about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
112 251826 May 29, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
98% of reviewers $409.23
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.32
8.80
9.6
efs60_28macro_usm

Specifications:

A thoroughly modern design that's optimized for select Canon EOS digital SLRs. Its angle of view is equivalent to a 96mm lens on a 35mm camera, with a floating optical system that can focus down to full life-size (1:1) magnification. Inner focusing, driven by a silent and powerful ring-type USM, means the lens' overall length never changes during focus. This lens is a wonderful multi-purpose lens that's equally at home shooting macro shots, portraits or available-light photos. Like all Canon EF-S Lenses, its use is restricted to the EOS 20D, EOS Digital Rebel and EOS Digital Rebel XT cameras.

Focal Length & Maximum Aperture: 60mm 1:2.8

Lens Construction: 12 elements in 8 groups

Diagonal Angle of View: 25

Focus Adjustment: Manual

Closest Focusing Distance:0.2m /0.65 ft.

Filter Size: 52mm

Max. Diameter x Length, Weight: 2.9" x 2.8", 11.8 oz. / 73 x 69.8mm, 335g (lens only)


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7  next
      
aladyforty
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 3, 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 1713
Review Date: Oct 24, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: smooth fast focus, very very sharp, beautiful color saturation
Cons:
hunts a little in low light

Ive only had this lens for just over a week but it has not come off my camera since I got it. I usually have a 100-300 on my 30D so thats saying something. Ive been able to get beautiful sharp close up shots of the inside of flowers, something I had trouble getting before. Im loving the lens right now. It does hunt a little in low light but I am getting the nifty 50mm F1.8 for those low light shots

Oct 24, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add aladyforty to your Buddy List  
Ryan Stark
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 20, 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 16
Review Date: Oct 20, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Superb picture quality which is what counts the most.
Cons:
None, unless auto focusing in low light is important for you. It is not too good at this.

I can't really add much to all the positive things already said about this lens. It simply blows my other lenses away. Sharpness is amazing, beautiful colours and contrast, great depth of field effects. It is my favourite. You will suddenly expect much better results from your photography but may not get it with the other EF-S lenses. I used this lens constantly for a while after buying it and when I went back to use other lenses they just didn't seem to come up to scratch.

Oct 20, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Ryan Stark to your Buddy List  
tasos_at
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 22, 2005
Location: Greece
Posts: 273
Review Date: Sep 30, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros:
Cons:



Sep 30, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add tasos_at to your Buddy List  
Kory Lidstrom
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 24, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 820
Review Date: Sep 5, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp, light, fast and not too expensive.
Cons:
Doesn't work with full-frame cameras.

This lens is AMAZING.

I just can't believe the quality of the images I can get with this thing. I swear, this lens could be labled an "L" and you wouldn't know the difference.

For macro, this lens works wonders. It's sharp with good contrast. And, because it's fast, light and only 60mm, it can be hand-held very easily. My other macro lens is the very well-regarded 180mm f3.5L. Yes, it's a fantastic lens, but it's much heavier than the 60mm, and combined with its longer length, it's definitely more difficult to handhold and get sharp shots. If you are shooting in bright light or working off of a tripod, this isn't a problem. However, in the real world, sometimes the butterflys and insects just won't wait for you to set up a tripod. That's where the 60mm shines.

One minor downside of this lens with regard to macro is the working distance. Because it's only 60mm you have to get much closer to your subject than you do with a lens like the 180mm f3.5L. This can be a problem, because many small critters will flee if you get to close. But, I find if your very smooth in your movements, you can get very close to many critters. I've gotten several great butterfly shots where I was holding the lens only a couple of inches away.

For portraits, this lens also does a fantastic job. On a 20D, it's just the right length. Some of my very favorite portraits I've taken are with this lens.

The only true downside of this lens is that it doesn't work on my 5D.


Sep 5, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Kory Lidstrom to your Buddy List  
Phast1
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 14, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 2082
Review Date: Aug 29, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Sharp wide open
Cons:
EF-S

I can't keep from thinking of this lens as what the 50 f/1.4 should have been. I know, I know... this is a macro lens - it's different - yadda-yadda. I've owned more than my fair share of 50's (either 1.4's or 1.8's) and was never satisfied with sharpness until f/2.2 at least!

The efs 60 macro is sharp wide open 2.8. Who uses macro wide open? Well I do, that is when using it indoors with the iso bumped up... and it rocks! Although 2.8 is less than ideal for indoor/no flash it's still nice to have that wide of an aperture. The 'happy point' is f/8 imho. Critically sharp. If they made this lens f/1.4 at 3 times the price I'd buy it in a heartbeat. Ok, you may stumble upon a rare supreme copy of one of the ef 50's that's decent sharp wide open but what are the odds?

