about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED VR AF-S

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
44 109827 May 30, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $500.60
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.28
8.98
8.9
70-300vr

Specifications:
4.3x, 70-300mm telephoto zoom (picture angle, when used with Nikon DX format digital SLRs is equivalent to a 105-450mm on a 35mm format SLR)

The VRII minimizes camera shake by offering the equivalent of a shutter speed 4 stops faster. Normal and Active modes are available

Two ED glass elements

The SWM enables fast and quiet autofocusing, and smooth switching between autofocus and manual operation

Two focus modes are available M/A and M

The IF design provides a constant lens length and eliminates rotation of the front lens element, facilitating the use of circular polarizing filters

Nine-blade rounded diaphragm opening


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 
      
matyst
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 26, 2008
Location: N/A
Posts: 0
Review Date: Apr 30, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp, fast focusing, decent build, good bokeh, VR
Cons:
None for the price

The person who gave this glass a rating of '3' below must have got a defective lens or does not know what he is talking about. This lens is very good, very sharp throughout the range apart from the last 30mm on the long end (but sharpness is good enough even there). Can be handheld easily thanks to VR. Much better than Canon counterpart which I also used to own.


Apr 30, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add matyst to your Buddy List  
nybo
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 12, 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 349
Review Date: Apr 29, 2008 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 3 

Pros: Not many
Cons:
Not sharp > F8, poor colour, high price.

Just got my 70-300 mm lens, after a lot of resarch, and reading the reviews here. I do not agree in many of the comments, my lens is not sharp > F8, and that is a big problem, and the colur gives my many problems. Use it on a D70. I'm going to try to handle it back, and go for a 180 mm.

Apr 29, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add nybo to your Buddy List  
traveler
Offline

Registered: Jan 8, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 3419
Review Date: Feb 3, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $369.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Nice weight for travel Decent build for the price Excellent bokeh Very high resolution stopped down to f8 and smaller
Cons:
Not F2.8

For the price this lens is simply a steal. It is decently built. While it's not a 70-200 f2.8vr it is by NO means a cheap or loose build. It is a good balance and has good contrast for a sub $1000 lens. As long as you are in decent light, and don't have a big problem stopping it down to f8 (f11 is even better) it makes for a great travel long lens or for walk around wildlife potential. Even with the VR I find that unless I am careful in my composition I can lose some resolution on the shot so it can be wise to take a few shots if possible at a given time. When you nail it the resolution can be stunning at f8-f11. I can see tiny detail on subjects more than half a block away. It is worth every penny especially considering how affordable it is.

Feb 3, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add traveler to your Buddy List  
Benjamin Bergm
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 13, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Nov 13, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $340.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Sharpness, performance on digital sensors, lack of chromatic aberrations, color reproduction, fast autofocus.
Cons:
Price (if bought new), f/ increased to 4.5 from last revision.

This lens has been very good to me since I bought it. I'm a beginning photographer, so take my comments with a grain of salt.

First the bad: The build quality is good, but doesn't exceed price point. The price is a touch high if you buy it new, but if you're careful you can already find deals for 340-450 on ebay and craigslist. The aperture has increased from 4 to 4.5 since the last generation, and in low light that can be a painful difference. But if you're shooting in low light most of the time, you want the f/2.8 anyway. And at 300 it's a little soft, though on a DX camera you aren't going to see much degradation.

The good: Very fast autofocus compared to the last 70-300, excellent range for a DX camera. (105-450) Little to no chromatic aberration at both ends and everywhere between, but I'm not sure how it holds up on a full size camera sensor. The VR works wonderfully, the optics are top notch (for this price range) and it gives us amateurs something good to work with in the telephoto range. Got a few more bucks, go for the 2.8. I've never heard a bad thing about it. But for the rest of us, and for soccer moms everywhere... this is the lens to bring to the game. Seems sharpest at f/7.1 to f/8, but it still performs superbly at 4.5-5.6.


Nov 13, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Benjamin Bergm to your Buddy List  
PJ Fish
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 24, 2006
Location: Denmark
Posts: 18
Review Date: Nov 3, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Incredible good value for money.The positive list is super !
Cons:
None so far(weather sealing perhaps?lol*) perhaps not so strong made?

This zoom is 99,78 % as good and sharp as the large 70-200 f2,8 and on par with the old non afs 80-200 f2,8 need i say more?
This must be Nikons best known secret at the moment;paired with all the benefits you can ask for and more= SWM fast motor,ED glass,VR 2 and alike.
Its very good in almost all aspects and i use it for assigments daily.


Nov 3, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add PJ Fish to your Buddy List  
Bill Schneider
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 23, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 17
Review Date: Aug 20, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $580.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: No ifs,ands or buts... For the price, excellent quality and fast.
Cons:

It might take time to get it but it's worth every penny.
It even takes great close-ups. Nothing negative to say.


