about | support
home
 

Search Used

Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
167 399685 Oct 28, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
84% of reviewers $472.26
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.92
8.92
8.4
111_small

Specifications:
Lens Construction: 14 Elements in 10 Groups
Angle of View: 102.4 - 63.8 degrees (Sigma SD format)
Number of Diaphragm Blades: 6 Blades
Minimum Aperture: F22
Minimum Focusing Distance: 24cm / 9.4 in.
Maximum Magnification: 1:6.7
Filter Size Diameter: 77mm
Lens Hood: Petal Hood
Dimensions: Diameter 83.5mm X Length 81mm
3.3 in. X 3.2 in.
Weight 470g/16.6 oz.

-----

- It covers a superwide angle of view 102.4° to 63.8°(SD format)

- Three pieces of Special Low Dispersion (SLD) elements and three aspherical lens elements produce top quality optical performance.

- Inner focusing system ensures the length of the lens remains unchanged whilst controlling aberrations.

- Equipped with HSM (Hyper Sonic Motor) system

- Minimum focusing distance of 24cm (9.4») at all focal lengths.

- Relatively compact, lightweight for an ultra wide-angle zoom lens.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next
          
okephoto
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 23, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 77
Review Date: Aug 24, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $550.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great focal length, nice build quality
Cons:
Yellow cast (easily dealt with in Photoshop)

I purchased my Sigma 10-20 in January before flying to Asia. The lens has been used primarily on a D2X with the occasional use on my backup D100. After reading reports here and on other web sites I decided to give this lens a try knowing full well that there seem to be issues with the quality on many examples. I picked up my lens a few hours before leaving (something I don't like to do) and quickly shot a few images. My first impression was that I could live with it.

What have I learned in 6 months of shooting? Firstly, the Sigma has the ability to give an amazing perspective that cannot be found with many other lenses. I have found myself using this lens more than I originally had anticipated.

Optically I have found the lens to be a mixed bag. There is a slight yellow cast that can be problematic although in Photoshop this can easily be corrected. Sharpness varies as well with images shot wide open being slightly soft in the corners with a huge improvement at around f8. My lens seems to be fairly sharp from side to side but I'm finding that this seems a little inconsistent as the odd image is soft on one side. Distortion is what can be expected from extreme wide angles and I find Photoshop can work wonders to tame some of the issues.

Would I buy this lens again? Absolutely. The lens does what I require which is to produce double page spreads in magazines and books that are of professional quality. Large prints I haven't tried but will in the future. Overall people give the images the “wow” factor which is a good sign.

Would enjoy hearing your comments and own experiences. I have put a gallery of about 60 images at http://www.pbase.com/islaguy/sigma_1020mm


Aug 24, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add okephoto to your Buddy List  
furniss
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 11, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Aug 24, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Price, Build, Image quality, A/F speed, Includes hood and padded bag.
Cons:
Poor lens cap, Sigma quality control issue?

The first copy of the lens I acquired had poor image quality. Soft at all focal lengths and apertures. I returned it. The replacement is much better. Okay sharpness at f4, excellent at f8-f16. Good contrast and color (slightly warm). Excellent flair & CA suppression.

The lens has a good feel & weight. Zoom and focus rings are nicely damped. Overall build quality seems very good, similar to my Canon 17-40mm f/4L. Auto focus speed is fast and near silent.

I was pleased that Sigma includes the hood and padded bag.

I'd recommend the Sigma 10-22mm. But carefully check your copy is as good as it should be.


Aug 24, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add furniss to your Buddy List  
erictron
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 22, 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Review Date: Aug 22, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $780.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: This lens is ridiculously sharp - I went straight to this lens after shooting for nearly two years with my Canon 20-35 f/2.8L. Fast and accurate focussing, amazing picture quality. The zoom is just about right - I can squeeze out a portrait shot or two at 20mm if I'm in a pinch.
Cons:
I know it's EX, and that's wonderful....but the dust! Stopped up to f/8 it has to be ridiculously clean in order not to see specs of dust in the shot. A normal lens cleaning won't do the job - you have to shine a flashlight into the lens and painstakingly brush off every piece of dust. There's something strange going on with the Canon 10-22, it's like since the lens elements are organized differently, the dust is not nearly such a problem

I must say, this is one of my favorite landscape lenses. Any time I'm on a trip, this remains affixed to my Eos 300d. I took her for two weeks to London, England and the shots were quite breathtaking (for this young photographer, anyway) After you get over the initial learning curve and learn to see in your minds eye what this lens can do, you can get some shots you didn't believe were possible.

My two qualms are the build quality and the dust. With both my Sigma lenses, I noticed these black bits, possibly dust or leftover plastic, gather behind some of the larger elements. A few taps will get them out, but it's still a bit of a pain to know they're kicking around in there. The only other time i've seen that is in my Canon f/1.8, and it's been a long time since i've heard anyone rave about this aforementioned lens's build quality.

