about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EOS 1D Mark II N

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
80 135121 Sep 22, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $3,214.61
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.90
8.64
9.5
1d_mkii_n

Specifications:
World's fastest digital SLR*: 8.5 fps for up to 48 full-resolution JPEGs in a burst.

8.2 Megapixel CMOS Sensor with a convenient 1.3x lens conversion factor, combined with DIGIC II Image Processor for outstanding image quality.

Superb body design and strength - all-metal body and chassis, weather-resistant construction and shutter durability - tested to 200,000 exposures.

New larger 2.5 inch LCD screen can be viewed even at extreme angles up to 170°.

Many new user-requested features, including RAW JPEG recording on separate memory cards, easy switching between memory cards and user-set file prefixes.

New "Picture Style" function for greater control of color rendition and in-camera sharpening.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5  next
          
scott_scheetz
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 31, 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Sep 22, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $425.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Brilliant AF system, Weather-Sealing, Excellent build quality, great feel, 8.5 fps! Its Fast!
Cons:
ISO 3200 looks terrible, no UMDA support, AF performance in low light, old battery tech.

This is an amazing camera. I picked it up as a second body. My main body is a gripped 5D. I love the way the 1D series feels. It just is amazing. The AF system on this camera is a huge step up from the 5D, and the 8.5 fps is quite stunning. There is almost no shutter lag.

The weather-sealing on this camera is great, and the build quality is amazing.

3 issues.

1. High iso performance. 1600 is usable but needs some work, and 3200 is pretty much junk, especially when compared to the 5D. Its about a full stop behind as far as noise, and the tonal range is not as good. I did figure out that if you pull the shadows back in lightroom and the blacks down, it really helps a lot, and gets rid of that purple hue in the shadows.

2. The AF system in low light is not as quick as the 5D's center point in low light. I found this quite shocking. I would have thought the fancy 45 point system would have no trouble, but it does.

3. Old battery technology. You have to discharge and recharge the battery since its an old NiMH design. It lacks the wonderful Li-Ion tech of the 5D.

Other than those 3 things, its a wonderful camera.


Sep 22, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add scott_scheetz to your Buddy List  
canon3133
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 15, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 66
Review Date: Oct 12, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Fast AF system, build like a tank, weather sealing, IQ, separate image format on CF and SD cards at the same time
Cons:
Not very good in low light, weight, cumbersome duel button on setting adjustment

After 4 years of frustration with Canon’s AF system on the pro-consumer line of DSLR I decided to buy an EOS-1D series body. I got the 1D2N for under $1000 and when I first held it in my hand I knew I was holding something special and there’s no going back to the pro-consumer bodies.

I love the IQ, it was on par with the 5D, the quick AF system, love the way AF lock on the subject. When I view the images on the 2.5” screen, I was disappointed; I thought I might have going a dud. But when I loaded the images onto the PC, the picture I thought was soft was tack sharp. I gladly trade the weight of the camera for the AF system.

Sadly I ran into issue with the 1D2N in low light environment. On 2 occasions, using the camera w/ 70-200mm f/2.8 lens, I was unable to capture images due to the AF would not lock on the subjects, and lost the moments.

Great camera if you are looking to move up to pro-DSLR on the cheap, just be aware of the limitation in dim light situation.


Oct 12, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add canon3133 to your Buddy List  
NygaardDK
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 23, 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 43
Review Date: Aug 6, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Build, AF system, weather sealing, responsiveness, IQ, ISO handling (considering it´s age), ergonomics, speed, build in vertical grip, lots of custom options
Cons:
2 button controls, vertical shutter release button, clumsy batteries, AF speed decreases considerably once lightlevels drop, Firewire needed to change personal functions (!)

The 1D mk. 2N is still a great camera by todays standards, and it still holds it own against some of the newer cameras.

Despite the many raving reviews with zero negatives this is not a flawless camera IMO. The camera has some minor flaws which keeps me from giving it straight 10s.

The vertical shutter release button´s half press function is nearly non existant - i´m using the button for metering only and i find the lacking half-press function quite frustrating at times.

One thing that surprised me and dissapointed me big time with this camera was the AF speed in low light - i had expected way more. Once the light is dim there is a noticeable delay in the AF - my 5D classic beats it hands down. As soon as there is light and contrast enough the AF is lightning fast!

