about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EOS Rebel XT (350D)

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
72 54368 Nov 11, 2011
Recommended By Average Price
96% of reviewers $724.27
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.60
8.89
8.8
rebel_xt

Specifications:
For convenience, ease of use and no-compromise SLR performance, look no further than the EOS Digital Rebel XT. Featuring Canon's Digital Trinity - an 8.0 Megapixel CMOS sensor, Canon's own DIGIC II Image Processor and compatibility with over 50 EF Lenses-the new Digital Rebel XT has an all new lightweight and compact body, improved performance across the board and the easiest operation in its class, simplifying complex tasks and ensuring the perfect shot every time. With intuitive simplicity, powerful performance and unprecedented affordability, the Rebel XT is the EOS digital camera for everyone.

--------------

* High-performance digital SLR with 8.0 Megapixel CMOS Sensor and DIGIC II Image Processor
* Smallest and lightest EOS Digital SLR to date (as of February 2005)
* Fast 3 frames-per-second shooting with a 14 frame burst and 0.2 second startup time
* High-speed, Wide-area 7-point AF with superimposed focusing points
* User-selectable metering patterns, AF modes, custom functions and flash exposure compensation
* Direct Print support with PictBridge compatible printers
* USB 2.0 Hi-Speed interface for quick downloads
* Compatible with more than 50 EF and EF-S Lenses and most EOS System accessories including EX-series Speedlites and a dedicated Battery Grip


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5  next
       †††
Jo Gallagher
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 26, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3
Review Date: Feb 26, 2007 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 5 

Pros: Good image quality, fairly light, quiet shutter sound.
Cons:
Horrifyingly small grip, really bad plastic, scratches easily, tiny screen, lack of wheel, poor flash.

Iím afraid the negative points out way the positive.

The grip on the EOS 350D/XT is extremely narrow, the length of the grip is easily solved using the BG-E3, however, The grip is only 2 cm wide and less than 1 cm in depth, which is not even enough for the tips of my fingers to grasp. What its highly confusing is the fact that the grip on the 300D is more than adequate, and canon decided to reduce the size this is advantageous for no one, even those with the smallest of hands will find grasping the less that 2cm grip difficult.

Also the body plastic is fairly cheap and flimsy, in an attempt to make the camera more 'graspable' canon have added a more textured rougher plastic around the grip, as opposed to rubber - which again is strange- this rougher plastic does not aid me in holding the camera, it is merely irritating, when held for long periods the hand develops cramp, due to small size, and the plastic chafes the skin rather than aids in the comfort & hold, like the rubberised grips on the 20D & 30D. Minor complaint - if the user fingernail makes contact with the plastic white scratches are left behind.

The cameras screen is small although this would be bearable, if it could be seen outdoors, in fact any sort of light, be it, artificial, direct sunlight or even the general everyday light, will pose problems in, which is highly joyous!

Moreover, the lack of a navigation wheel is quite annoying, not only does it make menu navigating difficult but also it poses problems when trying to select focus points whilst shooting.

Finally, the flash is relatively poor, but pop-up flashes generally are.

Conclusively, I would not recommend this camera, as I find that there are more negative, than positive points, and the camera is not fun nor practical to use.


Feb 26, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Jo Gallagher to your Buddy List  
Bill Sla
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 6, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 6, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $650.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Great camera although I wish I had waited for the XTi with the larger and readable display and built in cleaning system.
Cons:
The LCD display is useless on a bright day. I can't believe Canon would have released it in the first place.

I am still learning the camera and operating in program mode for taking photos of my daughter's soccer and volleyball games and tournaments. I have the kit lens for close work and bought a Sigma f4-f5.6 70-300 zoom which is serviceable for outdoor soccer but indoors it's just too slow unless you like motions blurring. I find the manual is OK but like most manuals it doesn't explain the functionlity like you want. I bought a Canon Rebel XT specific instructional DVD that was very helpful.

Feb 6, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Bill Sla to your Buddy List  
Jackel
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 28, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 388
Review Date: Jan 29, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Features Per $ among the best available. 1.6x crop factor.
Cons:
No spot meter. To small without batter grip for a 6'1" 220lbs guy. 1.6x crop factor. (Yes it is both a pro and a con)

I've had this camera for about 2 years now and it has not let me down yet. While I may upgrade soon I will be moving into FF territory and keeping my very reliable XT. The only thing I really miss is spot metering.

