about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
176 281536 Nov 23, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
93% of reviewers $1,784.94
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.72
7.93
9.6
85II

Specifications:
Retaining the impressive optical performance and large aperture of the original EF 85mm f/1.2L USM, this new medium telephoto lens uses a Ring-type USM, high-speed CPU and optimized algorithms to achieve an autofocus speed approximately 1.8x faster than the original. The high-speed AF and circular aperture create a shallow depth-of-field that brings attention to the subject and blurs the background, which is ideal for portraits and weddings. The floating optical system, which includes an aspherical lens element, suppresses aberrations and ensures excellent imaging performance.

(more...)



 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next
          
vlookup
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 23, 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 1
Review Date: Apr 23, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Artistic control of DOF is amazing, Clarity of image.
Cons:
Autofocus slow in comparison with what you may be used to.

This lens is a liberation. Ever since I moved to digital I have had to work very hard to get the subjects isolated in a picture - it seemed that it was easier with film. However this lens is just lovely, you can play with DOF and really see the results. At its closest focus distance with the Aperture at 1.8, you get just over 1cm of focus with fantastic blur.

This effect just makes you wish all your lenses were capable of the same DOF control. This is a fantastic lens and the one I am most pleased about.


Apr 23, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add vlookup to your Buddy List  
petr vokurek
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 16, 2007
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 5
Review Date: Apr 22, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: excellent sharpness combined with even better bokeh
Cons:
none....maybe the focus ring that strangely rotates togetger with the hood:-))

I find all aspects about this lens possitive... The sharpness is truly impressive but where it excels is the background blur or bokeh- the unsharp areas are really pleasingly out of focus. This is the biggest difference between this beast and its smaller brother- the f1,8 version. I have them both and both are my favourite lenses, although I do not use the f 1,8 lens very often now...only for travel when weight is important. The sharpness of both is about the same and if I was interested in sharpness alone, I wouldnīt bother to buy the f1,2 version- both lenses are very, very sharp, well made and the f1,8 version even has less distortion! What sets them apart is the bokeh- what you can do with the big one at f 1,2-1,4 is just fantastic and you really cannot do it with the f1,8 version- itīs just far inferior. However, if you are a "safe shooter" and use your lenses in the f4-smaller range there is absolutelly no point in spending so much more for the bigger lens- unless you want to impress! I longed for this lens for a very long time and now that I finally have it I not only donīt regret the purchase but wonder how I could have lived without it for so long! One thing though- I mainly do portraiture so this lens is perfect for me- combined with 70-200/2,8 and 24-70/2,8 and 135/2. If your main interest is something else, this lens may not be so useful for you, especially given the cost. For example, I never take it with me on travel- too heavy, big, too specialist, too expensive to get stolen.

Apr 22, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add petr vokurek to your Buddy List  
PhotoproX
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 6, 2007
Location: Albania
Posts: 0
Review Date: Apr 15, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great IQ, great bokeh
Cons:
price, weight, weary AF, strange manual focusing

Canon has the fastest 85mm lens available today and you pay the premium...

Image Quality is great and shallow dof allow breathtaking shots in the hands of skilled photographers.

Is this worth the hassle with price, weight, weary AF and strange manual focusing? Only if youīre rich and absolutely love the 85mm perspective.


Apr 15, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add PhotoproX to your Buddy List  
Fabien.B
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 20, 2006
Location: France
Posts: 47
Review Date: Apr 13, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1.50 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: One of the most beautiful bokeh in Canon L lens series, sharp at f1.2, ultra sharp at f5.6
Cons:
Heavy & massive (difficult to be discret in street), some chromatic abb. but clean after using raw converter



Apr 13, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Fabien.B to your Buddy List  
richardho11
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 9, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 29, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp wide open, 1.2 aperture, unbelievable bokeh!!!!
Cons:
hunts forever in very dim lighting and cost.

I've had the 2nd version of this lens for a month and now it is the most used lens in my artillery! It was hard for me to dish out $1600 to purchase this lens because I am still an ametuer hobbist and still in school, but once you use this lens, you can see why it costs so much! Its TACK SHARP wide open!! The Bokeh is unbelievable... nothing like I have ever seen. I also have the 35L, 24-70L and the 50mm 1.4. But this 85L is king! It hunts forever in dim light but completely worth it to me for f/1.2. The focusing speed is very acceptable. I can tell its slower than my 35L but not too much slower. I highly recommend this lens!!!! Buy it if you can afford it!

Mar 29, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add richardho11 to your Buddy List  
jonbrach
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Dec 22, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 896
Review Date: Jan 17, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,749.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: the lens is tack sharp at 1.2 which allows me to get shots at jazz clubs and concerts i cant get with other lens...out of this world bokeh...great build quality..simply a marvelous lens and a fair bit faster focusing than version 1 which i used to own
Cons:
cost,size,relatively slow AF

I sold my 85L version 1 to get this newer version as soons as i saw the price drop to a more reasonable level...i loved the version 1 and this one is even better...faster AF and the very same razor sharp wide open performance...expensive but like everything else you get what you pay for...highly recommended

Jan 17, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jonbrach to your Buddy List  
DLai
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 28, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1130
Review Date: Jan 12, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build, feel, and f1.2
Cons:
Price (You get what you pay for), focus by wire, slower than usual AF (but f1.2 makes up for it).

This is as good as it gets...below the $2,000 mark at least. Many users will complain about it's slow af and heavy weight but for f1.2 what else would one expect. Excellent for weddings, car shows, and still life photography. For sports try the 1.8 version.

Jan 12, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add DLai to your Buddy List  
chancellor
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 29, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 225
Review Date: Jan 9, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Colors, contrast, fast aperture.
Cons:
Slightly slower AF.

