about | support
home
 

Search Used

Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 EX DG APO MACRO HSM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
40 93754 May 24, 2011
Recommended By Average Price
65% of reviewers $790.48
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.24
8.81
7.8
145_small_1_

Specifications:
Focal Length: 70-200mm
Minimum Aperture: F22
Lens Construction: 18 Elements in 15 Groups
Angle of View: 34.3 - 12.3 degrees
Number of Diaphragm Blades: 9 Blades
Minimum Focusing Distance: 100cm/39.4 in.
Maximum Magnification: 1:3.5
Filter Size: 77mm
Dimensions Diameter: 86.6mm X Length 184.4mm
3.4 in. X 7.3 in.
Weight: 1,380g/48.7 oz.
Corresponding AF Mounts: SIGMA, CANON, NIKON (D)



 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3  next
          
Brendan Rouse
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 20, 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 194
Review Date: Aug 17, 2008 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: price, build, feel
Cons:
soft wide open

Sent this back for calibration numerous times and still came back soft.
I paid for f2.8, I expect to be able to use it.
Sigma need better quality control

Positive notes would be the excellent feel and build quality

It just doesn't cut the mustard for me


Aug 17, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Brendan Rouse to your Buddy List  
MailmanNZ
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 13, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 164
Review Date: Jul 1, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: f2.8, cost, build, image quality.
Cons:
Doesnt have OS!

Ive had this lense for a couple years now, originally purchased and first used in November 2006 and captured some great shots late on Winters day on the 11th of November!

This is my main "action" lense, which has enough leeway to allow me to reach out and capture people who are unaware Im photographing them.

Loving f2.8, havent noticed images are soft but there you go!

When coupled with Sigma's 1.4 extender this camera becomes a 80-280mm lense, and with this combination I captured possibly one of my best ever photos;

http://www.tikitour.net/2007/march/avalon/f18a1.jpg

Anyway, this is a fantastic lense which you can capture the same images you would with either Canon or Nikon equivalent lenses for a fraction of their costs.

Highly recommended.

Mailman


Jul 1, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add MailmanNZ to your Buddy List  
Britman
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 5, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1
Review Date: Jun 22, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Build, Price, Macro, Lens collar, works well with 1.4x, Quiet, fast focusing.
Cons:
Soft at f/2.8.

It's really a shame this lens is soft at f2.8, I was hoping for a little more. I did a test comparison along side my Sigma 120-300mm f/2.8, and the 120-300 is far sharper at the 2.8. But as stated here, it's OK at f/4 and above. If you never really go as low as f/4 I'd recommend, if using Canon, that you get the 70-200mm f/4 L.

Yes I'm a little disappointed but will be keeping it, for the time being, as it's still a cracking lens. The macro for me works really well as does the HSM focusing.

Come is a really good case too with shoulder strap.


Jun 22, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Britman to your Buddy List  
simonp83
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 29, 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 35
Review Date: Jun 15, 2008 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: A good, solid lense at f4 and above.
Cons:
Soft wide open, not acceptable till f4.0. Dust on one of the lens elements inside.

Review is for the new Mk2 Macro version.

Chose this lense over the more expensive Nikkor, definately a little disappointed and would have rather of gone for the more expensive Nikkor if i knew the lense was going to be soft at f2.8, which is the main thing i wanted from the lens. The lense is built solidly and performs pretty good as a 70-200mm f4 lense but wouldn't use it as an f2.8 lense with how soft it is.

Selling as soon as i can and paying the extra for the Nikkor.

Camera used on is a D300.


Jun 15, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add simonp83 to your Buddy List  
georgefun99
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 22, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 340
Review Date: May 5, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $799.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Great build quality, tripod ring, case, price. Gets less attention/snide remarks than the white Canon L.
Cons:
Seriously front focusing (confirmed with two 40D's and one 5D), not useable until f5.6 or 6.3, and that's after one trip into Sigma for calibration. Decent results with manual focus, but that takes time and is difficult on a 40D. Optics appear to be equal or less sharp compared to the original version I bought 3 years ago (non-DG). Gets less attention/respect than the white Canon L.

I really wanted to post a positive review, but Sigma Service apparently doesn't seem to know how to calibrate this lens very well. Works the same on 3 bodies, and a rented Canon 70-200 2.8 and also Canon 200mm 2.8L focus perfectly on all 3 bodies I tested this lens on.

This lens is on it's way back into Sigma for it's second calibration, maybe they will fix it correctly this time, since I'm sending a copy of this review along with others here that say about the same thing.

I am happy for the people that got a working copy the first time, make me hopeful I will some good use at some point.


