backup
Photoshop actions
 
 

Search Used

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
350 560156 May 29, 2016
Recommended By Average Price
94% of reviewers $128.42
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
5.87
9.56
8.6
ef50mmf_18_1_

Specifications:
This is the lightest EF lens of all at a mere 4.6 oz. (130g). Compact and high-performance, standard lens. Its Gaussian optics provide sharp delineation from near to far focusing distances. The color balance is excellent for a standard lens.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next
          
nico_p
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 15, 2007
Location: Angola
Posts: 67
Review Date: Jul 16, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $75.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Affordable fast lens, lightweight, sharp, excellent portrait lens on a crop body (85mm equivalent).
Cons:
Build quality, slow AF, AF/MF switch looks fragile.

I had never owned a prime and this cheap little thing made it possible.

It obviously looks very fragile, but on the other hand it's lightweight enough to be with you all the time. With a xT or xTi you end up with a great set up to shoot portraits. No bulk, no weight.

I have no experience with primes, so I was obviously blown away with the followings:
- fastness (1.8 allows for handeld shots in very, very, very low light with no flash)
- sharpness : close it down a bit and it's really sharp.
- creative possibilities : selective focus with back and foreground blur.

This is really an excellent starting point for one who is curious about photography but does not want to spend a lot of money on his first prime.

The AF obviously tends to hunt in low light, and the lens looks very fragile, but the prixe and image quality compensate for that in my opinion - at least for a beginner like me.

I think it's the ideal beginner "real lens". I think that zooms make you lazy and may inhibate your creativity. This lens will open up a new world and not only in low light conditions. On a 1.6 crop body this lens becomes a 85mm 1.8, which is ideal for portraits.

Obviously if you have money you'd better take a look at the 1.4 or 1.2 L, but for a beginner or a student this will work fine, and with a little care this lens should last for a little while.

I rate build quality at 1/10, price at 10/10 and overall rating is 9.

Here is one of the first portrait I shot with it:
http://www.gobages.net/gallery/3/grandfatherBW.jpg


Jul 16, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add nico_p to your Buddy List  
stefan captijn
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 11, 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 40
Review Date: Jul 11, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great aparture, small and light. Easy for travel. Great portrait lens. For the price it is a no brainer!
Cons:
Some say the build quality is bad but honoustly, i have experienced this as a problem. Just treat it the way you would treat an expensive lens :-)

At first i was a bit hesitant to go with a prime lens but when i came accross this puppy i decided to buy it right away. The price is very low, every Canon DSLR owner should have it.

I had to get used to not being able to zoom but now I find it even better, it forces you to really think about the result you want. It is a cool lens for indoor shooting and portraits.

Here is a shot i took last week, only thing i did to it is some cropping and greyscale conversion...

http://robincaptijn.web-log.nl/senna_piraat_grayscale_clean.jpg

You really need to have this lens!


Jul 11, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add stefan captijn to your Buddy List  
Brian Mitchell
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 7, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 3, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $75.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Inexpensive, fast, good prime to start
Cons:
None for the price

For an entry level 50mm lens, and selling for about $79 on Amazon, this lens can't be beat. Some representative pictures that I've taken:

http:[email protected]/sets/72157600394476350/

The key aspect of this lens is its flexibility. Flexible because it is light, so you'll take it everywhere in your bag, always ready to throw it on the camera when needed. And flexible because you can take pictures in very low light without a flash.. With the ISO turned up you can almost take pictures in the dark. You will see what I mean if you look at some of the above-linked pictures. Some of my best shots are there, and that is because this was the right lens at the right time.

If you already shoot with prime lenses, and are comfortable paying more, go for the f/1.4. I rented it once, and was impressed. It sells for under $300. But if you want to try out a great and almost equivalent lens, start out here. You need this lens.


Jul 3, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Brian Mitchell to your Buddy List  
Jim Gieber
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 28, 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jun 28, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Inexpensive, tack sharp above f5.6.
Cons:
AF is absolutely horrid in medium to low light, banging noise when in a hunting cycle feels like the poor little thing is about to explode.