All in all, certainly a must have. If you can afford it, though, the Canon 10-22 is worth the extra couple of dollars.

Some pictures I've taken with this lens:
<a href="http://drahtphotography.com/gallery2/d/790-1/CRW_9332---2006-06-08-05320.jpg"> one </a>
<a href="http://drahtphotography.com/gallery2/d/788-1/trainsunset+2006-07-29.jpg"> two </a>
<a href="http://drahtphotography.com/gallery2/d/772-1/angelarrow+2006-06-08_1.jpg"> three </a>
<a href="http://drahtphotography.com/gallery2/d/760-1/thisisasunset+2006-07-29.jpg"> four </a>
<a href="http://drahtphotography.com/gallery2/d/758-1/betweenthetrain+2006-07-30.jpg"> five </a>


Aug 22, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add erictron to your Buddy List  
jgsawyer
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 21, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Aug 3, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great wide angle for my Canon 30D, very sharp, good AF, and $200 less expensive than the Canon 10-22. Very happy with this lens.
Cons:
None so far.

I used this lens extensively during a trip to Santa Fe, and was very pleased with the results. I had read a lot of reviews before buying it, and had seen the complaints about focusing problems. Sigma have either solved the problems or I happened to get a good one. Did make sure that B&H would exchange before I purchased it, though.

Aug 3, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jgsawyer to your Buddy List  
gavin
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 7, 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 468
Review Date: Jul 31, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Much better than the Nikkor 12-24 (which I returned)
Cons:
People always borrow it

I am useing this baby more and more for weddings/portraits and spoorts.
In fact a few other pros in town have got one after my gushing and all are stocked, enough said, if working pro like it it is a keeper.
Gav


Jul 31, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add gavin to your Buddy List  
ImagineGR
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 1, 2005
Location: Greece
Posts: 1
Review Date: Jul 23, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very high sharpness and good contrast throughout the zoom range, solidly built, excellent AF speed and silent HSM with FT-M focus, supplied hood and carring case - all combined into an excellent value for money APS-C lens. Can even been mount on a [135] film or FF D-SLR and work down to nearly 14mm without severe vignetting!
Cons:
Wish it was a bit faster - say, constant f/4 ?? Some people report soft copies (haven't seen one though!)

Very high sharpness and good contrast throughout the zoom range, solidly built, excellent AF speed and silent HSM with FT-M focus, supplied hood and carrying case - all combined into an excellent value for money APS-C lens. Can even been mount on a [135] film or FF D-SLR and work down to nearly 14mm without severe vignetting!

Wish it was a bit faster - say, constant f/4 ?? Some people report soft copies (haven't seen one though!)

Maybe one of the best lenses currently made by Sigma. Excellent optical qualities with well-controlled distortions and flare throughout the zoom range, while sustaining a very high level of sharpness. Actually beats my EF 17-40 f/4 L too wide open when it comes to fine details, but lacks just a tad in colour.

IMO this lens is a bit sharper, better built and lacks very little in contrast and colour compared to Canon’s own EF-S 10-22 f/3.5-4.5 at all apertures. Of course the Canon is a bit faster for those low light, handheld indoor shots I like, but costs something like the double I paid for my Sigma.

Though a DC/APS-C only lens, this Sigma can actually be mount on any EOS-mount camera – and this should stand also for Nikon F mount – even if its FF or [135]. Down to 14-15mm I can be used with [135] with vignetting/corner shadowing staying out of your way! Talk about value for money!

Generally this lens provided really WA for my 20D, and I believe its one – if not THE – best value for money lenses aimed for APS-C cameras. Even these considering upgrading to a FF camera soon should think of buying this great lens and exploring the WA world first hand. It won’t cost the world like Canon’s or Nikon’s rivals, and though some people report bad copies I believe it really worth’s a try.


Jul 23, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ImagineGR to your Buddy List  
BenoitLAFAURIE
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 21, 2006
Location: France
Posts: 3
Review Date: Jul 21, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: amazing sharpness and details at all focal lenghts, warm colours, fast, reliable and silent HSM autofocus, hood provided, nice built in quality and EX matte finish, unbeatable ratio quality / price!
Cons:
crap lens cap which cannot be put or removed when the lens hood is on!

