about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
112 251663 May 29, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
98% of reviewers $409.23
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.32
8.80
9.6
efs60_28macro_usm

Specifications:

A thoroughly modern design that's optimized for select Canon EOS digital SLRs. Its angle of view is equivalent to a 96mm lens on a 35mm camera, with a floating optical system that can focus down to full life-size (1:1) magnification. Inner focusing, driven by a silent and powerful ring-type USM, means the lens' overall length never changes during focus. This lens is a wonderful multi-purpose lens that's equally at home shooting macro shots, portraits or available-light photos. Like all Canon EF-S Lenses, its use is restricted to the EOS 20D, EOS Digital Rebel and EOS Digital Rebel XT cameras.

Focal Length & Maximum Aperture: 60mm 1:2.8

Lens Construction: 12 elements in 8 groups

Diagonal Angle of View: 25°

Focus Adjustment: Manual

Closest Focusing Distance:0.2m /0.65 ft.

Filter Size: 52mm

Max. Diameter x Length, Weight: 2.9" x 2.8", 11.8 oz. / 73 x 69.8mm, 335g (lens only)


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7  next
          
Photograff
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 11, 2009
Location: Russia
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 11, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $390.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super fast AF, sharpness, compact, colors, very good for non macro
Cons:
Supports only EF-S bodies

For that money which I it have bought an excellent lens! Ate to it to add IS that was simply super! Sharpness at this lens amazing! It is possible to speak long, to see is better

http://www.bfoto.ru/bfoto_ru_79.php
http://www.bfoto.ru/macro.php


Feb 11, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Photograff to your Buddy List  
eL Philippe
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 8, 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 2
Review Date: Jan 8, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

The EF-S 60mm is an excellent macro lense. I'm using it with a Canon 50D, without flash until now and I can't really complain about anything. The AF is very fast, silent and the focus ring does not rotate while auto-focussing.

The bokkeh makes nearly every photo an artistic masterpiece.

For those of you like to keep their distance to their targets, remember that this 60mm lense will give you 1:1 at only 0.2m. The F/2.8 allows you to shoot sharp and detailed photos without flash.

ex.: http://g3ckko.deviantart.com/art/Ugly-Meal-106159243

http://g3ckko.deviantart.com/art/Prof-Dr-Joss-II-105487391

50D Crop 1:1 @ 125 ISO | Shutter 1/3 | F/6,3

http://g3ckko.deviantart.com/art/Spider-III-107949394

--

I'd really like to share a negative aspect of this lense but I'm afraid I did encounter none until now... with the exception perhaps when I was handing the 375 Euros over to the guy I bought it from. I, however, do not regret the investment at all.


Jan 8, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add eL Philippe to your Buddy List  
Peter 13
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 24, 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 1
Review Date: Jan 8, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp, good color, accurate AF
Cons:
some expected vignetting at f/2.8, some CA

This lens is insanely sharp, even at f/2.8 (both at close distance and when taking portraits, for example). The first time I tested it, I could not believe my eyes – what, wasn’t the AA filter supposed to blur a bit even the sharpest image? The bokeh is creamy, much better than what I can get with my 70-200 f/4 IS. The photos that I take are stunning most of the time. The AF is quite accurate. Since it has internal focusing, the front element does not move.

I tested it against the 70-200 f/4 IS, the 50 f/1.8, and the 18-55 IS (the latter – just to evaluate how dimmer the EF-S 60 is compared to other lenses). The colors that I get from the macro lens are definitely better than those coming from 50 f/1.8; actually I was surprised to see how different they were. The L zoom has slightly warmer and more pleasant colors. The macro lens also shows excellent micro-contrast.
On the negative side: there is some CA, not much, that requires negative to positive correction in LR, depending on how close to the subject the lens is. It vignets noticeably at f/2.8, but that is to be expected. What surprised me a bit is that at f/2.8, this lens is dimmer than the 50 f/1.8 @ f/2.8 by 1/3 to 1/2 stop. It is also slightly dimmer than the 18-55 IS at f/5.6. Now, in real macro mode, the reported f/2.8 is not the real aperture, but I was surprised to see that effect at shooting distances 2-3 m. Anyway, this does not bother me.

I was torn between this lens and the 100 macro. This lens won me by being more portable. Also, 100 mm without IS would be of limited use without a tripod. For my intended use, the EF-S 60 seemed a better choice, an a crop camera, of course.


