about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
349 536326 Feb 12, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
94% of reviewers $127.83
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
5.88
9.56
8.6
ef50mmf_18_1_

Specifications:
This is the lightest EF lens of all at a mere 4.6 oz. (130g). Compact and high-performance, standard lens. Its Gaussian optics provide sharp delineation from near to far focusing distances. The color balance is excellent for a standard lens.


 


Page:  10 · 11 · 12 · 13 · 14 · 15 · 16 · 17 · 18 · 19 · 20>  next
      
bollywood1970
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 29, 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: Aug 20, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: The price is unbelievable for what you get.This lens is super in low light conditions! Great for taking pics in dark areas where you do not want a flash used.It help keep the ambience. I think a perfect spot for this lens would be capturing a candlelit dinner in a low light restaurant, or a stage play where flash is not permitted. There are so many other great applications for this lens. I am not to fond of using flashes, so this defiinately is a super way of getting around that. For $ 110 I am very happy!
Cons:
I wish it had a zoom lens.
Aug 20, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add bollywood1970 to your Buddy List  
bubbles55
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 13, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 85
Review Date: Aug 15, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $72.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Dirt cheap, sharp, good clean images.
Cons:
Stiff manual/AF switch.

I don't understand why people would stick with the horrid kit lens that comes on the XT when they could have this baby. Where else are you going to get an aparature of 1.8 for anywhere near this price?

The cheap "feel" of the lens that people complain about is silly. It's not a 600mm lens that needs to be built like a tank. It's small, lightweight and perfect for what it is.


Aug 15, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add bubbles55 to your Buddy List  
ibilly
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 29, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 432
Review Date: Aug 14, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $65.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: SHARP, light, teeny, CHEAP, non-intimidating
Cons:
MF switch/ring, build quality is just OK

This is my favorite lens, though the 10-22 is really close. For low light, sports you can get near to, people, candids, fun, or if you just need a sharp pic of something, this is your lens.

I got mine used for $65 on ebay, and despite the cheap plastic build, I've NEVER had any sort of quality problem with it.

It is quite easily the sharpest lens I have, and was the least expensive.

It took some of the best shots in my HS yearbook. Fast+sharp=great for event photography. It comes out to 80mm on a crop body, which is very good IMO. While it's not your 'normal' length, it is long enough to rely on when your tele-zoom (mine is a cheap, 5.6 one) gets too dark & slow for the event.

Indoor gyms, night games, etc., this lens let me keep my shutter speed up and my ISO down when others were struggling to get a sharp picture.

I HEARTILY recommend this lens to EVERYONE. I really love it!


Aug 14, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ibilly to your Buddy List  
Alex Nail
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 2, 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2799
Review Date: Aug 8, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Sharp. Sharp. Sharp. Great colour.
Cons:
Build is average. Some focussing problems on occasion. Manual focus hard to operate.

For the price this lense is incredible. It is so sharp it makes USM redundant.

Aug 8, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Alex Nail to your Buddy List  
flawlessly
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 17, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 123
Review Date: Jul 18, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $80.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Cheap, sharp, best bang for the buck!
Cons:
Poor build, easy to break, needs extra care for it!

Every Canon users should have one in their bags. This is the 1st lens that you have to buy for being a Canon dude! :-)

Jul 18, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add flawlessly to your Buddy List  
EOSshooter
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 4, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 4, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $70.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Cheap, Sharp, f1.8.
Cons:
cheaply built

At this dirt cheap price, there is no lens perform as good as the EF 50mm f1.8 MKII. Truely the best first lens for Canon users.

Jul 4, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add EOSshooter to your Buddy List  
aero145
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 1, 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 333
Review Date: Jul 1, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Ultra-sharp, light, small, front element does not rotate during focusing.
Cons:
Focus ring small, loud focus, AF/MF switch pretty stiff.

This lens is an ultra-sharp fixed-focal lenght lens.

I haven't got anything to say about it other than this:

'The photos taken on the EF 50mm f/1.8 II lens are TOO sharp for me! Almost un-possible to use the shots, they're TOO sharp. However, if you only use orginals, its sharpness is good. :-)'

If you go into menu on your 20D, and put sharpness down, the sharpness is OK.


Jul 1, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add aero145 to your Buddy List  
kevmar
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 25, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 98
Review Date: Jun 22, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Cheapish, Nice brokeh, Light
Cons:
Pastic, noisey, but if you've got the money, you wouldn't had got it.

This was the first lens i brought for my EOS300D, which is still sitting on it (my other lenses have migrated onto the 20D).

Popped it on the camera after i brought it, clicked away and was getting some very nice long townscape shots, with lovely colour rendition.

In low light, this lens knocks spots of anything I have. It gives a lovely depth of field and lovely brokeh... (one of my nicest portrait shots was done on the London Underground, no flash, and a steady hand)

If you're starting out, this is a good lens to have as it will teach to work with camera and experiment with the modes on it.