Aug 20, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Bill Schneider to your Buddy List  
vivekanand
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 17, 2007
Location: India
Posts: 0
Review Date: Aug 17, 2007 Recommend? | Price paid: $600.00

Pros: sharp images thoughtout the focul length, very fast focusing, excellent optical quality, reasonably priced. very good bokeh. light weight, VR allows to take picture in low sutterspeed and helps a lot in shooting dim light
Cons:
toooo much plastic lens

I bought this lens two week back. I found it very accurate and focusing is extremely fast. The silent motor is an advantage. The bokeh is pretty good even at 100 mm. the vr allows to shoot the maximum telephoto end ie.300 with low shutter speed. A very good quality product for a low price. Worth every dime.

Aug 17, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add vivekanand to your Buddy List  
vivekanand
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 17, 2007
Location: India
Posts: 0
Review Date: Aug 17, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: silent motor, excellent sharpness throughout the focal length, very fast focusing, reasonably priced, light weight, vr works wonders
Cons:
fully plastic

i bought this from the local dealer. The results were amazing. very good bokeh even at 100mm. The images were sharp throughout the focal length. The lens focuses fast and is accurate. very good value for money

Aug 17, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add vivekanand to your Buddy List  
Ruben Silva
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 19, 2007
Location: Argentina
Posts: 50
Review Date: Jul 19, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Superb optical performance at 70mm, and great thru 200mm very good from 200 to 300 mm VR works incredible well excellent for the range, VR allows hand held at 300mm perfectly well fast focusing, Silent motor
Cons:
too much plastic lens luminosity at 300 mm, F5.6

I love this lens, I can use it hand held even in very compromised lighting conditions, thanks to its VR technology.
The optics are great.in the range of 70-100mm has a beautiful bookeh and sharpness for portraits. Great lens for photo-hunting, it is hard to miss your target with 300mm hand held which at 1.5x is like holding a telescope of 450mm.. The VR is magic,, you can leave the tripod at home. It has quite plastic feel (for the bucks) *but* it is also lightweight because of that.
The lens has a hood, and it calls the attention a lot...
I am very glad to have this lens, and I would buy it again!


Jul 19, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Ruben Silva to your Buddy List  
Chris Joubert
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 2, 2007
Location: South Africa
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 3, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: VR works well. Sharp at the right apertures between 70~200mm. Excellent with flash (shooting weddings, e.g. couple at altar or at reception).
Cons:
Not very sharp at 300mm or just outside the 'right' apertures.

I do think a 10 rating for this lens is excessive. It is an excellent lens for the price, but it is not without flaws as a 10 rating would indicate. I did find it extremely sharp up to 200mm with flash.

Jul 3, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Chris Joubert to your Buddy List  
Jerry Rose
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 31, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jun 19, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $499.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp throughout the zoom range, quick and accurate focus, low distortions, and the VR feature is soooo nice. Solid but reasonably light weight plastic build - a trade off, but lens is in no way lacking durability.
Cons:
Slight purple fringing when the sun is behind the subject.

I bought the 70-300 VR as my primary walk around lens. I don't shoot many buildings, but prefer scenery, sunrise/sunsets, and most of all birding. Given the type of photos I take, there is no detectable distortion in my photos. I did consider the 70-200 VR but in pre-purchase tests, found this lens was just as sharp and a whole lot lighter. It may be plastic, but the lens is solid, tight and perfectly balanced on my D80 body. Sure it could be built better, but only at a huge weight penalty. For my purposes, the lens is nearly perfect and the build is easily a 10.

The smooth creamy bokeh was a surprise bonus. I thought I was going to be giving up on some of that when I passed on the 2.8 aperature. When I open it up, the subject is in clear crisp focus and the background is so smooth that there is no distracting detail.

The VR feature is fantastic. As good as it is, I did improve on my great keeper rate by shooting in doubles. Usually both shots are perfect, but at least one is always spot on.

I've read that this lens can be soft at full zoom. But my copy is just as sharp at 300mm as it is anywhere else. (And I am picky about sharpness.) Get one ... you will love it too!


Jun 19, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Jerry Rose to your Buddy List  
dave chilvers
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 11, 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1691
Review Date: Jun 11, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Speed of focus, balance, focal range on D200
Cons:
Nothing so far

I just love this lens and the reach i get on the d200. I can tell you that I`ve got the Canon equivalent and this lens leaves the Canon in the dust. Nice bokeh and colour balance. I would normally have said that at the price the lens is superb but to be quite honest if the price was the same as my canon 70-200Is I would still be more than happy. I`ve taken some good images with the Canon 70-200 and the 2.8 is very handy but the copy I have of this Nikon is on par IQ wise. I`m fairly new to Nikon so maybe this is a good copy and I`m sure the excellent chip in the D200 is helping to make the images so good and real life looking but even so this is a super lens that is well made. Looking through the viewfinder you get the feeling that the VR is not quite the match for the Canon but the results at slow shutter speeds say that it is as good.

Jun 11, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dave chilvers to your Buddy List  




Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED VR AF-S

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
44 109827 May 30, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $500.60
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.28
8.98
8.9
70-300vr


Page:  1 · 2 · 3