about | support
home
 

Search Used

Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
167 399201 Oct 28, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
84% of reviewers $472.26
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.92
8.92
8.4
111_small

Specifications:
Lens Construction: 14 Elements in 10 Groups
Angle of View: 102.4 - 63.8 degrees (Sigma SD format)
Number of Diaphragm Blades: 6 Blades
Minimum Aperture: F22
Minimum Focusing Distance: 24cm / 9.4 in.
Maximum Magnification: 1:6.7
Filter Size Diameter: 77mm
Lens Hood: Petal Hood
Dimensions: Diameter 83.5mm X Length 81mm
3.3 in. X 3.2 in.
Weight 470g/16.6 oz.

-----

- It covers a superwide angle of view 102.4 to 63.8(SD format)

- Three pieces of Special Low Dispersion (SLD) elements and three aspherical lens elements produce top quality optical performance.

- Inner focusing system ensures the length of the lens remains unchanged whilst controlling aberrations.

- Equipped with HSM (Hyper Sonic Motor) system

- Minimum focusing distance of 24cm (9.4) at all focal lengths.

- Relatively compact, lightweight for an ultra wide-angle zoom lens.


 


Page:  10 · 11 
      
Melt
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 3, 2005
Location: Greece
Posts: 58
Review Date: Jan 7, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Really wide / Great Optical Performance
Cons:

I always use it stopped down to f8-f11 mainly for landscape work. Great sharpness, colours and optical performance for such a wide angle lens. I'm totally satisfied...

Don't forget to use the lens hood and be careful with the sun (flare)...

Highly Recommended


Jan 7, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Melt to your Buddy List  
jeep
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 23, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 5, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Build quality, Optical quality and price
Cons:
None so far

I've owned this lens for about 4 months now. I'm very pleased with the results. Matches my 17-40L in quality when stoped down a couple of stops. After I'd bought it, I saw an in depth test report for the lens, head to head with the Canon 10 - 20mm, complete with MTF charts, the reviewers opion was, that optically there was little to choose between them, the Canon lens has a bigger maximum aperture, so is slightly faster. But the Sigma is half the price. (Amateur Photographer Magazine December 2005 UK)

Jan 5, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jeep to your Buddy List  
felixlo
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 2, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 5, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Very Sharp at all stops, Compact, HSM, Solid Build, Price
Cons:
none compared with the price you paid for!

Overall a very good lens for extra-wide angle for my 20D.

Jan 5, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add felixlo to your Buddy List  
MagentaJoe
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 4, 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Review Date: Jan 4, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $450.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Wide Angle, Sturdy Build, Padded Bag, Petal Hood, Nice Finish, Low CA, Fast quiet focus (HSM)
Cons:
1.6 Digital Only, cannot use built in flash at shorter than about 17mm

Exactly the wide angle I was looking for. Of course there is some distortion. It is a wide angle afterall! This lens has much less distortion than you might think especially at 10mm. I am very happy with it as I EXPECT distortion. There is no such thing as a lens this wide without distortion so the distortion is not a negative aspect of this lens but a plus when used correctly.

What you do get is a nice bright clear lens with a top notch build and a super wide angle of coverage. Very minimal CA and I have no issues to note in regard to low light AF.



Jan 4, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add MagentaJoe to your Buddy List  
herion
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 23, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 803
Review Date: Jan 3, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $319.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Sturdy build, EX finish, HSM, rapid AF, none to negligible CA at all apertures and lengths
Cons:
Slightly pricey thin CPL needed to prevent vignetting

I had been waiting for the Sigma 10-20 to be released since I did not like the plasticky feel of the Canon 10-22. I nearly got one at B&H, but they had sold out a mere 15 minutes before I arrived. As it turns out, another store down the street had one. Just one. I fell in love with this lens as soon as I put it on my 20D. Sharp, sharp pictures, great contrast and saturation, and no front/back focusing. The HSM works perfectly - quiet and fast - and as with the CA, there is little to no distortion. Sigma has really come through with a superb WA for 1.6x DSLRs!

Jan 3, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add herion to your Buddy List  
incdigital
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 2, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 226
Review Date: Jan 3, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $349.95 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Perfect UWA Zoom for 1.6x crop camera, Very Sharp at all stops, Compact, HSM, Solid Build, Price
Cons:
Light fall off wide open till F8 or even F11, Dark in viewfinder...hard to MF in low light, takes a while to break in zoom and focus ring

It has a few problems as stated above...the dark viewfinder i find the most anoying of them. The light fall off i expect w/ UWA zooms so that doesnt bother me much. Overall i highly recommend this new sigma lens. The sharpness is outstanding wide open and even better stopped down. The 10-20 and 30 1.4 sigmas are great new additions to any photogs camera bag.

Jan 3, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add incdigital to your Buddy List  
Asmodeous
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 9, 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 139
Review Date: Jan 3, 2006 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 3 

Pros: Build quality, 10mm focal length, included bag & hood, Price.
Cons:
Heavy distortions that change depending on focal length making correction difficult. Chromatic aberations. Poor resolution, soft corners, sigma lens cap, af/mf focus switch.

A lens that will quickly disappoint. The odd shaped distortion curves made leveling my shots difficult so I had to level my shots and try to correct the distortions in post editing. This made post processing slow as the distortion changed depending on the focal length. The lens displayed soft corners, more prominent in the corners where the distortion was most prominent, top left hand corner in my copy.
Detail in my shots was very poor. Compared to the Canon kit lens, 18mm on the kit lens, 17mm on the sigma, distant building windows, sign boards, symbols where quite legible with the kit lens but where unreadable blocky chunks with the sigma. (back to back from tripod, same F stop and time of day)

Chromatic aberations where to be expected I guess. Everywhere though not bad enough to show in prints up to 5 x 7. Larger prints could be done after editing to correct the chromatic aberations.

So what does this lens have going for it? Price and 10mm. This lens would suit somebody who is happy with small prints, but totally unsuited if you want to blow your images up to a decent size.

In the end I returned the lens to the store of purchase for exchange on another, dearer lens. Been happy ever since!


Jan 3, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Asmodeous to your Buddy List  




Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
167 399201 Oct 28, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
84% of reviewers $472.26
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.92
8.92
8.4
111_small


Page:  10 · 11