Yes, we can moan about how plastic it is, how noisey and how there's practicly no focusing ring. If you want that.. you get the Mark I... which I got in the end for the focusing ring (which in studio, is a godsend... switch off the AF and start thinking for yourself).

Treat it with a bit of respect... don't knock it much, and it will pay you back every time you use it.


Jun 22, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add kevmar to your Buddy List  
jthai
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 2, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1
Review Date: Jun 15, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: It is sharp at F2.8... very sharp at F5.6... Good price
Cons:
Cheap quality build.. soft at F1.8.

For the money, this lens is great deal... It is very sharp at F5.6.. I can say the sweet spot is F5.6 not at F8..
For close shot this is work well with Manual focus.. For 2 feet distance from the object, this lens does not work well with AF.. compare between Manual focus and Auto Focus at 2 feet distance. Manual focus was sharper..

Recomend to buy this lens for the money.. For build quality should get the 50 F1.4



Jun 15, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jthai to your Buddy List  
veroman
Online
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Aug 19, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 3696
Review Date: Jun 14, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $70.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharpness Detail Contrast Accurate color Price!
Cons:
None

A great lens at three times the price. If you have a Canon, then you need to have this lens. It's as close to the 50mm f/1.4 as you can get (except for build) without having to pay the f/1.4 price.

Jun 14, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add veroman to your Buddy List  
Rixu
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 16, 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10
Review Date: Jun 9, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: cheap, sharp
Cons:
5 degrees to the right pictures

see above

Jun 9, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Rixu to your Buddy List  
TomWilko
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 20, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 153
Review Date: Jun 2, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: - Look at the price you pay for the quality you get! - Small, light and just sits in the corner of your bag all day waiting to be used - F/1.8...brilliant
Cons:
- Nothing I can see

I bought this lens as I was told by reviews and in general that this was Canons best value lens by a long shot.

Simple fact...it is. The quality, bokeh and ease of use make this lens an absolute joy to use. I have my 70-200 F/4 L for Motorsport and everything else I pretty much do with this.

The standard kit lens from a Rebel XT (350d) looks like the poor relation in comparison to this lens and because of which I never use it.


Jun 2, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add TomWilko to your Buddy List  
thebeginning
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 14, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1278
Review Date: May 28, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $60.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: It's cheap, sharp after f2.5, very sharp after f4 or f5.6, uhh it's cheap, it's very light, it's small, and it's cheap
Cons:
the build quality is total crap. after using nicer primes like the 85 1.8 and some L zooms I held this thing and it literally felt like a toy. It's very very light - too light. it feels like you could crush it just by holding it wrong. It also autofocuses loudly and kinda slowly, and there are only 5 aperture blades.

if you're on a tight budget but want a sharp lense, this is it. it makes for terrific portraits with it's large max aperture and surprisingly nice bokeh. If you want a sturdy, reliable lense that will last, then look elsewhere.

May 28, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add thebeginning to your Buddy List  
Chim450
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 21, 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: May 25, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Price, f/1.8, Exceptional Sharpness at f/5.6
Cons:
Good but not exceptional sharpness until f/5.6

I bought a 2nd hand Mk 1 version of the lens, with the metal mount. For the same money I could have had a new Mk 2, but wanted the better (metal) build quality.

At f/1.8 pictures are pretty sharp, but not razor sharp. For portraits this is not necessarily a major problem.

At f/4 shots are very sharp.

At f/5.6 shots are truly outstanding. Sharpness is at least as good as with the Canon 70 - 200 f/2.8 L IS and the Sigma 150 mm f/2.8 Macro, both of which are stunningly sharp.

Wide open this lens allows you to take shots which would not otherwise be possible. Stopped down slightly it could not be sharper. This is a lens which everyone should own, for the price it is outstanding value and delivers the goods.


May 25, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Chim450 to your Buddy List  
eyebelieve
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 20, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Review Date: May 24, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $75.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: sharpness, lightweight, price, price, price, sweet bokeh, great anywhere past f/4 and gives pretty good photos anywhere below that, very workable in low light,
Cons:
difficult manual focus ring, AF hunting, odd AF/MF switch, odd focal length on a APS-C

GET THIS LENS
There's really nothing bad you can say about it, all its faults can be attributed to be the less than $80 price tag.

For what its worth, the lens packs a punch. Really good for portraits, bokeh works well, and the one of the most portable lenses on the market.
I bring this lens everywhere, because I can. It really doesn't have any downfalls for the price.


May 24, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add eyebelieve to your Buddy List  
Photo Blogger
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 29, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Review Date: May 17, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $74.95 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Nice sharp lens, good boken.
Cons:
AF/MF switch is very hard if not sometimes impossible to switch.
May 17, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Photo Blogger to your Buddy List  




Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
349 536326 Feb 12, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
94% of reviewers $127.83
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
5.88
9.56
8.6
ef50mmf_18_1_


Page:  10 · 11 · 12 · 13 · 14 · 15 · 16 · 17 · 18 · 19 · 20>  next