about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
348 546594 Oct 16, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
94% of reviewers $128.55
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
5.87
9.56
8.6
ef50mmf_18_1_

Specifications:
This is the lightest EF lens of all at a mere 4.6 oz. (130g). Compact and high-performance, standard lens. Its Gaussian optics provide sharp delineation from near to far focusing distances. The color balance is excellent for a standard lens.


 


Page:  10 · 11 · 12 · 13 · 14 · 15 · 16 · 17 · 18 · 19 · 20>  next
      
mnogueir
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 2, 2005
Location: Portugal
Posts: 0
Review Date: Dec 10, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $120.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: price, optical quality and sharpness
Cons:
plastic feel construction

At this price, an excellent lens. Very sharp and fast, it was my first buy after getting the 300D with the 18-55 kit lens. The 50/1.8 is a lot better than the kit lens. Very useful for portraits and indoor photography (just limited by its l focal lenght). Recommended!

Dec 10, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mnogueir to your Buddy List  
timpdx
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 1, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1844
Review Date: Dec 5, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $75.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Can't be touched for the price, considering what you get, it is worth it. A "little" taste of the L glass at around US$75.
Cons:
Construction is so-so, not bad, really.

What else can I say? This should really be your first purchase after getting a DSLR, even those on a budget. I actually like the light weight, when travelling it is easy to keep a zoom on the camera body and stick one of these 50mm wonders in a pocket for low light churches or whatever. Focuses reasonably fast, bokeh is ok, lens protrudes just a tad. No reason not to get one, unless you have the 1.4.

Dec 5, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add timpdx to your Buddy List  
Holly Mash
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 1, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Dec 1, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: A highly affordable introduction to the world of primes
Cons:
You'll want the f1.4 if you decide primes are for you!

For those who have decided they'll only ever own zoom lenses, I'd highly recommend this lens. It will provide an inexpensive education in photography that you couldn't enjoy with a zoom. How can that be? First, this prime introduces the concept of zooming by moving the feet. For me at least this physical element forced me to think more carefully about composition that ever before... and this I'm sure you'll agree cannot be a bad thing! Second, the large aperture (show me your f/1.8 zoom) introduces *thin* depth of fleid challenges and that great subjective blur known as bokeh... Adjust your camera to Av (aperture priority) f1.8 or full manual and enjoy the challenge of photographing with *thin* depth of field. ("Go for the eyes Boo, go for the eyes!") You'll get to see great bokeh as well! Third, and for me at least, finally, this lens allows for nice low-light/indoor portrait photography. The f/1.8 aperture together with the 20D's quality high-iso values is an amazing combo... you hardly need flash, and if you do use it you'll get a picture that looks all the world like it was taken in pleasant sunlight. For this last reason this lens moves past raw education and must claim keeper status with even the most die-hard zoom-only fans (I was one of those too once!). Get it, enjoy it, and keep snapping away!! Oh by the way, if you're even 1/2 interested in macro, you should know that the 50mm f/1.8 has reasonable (but not 1:1) magnification too.

For those who are more than a little interested in primes... I'm guessing you've enjoyed one or other of the Canon 50mm range already.

To sum: a great inexpensive photography lesson and useful low-light portrait lens. I listened to the reviews and have NOT been disappointed! You'd be mad not to!


Dec 1, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Holly Mash to your Buddy List  
kitiongi
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 27, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Nov 29, 2005 Recommend? | Price paid: $84.00

Pros: Canons cheapest lens on a small frame. "A shooter and a point guard i should say"
Cons:
none...for it's price!!!

Optical quality is superb...super sharp.
Good for portraits or street shooting.
Good in low light situations where you don't want to use a flash (indoor)

For me there's no problem with the plastic build and the plastic mount. (i don't understand others complaining about the construction it's just perfect for it's weight and for its price, well correct me if i'm wrong, i read it that its using a hard plastic material similar to keblar. It is well built... i had my first 50mm mkll for almost 4 years until i gave it to my friend 2 days ago. it looks new ( well used but not abused) and performs perfectly the same the first day it came out of the box.

I'll probably get a new one and it will be a sparing bud with my 24-70 L, again!

HIGHLY Recommended!!