After having switch from my 35mm Canon EOS 500N to a more than decent digital SLR (Canon EOS 20D), I deceided to buy some nice f/2.8 Canon lenses, but not being a millionnaire and not wanting to save for ages to be able to afford one, I started to have a look around, and finally,after reading many magazines' and users' reviews, I was convinced that Sigma lenses were the perfect match for my camera and my bank account! I chose three Sima lenses to compose a new lenses kit;I already bought a month ago two of them: the 10-20mm f/4-5.6 EX DG HSM and the 24-60mm f/2.8 EX DG , and I am planning to buy the 70-200mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM Macro (plus x1.4 and x2.0 Sima converters).
I love this lens which opened, for me, new perspectives and gave me some fresh ideas: it can give some very interesting result when set up at 10mm, but I like even more using it at 20mm. At that focal length, the pictures are razor sharp, with so many details, even when cropped at 100%!
I used it for some action shots at every focal lenght (skatebording, power kites flying) and I am more than pleased with the result. I also used it for some portraits at 20mm, and I inpressed myself with the picctures it produced... perfect out of the camera, I could have printed them without any adjustements on Photoshop!
I cannot yet see any fault in that lens (apart from the ridiculously thought cap), and would recommend it to anybody looking for a great wide angle.


Jul 21, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add BenoitLAFAURIE to your Buddy List  
flawlessly
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 17, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 123
Review Date: Jul 18, 2006 Recommend? no | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: The widest zoom for 1.6 crop and $xxx less than EF-S 10-22mm. Well build, EX grade and solid.
Cons:
Soft at f4, had to stop down to f8 and lower

I was trying to get a wide zoom since this Sigma 10-22mm is a bit cheaper Canon. But hey, after two copies, I gave up this lens. The 1st copy was OOF on the left side about 1/3 of the pic even down to f22... WHAT? :-(, and the 2nd was OOF on the right side about 1/3 of the pic... the same thing as the 1st copy... HAHA@Sigma, so no more Sigma for a while. The only thing that I like this wide zoom is the build quality, it's so solid and you can feel the different between this and Canon EF-S 10-22mm. However, I don't recommanded this or other Sigma lenses until they fix their QC problem.

Jul 18, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add flawlessly to your Buddy List  
platypus
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 29, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 16, 2006 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Sharp across frame, quiet & usually accurate focus, good flare resistance
Cons:
Slow max aperture, heavy

Further to my last post, I upgraded to a 350D body and had the same soft focus issue on the right hand side so I returned the lens (again) to Sigma UK who have just sent me out a much better quality sample.

It is sharp across the frame once stopped down 2 to 3 stops, although at 14-16mm the edges are not as good as at the extreme settings, but this tallies with what I have read on test reports.

Contrast and colour are both very good and at last I have a lens that is worth what I paid for it.

I commend Sigma UK on their willingness to accept the lens back twice and for testing and sending me a sample without an obvious quality control issue.

On that basis and the merits of this sample I would give a cautious recommendation of this lens.


Jul 16, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add platypus to your Buddy List  
Glassbottle
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 17, 2006
Location: South Africa
Posts: 567
Review Date: Jul 6, 2006 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Sharp (my copy was), flare-resistant, fast-focusing, reasonably well built
Cons:
In the end, just wouldn't bloody focus on a 30D

I was one of the first and most enthusiastic to review this lens here. Many months later, I stand by my assessment of the excellent optical and mechanical qualities of my sample.

However, I've had to get rid of the lens. I changed from a 350D to a 30D and the autofocus of this lens, along with that of my other Sigma HSM lens, the 30mm/f1.4, went wildly wrong with the change of body.

Both lenses front-focused dramatically. In the case of the 30mm, this made the lens unusable; the 10-20mm could still be used as a manual-focus lens easily enough -- or a fixed-focus lens set to the hyperfocal distance -- thanks to the huge depth of field.

But it wasn't right, and in the end I tired of the runaround I got from Sigma South Africa (and from Canon for that matter). So I traded the Sigmas and the 30D in on a 5D body, and got ultrawide back thanks to my 17-40L.

I've always been reluctant to join the popular Sigma-bashing chorus -- and indeed I had two of Sigma's better lenses. However, my experience with the focusing problems has convinced me that it's a far, far better thing to stick with the camera maker's lenses. That way the lens people can't blame the body people, and vice versa.

I hate it that this is the way it is, and I strongly suspect Canon of going out of its way to sabotage Sigma lenses when it releases new bodies, but I'm now a convert -- Canon lenses only for me in future. Blast you, Canon, you've got your wish!



Jul 6, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Glassbottle to your Buddy List  
chickpiper
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 12, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 840
Review Date: Jul 3, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $469.95 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharpness is very good. Colors are nice and warm. This lens is just a pleasure to use. Very wide angle.
Cons:
For a zoom of this range - none.

I debated over the 12-24 range and this lens. This lens is so much fun to use I am glad I purchased it instead. The elements used in this lens corrects for straight line bending very good - I was a little surprised at how well it does from certain angles. I like it and would definitely recommend it.

Jul 3, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add chickpiper to your Buddy List  
cerebral_mamba
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 11, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 12
Review Date: Jun 21, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $449.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, wide, good focus, build quality, looks
Cons:
none I found yet. Its too wide that the built in flash hardly illuminates the lens's field of vision.