I recommend this camera all the time to people just getting into DSLR's. I still feel that, with the recent price drop following the introduction of the XTi, the XT is possibly the best value camera available. I would feel no need to pay the extra dollars to get 2 more MP's.


Jan 29, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Jackel to your Buddy List  
patrick rose
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 8, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 8, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Good all around camera with the right lenses. Sturdy. 8.0 megapixels enough for me. Manual if read closely provides most information needed. Able to control camera with creative settings quite well. Over 5000 shots in first year and not a hitch.
Cons:
Flash both internal and external needs tweeking when taking shots. Viewfinder small but much improved with the addition of the ep-x15 viewfinder enlarger purchased for about 20.00 usd. Buttons can be confusing at times. Difficult for my girlfriend to get the hang of it.

As mentioned above.

Jan 8, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add patrick rose to your Buddy List  
pioneer77
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 3, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 155
Review Date: Jan 6, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $999.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Great camera, great image quality!
Cons:
No negatives other than missing features because it's entry level. All the essentials are there though.

More sturdy than some camera snobs would lead you to believe... same metal chassis as other models. Ergonomics can take a bit to get used to, but make sure to add the battery grip... I can use mine comfortably with the 70-200 2.8 IS lens with the battery grip on it. Makes a big difference. But, if you ever want to go smaller, you can... which can't be said for other model cameras.

Jan 6, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add pioneer77 to your Buddy List  
j_ambrose
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 9, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 837
Review Date: Dec 26, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Low cost, low weight, great features
Cons:
Feels small in your hands but this comes in handy sometimes.

What can I say that hasn't already been said. Just an all around great beginner slr.

Dec 26, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add j_ambrose to your Buddy List  
wayne_eddy
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 20, 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 461
Review Date: Dec 25, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: size and efficiency, easy access to controls
Cons:
no hand strap capability without the battery grip (that I know of), small viewfinder, cost of Canon glass

I purchased this excellent camera (to replace my SLRlike Prosumer Point and Shoot) about 8 months ago have now taken +6000 shots. That old camera wons some award winning shots and I knew its its limitations. The replacement 350D proved to have a learning kerb initially though that was more so due to my own ability and not being familiar with the need to to so much post processing for sharpness when shooting in RAW all the time.

My 350D is used for primariliy for nature photography and wilderness hiking in wet and dusty conditions. I only ever pack it in a small LowePro bag and have so for had no no censor dust problems, one just needs to use a blower once in a while.

It's now taking awesome, crisp shots of landscapes, wildlife and flora that continues to amaze me and my collegues. Autofocus doesn't appear to be a problem for me, I find it quick and stable, though I do mainly use M focus and all M settings.

Overall it is a very capable and compact camera even for those with large hands as I do. I can imagine swapping over to a 30D sometime in the future however I would be compromising for a lot on size/weight.

Thoroughly reccommended.


Dec 25, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add wayne_eddy to your Buddy List  
JonDee
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 5, 2004
Location: N/A
Posts: 2
Review Date: Dec 15, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Very decent imaging, low noise and very good colour.
Cons:
Microscopic viewfinder, lack of trustworthy environmental hardening

I bought my 350D in 2004. I've been using it steadily for my work, which requires photographic documentation. The build was not initially impressive, but it has stood up to some pretty serious abuse, being carted around in the brush, the rain, in dust and just about any outdoor situation. I have yet to require a sensor cleaning. One note about that "plasticky" body. It's an engineered plastic I understand and mine has had experiences that would have dented a metal body with being marred at all.

One of the real advantages of the 350D is the availability of RAW. You can shoot RAW or RAW+jpeg. With decent interpeter you won't even need the jpeg. The files are big, but they are strictly what the camera saw.

Some Digital P'n'S migrants may find the images apparently too dark or too soft or both. This is mostly due to lack of familiarity with the more involvedaspects of digital imaging. A P'n'S does all the work in camera, sharpening, brightening and tweaking colour and contrast. Since they mostly don't provide RAW files, P'n'S cameras need to give the user the very best guess of what the user wants. But with RAW it's much better to do the image production in the computer, and since the software you can use on a PC is far more sophisticated than the camera can carry, DSLR defaults intrude less and leave you with apparent weaknesses in the image.

