about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EOS Rebel XTi (400D)

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
98 118784 Sep 5, 2010
Recommended By Average Price
86% of reviewers $763.37
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.11
9.13
8.8
rebel_xti

Specifications:
The Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi offers an unbeatable combination of performance, ease-of-use and value. It has a newly designed 10.1 MP Canon CMOS sensor plus a host of new features including a 2.5-inch LCD monitor, the exclusive EOS Integrated Cleaning System featuring a Self Cleaning Sensor and Canon's Picture Style technology, all in a lightweight, ergonomic body. The Digital Rebel XTi is proof positive that Canon continues to lead the way with their phenomenal digital SLRs.

---------------

* High performance digital SLR with 10.1 Megapixel Canon CMOS sensor and DIGIC II Image processor.

* Large 2.5-inch LCD monitor with new user interface and wide viewing angle. Fast 3 frames-per-second shooting with 27-frame burst and a 0.2 second startup time. High precision, wide area 9-point autofocus system.

* Picture Style settings for a broad range of control over color, contrast and sharpening. Print/Share button featuring advanced camera direct capabilities for greater user control while direct printing.

* EOS Integrated Cleaning System featuring a Self Cleaning Sensor Unit

* Fully compatible with over 60 EF and EF-S Lenses and a wide range of EOS System accessories


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7  next
          
Jeff_H
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 24, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Nov 7, 2006 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros:
Cons:
poor build quality, too small

I like the idea of what Canon is trying to do with this camera - an introductory dSLR that is cheap but takes great pictures. I can't recommend it though based solely on the size and build quality of the camera.

The picture quality is great and I want to like this camera, but every time I hold it I feel like it's a toy - a flimsy, plastic one at that. It's awkward for anyone that doesn't have small hands.


Nov 7, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Jeff_H to your Buddy List  
krobra
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 19, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Nov 6, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light weight , anti dust system , 2.5 LCD screen
Cons:
smaller size (I keep hitting the AE lock button beside the hand grip on accident ) , had to buy new remote and has smaller battery then my 20D

I would recommend it for the anti dust system alone , but the bigger LCD screen , 10.1 MP and reasonable price makes it more then a worthy upgrade or spare camera.

Dust and small screen had been my biggest complaint on the 20D. I am glad to see Canon start to address these issues.


Nov 6, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add krobra to your Buddy List  
Paul Morrison
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 3, 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: Nov 4, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very small size, yet very good handling, very lightweight, huge and complete information readout on rear panel is great for my ageing eyes, dust removing capabilities, easy to navigate menus, fun to use, 10MP, price
Cons:
Mirror Lockup requires the setting of a custom function instead of a 'one button' approach. Depth of field preview button could be easier to locate with more pronounced 'feel' on the button itself.

The Rebel XTi is a surprisingly excellent photographic tool. Some will find it's small form size to be an issue, but once you become adapted to it's layout, I think all but those with very large hands will come to love it. The dust removal system alone makes this a worthwhile upgrade. The huge LCD information readout offers more detailed information and is very easy to read, even for someone with poor eyesight (with all my other Canon cameras I sometimes need reading glasses to decipher the menu and custom function settings, etc.). The increased buffer size makes this a much more useful camera in situations where motordrive shooting is being done. The 10MP sensor elevates the XTi ahead of the 20/30D models, but for a very reasonable price. The ability to use mirror lockup with the tiny RC-1 remote control is a feature I wish my 20D had and it sees near daily use for landscape and macro work.

Nov 4, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Paul Morrison to your Buddy List  
Drioannis
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 22, 2004
Location: Greece
Posts: 359
Review Date: Nov 1, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Better AF,extra 2MP from it's predecessor,better buffer,LCD screen and dust reduction.
Cons:
Plastic feeling(as all xxxD series).Not great comfort without the grip(in my opinion necessary).

I sold the 10D and bought the 400D.It is lighter but feels plastic.I think that it is a very good camera for the money.It has the 20/30D focus system with good ISO performans.The LCD is very good and I like it.I am not much of a MP maniac but I like the extra 4MP from my 10D.It is a good choice for people who do not want to spend too much money in a body(go for glass people!!!).

Nov 1, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Drioannis to your Buddy List  
slobomitic
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 19, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 11
Review Date: Oct 25, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great camera
Cons:
none

I have big hands and 5D which I think is too big and heavy.
This camera is smaller and lighter which I enjoy. I find myself using XTi more than 5D because it’s easier to carry around. It doesn’t have all the features as 5D but it is great buy for the money.

Great noise reduction processing for high ISO (1600), so set mode to JPG for those occasions.


Oct 25, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add slobomitic to your Buddy List  
Javier Diaz
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 11, 2006
Location: Chile
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 24, 2006 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: INfo on the LCD protection alternatives
Cons:

Someone emailed me asking more info about LCD protection alternatives.