This lens is NOT fast and sharp, wide open it's way to soft for crops. Above f5.6 it's sharp as a tack, but it ain't so fast anymore!!! Medium and low light the AF is almost unuseable, and am considering keeping it on MF, when this poor little thing hunts...it feels like it's gonna tear itself apart!! IQ is awesome (stopped down several times). For the price, I really shouldn't complain...I enjoy the fact that I can finally take some decent night shots, these I really don't mind being soft.

Jun 28, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Jim Gieber to your Buddy List  
StewartChao
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 12, 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jun 26, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $100.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great IQ. Low cost. Excellent for portraits on 1.6X crop.
Cons:
Slow AF. Hunts in low-light. Not sharp wide open.



Jun 26, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add StewartChao to your Buddy List  
Chris J
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 21, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jun 21, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $79.95 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: price, image quality
Cons:
concerned about durabilty

Based on several recommendations here and elsewhere, passed on the kit lens for my new XTi, bought the 1.8 and borrowed a 70-300 from my brother in law while I figured out how to use us the Canon (my first "good" camera).

Couldn't be more pleased with the images from this little gem. Images seem sharp and color appears accurate.

Best of all, it makes the XTi in full auto about as simple to use as our old point & shoots so my wife does not get frustrated trying to catch a moment with the kids during the day while I'm at the office. Taught her to use the "foot zoom" (step forward or back) and & she's snapping good stuff all the time. Well worth it.


Jun 21, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Chris J to your Buddy List  
martinsmith
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 17, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3
Review Date: Jun 21, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Price, image quality, bokeh
Cons:
Only that there aren't more versions with different focal lengths

I bought this lens shortly after my 70-200 L F/4, so I had high expectations from this lens. I wasn't disapointed.

The image quality is fantastic and very close to my L lens. My version is sharp even wide open. AF speed & noise which some have commented on are really not that bad. Yes it's built from plastic but as it's so light, this won't be an issue for me. If you throw the thing around it may break, but if you look after it I can't see this being an issue.



Jun 21, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add martinsmith to your Buddy List  
tom s
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 3, 2007
Location: Croatia
Posts: 158
Review Date: Jun 18, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, inexpensive, nice bokeh between f/1.8 and f/2, good colour and contrast, it focuses close (40cm)
Cons:
no USM, hunts in low light/contrast situations, average bokeh between f/2.2 and f/5.6, plain looks



Jun 18, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add tom s to your Buddy List  
tightwadhill
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 13, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Review Date: Jun 15, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $70.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Price to performance ratio is tough to beat. This little guy takes great pictures, and is a good stepping stone lens for new photographers.
Cons:
Cheap build, but I'll take it if it means I can get this lens for a mere $70.

There's no excuse to *not* own this lens. Unless perhaps you've stepped up to the 1.4 or 1.2. This one's great fun to play with and, for those of us new to the art, to learn with. It has its flaws, but for $70, you can't ask for TOO much!

Jun 15, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add tightwadhill to your Buddy List  
The Imagician
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 4, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Review Date: Jun 11, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $80.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Inexpensive, sharp and contrasty
Cons:
It breaks too easily.

I have dropped and broken two of these things. When I get another one, I'm going to put a rubber grip around the barrel to add weight and to prevent it from slipping out of my sweaty fingers.

This lens has earned its nick names -- The Nifty Fifty and The Plastic Fantastic. If I had to have only one lens, it would be this one.

It makes beautiful portraits and is a great night life lens. I've told several of my friends to get the lens.


Jun 11, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add The Imagician to your Buddy List  
Rafi Abramov
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 25, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jun 7, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $25.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: (I have the MK1 version) Metal mount, distance window, dedicated and easy-to-use focusing ring, inexpensive, light, f/1.8
Cons:
One thing about the focusing ring... read on

I have the MK1 version of this lens, and it is fantastic. I bought this lens second-hand off craigslist, attached onto a EOS 850 for only $25! Now that is a deal!

