juberisk2 to your Buddy List  
canonlight
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Feb 26, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 42
Review Date: Feb 27, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very good sharpness wide open and excellent by f2.2, Beautiful bokeh, Nice build, Ring USM and FTM, AF quiet and fast, Colors and saturation very good.
Cons:
CA wide open, HOOD NOT INCLUDED (my gripe with Canon).
Feb 27, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add canonlight to your Buddy List  
dimitris77
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 28, 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 535
Review Date: Feb 27, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast, sharp, cheap.
Cons:
It doesnt come with a hood. Canon could give you a $5 piece of plastic with a lense.

What can i say about this lense?Its focuses fast and picture quality is amazing. Bokeh is amazing and colours are very nice too. Small and light you can go unnoticed shooting people. Extremely cheap and a bargain for the quality you get. Its excellent and i dont see why someone would go for the 1.2 version besides even better bokeh.

Feb 27, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dimitris77 to your Buddy List  
frasergjb
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 12, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6
Review Date: Feb 10, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very sharp and frankly hard to find fault.
Cons:
None

This lens is a revelation and perfoms well even wide open. Thoroughly recommended for full frame 5D digital.

Feb 10, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add frasergjb to your Buddy List  
Andi Dietrich
Offline
[ X ]

Registered: Nov 12, 2005
Location: Bahamas
Posts: 3801
Review Date: Feb 7, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent image quality, sharp, good feel, price for quality
Cons:
Wide open some CA and vignetting, hood not included, would like to go closer with it sometimes

Canon, thats the quality I expect from you!

I' m not very happy with Canon lens quality in general and use Zeiss lenses when I have the opportunity. But this Canon lens works very good, compact, AF is accurate most of the times and Image quality is very good, Bokeh is nice, sharpness is 1A, lightwight.

Wide open there is some CA and vignetting, whats kind of normal. Both disappears stopped down to f 2,5-4,5.

I love to use it on my 5D as I know I can trust it.


Feb 7, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Andi Dietrich to your Buddy List  
incdigital
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 2, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 226
Review Date: Jan 31, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $329.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Soild, Compact, Sharp, Quick focus on 5d, Nice 135 1.8 on 20D, Value Value
Cons:
Some CA but that can be fixed when im doing raw conversions

What a bargain. Wish i would have gotten this lens sooner. Very versatile lens when used on FF / Crop combo.

Jan 31, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add incdigital to your Buddy List  
DonSnyder
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 16, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 28
Review Date: Jan 30, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: light, sharp, good build quality, fast focus..
Cons:
a little soft below f2.2



Jan 30, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add DonSnyder to your Buddy List  
dave chilvers
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 11, 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1691
Review Date: Jan 21, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: You won`t be able to fault this little Gem. Size and weight per performance is 10/10
Cons:
None

I`m not going into depth with this report. This lens will put the smile on your face, period and leave your bank balance intact. This is a portrait version of the 135f2 IMHO.

Jan 21, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dave chilvers to your Buddy List  
raytrek
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 26, 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 14, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: fast, silent, bokeh
Cons:
a little bit soft @1.8

Just bought this lens yesterday.tried some shots at different Apertature. a little bit of soft @1.8, but acceptable. For portrait, is good enough. staring from 2.2, becomes very sharp.
good buy if you are interested in portrait. bokeh is very nice.


Jan 14, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add raytrek to your Buddy List  
gwhitegeog
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 16, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4
Review Date: Jan 13, 2006 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Superb optical performance - in many ways, almost up to L series standard. Bargain price (even at full 'book price'). One of Canon's absolute best. Very fast focusing, lightweight and good overall handling
Cons:
After 6 months of use, I can't say that the slightly wobbly front element that I reported before has been a problem. Otherwise, nothing.

This is an update to my previous report. I have had superb results with this lens on my EOS 5D. Being a full frame sensor camera, there is obviously no crop factor, so this 85mm behaves as an 85mm. I have had excellent results, even when used close to maximum aperture. On a recent travel assignment to historic Bruges (Belgium), the lens was an ideal for candid and medium-crop shots and for picking out architectural details. Even on the 5D, there was no evidence of CA: f2.0 was still quite usable and f4.0 pin sharp. There is nothing else to say really, other than to remind you that this becomes a 135mm f1.8 equivalent on the 10D, 20D, 350D, etc...!

Jan 13, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add gwhitegeog to your Buddy List  
avuroski
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Nov 3, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 252
Review Date: Jan 13, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Speed, Sharpness, Bokeh, Focus
Cons:
if you've only used zooms, you'll have a learning curve

This is simply an outstanding lens. I had my doubts about buying a prime given the new technology in zooms, but after using this a few times, I couldn't imagine selling it. Incredibly fast focusing and great low-light behavior. The Bokeh is the best I have ever seen - it really makes a difference that I had not understood before. I use this with the Rebel XT as a portrait lens, and I think it's much better than the 50mm. It's true that, indoors, you have to keep a distance from your subject, but that's usually a good thing. And it gives you the extra reach for details. Build quality is much better than the 50 1.4 - the thing is built like a tank. Mine is sharp wide open, though your focal plane is so narrow there, that you have to work to keep the focus spot on. I use this and my 10-22 exclusively, and have been thrilled with both. Eventually I may move up to the 24-105 IS for 3x the price, but for now, I'm perfectly happy.

Jan 13, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add avuroski to your Buddy List  
aaron5875
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 2, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Review Date: Jan 2, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $356.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness. Bokeh. Price.
Cons:
None

I'll echo what every other review has said. This lens is excellent and I'm still trying to equal my photos to the sharpness of this lens. Highly recommended.

Jan 2, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add aaron5875 to your Buddy List  
Thomas Kern
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 29, 2004
Location: Austria
Posts: 294
Review Date: Jan 1, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: cheap, fast AF, sharp, compact, light
Cons:
dull contrast/colors

i bought it primarly to shoot indoor sport
the AF is at least as fast as my 70-200L 2.8, though the colors aren't as good.
it is sharp from f2.2, a tad soft wide open but still very usable.

the build is something i can really get used to it after using a 70-200 2.8 or a 300 2.8. its very light and compact on my 1D2.
the only real bummer beside the colors is that canon doesn't include a hood. unfortunately those aren't cheap either :/

i gave it an 8 only because colors can be better, its too soft wide open and the hood is missing. then again, the price-performance-ratio is very high, you can always go with the 85L if you wanna get a great 85mm with stunning colors and sharpness

tested equipment: 20D/1D2 - compared to 70-200L 2.8, 24-70 2.8, 100 2.0
tested environment: indoor sport, portraits


Jan 1, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Thomas Kern to your Buddy List  
brendo234
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 15, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 24
Review Date: Dec 28, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Small, light and VERY sharp. Quick & silent focusing. Great lens.
Cons:
None yet

I own the Canon 70-200 f/4 and use that primarily for outdoor sports photography. I needed a faster lens for indoor/low-light sports photos and I didn't want to spend the $1200 for the 70-200 f/2.8 IS (if anyone has one they'd like to give to me, send me a message) so instead of forking out 12-hundo, I spent $300 and got a fast lens that works great indoors, and has turned out to be quite a nice portrait lens as well.

I love all of my Canon lenses.


Dec 28, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add brendo234 to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
313 490199 Sep 26, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $350.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.91
9.44
9.4
ef85mmf_18usm_1_


Page:  10 · 11 · 12 · 13 · 14 · 15 · 16 · 17 · 18 · 19 · 20>  next