I've found the PALM anti -glare protector, or the BELKIN overlay for Ipod, are both cheap (around $15 US) and sturdy to do a good job of taking care of any camera's LCD. Here's the information, if anyone needs it.

* * *

The Ipod protector is called Video Protective Overlay, made by BELKIN (accesories supplier for Ipod). It comes in a package with a number of overlays, different sizes for different Ipods. Pick the one that most fits the Xti LCD and cut the rectangle to size before peeling and applying it (measuring the LCD first won’t hurt) .

I found this at a huge electronics store right in front of the camera shop where I bought my 400D. After paying I asked for a pair of scisors, cut the piece of plastic, cleaned the LCD (which was right out of its box) with the cleaner provided and applied the overlay following the instructions with the package (it comes with a card like a Visa card, by means of which you “spread” the overlay across the surface to be protected.) GO SLOW and you’ll succeed. If you get bubbles, gently push them to the edges with your thumb.


http://www.circuitcity.com/ccd/productDetail.do?oid=149552&JSESSIONID=F2SZyX6gTsSs7kd0QhRVT5ngJhc5J9!-1227299273!1161712185745


Or with Amazon:


http://www.amazon.com/Belkin-Components-F8Z085-Video-Overlay/dp/B000EZYGTM/sr=1-1/qid=1161712609/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1/102-7232948-8955358?ie=UTF8&s=electronics



On my old XT I used the PALM TREO anti - glare screen protector. It comes only with two, Treo screen size, screen covers. The method is the same, you cut the screen protector to size, peel it and apply spreading it with the hard aplicator card provided. DO NOT buy the “Palm Screen Protector Multipack” (12 units per pack), those are SOFT protectors that won’t do much in term of protection.

http://store.palm.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2117599&cp=1964112.1964129&parentPage=family



I find no difference between the Palm and the Belkin protectors, both are pretty, pretty sturdy, I don’t have a single scratch on the Belkin and did not have time enough to scratch the Palm on my XT, much less the camera’s LCD. With both, you get at least one spare (more with the Balkin set), so when and if you need it, you unstick the screen protector and replace it in no time.

Best,
Javier Diaz
Santiago - CHILE
jadil1@entelchile.net



Oct 24, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Javier Diaz to your Buddy List  
Marcus wong
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 20, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 20, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $734.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: New Body material, Fast 9/AF, GREAT High Contrast LCD, Weight, Improved Noise Reduction programming.
Cons:
- viewfinder is still my biggest gripe(I wear glasses from time to time). WHY OH WHY didn't they just use the 30D viewfinder. I'll never understand why companies put money into researching inferior products when they already have something that works better. I would've glady paid an extra $100 for the 30D VF... - Battery life is less than the 350D. I really wish they'd design a larger capacity battery. still no Spot Metering.

The XTi is a welcomed improvement over the 350D. although the image quality from both cameras are relatively similar, the improvements come mechanically.

the New AF borrowed from the 30D is wonderful. Those that have used a 300 or a 350D will be in a whole new world.

applying new materials to create the body provides relative resistance to dust and nail marks which are very common on the 350D.

Some people complain that it's too small, but i think it's fine for most, and my hands are pretty big. (and I use a 30D normally). You just have to find the best way to hold it. If you can't, buy the vertical grip.

People were worried that the increase of mpx would decrease the overall quality, but tests have shown the image quality is comparable to the 350D which is comparable to the 20D.

ISO sensitivity if you compare with a meter is actually more sensitive than what is listed. ISO 100 is actually ISO 125, and ISO 1600 is actually ISO 2000. If you ask me, for marketing purposes, Canon should've pushed this point since people are just dying to see a ISO 3200 on their camera. I never go passed 800, so I don't know what people are thinking.

For Best results: capture in RAW format and use Adobe Raw Converter. From what i've seen there is less image noise when you read data from adobe when compared to dPP.


Oct 20, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Marcus wong to your Buddy List  
EYE KNO
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 16, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 17, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: price, size, light weight, easy menu
Cons:
no flash port???

i love this camera as "walk around" camera, perfect back up as well....

Oct 17, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add EYE KNO to your Buddy List  
Oz egg
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 15, 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 15, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Detail in pictures Display ease off use Menu's Slick metal (easy cleaning) Speed Low noise
Cons:
A bit cheap fealing Standard raw a bit "soft focus" (but super sharp after smart sharpening in cs2) To small for my hands. (got the bettery grip but still not perfect)

I got this camera with the 17-85 IS USM because the standard lens is in my opinion ferry bad. And it was love on first sight. Super fast focus etc. I had a eos 350d (xt) before and i never was to happy with it (maybe i had a bad one) I really can recommend this camera to everybody who buys a decent lens with it. The price is just right! Top machine!