The main drawback is the wee little view finder. If you are near sighted or have problems with close focusing, it's too small. If you want to be sure your focus is on your chosen subject and not something near by, or you just don't prefer to use autofocus, it may be too small. The mirror lock-up is also buried too deeply in menus to used conveniently.

All in all it is a good camera and does what it is supposed to more than adequately.

JD


Dec 15, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add JonDee to your Buddy List  
wadestep
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 23, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 41
Review Date: Dec 12, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: size, price, image quality for the price, options, Canon lenses
Cons:
None, really. It's not a Pro DSLR, but great for almost everyone else.

This camera I bought for my parents, who owned a prosumer level film SLR before. They take 200-800 pictures per year, and won't enlarge above 10x14. It's perfect for them. In fact, it has many options they will never even use, and a lot of the camera's abilities are lost on them.

I own a 5D, and there is a large difference in build quality and overall size, viewfinder size, and image quality. But there is also a big difference in price.

The RAW files from this camera are very good, however, and I do wonder if this camera is pushing the limits of all but L glass.

Highly recommended in it's range.


Dec 12, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add wadestep to your Buddy List  
fotographa
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 15, 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 41
Review Date: Dec 11, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $700.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: portability, flexibility, control, features, menus, Digic II
Cons:
tiny viewfinder, raw+jpeg full only, MLU menu access painful, AF speed, grip size

Initially IQ was disappointing along with colour, contrast, exposure, vignetting, flare etc. Guess what - the 18-55 kit is very limiting! After 10 more lenses (most used are 35 f/2, EF-S 10-22, EF-S 60 macro, 135 SF and 70-300 IS) I still have not ever been limited by the camera. It can easily cope with even top-range L-class glass. My advice, take the $1k saved over a 20D and get some decent glass.
Although many complain about build quality it is very tough. I have not seen/read a single posting about the camera being damaged in a fall/hit? Mine has taken many knocks and its not even scratched. Even without weather sealing its impervious to small showers and spray. It is as tough as the proverbial old socks!
Viewfinder is shall we say 'minimalist' and makes f4+ lenses impossible to focus in low light. LCD display is great. Main review display is too small. Menus are pretty good but this ain't no Nokia! Custom functions are powerful but bit of a pain to get to sometimes. A pre-set tripod mode with MLU, single shot and self-timer would be nice. Get the RC-1 remote control asap - best 10 euro I ever spent.
You get alot more than you pay for with a 350D, but be prepared for another 1-2k on lenses, flash, BG etc. If your budget is limited you will get ALOT more out of the 350D plus a few good lenses than a 20D with a kit lens.
As a beginner DSLR you will shoot probably 10,000 shots in the first year. Another 10-20k shots and the shutter might be dead but you will have learned so much that you can actually justify that replacement 5D or 20/30D, and you will have the lenses to do it justice.


Dec 11, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add fotographa to your Buddy List  
Rudy Kouw
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 3, 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 0
Review Date: Dec 6, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Image quality in terms of sharpness, colour and dynamic range, acceptable noise at 1600 ISO, battery life.
Cons:
Auto focus even at moderately large relative apertures, small viewfinder, menu system, rear buttons can be activated by accident too easily, no dust reduction.

The three main issues in considering a digital camera are image quality, image quality and image quality. In this respect the 350D is an outstanding camera, even in low-light conditions. At 1600 ISO noise is still acceptable, without a compromise in sharpness. The possibility to change sensor sensitivity by four stops is a clear advantage of a DSLR over a 'classical' SLR. I only shoot in RAW which gives me quite some room in image post processing, although only in few cases I have to apply manual correction to my 'personal standard' which uses slightly reduced contrast and saturation compared to the camera's standard settings. The main limiting factor in obtaining high quality prints of 20x30 cm is the lens, not the camera.

That said, a better auto focus remains to be desired, as there is the issue of back or front focussing with a fast lens such as the 50 mm f/1,8 at full aperture or even stopped down to f/4. The viewfinder is rather small and dim, so manual focussing better than the auto focus is difficult, if not impossible. Full manual mode shooting is troublesome, as changing the aperture setting requires additionally pushing one of the rear buttons. In general, changing camera settings in many cases is complicated or, as in the case of setting the shooting mode, occurs by accident. Having a good dust-reduction system would be very helpful, as collecting dirt on the sensor is an inconvenient fact of life using a digital SLR with more than one lens, especially outdoor.


