about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
516 895931 Apr 18, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
86% of reviewers $1,515.98
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.48
8.03
9.0
24-105lisusm

Specifications:
This easy-to-use standard zoom lens can cover a large zoom area ranging from 24mm wide-angle to 105mm portrait-length telephoto, and its Image Stabilizer Technology steadies camera shake up to three stops. Constructed with one Super-UD glass element and three aspherical lenses, this lens minimizes chromatic aberration and distortion. The result is excellent picture quality, even at wide apertures. Canon's ring-type USM gives silent but quick AF, along with full-time manual focus. Moreover, with dust- and moisture-resistant construction, this is a durable yet sophisticated lens that meets the demands of advanced amateur photographers and professional photographers alike.

Focal Length & Maximum Aperture: 24-105mm f/4

Lens Construction: 18 elements in 13 groups

Diagonal Angle of View: 84° - 23° 20' (with full-frame camera)

Focus Adjustment: Inner focusing system with focusing cam

Closest Focusing Distance: 1.48 ft./0.45m

Zoom System: 5-group helical zoom (front group moves: 32.5mm)

Filter Size: 77mm

Max. Diameter x Length, Weight: 3.3 in. x 4.2 in., 23.6 oz. / 83.5mm x 107mm, 670g (lens only)



 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next
          
Clumseyfingers
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 18, 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: Apr 18, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros:
Cons:

I'm new here so I'm not sure I'm in the right place.

I'm not professional, but a camera of some kind is with me most of the time, often in dusty, rough-and-tumble environments.

I currently only have the kit 18-55 that came with my Rebel T1i.

I want a replacement walkaround lens with more zoom, don't do much wide angle, but quite a bit of close-up. I don't want to be changing lenses alot.

I seem to get mixed messages about this lens for cropped cameras. I know this lens might be overkill for a Rebel, but I like my camera and this lens has the zoom range (38-168mm) I'd like.

Any advice?

Thank you!


Apr 18, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Clumseyfingers to your Buddy List  
Zorrophoto88
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jan 9, 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 26
Review Date: Mar 11, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Affordable, good kit lens, nice range in the overall zoom, IS is solid, sharp image quality over the range
Cons:
not f/2.8, wide open slightly off

Very good (not great) affordable L series lens...really an entry level 'L' kit lens. I think Canon knew the marketing link to the 5DM3 had to have a reasonable quality red-stripped lens. Overall, I am very satisfied, great walk around, solid weight and feel, good IS. Not sharp on the wide end, but really close. I must have a good copy, as it is clean over most of the range, just tweak back a little bit at each end. I think this is great lens for a non full frame such as a 7D. Paid $700 separately for my 5DM3, lots of these lenses on the resell/ebid market place. Tormented on the decision 24-70 or 24-105....the f/2.8 vs f/4.0 and $$$ at issue. Better if it was f/2.8, but I guess it would erode the model position of 24-70L f/2.8 both G1 and G2. I will pick up the 24-70 at some point...as they say "why not".


Mar 11, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Zorrophoto88 to your Buddy List  
hans.dampf
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 12, 2014
Location: N/A
Posts: 11
Review Date: Feb 12, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Weight Versatility Sharpness
Cons:
Only f/4 Distortion Quality of bokeh

Photographing with an objective of the "L" series from Canon, is really a luxury and comfort that can not be topped. It is sure that the Canon Marketing does their job well, and the Canon EF 24-105 zoom is quite expensive, but it is really a very good product. Only the good primes that are at this level of quality. This is the main difference to other brands, that are sometimes 4-5 times cheaper like Tamron & Co. Quality has its price.

Noise: Just like the zoom Canon EF 100-400 Series "L", I hear nothing, no noise at all, not even from the IS. It's kind of the selling point of the USM "engines". In everyday shooting, it does not give you a big difference, unless you are a nature photographer photographing animals and you do not want to attract any attention.

Technically spoken, the zoom Canon EF 24 -105mm is super sharp and has a very effective image stabilization. Remember that shooting below f/4 is not always an option as you need enough depth of field, so the f/4 is not necessarily a limiting factor in all types of using this lens. On the everyday tasks, you'll forget that this lens is even on your camera, and that is what makes a good objective for me: An objective that does the job so well that you completely forget about it. This allows you to focus on something else, more important things like the composition.

As zoom lenses can rarely do everything perfectly, the Achilles heel of the Canon EF 24 -105mm is its distortion and bokeh. Apart from high quality portraits and precise and geometrically perfect architecture photography, the lens will be a faithful companion. And if you acquire this objective in a bundle, probably a Canon 5D Mark II or III, what more do you need?