I purchased it from B&H in December and I've been using it for a while. I knew that it was an amazing lens - I owned it when it just came out, but returned it since I felt that the price of nearly $2200 was too much for it. Nowadays, it's priced less than $1800 with potential $100 Canon rebate (double) makes it a no-brainer to me. Love the fit of the lens on 5D (with grip) and how it feels. If you're doing a lot of portraits or low-light - buy it. If you're having hard-time justifying paying almost 5 times more than f/1.8, buy the 1.8 one - from what I've heard/read - great lens. I never owned one, so I can't speak to it.

Jan 9, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add chancellor to your Buddy List  
UGADawg
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 4, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 416
Review Date: Jan 8, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,800.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: This lens is a master for weddings and portraits, the focus issues seem to be quite a bit faster than the first version. You get what you pay for.
Cons:
Cost, weight, Cost.



Jan 8, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add UGADawg to your Buddy List  
Gary Jean
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 26, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 146
Review Date: Jan 5, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,689.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharpness wide open, suberb bokeh
Cons:
By far the slowest AF of any of my EF lenses

I'd been looking for a good used 85 f/1.2 gen I for some time and I was willing to pay $1,500. When Beach Camera listed a new gen II for $1,689 after rebate with free FedEx shipping, I bit.

After a few weeks with this lens, I am very pleased with it. It clearly adds a new capability to my arsenal. The wide-open sharpness and creamy bokeh continue to amaze me. This lens on a 5D, with its low noise at high ISOs, can turn night into day.

AF is adequate in bright light, but poor in dim light. Pointed at a low contrast subject (like a face) in near darkness it will hunt forever, where other fast primes can still achieve AF. This is not a big issue for me, having grown up with MF. However, it keeps me from giving this lens a perfect 10. Perhaps low light AF would improve on a 1 series body.

At the moment, I rank it 2nd among all my lenses (all L zooms and primes, except for the 50), slightly behind the fantastic 135 f/2 and ahead of the workhorse 70-200 f/2.8.

If you need the aperture and can live with slow AF, this lens is among the best. An appreciation for its solid build and impressive looking glass may help ease the initial pain of the big hit on your credit card. Despite the high cost, at around $1,700 I consider it to be a good value.


Jan 5, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Gary Jean to your Buddy List  
gervaise
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 9, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 3879
Review Date: Dec 23, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,150.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Admittedly, I am an admirer of the Canon L Series lenses, but this one is simply the most elegant, superb optical and mechanical device I have ever owned. The images are magic, and the colors superb. If you have the $$ and appreciate fine things, this is for you.
Cons:
This lens takes a delicate hand to keep in focus at the wide open end, and is not easy to use but the results are worth the effort. It is heavy to carry and very expensive in comparison to many other lenses, so the casual photographer might be better off with a lesser and less expensive lens.



Dec 23, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add gervaise to your Buddy List  
alfieri
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 25, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 178
Review Date: Dec 21, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,680.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: the hype is all true, this lens is magical; colors and skin tones met my very high expections; contrast and sharpness exceeded them; f/1.2 renders paintings; f/2 and up render very sharp, contrasty, 3D images; audible focusing motor helps signal when i'm closer than minimum focusing distance; no issues with focus speed; the lens is well worth its price and weight (2.25 lbs); IMHO, it blows away the excellent 85/1.8
Cons:
minimum focusing distance of 3.2 feet

sample images and ramblings:

http://alfieri.smugmug.com/gallery/2256513

85/1.8 sample images for comparison:

http://alfieri.smugmug.com/gallery/1210969


Dec 21, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add alfieri to your Buddy List  
tasos_at
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 22, 2005
Location: Greece
Posts: 273
Review Date: Dec 18, 2006 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: amazing sharpness beautiful contrast and saturation
Cons:
expensive

The f/1.2 is poor but 2,0-8,0 is as sharp contrast and saturation, really excellent.For my portrait lenses!
is my favourite.

http://my.opera.com/tasosart/albums/show.dml?id=175978


Dec 18, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add tasos_at to your Buddy List  
ryan aguas
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 7, 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 42
Review Date: Dec 11, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: the best 35mm portrait lens available to date
Cons:
just a regular lens if used for other applications. astronomically overpriced

This lens is purely a specialist portrait lens. For those who want to bring out the wow in every portrait, for those who want something that's extraordinary, and for those who want to shoot studio-like quality portraits in any lighting situation, this is the ultimate, must have lens.

This lens is for those who want very high standards and complete control in portrait photography. It's not easy to handle it but in the hands of a good photographer, the results could be very stunning.

It's very expensive, but then the price barrier maintains its legendary status as an object of desire to be coveted and afforded only by those who really have the passion for good portraiture.


Dec 11, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add ryan aguas to your Buddy List  
mark Jos
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 10, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Review Date: Dec 10, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,060.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: One of the sharpest lenses you'll find...
Cons:
just the money.

Just picked her up a couple weeks back. It's very sharp and the background blur is a thing of beauty. My suggestion, get one if you want a drop dead portrait and you have the bucks to spare. If this is a hobby, you'd better rent a while until you can get a gig to pay for it...

Dec 10, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mark Jos to your Buddy List  
Hacker
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 24, 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 98
Review Date: Dec 10, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,935.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp even wide open. Love the contrast and the colors.
Cons:
Heavy and could be a little bit faster for its AF.

This is the standard to beat. I changed to Canon because of this lens.

Dec 10, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Hacker to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
176 281536 Nov 23, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
93% of reviewers $1,784.94
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.72
7.93
9.6
85II


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next