Jan 8, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Peter 13 to your Buddy List  
saurabh
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 27, 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 0
Review Date: Dec 27, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Cost, Sharpness, Bokeh, 2.8
Cons:
None

Excellent lense and very hard to fault, excellent macro and potrait lense, runs very very close to 85mm for portraiture.

I am very pleased with the performence, autofocus is fast and quite and the build auality is very good.

Irrespective of the price it has performs very well.

Highly recomended.


Dec 27, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add saurabh to your Buddy List  
photorudy
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 23, 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 0
Review Date: Nov 23, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Compact, robust build, perfect sharp pictures with nice background blur
Cons:
Can't think of any

I bought this lens on a photography fair for only 175 euro's. I am really very satisfied with it, the pictures are perfectly sharp with vivid colors and great contrast. It is great for indoor portrait photography with available light. For macro I still have to practice a bit more I think.

The main problem is the large difference with the other lenses I've got. The results look pretty poor compared to the pictures of this lens.


Nov 23, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add photorudy to your Buddy List  
skibum5
Online
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 20, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 15923
Review Date: Oct 13, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharpness, contrast, AF, size, fully L build quality, low CA< extremely resistant to PF
Cons:
workign distance not that large at 1:1

a superb performer

very quick and accurate AF for distant subjects
does get very endlessly hunty near macro if the lighting is not strong though

only downsides are that it doesn't work on FF (well maybe with a little tweaking and living with certain issues) and the working distance is a bit tight for nervous bugs.


Oct 13, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add skibum5 to your Buddy List  
David Collomb
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 23, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 110
Review Date: Jul 8, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp, colors, very good for non macro, built quality, light
Cons:
none

Macro world is really great. The creativity it allows is endless and you don't need to travel to amazing places to find great subjects to shoot.

This lens is great in term of resolution / image quality / color.
Its macro use is excellent. Using it for other type of photos is also very good.

It was not a planed purchase but I am so happy I did it. I really like this lens and I can only highly recommend it.


Jul 8, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add David Collomb to your Buddy List  
Deadpool
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 2, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 2, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $370.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Price was nice, Close up pictures come out looking great
Cons:
Takes some practice to get it right, doesn't take normal portrait or landscape pictures that well

I got this lens for my birthday in hopes to get some really nice in depth shots. I mostly do nature pictures and I really like to get into flowers for a large overwhelming shot making the viewer feel like the size of a bug. When I got this lens I found it to be a little difficult to adjust to.

It's a little difficult if you want to take a picture of a flat surface with his lens. It seems to have this horizon affect to it where the middle of the picture comes out sharp but the top and bottom look pretty blurry.

Otherwise, once you get the hang of it and start moving to actual flowers and reptiles, the pictures begin to look great. Here are some sample shots.

http://lordsephiros.deviantart.com/art/Withering-Newborn-89797535

http://lordsephiros.deviantart.com/art/Majestic-Angel-89803770

http://lordsephiros.deviantart.com/art/Lighthearted-Dreams-89804061

http://lordsephiros.deviantart.com/art/Fuzzy-Butt-89801430

http://lordsephiros.deviantart.com/art/Nurturing-89800265

http://lordsephiros.deviantart.com/art/Fuzzy-Feathers-89798427

I would recommend this lens to anyone who is wanting to get into Macro photography. The lens isn't too expensive and the pictures come out looking pretty nice.


Jul 2, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Deadpool to your Buddy List  
craigster
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 19, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Review Date: Jun 24, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $370.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good build quality; very sharp; excellent macro capabilities
Cons:
Sometimes slow to focus especially when traversing between macro and regular focus.

This is my first Canon macro lens. Found it to be easy to use and quite satisfying to be able to get close ups of flowers, jewelry, and the like. Was pleasantly surprised by just how good the 60mm is when used as a portrait lens. Very sharp photos and a good fit for portraits even with the 1.6X factor on my Canon 30D.

Jun 24, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add craigster to your Buddy List  
Danpbphoto
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Jan 3, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 9827
Review Date: Jun 5, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super fast AF-, extremely sharp, great contrast/color, lightweight. IMHO sharper/faster than 100mm and 180mm Macros I have own/owned.
Cons:
EF-S bodies only, Bokeh but that is expected from this focal length.