May 5, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add georgefun99 to your Buddy List  
Kingfishphoto
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Nov 26, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 6819
Review Date: Apr 28, 2008 Recommend? no | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Well built, tripod ring, case, price.
Cons:
Auto focus off at all focal lengths and lens openings. Focus test showed actual focus was about 7/8 to one inch, towards camera body. Manual focus confirmes lens is quite usable at all lens openings, diffraction at small openings, as expected. Several bodies used for test, results were the same. As an owner of 4 other Sigma lenses, this lens is very dissapointing, especially compared to an earlier Sigma 70-210 F2.8 , that i had owned. I took a chance, based on experience, and did not believe other post-i lost. Lens was returned to B & H Photo, for refund. If purchased in Canon EOS mount- it probably will have to go back to Sigma for calibration.



Apr 28, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Kingfishphoto to your Buddy List  
MichaelBarkley
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 17, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 351
Review Date: Mar 14, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: fast HSM, f/2.8, amazing bokeh, fabulous build quality, smooth operation.
Cons:
none :)

Review for the new II version:

Wow. Thats my initial response to this lens!

I tried this in Jessops, and I was blown away by its handling, and I was initially going to buy the 150mm f/2.8 to save me money and get the absolute best optics, but I shelled out the extra cash to have a lens I could practically leave on my camera!

This has been amazingly sharp, and produces beautiful images. It separates the subject from the background in that way you see in professional photographs! The bokeh is stunning!

CA is pretty low, and IQ is brilliant! This is an absolute gem, it also has a fabulous working distance, capable of 1:3.3 macro, which for its type is pretty good going!

I am using this on a Nikon D80, and I won't look back. There is an alternative to Nikon/Canon glass, and that is Sigma. I love Sigma!

This is the perfect compliment to the 24-70mm f/2.8 Sigma and my 12-24mm f/4 Tokina. I am in love with these Smile Remember the poor man pays twice, do yourself a favour and buy this if you are considering a portrait lens, it is the mutt's chubbs.

Mike


Mar 14, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add MichaelBarkley to your Buddy List  
Carlos Garcia
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 16, 2007
Location: Mexico
Posts: 0
Review Date: Nov 17, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Cheap, fast and silent focus, beautiful colors, texture and black body.
Cons:
Heavy. You will need a bag and a monopod all the time. The front cover is a joke.

This is a fantastic lens. I have the Sigma Converters 1.4x and 2x, with acceptable results. The HSM is similar to the USM of Canon. The texture and black body are beautiful, specially with my Canon 40D and BG-E2N. If you don't want lost your pants with the Canon versión, the Sigma is a good option.

Nov 17, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Carlos Garcia to your Buddy List  
FishHouse
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 2, 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1
Review Date: Nov 7, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp, good colors, fast autofocus, f/2.8, focus distance 1m
Cons:
a bit heavy and no IS, sometimes a bit noisy when autofocussing

This is an very good lens, I have never had any problems with it. It's very fast, maybe not as fast as canon's usm but it comes close, and the colors, contrast and bokeh are beautiful.
A very big plus is the closest focus distance of 1 meter, which makes it a good close-up lens (not macro). It's built like a tank and comes with the tripod mount, lens cap and storage box.
The only thing I really miss with this lens is IS, but the price makes up for that.


Nov 7, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add FishHouse to your Buddy List  
spentomuch
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 3, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 525
Review Date: Oct 4, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $825.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: 2.8 fixed, fast, sharp, not white, has a tripod collar included, cheaper, but not build cheap. IT's a WINNER
Cons:
none really so far

They shoud spilt the reviews, one for canon, and one for nikon.
the nikon version seems to have some heat problems, but the canon version not so much.
have had mine for 5 months now with no problems.have made about 65,000 shots so far.
tack sharp from 2.8-22 great in low light, turn up the iso, shoot at 2.8 and get good pic's even in bad light!
I also use the sigma x 1.4,and those are just as sharp
this lens has paid for itself many many times + I use it for some portraits and wildlife- with (x2.0),- -I love this lens! -- And yes i have shot the very good canon 70-200 2.8L
PROS- the thing is dead fast and looks great.- $300.00 less than canon 2.8
It (included lens hood, carry case, and tripod collar) something canon doesn't.
CONS -front cap ,I use a canon 77mm front cap. $3.50 cheap fix Smile

Save yourself some money and get the Sigma. You won't be sorry.


Oct 4, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add spentomuch to your Buddy List  
likiman
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 11, 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 0
Review Date: Sep 11, 2007 Recommend? no | Price paid: $850.00 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: sharp when it works...
Cons:
it just simply does perform consistently...unreliable

was happy to ge this lens. i knew it would have to be calibrated, not a problem. but the problem was even after calibration this lens would just not focus properly. sigma gave me a new lens...same thing...they gave me another new lens, same thing. finally they gave me a 4TH LENS and the manual focus ring does not work. the distance ring was unbelieveably tight, and the focus ring would spin, but the scale would not move...go figure.

stay far away from this lens or expect repairs and calibrations. yes i said calibrationS. i even had a lens calibrated, took some shots with the tech beside me. i noticed the shots were getting worse and worse AFTER CALIBRATION. the tech and i went back in to check the calibration and IT WAS NOT EVEN ON THE SCALE.

this is the biggest problem, the lens is totally unreliable. i shoot a lot sports so i would notice this more than someone who casually uses this lens. maybe you'll be lucky and get good one, but take one look at the ratings and you'll see the old lens is a far better lens then the newer one. very very unreliable and inconsistent, if your shots are important and you shoot more quality than quantity, this lens will hurt you and this is not the lens for you.

it just seems to not be able to focus properly. manually it is fine, but i think sigma needs to take a look at their chips and whether they believe it or not, there is defintely an issue with this lens.