Oct 15, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Oz egg to your Buddy List  
gaalpoel
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 25, 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 12, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Size, speed, large display, information on display. Almost every setting has its own button.
Cons:
None so far

Finally decided to upgrade from my Digital Rebel (300D) and got me a Rebel XTi. The camera is superior on every front when compared to the 300D. Size is better (Yes, I actually love the smaller size), handling is great with BG-E3 attached. The large display is superb, and the best part is that all your settings are on 1 display now. Changing your settings is easy, because almost every setting can be reached by just pushing one button, and you don't need to confirm by pressing SET.

Noise reduction is brilliant on the 400D, ISO 800 shots are finally useable wich is a big plus when shooting in low-light often. This was one point I doubted because of the 10MP, but the detail it gives is enormous.

Just the perfect cam for my type of business (portraits/fashion). I'm in love with it.


Oct 12, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add gaalpoel to your Buddy List  
Ken Messina
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 28, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Review Date: Oct 11, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $799.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: 9 point focus system works very well. Focus is fast and accurate. Camera is light compared to others, it's good to carry all day. The status screen on the back is great. it's very bright and easy to read.
Cons:
none



Oct 11, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Ken Messina to your Buddy List  
tasos_at
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 22, 2005
Location: Greece
Posts: 273
Review Date: Oct 10, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Cleaning System, large, 2.5" LCD ,lower price.620euro
Cons:

better from 350d, but I need more now

Oct 10, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add tasos_at to your Buddy List  
Matt Holiday
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 9, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 9, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $799.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Self-clean function!!! Also, low noise for 10 MPx, excellent 17-55 IS zoom, and the controls are fairly convenient
Cons:
Small size; small viewfinder image (but it's all visible with dark glasses on ;-)

This is the first interchangeable lens DSLR that I've bought -- I've been waiting for Canon to solve the dust-on-the-sensor problem, and yes, they've really done that. Look, ma, no swabs!

Prior the digital cameras I've used have been Minolta's, culminating in the A2 (which got up to 8MPx). The most obvious difference is in the noise -- that is, the A2 had lots of it, and the XTi very little. At ISO 100 and 200 it's really clean, showing up a bit at ISO 400. The other difference is capture speed -- with RAW+JPEG, the A2 was sloooow.

The 17-55/2.8 IS zoom is really amazing: "L" quality optics which about match the 24-70/2.8L. Regardless of the future of reduced-size sensors, I know I'll keep around a Digital Rebel with this lens as an all-around walkabout camera.

I do miss the quick-control dial from the high-end Canon film/digital cameras, for rapidly adjusting the exposure compensation. However, the RGB histogram w/flashing highlights is pretty handy, and the pattern metering function usually needs only 2/3 of a stop correction for special cases -- which means bracketing at 2/3 of a stop will handle nearly every situation. Since it's easy to delete, I can now just use the histogram as an exposure meter, making a separate handheld spot meter very nearly redundant -- a significant workflow change.

However, the location of the exposure compensation button on the camera is hard to find without looking, and too close to the self-timer button (this is not a problem shooting vertically with the battery grip).

The LCD panel is pretty good, only washes out in strong, direct sunlight. While the viewfinder image is small, I find that I can see everything even while wearing sunglasses, i.e., with a high eyepoint.

For my hands, the XTi is a bit small (compared to EOS-1/3), particularly with a lens as large as the 17-55 zoom -- the lens weighs about as much as the camera. Almost immediately I found I had to have the battery grip, just to get a good grip on the camera, and I like having the controls for shooting verticals (reminder -- shoot more verticals!).

Considering that a couple years ago, a 1DS cost 10x as much, it's a steal at this price. Now I'm waiting for a 1DS Mark 3 or some such to bring the self-cleaning function (and 22MPx) to the high-end lineup...


Oct 9, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Matt Holiday to your Buddy List  
MARTHIN
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 18, 2005
Location: Brazil
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 9, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: SIMPLY FANTASTIC. Integrated Cleaning System, large, 2.5" LCD monitor with 160°,lower price.
Cons:
NONE

Great images and great noise reduction. The best.

Oct 9, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add MARTHIN to your Buddy List  
Javier Diaz
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 11, 2006
Location: Chile
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 8, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sensor Cleaning System performs 100% as advertised. Huge LCD is quite an improvement. Accesories for the old 350D/XT work fine here.
Cons:
Noisy at 1600 ISO. Small viewfinder. Viewfinder information does NOT tell you when IS funtion is on or off. And BEWARE, shooting in RAW mode will need a bigger CF card since 10Mpx shots use a LOT opf memory.

I traded my 350D (XT) for the new 400D (XTi) at the begining of October '06. The new model is a huge improvement over its predecessor.