I really like this lens and my first copy is sharp and clear. I am very happy with my purchase from sigma4less.com. I am a newbie entering this fireld, so I haven't scrutinized it inside out, but my copy is sharp from end to end.

Jun 21, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add cerebral_mamba to your Buddy List  
zalex
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 19, 2006
Location: Russia
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jun 19, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $520.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Wide, sharp, fast, no CA, build quality.
Cons:
Some distortion at 10-12mm, stupid cap design, some vignetting.



Jun 19, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add zalex to your Buddy List  
rbart
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 7, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jun 6, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $455.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Super wide, sturdy build, hood and case, quiet HSM motor, cheaper than canon, pretty sharp even wide open
Cons:
Sometimes Soft Right side

I felt that the standard wide angle APS-C 18mm just wasn't wide enough for me indoors or at my favorite local water falls (Pattison State Park, WI). I opted for a cheap alternative and bought a MC Zenitar 16mm f2.8 fisheye. Although the Zenitar was quite sharp when stopped down a little, I felt limited by the manual focus and aperture and I couldn't use front filters. The zenitar also overexposed when it was wide open and it would under expose when stopped down past f8 and I never seemed to get a handle on how much exposure correction I needed. I decided that I should consider either the canon 10-22mm or the sigma 10-20mm. After much consideration, I couldn't bring myself to paying $200 more for the canon and still not get a hood. The sigma also provides a better build and a carrying case. I've taken about 300 shots with my new sigma. Out of those, I've found about 10 with a soft right hand side. I haven't discovered a pattern to it. I don't know if there is a loose element that shifts if you lean to one direction or what. Here is a sample shot taken with this lens and two stacked ND Cokin filters: (Amnicon Falls, WI) - http://www.bobbarthen.com/photos/view_photo.php?set_albumName=AmniconFalls&id=upperfalls1

Jun 6, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add rbart to your Buddy List  
neilcuk05
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 14, 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jun 4, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: fast, silent focus; very wide angle; limited distortion for an UWA; sharp pictures; great colours; priced well below competition
Cons:
shame it's APS-C only

I was a little hesitant at first, particularly after reading on the forums about the notorious "soft right hand side" issue. However, I didn't want to spend nearly double on Canon's lens, which in my opinion didn't feel nearly as solid as the Sigma when I handled the two lenses before buying.

However, it goes to show that many users only complain when there's something wrong, and won't create a fuss when the lens is as described! I'm very happy with my copy, and don't notice any real softness at the sides at all.

It's a shame that there's such a big difference between 10mm and 12mm and that there are no 10mm full frame compatible lenses available so these 10-xx lenses aren't totally future proof, but they're well worth the fun to be had for a good few years yet

The lens is very solidly built, focuses quickly and without any problems, and comes with a padded case and petal hood. It focuses internally, and the lens doesn't change much in size when zooming. Overall, it's a very well built lens and doesn't unbalance the camera at all

The pictures are sharp, and the colours are great. There's no more to say - the lens is fantastic, and if you take into the account the saving to be had over the Canon equivilent, it becomes even better

Highly recommended - don't let the horror stories put you off!


Jun 4, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add neilcuk05 to your Buddy List  
RichWiller
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 17, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Review Date: May 30, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $499.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Unbelievable field of view and depth of field compaired to Kit lens, no flare with hood even in full sun. Gathers plenty of light at dusk and in shadows. Looks and feels of solid quality. Fast and accurate focus. Great closeup detail.
Cons:
Skip the lens cap and use UV filter with the hood. Composition of shots gets to be a full time job due to lens limits and width extent. Must shoot perpendicular to edges and lines unless you like convergence, almost a fish eye.

Compaired to the kit lens that came with the Rebel XT this glass knocked my socks off, maybe just a little too wide for the squeemish. We shot 200 pics of down town streets, bridges, tracks, cobblestone and horse & carrage venues just to get a feel for this lens. Be prepaired to step in to the scene to camera crop a full frameof your subject or you will get a lot of garbage cans and porta potties on the edges that you never had to worry about before. Vanishing point perspectives are down right surreal and crisp. The focus system is fast and easy to tweak with a smooth touch of the easy to find ring. This lens is down right scarry and fun to shoot with. Seems to do just fine outside in low light and shadows, the detail explodes in the recorded image even if the view finder seemed dark. Yes I will keep this, but a "Canon 24-105 4L IS" delivers tomorrow to give me a little more reach and crop, and a little rest from the wicked demands of the "wide one!"

May 30, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add RichWiller to your Buddy List  

   



Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
167 399685 Oct 28, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
84% of reviewers $472.26
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.92
8.92
8.4
111_small


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next