about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
351 545769 Oct 16, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
94% of reviewers $127.71
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
5.87
9.56
8.6
ef50mmf_18_1_

Specifications:
This is the lightest EF lens of all at a mere 4.6 oz. (130g). Compact and high-performance, standard lens. Its Gaussian optics provide sharp delineation from near to far focusing distances. The color balance is excellent for a standard lens.


 


Page:  20 · 21 · 22  next
          
JLavino
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 13, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 272
Review Date: Aug 16, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $60.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: All around great lens, performs on par. PRICE.
Cons:
Cheapness.

It does feel cheap, but the crisp pictures and awesome bokeh are unbelievable. Its insane what this 70$ lens can do.....

Aug 16, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add JLavino to your Buddy List  
corgiwcn
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 8, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 50
Review Date: Aug 4, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $70.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very good sharpness, contrast, and color. Lightweight.
Cons:
The build quality is cheap. Alas, it a $70 lens.

This is probably the best $70 you will ever spend in photography. This is my first lens for my Canon 300D.

Wide open, it's not really usable because the autofocus is so erratic under my 300D that, even using tripod with MLU, continuous shots on the same subject will have blurred to tack sharp images.

From f/2.5 and down, my copy shows increasing improvement until f/8.0. It's excellent to outstanding between f/4 and f/8. This lens is basically distortion-free, a big plus. If you always use a lens hood to protect it from flare, it will produce very contrasty images with nice colors. Even though the autofocus is noisy, my copy never misfocuses, unlike the notorious 70-200 f/4.

I am not going to upgrade to the current version of 50mm f/1.4 unless it is revised to have the same build quality (and ring USM) as the 85mmm f/1.8.

Added comment (Jan 01, 2005): I recently tried manual focus as well as the technique of forcing 300D into AI servo to check whether this lens at f/1.8. To my surprise, it is very contrasty and sharp. This confirms my suspicion that most of the "softness" complaints against this (and possibly the 50mm f/1.4) originated from bad autofocus instead of bad optics. It is therefore suggested that you use the same technique when the DOF is very small.


Aug 4, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add corgiwcn to your Buddy List  
LukeRamirez
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 26, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Review Date: Jul 26, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $79.99 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp, light, large maximum aperture, PRICE!
Cons:
No distance scale. Other than that this is fine.

I bought this recently because I hadn't ever owned a prime and figured that a standard 50 was the way to go. I couldn't justify spending around $280 more for a 1/3 stop gain, USM, or distance scale. Not having a metal mount is not a disadvantage. It's not like this lens is so heavy the mount will bust. Besides, not having a meatl mount saves on weight. Which I love when backpacking. Basically, it's a great lens for your bag, and is indespensible when it comes to low light shooting.

Jul 26, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add LukeRamirez to your Buddy List  
ssthapit
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 11, 2004
Location: Nepal
Posts: 57
Review Date: Jul 24, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $70.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Light and Cheap
Cons:
Can't complain for the price

Use it on my 10D. Very satisfied. Gives very pleasing portraits, great colors. Very useful for taking candids of friends indoors because of large aperture (no flash needed).

Jul 24, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add ssthapit to your Buddy List  
letjin
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 19, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 150
Review Date: Jul 14, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $65.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: price and weight
Cons:
slow and loud focusing, soft below f/2.8, poor build quality, not so good focusing accuracy

This lens may have good price/performance ratio, but you do get what you pay for. The lens is soft until f/2.8, not quite sharp until f/4. Cheap focusing motor makes loud noise and focusing accuracy is less than 50% on mine. 5 diaphragm blades make pentagon bokeh - ugly on portraits.

Jul 14, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add letjin to your Buddy List  
Unregistered
Offline
Location: United States
Review Date: Jun 29, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $60.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Light, fast, sharp, cheep, price/quality
Cons:
plastic, slow focus (not usm)

Great standard lens. Fast, good for lowlight situations. I use it for shooting basketball at school. I wish it had usm, thats what the 1.4 is for.

Jun 29, 2004
Edit/Delete Message
Shiva-TPF-
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 19, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Review Date: Jun 23, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $86.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: light, sharp, great price, 1.8 aperature
Cons:
light and plastic construction

I bought the Rebel 300 with the kit lens and realized I wanted something more. I have not gone back to the kit lens yet, even with the lack of zoom. This is an awesome lens that I would be willing to buy for twice the price.
The only negative aspect of the lens is the that construction does not feel as rock solid as I would prefer.
I believe it's a great lens and compliments the performance vs. cost ratio that also turned me to the Rebel.


Jun 23, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Shiva-TPF- to your Buddy List  
jclark58
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 6, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 135
Review Date: Jun 17, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $75.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Price, sharpness, weight.
Cons:
Build quality, focus? ring?, AF motor.

Either drop a few more $ and find yourself the Mark I version of this lens or buy a second copy of the Mark II to use after the first one breaks. Though optically similar (identical?) the addition of the true focusing ring, distance scale, and vastly superior build quality make the Mark I version a much nicer lens to work with. You won't notice the 2.1 oz weight difference but you will notice the quality in your hands.