I see the idea with the controls and I have gotten used to it by now, but I prefer the controls of my 5D at any time. I have never changed any settings by mistake on my 5D. I find it quicker to change settings on the 5d - but I guess a little extra practice wouldn´t harm Smile

That said - this is still an awesome camera! The look, the feel and the sturdiness of this camera is just astonishing! The responsiveness of this camera is top of the line, and certainly a thing I appreciate.

I sold my 40D to buy this camera - it surely feels like a 40D on speed! My 5D is still my preferred camera when it comes to IQ, and will still be my first choice for weddings and other assignments - but I´m quite sure this camera will replace the 5D on a daily basis as it is a pure joy to handle!


Aug 6, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add NygaardDK to your Buddy List  
mr_birdman
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 7, 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 10
Review Date: Jul 5, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Built like a tank, weather sealed, super IQ, just an awesome machine
Cons:
Didn't buy one sooner.

Bought it from a pro on E-bay Australia and paid peanuts for this body. Considering it has taken only 1,600 shots with the original shutter as well, it's an absolute mint item. I doubt there would be one with less mileage anywhere. I dreamed of a 1D body for years having been an avid 30D (only ever body used, and the same one too) for around five and a half years. The 30D still works almost at the 100,000 mark (99,650 exactly) but the 1D just runs circles over any camera I have used thus far (except maybe my friends Nikon D3, but I am a Canon guy).

All I can say is that this camera has already exceeded my expectations and I cannot wait to keep using it for as long as it shall live. The menus are a breeze, custom functions are well laid out and the entire unit is easy to use for someone who has a good understanding of Canon controls in general. The image quality is incredible straight out of the camera and leaves my 30D in the ditch, really. I think I will never buy anything other than a 1D series body again.

If you pick one up and you have come from the same brigade as me (xxxxD, xxxD or xxD) then you will fall in love like I did and live a long happy 1D life.

As stated in my negative comments initially, I simply regret not buying one sooner. :-)


Jul 5, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mr_birdman to your Buddy List  
WilliamFinley
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Apr 11, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 2533
Review Date: Mar 13, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,325.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: 1D build, AF system, Image Quality
Cons:
Two-handed menu system.

I'm on my third unit....so I guess it's time to write a review. I've sold my other two because of financial constraints, not because of issues with this particular model! This is one of those cameras I can't live without, like my 5D classic. I had the funds to purchase a MKIII, but went back to a 1DMKIIN. Why....Image quality and superior AF. Like my 5D classic, the images that come out of this camera are stunning, and the AF is spot on. The build of the 1D bodies is addicting, so please be forewarned. It helps balance out heavy lenses, and is built like a brick. Excellent weather sealing, as I've used mine in a mild rain with no problems. The two-handed menu system takes some getting use to, but this is not a major negative! Don't pass on one because of this.

Mar 13, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add WilliamFinley to your Buddy List  
Snopchenko
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 18, 2010
Location: Russia
Posts: 2149
Review Date: Oct 1, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: IQ, build, speed, responsiveness, reliability
Cons:
menu system not terribly user friendly doesn't slice bread... oh wait... seriously, nothing else at all

I believe this is the most terrific deal on the used market in the Canon scope now. Some are sold below $1000 even in my parts, and you're getting an unbelievable camera for the money. Mine was in great exterior shape with 60K clicks. I have to regrettably say that the mirror started to get stuck sometimes and so the camera will have to see a camera doctor in the near time, but it can be remedied in the field so it never spoiled the game for me once I know about it. But that has nothing to do with the device itself which is the most badass camera that I've ever seen.

Name an attribute of a good stills camera and the 1D Mark II N will have it in spades. Spectacular IQ? Check. Fast and reliable AF? Check. Instant responsiveness? Check. Bombproof build? Check. Great LCD screen? Check (as opposed to the non-N, at least for me - I'm used to these 2.5" units over years). Customizability? Check (OK... I wish I had the option to toggle some options right away and not through the Personal Functions that require a computer and EOS software... but the annoyance isn't big).

This camera has been with me for 10 months and went through a few trips, apart from working steadily for me at home. If I can choose just two pieces of equipment that I can take to my grave, the 1D Mark II N will be one of 'em.