For more details, please have a look at my page here: Photographe en Suisse romande. On the page, the picuture of the couple with the mountain range is taken with the 24-105mm, at f/4 to separate the couple from the background.


Feb 12, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add hans.dampf to your Buddy List  
lunacat
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 13, 2014
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 6
Review Date: Jan 13, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

A great lens if you need a good focal range without having lots of lenses in your bag. This would be to me a great travel lens for anything. You're able to get great landscapes with quite a wide angle on a full frame with still the ability to get interesting portraits at a longer focal.

The only problem could be because of the f/4 that may be not so interesting in low light situations.

An example of using this lens on travel without standing out so much of the crowd: http://www.lunacatstudio.fr/photographe-gruyeres-suisse-photographie-voyage/


Jan 13, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add lunacat to your Buddy List  
caMARYnon
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 29, 2013
Location: Romania
Posts: 16
Review Date: Jan 1, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: IQ, colours, IS, AF, very sharp in center of image
Cons:
zoom creep, huge 24mm distortion, soft corners for today's standards

My copy is very sharp from 24 to 105, with a maximum at 35mm and a minimum at 85-105mm. IS and AF are excellent. This lens is perfect for travel and family shots in good light.

Jan 1, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add caMARYnon to your Buddy List  
slee915
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 4, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 357
Review Date: Jan 1, 2014 Recommend? no | Price paid: $899.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: IS, range, build
Cons:
everything else

If someone want 1 lens on a full-frame camera, this lens is most often the answer at FM. However, I couldn't give this recommendation.

At 24mm, there is too much distortion, and it appears to be not as "wide" as 24-70f/2.8.

It is also very soft after 70mm. Sharpness is not that great at the rest of the zoom range also.

If someone wants to buy a FF and put a slow f/4 on it; I'd recommend buying a crop camera and get a few fast primes or 17-55 f/2.8 or 15-85



Jan 1, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add slee915 to your Buddy List  
dkyeah
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 10, 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 0
Review Date: Dec 10, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: IS - Focal range - Decent built quality - Decent IQ - Affordable
Cons:
Not stellar IQ - Not razor sharp - Not f/2.8

I started out with this lens on my 7D and kept it for a while when I bought my 5DIII. While on a APS-C camera it isn't wide enough to be a real walk-around lens, on a full frame camera it's quite good. The focal range is great.

The image quality is decent. It's not as sharp as the 24-70 2.8 II especially wide open. Though when stopped down it gets better.

The IS comes in handy in low light as the lens isn't f/2.8. It also might help those that shoot video.

If you shoot primarily in studio, travel, winter sports (outside) or video this will be an awesome lens. Especially if you start out and don't have the money for the 24-70 2.8 II + 70-200 2.8 IS II.

Though if you shoot weddings, concerts or natural light portraits, it will shows it flaws (f/4.0 not fast enough, not very sharp wide open, not so shallow depth of field,...).

You can find a few pictures I took with the 24-105 a few years ago on my website: http://quentindecaillet.com/blog/376-grimpe-avec-yann-decaillet.html



Dec 10, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dkyeah to your Buddy List  
Medic8ed
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 9, 2013
Location: Seychelles
Posts: 0
Review Date: Nov 2, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great image quality, Light weight, Image stabilizing
Cons:
Not against the lens but the photographer.

I have a small ad business.
I love this lens and it's match on the 6D. The colors from the two give a more realistic picture than from my 7D.

I must carry my camera differently than most of the other users. I don't get lens creep. I do know I have the camera and lens pointed forward when walking. I do 4-5 hikes each week with my sons dog. I always have a camera with me.

I love the IS with this lens. It sure helps my shaky hands that I have compared to my wife's.
Focusing is fast and accurate.

I like full lens hoods vs the petal style that comes with this lens. The 24-70 F2.8 has a full lens hood.

Equ. 7D 6D sigma 10-20mm sigma 150f2.8mm macro Canon 24-70f2.8 24-105f4 IS 70-200mm2.8 mk1 300mm F4 400mm F5.6


Nov 2, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Medic8ed to your Buddy List  
sgraafmans
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 5, 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 215
Review Date: May 10, 2013 Recommend? no | Price paid: $1,200.00

 
Pros: Image quality
Cons:
Build very poor, twice this lense has failed a auto focus diaphram.

I've had this lense nearly 2 years now, its done very minimal light work.
Without notice it started giving lense error on both nmy 7D & 5D bodies.
I sent it to Canon Australia where they diagnosed & told me of the focus diaphram needing replacement. I was shocked at such an expensive lense needing such repairs given the short time I owned it and minimal work it had done. After getting over the shock of it all I decided to pay the repair cost of $530. Within a few weeks afterwards they sent me a repair survey asking my opinion on Canons service, I was still so discussed that such an expensive lense had failed in the first place, and the cost of repair, that I refused to even answer there request. It has now been 6 months after the repair, I have used the lense twice since and it now has the same problem again.