I find this lens is ultra sharp! On my 20D it quickly finds AF and the result is almost always "dead-on" in sharpness. I have owned the 100mm and also own the 180mm and it outshines both.

Jun 5, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Danpbphoto to your Buddy List  
klinker
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 14, 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 0
Review Date: May 20, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharpness, compact, small filtersize 52mm
Cons:
sometimes the focus searching at wrong end

Absolutely a great lens!
I had the EF 85 1.8 before and the feeling is nearly the same built quality.
The sharpness is amazing.
Sometimes the AF "looks" in the wrong direction but its ok, for this wide range. But when he is right its fast and correct! See samplepics.

at f5
http://comeonletssmile.de/EFs60macro.jpg

at F6.3
http://comeonletssmile.de/EFs60macro1.jpg


Price is ok. Little filterdiameter 52mm.
EFS body only.





May 20, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add klinker to your Buddy List  
jj sach md
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 22, 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 42
Review Date: Apr 28, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Price, weight, focal range, useful as macro and general lens
Cons:
focus hunts sometimes in non-macro situations

It was a toss up between the Sigma 50 macro or this Canon EF-S 60. For a marginal amount of money more, I went for the Canon mainly because of the lens not extending. I find this lens very flexible in that it a a great macro lens but also a fantastic general use lens. Photos are sharp, colour reproduction is great. The lens is relatively small and easy to always carry around.

Apr 28, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jj sach md to your Buddy List  
lextalionis
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 28, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 1076
Review Date: Apr 16, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $380.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: About $150 cheaper than the 100 and 180mm macro but also just as sharp and fast as them.
Cons:
Less reach and less bokeh on the shorter focal lenght. Supports only EF-S bodies.

Only drawback is that's it's an EF-S lens and you know what that means.

Execelent lens. The photos speak for themselves:

Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro Sample Photos

-Roy


Apr 16, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add lextalionis to your Buddy List  
slyb
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 20, 2008
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 30, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $383.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp, perfect bokeh, solid built, weight, size, FTMF (USM) Do NOT extend when focusing
Cons:
Serious problems focusing in 'low' light. Might be a bit overprices for an EF-S prime (can't use on FF)

Real 1:1 macro at 2.8. The lens does NOT extend/rotate while focusing. This is critical since you'll have to work pretty close to th esubject with this lens.

In general, good image quality and very fast focus for a macro lens that will fit for portraiture as well.

Only 1 really bad point: it's very hard to focus if the scene is not bright enough. This is a serious problem that made me miss many shots.
The USM ring will allow you to take control over the focus if it hunts too much but you then must turn from AF to MF mode in order to shot...not cool at all as it often hunts.



Mar 30, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add slyb to your Buddy List  
Arnaud Lottin
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 27, 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 24
Review Date: Feb 4, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very Sharp, good built, fast (F 2.8), cheap compared to L-glass.
Cons:
AF hunts in low light, otherwise in good light very accurate.

I must say that it's the sharpest lens I have (Canon 70-200 F2.8, Canon 300mm F4, canon 85mm F1.8, and some other zoomstuff that isn't worth mentioning)

Colours, contrast and background blurr are great and up with L-Glass. I love my 85mm, but this is my new toy and I love it!!!

I love it for portraiture, as it is a nice head-shoulders portret lens on my 40D. I'm new to macro, but the initial results I have are great.

The only drawback is the hunting in low light like many reviewers here are mentioning. Focus manual in low light is the key.

This lens is a real bargain!!!

Arnaud




Feb 4, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Arnaud Lottin to your Buddy List  
samdiesel
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 23, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 36
Review Date: Oct 28, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $385.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Razor Sharp, Versatile, Great Value.
Cons:
AF hunts in low light.

Using this on a Rebel XT, this lens is amazing. As a macro lens, I use manual focus anyway, so AF hunting isn't an issue for me. This lens produces very sharp images with a very narrow depth-of-field. Stopped down, it is sharp throughout the frame. Awesome.

With its 96mm effective focal length an a 1.6x crop sensor, it can be used as a portrait or landscape lens and the sharpness remains.

Simply an amazing lens, the best value lens I own. As long as I have a crop sensor camera, I am keeping this lens. Highly recommended!


Oct 28, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add samdiesel to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
112 251663 May 29, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
98% of reviewers $409.23
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.32
8.80
9.6
efs60_28macro_usm


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7  next