Sep 11, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add likiman to your Buddy List  
BenoitLAFAURIE
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 21, 2006
Location: France
Posts: 3
Review Date: Aug 21, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: By mistake, I have posted my review of this Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 EX DG APO Macro HSM lens in the Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 EX APO IF HSM lens' section.
Cons:
By mistake, I have posted my review of this Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 EX DG APO Macro HSM lens in the Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 EX APO IF HSM lens' section.

By mistake, I have posted my review of this Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 EX DG APO Macro HSM lens in the Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 EX APO IF HSM lens' section.

Aug 21, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add BenoitLAFAURIE to your Buddy List  
CurtB
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Oct 11, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 79
Review Date: Aug 21, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $839.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: As shot the lens was sharp
Cons:
.Problem with the auto cocus question about build quality

was taking photos at the Los Angeles Tofu Festival , rather hot or least 90 degrees. I took 4 shots while in the shade ,put the lens back in my bag with the camera. About fifteen minutes later I took both out of my bag and the lens would not focus. I could hear a whirring as the camera tried to focus the lens. dead huh, I came home to prepare to send the lens back to Sigma , took one more look at the lens and it started to operate again.
I called Sigma and reported what I had read about this lens on Fm and they acted like they had never heard of this.As of now the lens is on its way to NY Sigma for repair or replacement. This particular lens was purchased at ADORAMA . This is my second lens to be shipped back for repairs, I dropped the other one. No fault of theirs


Aug 21, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add CurtB to your Buddy List  
Caet49
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 6, 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 13
Review Date: Aug 18, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Overall performance, Build Quality, Finish, colour - weight/handling "nice balance" Tripod holder etc. Its a great tool when pared with a 24-70 mm lense.
Cons:
none

Superb performer. Overall im realy happy with this produkt. I also owen a 24-70 mm EX DG lense and whit thise 2 lenses ind my bag im ready to go out all day and snap away.

Barcalona with it smal an narrow streets an big open walking streets is in many ways a perfect place to test a lense like the 70-200mm. For portraits its really nice - with crips colour and a fair amount of sharpness all the way down from 2.8 to 22. At the moment this is the lense i use on my camera "a old 10D from Canon" The camera is not bag at all but those have a history of beeing bad in darkness - some times i hunt with this lense but that has more to do with my camerabody than it has with the lense.

Its build like a Toyota avensis - strong,dualible and not that big of a weight - i can easly have it on me for hours and lying in my domke bag it fits perfectly for a hole day on the streets in Barcalona.

Surly there is a Canon F.4 70-200 that allso is a superb lense but with the speed of this lense the slight weight difference is no problem at all.
two phumbs up to Sigma on making a superb performer !


Aug 18, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Caet49 to your Buddy List  
ghamden
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 10, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 119
Review Date: Aug 9, 2007 Recommend? | Price paid: $800.00

 
Pros: None
Cons:
Temperatue sensitive will lock up when you least expect it

I have purchased two of these lens from different suppliers both seemed to be dead out of the box but if you wait an hour or so(must be heat from shipping after they cool down) they seemed to start working but image quality is not great
Talked to sigma tech said to return to supplier may be an issue with this new version they are researching

Its a shame i used the older version on a canon it was a very impresive lens hopefully they will get it fixed i can't see paying 1700.00 for nikkor.


Apparently this lens is heat sensitive tolerances must be very close
I recall when i talked to Tech Support they were interested in Temperature's when lens stopped functioning.....


Aug 9, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ghamden to your Buddy List  
ghamden
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 10, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 119
Review Date: Aug 8, 2007 Recommend? no | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: At this time i have no postive
Cons:
Two lens from different suppliers dead out of box

I have purchased two of theses new macro lens ??
From differnet suppliers both were dead out of box if you let them sit for a while they would start to function
Contacted Sigma told me to return them to supplier possible
manufacturing defect

Seems to be a tolernce issue hast from shipping causes lens to lock up but even after lens cools down quality of images are very lacking

I would hold off until all bugs are ironed out.


Aug 8, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ghamden to your Buddy List  

   



Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 EX DG APO MACRO HSM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
40 93754 May 24, 2011
Recommended By Average Price
65% of reviewers $790.48
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.24
8.81
7.8
145_small_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3  next