Oct 1, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Snopchenko to your Buddy List  
hogband
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 4, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 639
Review Date: Jan 9, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $925.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: AF Speed, color accuracy, AF speed (did I say that already?)
Cons:
Confusing use of menu-review buttons.

This is the sixth digital SLR I've owned but the first in the 1D series. I've had a D30, D60, 10D, 20D and 40D and I wanted to find a good deal on a 1D Mark II N and got one on Ebay.

I absolutely love the AF speed and it feels like a real camera but I'm still having trouble using the buttons on the back of the camera. I'm real spoiled by the joy stick deal on the 20D and 40D and having a single button for chimping on the non 1D cameras is nice but, that said, I shoot sports and have for 15 years and the AF speed on this camera blows all the others away. I absolutely love it.


Jan 9, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add hogband to your Buddy List  
SAUMBI
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 22, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 31
Review Date: Dec 10, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The typical 1D series build and ergonomics, AF, record different files to different cards, weather sealing, balance with L lens, metering accuracy, speed, customization possabilities, battery life, file size, etc. etc. etc.
Cons:
I just can,t find one???

This is the 6th digital slr body I've owned. in 2005 I sold both my 1N and 1V film cameras and have not looked back. I have owned the 10D, 20D, 30D, 1D, 1Ds MKII, and now the 1D MKII N, I have been Pleasently surprised after each upgarde, and when I added a 20D to my then 10D, decided I no longer had a use for film with the type of photography I do. I sold both film bodies and have been amazed ever since. I then bought my first 1D, the original 4.2mp, and was very happy, but then I bought a 30D and it cured a lot of the things missing on the 20D, and gave me more reach and res, than the 1D did for wildlife, I was happy for a while and sold the 1D, mainly because of battery life, and flash performance, and dedicated the 30D to my wildlife photo's, but missed the AF speed and accuracy of the 1D, then when the MK III series of the 1D series came out I started watching the 1Ds MKII bodies that I had lusted for since it's introduction, I finally got one at a steal w/ less than 4000 click's on it confirmed by Canon CPS, and had to replace one internal part causing high battery consumption, $300.00 and I had a now new body! I love it for what it is and all it does, my landscape and most portrait and event photo's are taken with it. That is my experiance with digital slr's till 3 weeks ago, and that is what you want to hear about, so here goes!

I bought this body used, it has around 20,000 click's on it and looks new, it is what I always wanted for sporting events and wildlife, now I got it. I love it and it is everything I had thought it would be, and more. It is hard to explain the fealing one has when he has the 1Ds MKII and 1D MKII N, at their disposal. I feel after owning and using both that I have all I need at my disposal, to capture any, Image any cutomer could want, and better image quality they could imagine with these two bodies. I have to say I miss the lens magnification for some wildlife shots the 30D allowed, and for now am keeping it in my collection. But I don't think it is worth the loss in accuracy of AF, metering, white balance, and information, not to mention the customization ability you gain with the MKII N. I believe I can actually crop a photo more with the this camera than you can with the 30D and still have the quality without degrading the image. The auto focus is killer, and from what I have heard and read, actually better than the MKIII, which I am confident that canon will Iron out. I am not sure if this is the same imaging sensor and engine, that runs the 30D, but I feel the image, both raw and jpeg, right off the camera is better in most ways and require much less processing on the computer to obtain what I call better results, the camera's white balance is better as is focus speed, exposure metering, and though in my case so far not necessary the increase in frame rate! There is more than a speed increase to just frame rate as this body focuses faster the shutter button lag is faster and the way the whole camera works in unison, makes it the FASTEST IMAGE CAPTURING MACHINE, I have ever had the pleasure of using or seeing!! And the images are as good as it get's.

So I am going to risk being wrong by saying I am where I need to be to satisfy any customer and myself, with the addition of this camera to the big brother the slower but higher resalution king the 1Ds MK II. I will probably never upgrade my bodies again, I am to old to add video to my resume and think these are where I need to be.