Nov 29, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add kitiongi to your Buddy List  
kitiongi
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 27, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Nov 28, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $76.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Canon's cheapest lens, a great glass in a small body! Optical quality is as sharp as you can get, with great contrast and color saturation. F/1.8 is great! AF is a bit noisy and but tolerable, body is completely made of plastic which is a no problem to me (my concerns are the quality of producing sharp outputs). Large aperture is at it's best when working with lower light, and when taking Portraits. It is fantastic value for money. and if your not yet satisfied with it? go with the big brother F1.4
Cons:
nothing for it's price!!!



Nov 28, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add kitiongi to your Buddy List  
Ribeiro
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 18, 2005
Location: Portugal
Posts: 0
Review Date: Nov 19, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Best lens you can buy for its price! Image qulity is in the "L" class! Price
Cons:
For its price... non!

This is Canon's cheapest lens, but don't let the price fool you!
This a great glass in a poor body!
Optical quality is as sharp as you can get, with great contrast and color satyration. Amax. F/1.8 is great!
Other then that (witch is the most important...) AF is noisy and slow; body is complitly made of plastic; min. focusing distance 45cm, so it's not that good for Macro (but a simple cheap extention tube corrects this when needed!)

Imaily use this lens for portrais, low light situations (e.g. concerts) with excelent results!, and macro shooting by using it with extention tubes!

I realy think that this lens is a "must" in EVERY photographers camera bag!


Nov 19, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Ribeiro to your Buddy List  
captainatomic
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 8, 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 335
Review Date: Nov 18, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

Pros: Certainly a big difference in speed to the 350D/Rebel XT Kit Lens. The large aperture is nice when working with lower light, and when taking Portraits. Affordable for most, a worthwhile companion for any camera.
Cons:
Auto focus is much noiser than the Kit lens. I find the focusing ring a joke - however how often do you need to manual focus? Not suited to close ups photos, due it is minimum focusing distance being 45cm

I purchased this lens a few days ago, to go with my new Canon EOS 350D camera. After weeks of suffering from Point and Shoot quality photos from the slow Kit Lens, I had enough and purchased this lens.

It is fantastic value for money, affordable for most.

I love how the shallow depth of feild lets you be more in control of how the photos look - with the Kit lens you always seem to hover around [i]f/i]4.5-[i]f/i]5.6.

It seems to miss focus occasionally, with some photo's not being suitable due to missed focus. Be carefull when working with [i]f/i]1.8, I would suggest stopping down to even [i]f/i]2.8 just for that extra stop of detail in focus.

Poor 'Macro' abilities, it wont focus on a subject that is close to the lens - making it more suited for Portraits/Walkaround. Even the Kit lens can focus much closer than this lens.

The build construction is OK - it is nothing to worry about. Is a plastic mount really that bad? The lens is very light, and the mount is very solid. If the lens was heavier then perhaps the plastic mount would be a concern, but for a lightweight Prime lens it is suitable.

I will certianly be keeping this len's, great image quality wide open and even better stopped down.


Nov 18, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add captainatomic to your Buddy List  
FCWquest
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 12, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 315
Review Date: Nov 18, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $79.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Price! Pretty sharp, works well for those who don't want to spend the extra $$$ on the 1.4 version. I have no problem with the build, it's so small.
Cons:
Cheap build, although I don't have a problem with it, a little soft wide open.

This is a great lens that you can just go out and buy! It's dirt cheap, pick it up just to mess around if you want! f/1.8 is really fun for just playing around and sparating the background. I would reccomend this as a great multi-purpose lens and can be used for indoor shots too with the wide aperture.

Nov 18, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add FCWquest to your Buddy List  
incdigital
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 2, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 226
Review Date: Nov 16, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $70.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Solid performer for a tiny price tag, Sharpness is close to or equal to Canon 50mm 1.4, Compact
Cons:
Cheap Build



Nov 16, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add incdigital to your Buddy List  
jiveorama
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 12, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 68
Review Date: Nov 11, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $79.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Cheap, sharp, best upgrade from kit lens for FF cameras imho
Cons:
focus ring. slow AF.