For macro you've still got to get pretty close to fill the frame with 'ole bug-eyes. Steady hand and high shutter speed are welcomed. Macro shots I've taken reveal extremely fine detail, excellent color rendition/contrast. It somehow looks different than classic L color/contrast. But very much like the ef-s10-22's, which is an ef-s version of an L anyhow.

I'd recommend this lens highly. Cheap enough to keep in the arsenal, very light and small and has lots of uses. A big thumbs up from this crop shooter!


Aug 29, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Phast1 to your Buddy List  
RoDaBi
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 17, 2006
Location: Turkey
Posts: 682
Review Date: Aug 13, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: f/2.8, Fantastically sharp even wide open, quiet and rather fast focus, fully internal focusing, 1:1 macro without accessories, perfect length for a lot of things on 1.6x crop, mid-range price, great build, smooth MF ring, compatible with all macro accessories, Full-time manual focus.
Cons:
No focus limiter, can hunt in very low light, hood is impossible to find.

I got this lens a few days ago, and it's a real gem. Unlike many macro lens offerings from Canon or other brands, this lens focuses fast and almost always accurately. 60mm is a great length on crop cameras (96mm FOV equiv.) for a lot of things including portraits, street candids, macro shooting and even weddings and events - and this lens absolutely shines in every one of them. At f/2.8 it's on the verge of being too sharp to accept any further post-sharpening in Photoshop. 100% crops of the picture look no worse than when resized. At f/4, it has barely any improvement from f/2.8, and the lens holds a similar sharpness down to f/16. The only aperture to be avoided is f/32, which is spoiled by diffraction.
Although the working distance is a bit close for bug work, the lens is a great and versatile macro performer. Full-Time manual focus makes possible the easy fine-tuning of focus for moving subjects.

The lens is solidly built, with no moving parts, and a very smooth Focusing ring. With a bit more strengthening, a red line and weather sealing, it could easily be an L lens. Another plus is that the lens is very light, and small enough to fit in the front pocket of your bag.

It is EF-S, which may be a drawback for some, but if you want a full-frame Macro, the 100mm Macro comes just about to the same FOV as this lens anyway.

Overall, this is one of THE most flexible primes on the market.


Aug 13, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add RoDaBi to your Buddy List  
grumpyhaggis
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 13, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 11
Review Date: Aug 7, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $513.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Excellent results Good build quality Near silent autofocus
Cons:
Can't be used on FF

Excellent wee lens for macro photography, and good for portraits too. I can't go along with a previous reviewer who said he'd had trouble focussing in low light. Absolutely no problem with low light and my copy - spot on every time!

An expensive lens (at the price I paid), which is not helped by having to spend significany money on a lens hood.

All in all I'de strongly recommend this lens to anyone who's not planning to go FF.


Aug 7, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add grumpyhaggis to your Buddy List  
Max Err
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 2, 2006
Location: N/A
Posts: 2
Review Date: Aug 3, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $370.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: built well, very good sharpness, good macro capabilities
Cons:
a tendency to hunt in low light

bought it to add a shorter portrait lense to my 135L and to give macro a try. initially I seriously considered buying 50/1.4 but after having tried two copies found out that with apertures under 2.8 AF of my 350d misses too often (almost 50% of shots) - considering very shallow DOF this is critical. So those apertures prove to be almost unusable with 350D(too much a matter of chance for my taste). 60/2.8 macro is a very good alternative. just a little bit more expensive and ef-s. but instead it gives your macro capabilities which are a very nice extra.

mecanically looks and feels very solid.
IQ is very good, cant say on par with 135L but surely not much far away, and this little thing is VERY SHARP.

hunts sometimes in low light but if it sets it is THERE unlike 50/1.4.

highly recommended.


Aug 3, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Max Err to your Buddy List  
imeod
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 13, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 35
Review Date: Aug 1, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $385.00 | Rating: 6 

Pros: lightweight, super sharp
Cons:
Cannot auto focus worth-a-darn, EF-S

I bought this lens to use as a portrait lens and to introduce myself to the macro world. I was originally impressed at how sharp the pictures were, but was quickly disappointed with its inability to focus in any normally lit room. I couldn't even use it in my studio without first turning on every light and opening every window! I cannot recommend a lens that costs almost $400 and can't focus in a normally lit room. I can't believe that this is a 2.8 lens; it acts like an 8.0!

Aug 1, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add imeod to your Buddy List  
photoshutter
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 20, 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 39
Review Date: Jul 26, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: lens still sharp at 11-22 apertures, same size on macro and infinity, regular super fast ring USM, front lens easy to clean, infinity mark not on the end of scale, good for lower temperatures, flare control ++, but needs deep lens hood.
Cons:
price for lens hood, instead using m52 scrue maunt metal tele hood, for a price I would like lens hood incl.

