about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
201 610254 Jun 6, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
92% of reviewers $566.98
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.63
8.63
8.9
70-300_isusm

Specifications:
The EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM telephoto zoom lens has been developed to meet the high-performance standards that today's photographers demand. Improved Image Stabilizer Technology provides up to three stops of "shake" correction, and the "Mode 2" option stabilizes images while panning with a moving subject. Compared to the original Canon EF 75-300mm IS zoom lens, this telephoto lens has faster autofocus, and overall the lens is lighter and has a smaller diameter than the original. The zoom ring can be locked at the 70mm position, making this powerful lens easy to transport, too.

Focal Length & Maximum Aperture: 70-300mm f/4-5.6

Lens Construction: 15 elements in 10 groups

Diagonal Angle of View: 84 - 23 20' (with full-frame camera)

Focus Adjustment: Front-focusing method with helicoid ring drive

Closest Focusing Distance: 4.9 ft./1.5m

Zoom System: 6-group helical zoom (rotational angle: 84)

Filter Size: 58mm

Max. Diameter x Length, Weight: 3.0 in. x 5.6 in., 22.2 oz. / 76.5mm x 142.8mm, 630g (lens only)


 


Page:  10 · 11 · 12 · 13 
      
Ravine_79
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 30, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 68
Review Date: Oct 10, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $490.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Sharp, color, contrast are very good (not L grade, to my eyes it is kind of close to the 70-200F4L), IS is impressive. Far far far better than the old 75-300 IS USM in term of focusing and quality. Lock switch is a plus, Black, 58mm filter and light ...
Cons:
No internal focusing, too long at 300mm, IS a little bit noisy, no FTM and USM not really fast, build quality is no better than 28-105 3.5-4.5 USM !

I bought it from Dell and it arrived two days ealier than Dell said. For 490USD, I am very pleased with the results after done couple of tests today. No regret of switching from 70-200F4L to this light and black lens.

With 640USD, Canon should provide hood and pouch for this lens though, but that's ok to me !


Oct 10, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Ravine_79 to your Buddy List  
Sodrak
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 23, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 10, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $493.25 | Rating: 10 

Pros: nice build quality(not an"L") but solid and using theTamron-F 1.4x MC4 1.4x TC with this lens works pretty well in good light (bright daylight). Not as noisy as some have reported.
Cons:
front barrel rotates, the lens gets longer if you focus close in, so if you want to shorten the lens all the way to put it in a bag, you have to switch it to manual and use the focus ring, or find something close in to focus on.



Oct 10, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Sodrak to your Buddy List  
dphototeam
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 19, 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 6
Review Date: Oct 8, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $640.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Waayy better than 75-300 IS (in term of sharpness and range), light-weight, plus IS
Cons:
must stop down at 300m, spinning front element, a bit too expensive for non-L lens

Well, what else can I say.. Did some comparison tests with 70-200mm f/4L and I bet the result will surprise you..

You can see some samples here: http://www.dphotojournal.com/canon-ef-70-300-mm-f40-f56-is-usm/


Oct 8, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dphototeam to your Buddy List  
mita
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 7, 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 7, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros:
Cons:



Oct 7, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mita to your Buddy List  
thw2
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 26, 2004
Location: N/A
Posts: 2897
Review Date: Oct 7, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: good price, sharp wide open at all focal lengths, little CA, reasonable focusing, very good IS, black & reasonably small
Cons:
build quality can be better, ring USM will be MUCH better, focus lock should be availble for all focal lengths

Surprised by the wonderful performance of this lens. Smile Will highly recommend it to many people. Black lens attracts lens attention than the 78cm

Oct 7, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add thw2 to your Buddy List  
mlade10
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 7, 2005
Location: Serbia & Montenegro
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 7, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Build and image quality(sharp and as well great bokeh), 3 stops effective IS, new glass and coating optimized for DG SLR,diameter versus filters,switch for locking the lens on 70mm, size and weight,reasonable price...and it's not white!!!
Cons:
Lens hood may be included.