Dec 6, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Rudy Kouw to your Buddy List  
Peter Wirtoft
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 7, 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2
Review Date: Dec 6, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Perfect with the BG. Perfect image quality. Better image quality than 400D
Cons:
No auto dust remover. Platstic, sensitive to low temperatures.

Images produced with this camera is perfect.
I also have a 400D. Maybe its a bad copy, I'm looking in to it.

Did some testing with 400D and 350D

Same lens, same settings, same lightning, same spot, same distance same time.

http://www.wirtoft.com/foto/Compare350Dwith400D/index.html



Dec 6, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Peter Wirtoft to your Buddy List  
Matt Graves
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 13, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1720
Review Date: Dec 4, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $750.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Great for beginners, lightweight, great to learn on
Cons:
Poor ISO performance past 800, smaller LCD screen, lack of scroll wheel.

I purchased the 350D in March, 2006 from B&H for about $750. It was my first DSLR and I loved it from the start. In a matter of 8 months, I took over 6500 pictures with it as a hobbyist. I would recommend it to anyone that is looking for a great DSLR to start with or even someone that wants a backup body.

Now having moved to the 30D, I am spoiled by the larger LCD and scroll wheel.

Regardless though, I would recommend the 350D to anyone new to the DSLR world.


Dec 4, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Matt Graves to your Buddy List  
J. Reeves
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 9, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Review Date: Nov 29, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $650.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: light, pretty solid, digic II, price, easy to use, battery life, lots of accessories, nice button layout, low noise (100-800) excellant performer!
Cons:
too small in my hands, (and ive got small hands) feels plasticy, small lcd, sorta looks cheap, no rubber grip, small viewfinder, 1.6 crop

ive had this camera for 8 months now, its my first SRL, so i dont have a lot to compair it to, but i can safely say that this is the little camera that could. it takes beautiful, many times breath taking photos. its light, powerful, easy to use, and a joy to work with.

the things i dont like about it are more of a personal preference. its a high grade plastic, but none the less, its still plastic. im not very confident that it would survive a fall over 4 feet on a hard surface. one thing they did really did mess up was the lcd, canon should really have sprung for a 2.5" like the XTi, but it still gets the job done, even if its with a lil difficulty on a bright sunny day. with the small viewfinder its sometimes hard (for me) to tell if a foto is focused or not, but with an ultra compact design, i guess you have to cut out some space from other things, in this case, the viewfinder.

all-in-all i really like this camera, its never let me down, and i dont think it ever will, it always gets the job done for me. i do plan to upgrade in the next year or so (as i get more serious about photography) but i'll always keep it for a good back up.


Nov 29, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add J. Reeves to your Buddy List  
versiani
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 6, 2006
Location: Brazil
Posts: 1
Review Date: Nov 8, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: low noise, low price, small raw files, battery lasts forever
Cons:
small viewfinder

I'm really happy with this camera. The only thing that really bothers me is the small viewfinder. It's quite impossible to see if the object is correctly focused.

When I bought the camera, I also bought the battery grip, and it solves the problem of the small size. It gives also a "pro" look.

I hope this camera will give me enough profits to buy a 5D, or the next model. And I will keep the 350D as a great backup.


Nov 8, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add versiani to your Buddy List  
Alex DeClerk
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 7, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 66
Review Date: Nov 7, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $650.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Light, Price, Image Quality
Cons:
ISO 1600 is sometimes noisy, very plastic feeling, grip feels loose

My first DSLR. Feels very plastic-like to me, doesnt have the metal chassy underneath it like the pro bodies. The first thing I remember thinking after I took it out of the box was " WOW I paid 600 bucks for this!?" Other than the plastic build quality, the image quality is amazing.

Overall this camera is a joy to own. I would recomend it to anyone looking for a cheap DSLR with great image quality.


Nov 7, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Alex DeClerk to your Buddy List  

†††



Canon EOS Rebel XT (350D)

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
72 54368 Nov 11, 2011
Recommended By Average Price
96% of reviewers $724.27
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.60
8.89
8.8
rebel_xt


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5  next