I'm sure you all already know, but the MK1 version has a distance window which is quite useful, along with a dedicated focusing ring. Not that I am complaining (for this price especially), but there is no full-time manual focus in autofocus mode. It's not a problem at all, but just something to point out. I use manual focus 90% of the time anyway.

Besides that, I think I'm safe to say that the superb image quality is comparable to a L-series lens, aside from the bokeh of course. Background blur can be pretty harsh with a 6-blade aperture, but I personally enjoy it.

Be sure to buy a filter to protect it at all times since dust and grit can easily enter the lens due to it's "dug-out" kind of construction. Shouldn't be a problem to buy a filter though- it's a cheap 52mm size- definitely a plus.

A must-have in every photographers bag. I'd say to spend a little bit more money and get the MK1 version. You'll understand why. :D


Jun 7, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Rafi Abramov to your Buddy List  
Michael Hamilt
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 7, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 46
Review Date: Jun 7, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $74.99 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp images, AF and MF are very smooth and accurate, quick lens
Cons:
I wish it could focus closer.

I'm very new to DSLR or SLR for that matter. This was my first lens purchase for my newly acquired Rebel Xt and kit lens. I'm amazed at the clarity and sharpness when compared to my kit lens set at 50mm. I love it!!

Jun 7, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Michael Hamilt to your Buddy List  
Kledi Andoni
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 24, 2006
Location: Albania
Posts: 35
Review Date: May 28, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $75.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp, affordable, very light
Cons:
cant blame a lens that costs $70 for slow focus.

Since the day I bought this lens, it has been on my 400d. I am very happy with it and it performs beautifully starting from f1.8. nice bokeh, af is just fine with what I am used to on the 400d.

approx 80mm on the 1.6fcov cameras.

Especially for the price, I would highly recommend it.


May 28, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Kledi Andoni to your Buddy List  
pumbaa
Offline
Buy and Sell: On

Registered: Mar 18, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 45
Review Date: May 11, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: SHARPNESS, BOKEH, CHEAP
Cons:
AF noisy, build cheapy

I have two copies of this lens and i'm satisfied of both. Although build quality is a bit fragile but with this price, it's not its weakness. Yes AF is noisy and it hunt a bit but not louder than the sound that produces the cam's shutter.

In term of optic quality, this lens produces excellent sharpness and bokeh. Colors reproduction is just very good and seem to be accurate, can be in comparaison with some L lens. Just dont forget to buy its hood, it increases significantly contrast and reduces flare.

Here are my some shots taken with this lens, almost all of them has no post processing:

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/193/491398618_58d8287e26_b.jpg
http://farm1.static.flickr.com/217/492809412_fe6a0c872b_b.jpg
http://farm1.static.flickr.com/152/330758568_92ce5d0564.jpg
http://farm1.static.flickr.com/149/333251398_57704cbeeb.jpg

This lens is a must for ALL, just buy it without hesitating and you will feel HAPPY with it


May 11, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add pumbaa to your Buddy List  
alexandre
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 29, 2005
Location: Brazil
Posts: 2628
Review Date: May 3, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $79.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, fast, little, 52mm filter, cheap, etc, etc, etc...
Cons:
It should cost at least 3 times more to have any cons.

Nuff said.

May 3, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add alexandre to your Buddy List  
trevilla
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 8, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 403
Review Date: Apr 28, 2007 Recommend? | Price paid: $80.00

 
Pros: f/1.8, light, small
Cons:
AF fairly slow, plastic

This was my first lens after the kit 18-55. I really enjoyed the fast f-stop and the clarity of a prime lens compared to the low quality of the kit lens.

Paired with my 350D and 430EX, it makes a great lens for courtside basketball.


Apr 28, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add trevilla to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
350 560156 May 29, 2016
Recommended By Average Price
94% of reviewers $128.42
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
5.87
9.56
8.6
ef50mmf_18_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next