May 10, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add sgraafmans to your Buddy List  
arovane
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 20, 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 36
Review Date: May 7, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Nice Colors, good IQ and the IS works well. Itīs a good walkaround Lens. The Build Quality is good as well
Cons:
The IS makes a lot of noise, wenn you are try to shoot a Film in quite Situations.



May 7, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add arovane to your Buddy List  
rbussmann
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 11, 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Apr 14, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Nice zoom range, weight
Cons:
Image quality could be better, lens creep, color rendition not optimal

Great value lens, and good as walk around. Color rendition could be better. Image quality is good, but a bit soft at the long end (at least in my copy). Zoom creep is an issue after a while.

Apr 14, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add rbussmann to your Buddy List  
LeoJan
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 26, 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 29, 2013 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: For me the most use zoom, relative small, very very nice IS, good IQ. If you chose an all-round zoom take this one
Cons:
Creep, after two years. For an all-round zoom bad. A construction failure.

I bought this zoom when it came out. Sold my 24-70 F2.8 and still I found the 24-105L the better zoom for my needs. For more I use a prime. Ideal for trips, with a small zoom with an ideal range. IQ is good.

I hate the creep, this spoils a lot. Especially for a walk around zoom, I think Canon made a mistake. No rocket science to make a lock button is it? Now I use the zoom with a strong elastic around the zoom-ring.

Normally you would say, oke this zoom sucks. But still I love it. If you have to chose one lens and not chose an a nice 50 mm I always take this one with me.


Mar 29, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add LeoJan to your Buddy List  
DLP
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 17, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2450
Review Date: Mar 26, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $700.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent range, IS, BQ
Cons:
None

I purchased this as a kit lens with the 5D3. I had every intention of selling this lens and buying the 24-70MKII. However after testing this lens I can't imagine parting with it. The FL combined with IS makes this a nice walk around lens. The ISO on the 5D3 is so good that combined with the IS on this lens it even functions VERY well even in a museum with out flash. There is some distortion @24mm but it cleans up quite well with a click of the Mouse in LR. If you buy a kit intending to sell this lens be sure to try it out first!

Mar 26, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add DLP to your Buddy List  
acsf
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 10, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Review Date: Jan 8, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: image quality, price, size and weight
Cons:
lens creep, not the ultimate image quality

Overall this is a great lens and if you only have one, this is highly worthy of consideration. Also if you travel and want to pack light you can get by with this single lens.

The beauty of this lens is it works great on rebels (I used it on a couple rebel bodies) all the way up to a nice full frame (use it on a 5D III now). It is amazing how good the rebels can be with quality glass.

I haven't used a ton of lenses but the image quality is not as good as a 70-200 f/2.8, for example, but it is still quite good.

One annoying thing is the lens creep. No matter how much I tighten the collar screws, when I walk around the lens always slides to maximum extension.

Overall I will keep this lens but am inclined to try the holy grail of primes.

Here are some photos:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/a_clark/6799440638/in/set-72157624530757311
http://www.flickr.com/photos/a_clark/6824573228/in/set-72157624530757311


Jan 8, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add acsf to your Buddy List  
Doug Vann
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 18, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 45
Review Date: Dec 23, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, well built, good feel on 5DII, great walkaround lens, great value for the cost.
Cons:
none

I have given this lens a LOT of use over the past 3 years with my 5DII. I just finished having a poster size print done from this camera/lens combination and the sharpness was amazing. It really surprised me that it was that good. I also have the Canon 70-200f2.8ISII lens as well. Have also had the Canon 100mmf2.8L macro, Canon 135mmf2, Canon 17-40f4, Canon 16-35f2.8II, Sigma 50f1.4 and a few others so I am able to compare to a big variety of lenses. I don't know if I have an exceptional copy or not however I would highly recommend this lens to anyone that wants a great quality lens giving outstanding results.

Dec 23, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Doug Vann to your Buddy List  
nl_age100
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 22, 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 0
Review Date: Dec 22, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: - Good build quality; - Great colours; - f4.0 over the complete zoom range; - Good IS;
Cons:
- None;

I first owned the 17-85mm, but after 4 years of medium intensive it broke down.

Really like this versatile `walk around` zoom lens, for a few month now.

You can view the images i took with it here:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/arjan_gerritsen/tags/canonef24105mmisusm/.

So you can judge for youself Smile.


Dec 22, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add nl_age100 to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
516 895931 Apr 18, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
86% of reviewers $1,515.98
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.48
8.03
9.0
24-105lisusm


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next