We have seen that the smaller size sensors of the prosumer crop bodies are running out of space, and that the manufacturers are starting to lose image quality by cramming to many pixels onto them. I know when I got my first 1D with 4 megapixel it could deliver a richer quality to the images it captured, than the 6 and 8 megapixel camera's I had at the time. I see this in the 1D MKII N over the 30D I own and the XTi a friend ownes. I will be very happy at my age with over 40 years of SLR use, to be happy with what I have today, if for no more than MANY YEARS TO COME. Live view would be nice, and I am sure there are others that need these extras, I don't, and I sometimes ask myself if we are deviating from being photographer's. I feel if anything is lacking in my photo gear it may be some more L glass. I feel if one has this body and is not well healed in "L" lenses, he will not be happy with any other body till he is, even with this body he needs good glass to gain image quality, and with more resolution he will definitly loose quality.

When it comes to the flash performance, many complain, I don't. I am not an instructor so one will have to do some reading or view some instructional video, but I love the flash mode these camera's use. ETTL II, is great, it works great once you use it correctly, one thing the original 1D lacked. The other thing the 1D lacked was battery life. Not this baby, it will run all day for most I know mine shoots over 700 frames without IS lens and using the back screen set on 4 sec preview. I feel you allways need a backup battery, but feel one would be safe shooting all day with 2. I know I will with one, but will carry a spare fully charged for security.

I love being able to store JPEG files to SD, and RAW to CF card's, wish I could that with my 1ds MKII!

I don't know why I bother with reporting on durability and weater sealing. Some complain about size or weight, sorry but I feel this is the most comfortable camera to shoot with on the planet, yes other 1D's are as good but none better. I set this beside my 30D with the battery grip on it and it is as big as the 1D MKII N and I feel as heavy, so are they the same feel? NO NOT EVEN CLOSE, there is no way anothere series of digital SLR comes close to the ergonomics or balance an smooth operating feel this camera has, especialy with quality "L" glass attached, and as everyone on the planet, that has ever looked at this camera knows, it is the best there is bar none!! some may be as good but no camera body is built better, none, this is as good as it get's!! PERIOD!

So I have to say I would recomend this camera to anyone. I would also say if you want a digital body for wildlife, or sports, there is NONE BETTER, this is as good as it get's. I know some say you just cant aford the MKIII, well I have seen a lot of complaints about the MKIII since it was introduced and I have not since it's introduction, heard that from MII N owners. I FEEL AT THE PRICE ONE COULD PICKUP A 1D MKII N for today he has the best buy in the camera industry, I would buy 2, before I paid more for 1 MKIII, hands down, the best buy!! and did I mention AS GOOD AS IT GET'S!! PERIOD!!

If you are thinking about it, GO GET IT, This is everything you can imagine and more, and the best buy on the planet, no other digital imaging piece of equipment is as good a buy, period!!! It is AS GOOD AS IT GET'S! PERIOD!! and don't forget to thank me!!


Dec 10, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add SAUMBI to your Buddy List  
norrislw
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 5, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 22
Review Date: Aug 6, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: AF points, Fast, Bright viewfinder, Pro Body
Cons:
None

Bought it used last month, very happy with AF speed and focusing screen. Luv the 8.5FPS, and image quality. Like the ergonomic of the body, feel good in the hand, weight is well balanced.

Aug 6, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add norrislw to your Buddy List  
LotsToLearn
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 12, 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 434
Review Date: Jan 14, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Focus speed and accuracy, physical size, sharpness, colour rendition, and responsiveness.
Cons:
None.

This is by far my most favourite camera to use. I moved up to this, my first 1 series body, from a 20D after growing a little frustrated with the 20D's focusing abilities.

This camera is nothing short of amazing to me. I can't say enough about it.

My lenses found a new life on this body. Comparatively, my 135L would take it's sweet time trying to lock onto something with my 20D, but on the 1DIIN it's locked on before I'm even ready for it to be. It absolutely just sings on the 1DIIN. And it's super accurate. The variety of focus screens available also let me go to a split prism so it's easier to do manual touch ups. I also appreciate it's extra stop of AF functionality to f/8.

It's ability for some in depth customization of personal functions is extremely useful. There's alot more than I personally need.

The overall handling is great for me. I prefer the heft to something small and light. It's superbly built body balances very well in my hand.

I do find mine underexposes by 1/3 or 1/2 a stop but that is no big deal. I also would have liked it to have the card full over flow feature now in the 1DIII, but oh well. At least it supports part of the dual card functionality.