Absolutely great and adequate lens for the army of new DG SLR enthusiast(most of them with EOS 350X-Digital Rebel).

Great 'learning lens':
-on tripod picture quality equals 70-200 f4 L,
-'on the run - in hands', much better then 70-200 f4 L due to great IS,
-better range, mobility, usefulness...
-great handling on EOS 350X...plus...

So, if you are not 'Lowhite snob', but eager to learn more about use,technique,colors...Canon have just offered us with the right and reasonably affordable lens.



Oct 7, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mlade10 to your Buddy List  
Vitreous Humor
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 23, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 15
Review Date: Oct 7, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Light, long magnification range, VERY good IS, pretty swift and silent focus (though still not Ring-fast). Very decent image quality.
Cons:
Spinning front element/focusing tube. Not FTM or Ring-HSM. Lose some sharpness at the long end. Also very pricy for a consumer zoom.

As first impressions go this little lense (and for this range of zoom, it is quite small) impresses. There is perfectly decent (not L sharp but eminently usable) image sharpness throughout the range, with a little bit of softness at the 300mm end wide open. Stopped down a bit (F/8) everything gets nice and sharp, at least on my poor outdated 10D (sad, but true). Like most other consumer zooms the contrast of this lense is a bit lower than a professional L, but nothing to write home about, especially with the image tweaking possible with digital. Just image-wise this would be a perfectly usable lense, though massively overpriced for the image quality.

It's the IS you pay the money for, and that's what you get. I've never worked with an IS lense that ran this well before. Perhaps it's just my copy but I can pull feats I've never come close to before with this IS. 480mm equivalent magnification and I can pretty consistently get my shutter speeds down to the 1/10-15 range. Granted, it's not 100% all the time, but this lense's closest professional competition is the 70-200 F4, and given a choice between decent image quality with excellent IS or excellent image quality with no IS, I'll take the one I can confidently handhold without my photos looking like I shot them doing jumping jacks.

All in all, if you want a wide-range zoom that you can actually handhold without spending an arm and a leg (look, it's no match for the 70-200L IS 2.8, and anybody who does that comparison is just BSing) you've pretty much got no other choice, but hey, it works great for what it's for so don't sweat the decision. Now if they could just give it Ring-HSM and get rid of that damned rotating front element...


Oct 7, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Vitreous Humor to your Buddy List  
Coliber
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 12, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 7, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: sharp, light, relatively quick focus; not too expensive, although in Canada prices vary by $160 CAN
Cons:
not yet

I bought this lens yesterday and immediately went for a tryout
walk. Shot a lot of flowers and some butterflies. Lens was quick to focus (on a sunny day) at all ranges. 3 stops stabilizer makes wonders. Later, at home, tried it in some dimmed lighting and also worked well. Photos, when loaded to my notebook, looked sharp and with nice colours. But since I am far away from being "pro"-like, my opinion could be somewhat skewed towards being too optimistic.


Oct 7, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Coliber to your Buddy List  
jonbrach
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Dec 22, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 896
Review Date: Oct 4, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $649.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: surprisingly sharp lens,excellent IS,light and easy to carry around
Cons:
build quality not up to L standards,but hey...it isnt an L

I own several L len's including the 70-200 4.0,the 200 2.8,135 2.0....I had the 24-70 2.8 which i sold and i await delivery of the new 24-105 Is....I have been hoping to find a less conspicuos lighter lens for some time that i could carry around easily without sacrificing image quality....this lens has terrific IS,the pictures Ive taken so far are quite sharp,the range is terrrific and the lens is a comfortable weight and size.I think this lens will prove to be exactly what im looking for when i travel to my kids school to take pictures of sporting events etc. without lugging around heavy conspicuous len's....so far im impressed

Oct 4, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jonbrach to your Buddy List  




Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
201 610254 Jun 6, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
92% of reviewers $566.98
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.63
8.63
8.9
70-300_isusm


Page:  10 · 11 · 12 · 13