I got this lens a couple of months ago to replace my
28-80 USM V kit lens that I got with my Rebel G years ago.
Wow. Way sharper, and just great for low-light/indoors.
It also tought me to use the foot zoom.
The focus is slower and noisier than my old kit lens, but
for what I'm currently doing, it's fine.
Did I mention it's cheap?


Nov 11, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jiveorama to your Buddy List  
Klane
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Nov 8, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 722
Review Date: Nov 11, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $99.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Sharp, Light, compact, good Bokeh, price
Cons:
Plastic, Manual Focus ring isnt great

Bought this at my local camera shop because they are nice guys, so paying and extra $10 or so was no biggie. The lens is awesome for the money, and great for low light indoor shots. Sharp even at 1.8, stop it down a few and you have a brilliant lens for little cash. A must have.

Nov 11, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Klane to your Buddy List  
drwho9437
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 10, 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 6
Review Date: Nov 10, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $70.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Fast, lite, sharp, lite, small filters, did I mention lite
Cons:
MF ring, no dist scale

First that guy who payed $9190 for this baby overpayed a bit... (no doubt not USD but it throughs off the average).

The fantastic plastic, its a great lens. On a 1.6x body its a nice 80mm 1.8 good for portrait and street to some extent.

Some people might complain about the build, my personal feelings are that the MKI would be just about perfect in my build pref for build. I don't like heavy lens at all. Some people seem to equate weight with good build. That said the build on this the MKII isn't the greatest. My complaint is mostly the MF ring and lack of a distance scale.

A lens in the end is about what kind of pictures it can take, this one is very capable. There is no better lens for the money. If only it were still a 50mm on a 1.6x then we'd really be talking, but an 80 is useful too.


Nov 10, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add drwho9437 to your Buddy List  
pablo_rj
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 29, 2005
Location: Brazil
Posts: 109
Review Date: Nov 3, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $9,911.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Bokeh, weight, clearness, colors, price
Cons:
not usm

My first clear lens. I was made an impression with the quality in relation to the price of the lens.

Clear from f2, but in the maximum opening it is good. The only one however is not to be USM.


Nov 3, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add pablo_rj to your Buddy List  
gaalpoel
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 25, 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 22, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $107.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Cheap, fast, sharp. Light to take with you where ever you go. Useable at f1.8.
Cons:
Plastic (feeling).

Very good lens for the money, buyed my copy for 90 ($107) and it's worth every cent. Sharp at 1.8 and even sharper when stopped down. Saved many shots in low light conditions where other lenses failed, and the use of flashlight was not possible.

Should be in your bag everywhere you go.


Oct 22, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add gaalpoel to your Buddy List  
Harvison
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 26, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Review Date: Oct 14, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $98.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: This lens is sharp, wide open is a little soft, but not much and can be expected. Very inexpensive.
Cons:
Cheap plastic mount, but for the price you still can't beat it.



Oct 14, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Harvison to your Buddy List  
Gino02GT
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 4, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1122
Review Date: Oct 13, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $75.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Very sharp a couple of stops down, small, light, VERY inexpensive
Cons:
Any downsides of this lens can be directly attributed to the fact you're only paying $75 for a very sharp lens.

Build quality, 5 blade aperature, plastic mount...........it's $75, you really can't be too picky at that level. Once you move past that you'l get one of Canon's lightest, smallest lenses. After hauling around some small, medium, and somewhat large L's, attaching this onto my camera really is a nice change of pace.

Stop it down to about f/4 and you'll get results that you might not have thought possible with such a (relatively) small contribution from your wallet.

Buy it. I read the same statement from these boards and went with it. They were right, I agree, and now I say it again: just buy it.

ESPECIALLY if you're new to photography, this is the perfect lens to serve as an introduction to prime and large aperature lenses. Coming from a point-and-shoot to a 300D and one of these really opened the doors of photography to me.

Now I'm a multiple body and L lens carrying junkie Smile


Oct 13, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Gino02GT to your Buddy List  




Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
348 546594 Oct 16, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
94% of reviewers $128.55
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
5.87
9.56
8.6
ef50mmf_18_1_


Page:  10 · 11 · 12 · 13 · 14 · 15 · 16 · 17 · 18 · 19 · 20>  next