After having used this for nearly a year now, I decided to pick up a couple of the older 1 series as well since I love the similar design concepts, handling and performance shared amongst them. None have disappointed. I only wish I could afford the newer III's.




Jan 14, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add LotsToLearn to your Buddy List  
GeneO
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 10, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 9098
Review Date: Nov 25, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: AF accuracy and speed, frame rate performance, build, good ISO performance
Cons:
Older battery tech, not ergonomic, LCD display needs better resolution, no "real" iso 3200

Once I got the back-focusing and banding isues fixed (one month - and I bought it instead of the Mk3 to avoid AF issues!), the camera is finally performing to my expectations.

The pporly thought out control ergonomics are particularly bad for super-telephotos - you can't adjust ISO without supporting the lens by some means because you have to use both hands, ugh.

Other than that it seems solidly built and performs very well, does what I need it to. Hope it holds out.

If I wouldn't have had initial quality control issues with it I would have rated it higher. It took two trips and 3 weeks to fix the banding (replaced lots of components including the sensor assembly).


Nov 25, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add GeneO to your Buddy List  
Peter Kotsa
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 1, 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 267
Review Date: Nov 1, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $5,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: it just works, and it works well.
Cons:
battery weight.

I have had the 1D, 1DmkII, 1DmkIII and the IIN, this is my favourtie.
Its a gun of camera. Focusses very well and performs flawlessly.
Definite keeper.


Nov 1, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Peter Kotsa to your Buddy List  
melkor
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 31, 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 531
Review Date: Sep 12, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: AF, LCD screen, high ISO noise performance
Cons:
Weight

I've just bought my unit, 2nd hand off EBay for AU $4100. I'm stoked with this new camera. I've upgraded from an original 1D and D60. Areas of improvement are:

*AF is slightly faster than my 1D. Accuracy seems about the same as the original 1D.
*Exposure seems more accurate than either the 1D or D60
*WB seems more accurate than either the 1D or D60
*Massive 2.5" LCD screen is fantastic! Love it. Good angle of coverage, not too bad in sunlight, plenty of detail and information at hand.
*LCD screen magnifier - fantastic. Much better than the D60's imho, and of course, the original 1D didn't have one (major oversight on Canon's part if you ask me). My main area of photography is Insect & Arachnid macro photography, so checking focus is sharp is important to me, preferably in the field.
*Dual memory card slots - excellent idea, and well implemented. The Mark IIn also supports fat32 file systems, so it can take cards over 2gb, which the 1D cannot (at least not without some good 'ole DOS trickery).
*8mp file size - much better than the original 1D's 4mp, which hampered cropping.
*High ISO noise performance - amazing! I've found that my D60 is noisier than the 1D unit - ISO 400 on the D60 is about the same as ISO 800 on the 1D from my experience. With the Mark IIn, ISO 1600 is the same as ISO 800 on the original 1D, in some cases I feel ISO 400. It's THAT good. I don't know what people are whinging about when they mention noise and the Mark IIn in all honesty...some of these people need to go out and shoot high ISO film to see what it's like, then they might stop griping.
*Much improved battery performance - the original 1D is a dog when it comes to battery performance, averaging 130 shots per charge - something which Canon Australia have confirmed for me. The Mark IIn is way ahead by all accounts.

As an overall package, the Mark IIn is a HUGE improvement in all areas over the original 1D. Sure, it's an incremental improvement over the Mark II, but I'm writing this review in mind of upgrading from the original 1D or an older Canon prosumer DSLR.

Some of you will talk about the new Mark III, and yes, I believe it's a fine camera, sadly, it was out of my price league. The Mark IIn has a fine reputation with AF and tracking, the Mark III by all accounts has a very dubious reputation in this respect, so maybe it's a good idea that I got a Mark IIn instead Wink

Dave


Sep 12, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add melkor to your Buddy List  
TV21
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 14, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 153
Review Date: Aug 27, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,900.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Build, image quality, feature set, overall speed, LCD picture on the back, flexibility
Cons:
Weight, cost, minor issues focusing in LOW light

I went from a Canon 20D to this beast. What a difference.

Although it can be hard to use on a tripod, it really shines when you use it hand-held. I shoot mostly weddings and portraits, so I'm 99% hand-held.