Really great lens for portraits, still life, food, perfect focus, perfect optics, heavy, not cheap feel, super contrast and sharp, perfect bokeh at all apertures (almost round aperture), precision manual focus, working better than my great M-Componon 80mm without tilt shift options but with apertures smaller than 8.0, made in Taiwan only +

Jul 26, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add photoshutter to your Buddy List  
Allen Ko
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 22, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 59
Review Date: Jun 23, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $375.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Extremely sharp. Probably one of the sharpest primes that Canon has. Light weight. Can use it for both macro and portrait.
Cons:
Hunts sometimes in low light

This lens is extremely sharp. According to Photozone, this lens has better MFT values than most Canon primes including 100 macro. It is light weight and you can use it without a tripod with good light. It is great for macro work and portrait. When doing portrait, you have to be careful. A good skin or photoshop skill will be needed because it is so sharp that it will show her skin defect. This lens hunts a little in low light and have some flaring when there is strong light source like the sun. I have the 17-55 f2.8 IS and 70-200 f4, both very good lenses and cover 99% of my need. But this lens is so special that I have to keep it.

Jun 23, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Allen Ko to your Buddy List  
Gene L.
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 8, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 164
Review Date: Jun 12, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $370.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Very sharp, great contrast, low distortion, gorgeous bokeh, good flare resistance, light, compact, decent build quality, fast autofocus, smooth manual focus.
Cons:
Less than perfect low-light focusing, no focus limiter. hood not included.

I bought this lens for doing tabletop work and it has not disappointed me. It has become my most used lens and is even beginning to displace my trusty Tamron 28-75 for chasing the grandchild around.

The thing is sharp wide open and stays quite sharp even out to f/16. Even f/22 is very useable (I've not tried f/32). The color appears to be very neutral and the contrast is excellent. I have had no problem with flare, even when I was too lazy to set up flags for backlighting.

Focusing is fast and accurate in decent light, but it will hunt or fail to lock in low light. The manual focus ring is smooth and of course, because this lens has a true ring USM, it also has full time manual focus.

Though focusing is fast, when it hunts it has a long bit of travel and so can take some time to get from near to far. A focus limiter would have been nice when using it for non-macro applications.

The build quality is good, not L, but plenty good enough. It is light enough that it will not be left behind. In fact, it is so light that one can hardly feel its weight on the camera.

Overall I am very pleased with the EF-S 60mm macro and would not hesitate to recommend it.


Jun 12, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Gene L. to your Buddy List  
junlin18
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 18, 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2
Review Date: May 20, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: light, sharp and good colour reproduction
Cons:
difficult to auto focus sometimes
May 20, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add junlin18 to your Buddy List  
Sir.Grok
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 23, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 40
Review Date: May 18, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $325.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Superb sharpness, super fast focus, quiet, USM ring, 52mm, strong build
Cons:
None that I can imagine.

This lens is amazing. It takes razor sharp pictures. It is sharp at 2.8, with no noticable distortions to the image. On the macro side, there is ultimate control over the depth of field. This can make for some difficult macros, but if you know what you are doing, you should be alright.

Instead of getting a 50 prime, go with this. You will not be sorry.

All of these photos were taken with this lens.
http://flickr.com/photos/sirgrok/sets/72057594137208507/

<a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/sirgrok/148009950/" title="Photo Sharing"><img src="http://static.flickr.com/49/148009950_7a7f7e31ce.jpg" width="333" height="500" alt="_MG_2387.JPG" /></a>
<a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/sirgrok/147995964/" title="Photo Sharing"><img src="http://static.flickr.com/53/147995964_08df3271a8.jpg" width="333" height="500" alt="_MG_2256.JPG" /></a>


May 18, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Sir.Grok to your Buddy List  
wimg
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 8, 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 143
Review Date: May 8, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Extremely sharp, good build quality, great price.
Cons:

Extremely sharp macro lens, which performs equally well at normal focusing distances. Sharp from edge to edge, even at F/2.8. Some slight vignetting at F/2.8, which isn't really noticeable in normal photography, and which is gone by F/4.

A must for anybody who is into macro photography and who owns a APS-C sensor dlsr.

Considering its modern design and performance, this lens is a steal at the price. Very highly recommended!


May 8, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add wimg to your Buddy List  
Kamyk
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 25, 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: May 3, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: super sharp even at f2.8 , small, fast-focus
Cons:
expensive hood not included with lens

Lens for live!!!!!

May 3, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Kamyk to your Buddy List  




Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
112 251826 May 29, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
98% of reviewers $409.23
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.32
8.80
9.6
efs60_28macro_usm


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7  next