about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
348 546564 Oct 16, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
94% of reviewers $128.55
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
5.87
9.56
8.6
ef50mmf_18_1_

Specifications:
This is the lightest EF lens of all at a mere 4.6 oz. (130g). Compact and high-performance, standard lens. Its Gaussian optics provide sharp delineation from near to far focusing distances. The color balance is excellent for a standard lens.


 


Page:  20 · 21 · 22 
          
stevez32
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 25, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 3063
Review Date: Jul 16, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $69.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Light, Inexpensive, Fast
Cons:
50mm fixed, no USM or distance scale on the version II

Sharp as a tack and light as a feather. At this price, if you have any doubt, just try it.

Jul 16, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add stevez32 to your Buddy List  
rombaft
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Jun 19, 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 79
Review Date: Jun 19, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $100.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: sharp, fast, cheap
Cons:
build like toy

this is just a lens you must have in your bag, it's cheap, sharp en has f 1.8, AF is prety fast.

big minor, it is build like a toy, also the button for af/mf is a little difficult sometimes, because i do not use it a lot it will not be broken in short period, bud if you are going to use this thing a lot i think it won't last very long


Jun 19, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add rombaft to your Buddy List  
cmdoc
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 12, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 310
Review Date: Jun 2, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $60.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: fantastic sharpness and color. Inexpensive.
Cons:
Cheaply made. Manual focus doesn't "stay". Sometime searches in low-light autofocusing on my D60.

Bought this used when I bought my D60. Superb portrait lens with fantastic color and bokeh. However, it is a little noisy when in autofocus mode. The body is also cheaply made. The lens was free of dust and debris when I bought it 15 months ago, but now has noticable dust inside. But it doesn't affect picture quality (at least not yet). Only other gripe is it doesn't hold the manual focus for me. For instance, when shooting basketball indoors I would manually focus on the goal and then shoot away without changing my shooting location. But after a couple of minutes I would have to refocus on the goal to get the lens back in focus again. Almost like zoom creep, I guess.

All-in-all, I still use this lens quite a bit for portrait work!


Jun 2, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add cmdoc to your Buddy List  
B_Friedman
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 14, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 23
Review Date: May 29, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $70.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Wonderfully sharp. Bokeh almost looks painted with saturated colors. Fast aperture for low light, very ligh...almost unnoticeable on my EOS 3.
Cons:
Very plasticky.

All plastic, but I have not found this to be a problem. I dropped mine onto asphalt from waist high and have not noticed any related problems.

I wish all my pictures taken with my 28-80mm kit lens when I was first learning had been taken with this lens instead.


May 29, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add B_Friedman to your Buddy List  
Daniela Rasdall
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 4, 2002
Location: Mexico
Posts: 34
Review Date: May 27, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $50.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Superb image quality. Fast AF on D30/D60
Cons:
none

Series 1: Bought mine used in 1994. IMHO sharper than the 1.4. Do not buy the newest version of this lens, shop around for a used series 1. It will outlast your DSLR!

May 27, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Daniela Rasdall to your Buddy List  
Kelvin K
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 7, 2002
Location: China
Posts: 3326
Review Date: May 24, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $75.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very inexpensive, light, small, portable. Produce sharp & contrast images.
Cons:
Feel like my daughter plastic toy

On a D60, it is a good portrait len. If you seldom use a standard prime but still want to keep one with a high speed for "just in case" situation, this is the len. With its low price & great quality output, I can't really complain.

May 24, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Kelvin K to your Buddy List  
AlexQTI
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 9, 2003
Location: N/A
Posts: 3
Review Date: Apr 9, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $80.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp, light, cheap.
Cons:
Built, slow focusing.

Very good lens for the price but focusing much slower than my L lenses (USM) I have on my D60.

Apr 9, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add AlexQTI to your Buddy List  
bellyface
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Mar 17, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 5104
Review Date: Apr 4, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $89.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very light, very bright, compact, low price.
Cons:
No focusing scale, cheap build, plastic lens mount. Manual focus is a pain. Noisy. Not USM.

Great lens for low light shooting, but don't shoot at 1.8. Too soft at 1.8, I found it to be be very sharp at 2.2-2.8. Overall it is a great lens. Here's your 80mm 1.8 if you're shooting with a D30, D60, 10D.... don't spend $350 on a 1.4.

Apr 4, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add bellyface to your Buddy List  
xojins
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 16, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 23
Review Date: Mar 31, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $90.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light Good AF Great Sharpness/Contrast Low Cost!
Cons:
Focus Ring WAY too small All Plastic Body

This was the 1st lens that I bought for my D60 1 yr ago. I have always been amazed with the quality of the images from this lens. This lens is one of the best values you can buy in all of photography (from any manufacturer)!

Mar 31, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add xojins to your Buddy List  
dbarthel
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 13, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 788
Review Date: Mar 31, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $100.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Series I advantage
Cons:

For a little better build quality, get a Series I metal mount from e-bay.

Mar 31, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dbarthel to your Buddy List  
lionken07
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 10, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 572
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: its a steal at $70!
Cons:
no AF overdrive

This is the first lens that I got and I still have it!

The overall build quality isn't anywhere near L glass but the optic quality is well worth the sub $100 price tag!

I think everybody should own one of this.


Mar 30, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add lionken07 to your Buddy List  
BigJoe
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 13, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 690
Review Date: Mar 29, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $80.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Cheap price
Cons:
Cheap build

The 50 f/1.8 II makes a great lens to throw on the camera and use for general purpose shots, especially indoors.

The optics are very sharp when stopped down a bit, but the f/1.8 speed is there for low light or shallow depth of field work when you need it.

Unfortunately, this lens makes use of Canon's crummiest AF drive- the micro-motor. It is slow, noisy, and does not support FTM focusing. This isn't as bad as it sounds since the 50 f/1.8 doesn't have a very large focus range to physically move though, but annoying none the less. Manual focusing is made a chore by the sorry excuse for a focus ring on this lens which is a very thin ring of hard palstic located at the front of the lens.

General build quality is the lowest I've ever seen in any Canon lens. It is all plastic, including the mount. The only metal you'll find here are a pair of tiny screws that hold the contacts in place on the back. Everything else is held together with plastic clips. Even the optics are locked in place with nothing more than the friction between a few tabs of plastic. Word to the wise: do not drop this lens.

But, for $70 or so from a reputable store, this represents a lens that practically anyone that can afford a SLR can buy, and it produces a nice picture (though slightly lacking in the bokeh area due to its coarse 5 bladed aperture diaphram).

I never regretted buying it, but don't expect it to last as long as the more expensive primes or higher end zooms.


Mar 29, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add BigJoe to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
348 546564 Oct 16, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
94% of reviewers $128.55
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
5.87
9.56
8.6
ef50mmf_18_1_


Page:  20 · 21 · 22