When matched up with the 70-200 2.8 or the 24-70 the whole thing has the right proportions and works flawlessly. However, the camera is a bit heavy and it can be tiring lugging it around for 6+ hours.

Unlike the 20D, this is a camera you learn over an extended period of time. As you confont more jobs, you start to see just how versatile this tool can be.

As long as the light is OK, the autofocus is extremely impressive.

Overall, its a great, flexible camera that outputs excellent images.


Aug 27, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add TV21 to your Buddy List  
sivrajbm
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Mar 15, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 3267
Review Date: Jul 25, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,299.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Speed, Handling, AF, Size, Weight, Balance, Customization Features, Long lasting battery, Big bright view finder, It's a beautiful piece of equipment. I'm stopping here before someone thinks I like this CAMERA... :)
Cons:
Camera is to light :) Nothing I can think of.

After shooting film for years I thought digital was just for fun with my first digital the Kodak DC290. Then I got a Sony F828, I thought all was good, just a little slow. Then a friend let me see his new 20D. I bought one and a grip that next week, then 30D, 1D and now the "N". Man this camera is the BOMB. It is so much better than I expected. I thought I was happy when I opened the box, but when I saw the first pictures from the "N" I knew this is where I was supposed to be.

I like the bigger screen and the new features for the dual cards of the "N". This camera tracks better than the 1D and so much better than the 30D, my sports keeper rate went up 20-30%. The buffer on the "N" is great the 1D just didn't have enough room, thou the speed was almost the same.

I was amazed at the AF speed and the FPS, the 30D is no slouch but this is it. I almost bought a Mk3 but after hereing about the focus issues I bought the "N" and a new Toshiba a205-4639 notebook. I'm plannig on buying a second "N" and just using 1-series cameras from here on. I don't have a problem with the size or the weight of this camera it fits me perfectly even with large lenses it's perfectly balanced.

This is the best camera I've ever owned bar none. I've had it about 6 weeks now and I'm glad I bought it. Don't try it unless you are ready to buy it, it's just that good.


Jul 25, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add sivrajbm to your Buddy List  
PeepingTom
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 4, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 609
Review Date: May 30, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Rock-Solid build and feel, Dependable Autofocus, Beautiful viewfinder, Joy to use... once you learn how!
Cons:
Cheap neckstrap, no wriststrap, terrible manual, heavy battery (need to discharge battery before recharging), huge battery charger

1) 5D or Mark II N- I spend almost a year making up my mind. Decided on M2N based on overall shooting pleasure.

2) The 5D feels like my 10D / 20D (over 40K shots) except for viewfinder and image quality. It took me 2 weeks to learn to use M2N and was very disappointed initially with results.

3) After about 1500 shoots and learning to set white balance, iso settings, autofocus points, I started seeing acceptable results.

4) The overall image quality is similar to 20D /30 D in my opinion, though the image files are larger. The number of keepers has gone up substantially.

5) After shooting with the M2N, the 20D (with grip)feels like a toy. Once you get used to teh 1 series, it grows on you.and I suspect I will not go back to prosumer bodies (except as a back up / second body).

6) Unlike others who complain about the weight, I love the size and feel of this machine. It feels just right in my hands (180 lb male with smallish hands) and the balance is fantastic, even wth the 70-200L.

7) I think white balance, autofocus, shooting lag, color accuracy, flash results & balance etc etc ....are far superior to the 20D/30D.

8) The 5D is probably a much better choice for overall image quality and landscapes, but I love the 1D M2N for event photography and for pure shooting pleasure.

9) The neck strap is an annoyance, as is the fact that battery needs to be discharged before recharge (memory degradation otherwise). Canon used this heavy old fashioned battery for required burst of power (8.5 frames per sec.)

10) Canon seems to have impoved size, weight and battery performance for the mark III which costs more (about $ 1500 more at this time, besides being unavailable)

11) This is an intuitive purchase for me; it is difficult to justify based on specs and resolution (compared to the 5D with grip-- with more resolution, full frame and maybe a 0.5 lbs lighter)

12) You got to shoot with the M2N to know how it feels in your hand -- CONFIDENT! SMUG & SATISFIED SMIRK Smile



May 30, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add PeepingTom to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EOS 1D Mark II N

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
80 135121 Sep 22, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $3,214.61
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.90
8.64
9.5
1d_mkii_n


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5  next