1.- SENSOR CLEANING: This is the first Canon SRL to feature a Sensor Cleaning System, and as such we had the right to be doubtful. Needlessly, as it turned out : I can tell you it works as good as advertised.

Tourist for one week visiting animal reserves in Sidney, I switched lenses constantly, even in the car with the air conditioning on (one of the worse scenarios to perform lens changes which you seldom notice.) The few dust specs I could find on some pictures (all shot in the period when I DEACTIVATED the automated cleaning feature to check how it worked) were COMPLETELY GONE after the next cleaning up.

Well done, Canon! This new feature ALONE justifies the camera trade up.


2.- LCD: The big LCD is flawless. As claimed by Canon, it can be seen from many angles and is quite sharp.

For protection I put over it a sturdy IPOD screen protector (a Palm TREO 600 - 650 - 700 screen will perform the same function, I had one on my old 350D-XT). I DO recommend this. It's a $15 investement that'll yield good results throughout the whole camera service life (and coming in more than one, you always have spares.)


The LCD does NOT stay on all the time. It goes dark whenever you put the camera and the viewfinder to your face. Or, you can turn it off by pressing the DISPLAY button. And finally, it shuts down when the camera goes into sleep mode (programmable from 30 scs through a few minutes).


3.- BETTER FUNCTIONALITY: A minor improvement is with the exposure button. In the old 350D/XT you could press it inadvertently all the way to SEFL TIMER and shoot without knowing, which ended in frustration. NO MORE. Now all selections go into and through the LCD status mode, where you have to sort-of confirm your selection. No more accidental pressing of buttons.

4.- ACCESORIES: All accesories for the 350D/XT work with the 400D, especially the Battery Grip.

LOWDOWNS:

a) - Before getting the camera I had reservations about its noise level. Using a sensor with almost the same surface as the previous model sensor, one wondered how Canon would solve the problem of noise ad high ISO settings.

Now, this is pretty tentative since as of Oct, 8, 2006 I've had the camera for one week only. At up to 800 ISO, there doesn't seem to be a problem and I cannot find traces of noise. But at 1600 ISO the noise was there WHEN I tried to lighten the shots with Digital Photo Professional (keeping them AS SHOT showed no noise at all.) Since I did not work much at such a high ISO level with my old 350D/XT, I can't say if the new model is on a par with it or has worse performance working at 1600. You be the judge.

Also, the tendency being toward stabilised lenses, this issue ought not to be a problem (I have the EF-S IS 17-85mm USM lens as my main unit and it works quite well with this camera).

b). The viewfinder. STINGY. Canon must be specially proud of its small viewfinders since it keeps replicating them on otherwise fine improved machines. Still, if you're a Canonist, you are quite used to them.

c) Why not putting a marker on the viewfinder - besides the f: or the aperture digit, to signal wherever the lens IS mechanism is on or off?

d) Not a flaw but still worth mentioning: if you work in RAW mode (as it should be done), you'll need a bigger CF card, since 10Mpx use a lot of memory per picture.


IN A NUTSHELL:

I loved my 350D / XT, and I love this 400D / XTi even more. I hated the dirt on the sensor, this problem is for most parts gone, I haven't had to try the software solution provided by Canon on its new Digital Photo Professional 2.00 version - a clever "stamp" device to mask the dustpecs.)

This new sensor ALONE justifies the upgrade. Getting a new, better LCD, better functioning buttons and, least I forget, 10Mpx, is a much welcome bonus.

I any one out there should want more feedback, feel free to email me.

Best,
Javier Diaz
Santiago - CHILE
jadil1@entelchile.net








Oct 8, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Javier Diaz to your Buddy List  
MLFLY
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 22, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 38
Review Date: Oct 8, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $799.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Fast AF, quick start up time, fast and large buffer, large screen, light weight (also a negative).
Cons:
Size may be too small for larger hands. A bit plastic in feel (also a postive because of light weight).

My wife has one and simply loves it. The speed of start up, larger screen, fast and large buffer and the AF speed are things she noticed immediately. It doesn't hurt that it's a small sized camera and perfect for her hands. The weight is also light (While a plus for some, to me it adds to my impression that it has a plastic feel).

Anyway, handling it myself, I agree with all of her points. this is a heck of a camera for $799. Personally, it's too small for my hands (maybe I'm too used to film camers with motor drives). And, I mentioned the build quality is a bit too plastic-like for my tastes. However, I don't think it's going to fall apart. I recommend it if the size fits you.


Oct 8, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add MLFLY to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EOS Rebel XTi (400D)

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
98 118784 Sep 5, 2010
Recommended By Average Price
86% of reviewers $763.37
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.11
9.13
8.8
rebel_xti


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7  next