Jun 17, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jclark58 to your Buddy List  
Cagri
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 3, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 37
Review Date: May 4, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $69.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharpness above 2.2, price
Cons:
Build quality

Decent lens, and considering the price this is a "must have" for everyone. Great for poor light conditions. Little soft wide-open but this gives a really nice look especially on portraits.

Oh, one more thing, don't drop this lens from any height ! I know many people losing their lenses when they drop it from a foot or so...


May 4, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Cagri to your Buddy List  
Unregistered
Offline
Location: United States
Review Date: Apr 2, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $70.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: sharp, light, inexpensive
Cons:
if you have the cash, the f/1.4 is superior in all regards

If all you have are low budget zooms, the 50mm f/1.8 will introduce you to the quality that can be gained by using primes. Past f/3.5 the images are as sharp as can be expected.

However, the flaws this lens has (jarring bokeh, poor construction, no full time manual, softness below f/2.8) led me to get the 50mm f/1.4 insetad.


Apr 2, 2004
Edit/Delete Message
kahfluie
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 25, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 116
Review Date: Mar 7, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $69.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Cost, weight, size, sharp and contrasty, great Bokeh
Cons:
none

Don't let the low price tag, or it's plastic build fool you... this is a must have lens. It's small and lightweight, but takes gorgeous photos that are sharp and contrasty. Great lens for portraits, and exceptional for concert photography.

Two thumbs up!!!


Mar 7, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add kahfluie to your Buddy List  
btjohnston
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 20, 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 1083
Review Date: Feb 23, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Cheap, light and sharp
Cons:
no DoF scale

sure it's cheap and probably won't last too long, but you get what you pay for. The lens is sharp for what I need it for, which is general purpose shooting. I really wish it had a DoF scale on the lense.

Feb 23, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add btjohnston to your Buddy List  
vince
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 18, 2002
Location: China
Posts: 306
Review Date: Feb 2, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $60.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Excellent optics, large aperture, small, light,
Cons:
Cheap crummy construction, lousy AF motor.

My 50/1.8-II has excellent optics and delivers sharp, contrasty images. I hate the construction - it feels like it's going to break into pieces at any time. Still it's small and light and I take it almost everywhere. Wish they made an updated version with better construction, a distance scale, metal lens mount and real USM.

Feb 2, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add vince to your Buddy List  
lightly_salted
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 13, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Review Date: Jan 16, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $76.00 | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: It's cheap.
Cons:
You get what you pay for.

In spite of all the high praise for this lens everyone should be aware that it's quality can vary greatly. In other words, you pay your money and you take your chances (of getting a good example). It was beyond soft at wide aperture, CA was horrible too. That junker went back. Example number 2 was a bit better but not by a lot. Example number 3 was the best but not all that good. I think there is too much hype out there for a few good examples of this lens, and they are not the norm.

It is the cheapest constructed lens I have ever laid hand to. I mean this thing feels like my grandson's plastic Chinese toy car. Horrible! Actually, in retrospect, my grandson's toy car (he's 4 years old) feels better contructed than this Canon lens.

Be advised that spending an extra $125 for the Canon 50/2.5 macro lens is likely to be the best investment you'll make. If you can say 50/2.5 macro then you can truly say SHARP! 50/1.8, well that's hit and miss. If $80 doesn't mean much to you then buy the 50/1.8. Sorry, but $80 DOES mean something to me.


Jan 16, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add lightly_salted to your Buddy List  
hahiran
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 18, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 328
Review Date: Jan 2, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $70.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fantastic image quality. Light. Cheap.
Cons:
Can't really complain for $70.

Sure, it's cheap looking, sure it's plastic, sure it's a little slow focusing, but who is taking pictures of fast moving objects with this lens? Forget the negatives, buy this lens. It's as sharp as my one L lens, and I love, absolutely love the portraits out of this guy. Color is nice, blurred backgrounds are beautiful. Highly recommended.

Jan 2, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add hahiran to your Buddy List  
genenyc
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 26, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Review Date: Dec 26, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $70.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp, compact, cheap
Cons:
Slooww focusing

This lens is just as sharp as my $300 Tokina 28-70 2.8 but it a fraction of the size and weight. Yes it does feel like a toy, but a heavier lens is also more likely to suffer impact damage if it takes a spill. Major problem is the degree of focus hunting. I recently used it with my 10D for an informal gathering and the inability to focus in low light (left the 550ex at home) had me looking like a rank amateur. Folks waiting around while the lens is hunting around aimlessly. I eventually went ot MF mode, which I personally try to avoid in low light situations as the small viewfinder display on the 10D makes it more difficult to judge focus. I'm almost wondering if my lens is defective as its not exactly fast when I use it with my EOS-3 either. Despite all that, I still give it high marks as the image quality is fantastic and its the fastest lens I own, which makes it great for dramatic DOF background blurring. All from the least expensive lens I own!

Dec 26, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add genenyc to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
351 545769 Oct 16, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
94% of reviewers $127.71
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
5.87
9.56
8.6
ef50mmf_18_1_


Page:  20 · 21 · 22  next