about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
387 1165449 May 15, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
92% of reviewers $320.79
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.93
8.73
8.9
ef50mmf_14usm_1_

Specifications:
Standard lens featuring superb quality and portability. Two high-refraction lens elements and new Gaussian optics eliminate astigmatism and suppress astigmatic difference. Crisp images with little flare are obtained even at the maximum aperture.

Focal Length & Maximum Aperture: 50mm 1:1.4
Lens Construction: 7 elements in 6 groups
Diagonal Angle of View: 46°
Focus Adjustment: Overall linear extension system with USM
Closest Focusing Distance: 0.45m / 1.5 ft.
Filter Size: 58mm
Max. Diameter x Length, Weight: 2.9" x 2.0", 10.2 oz. / 73.8 x 50.5mm, 290g


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next
          
hans.dampf
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 12, 2014
Location: N/A
Posts: 11
Review Date: May 15, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $410.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Weight, Image Quality, Low Price
Cons:
Build Quality, Noise, Sturdiness

This is the standard lens (at least for full-frame / becomes moderate tele on APC-C). It is small and delicate. And with f/1.4, it is the cheapest "light capturing giant".

50 mm are suitable mainly for torso or full body shots. For pure head shots, it is not appropriate so much because it leads to slightly visible distortion (although this can be corrected in PP). The greater the distance to the subject, the smaller this problem becomes. But let's be honest, with the 50mm lenses, generations have photographed everything before the appearance of zoom lenses; and it is still the standard. With a fixed focal length, one is forced to think more about composition. Since you can not zoom easily, you have to move around the subject in the viewfinder.

Primes are unbeatable in terms of light intensity, but you cannot use this in every picture. In principe, primes are weaker in terms of resolution , sharpness and chromatic aberrations at your maximum aperture. Therefore one must close the aperture if absolute quality is desired. From f/4 on this lens becomes even better. In extreme low light situations you can use the maximum aperture of f/1.4 because resolution , sharpness and chromatic aberrations are not that visible in such ambient anyways.

It has a metal mount (as opposed to the 1.8 version that uses plastic) and eight aperture blades (important for nice round shapes in the bokeh) . Micro USM (no ring USM would be even faster) with FTM (full time manual, you can set the focus manually at any time) , which is not common in itself. In contrast to the 85mm lens , it is a bit more noisy and a little bit slower.

However, with an aperture of f/1.4 this is a "light giant". The focus moves inside the "tube" of up to one centimeter. Luckily the front element does not move, so you can use polarizer flters easily. The Lens Hood ES- 71II is not included.

You will find no better quality lens for the Canon in this price range. The only about 1 /3 stop faster than the 50mm f/1.2 that is almost four times more expensive.

I've used all three 50mm lenses from Canon. The f/1.8 is just cheap and fun, no regrets, but not serious enough. The f/1.4 is good for enthousiast amateurs - amazing image quality and a decent lens! The f/1.2 is for those that can acually earn money with what they do, otherwise it's just too much money for the differene in image and bokeh quality.

I am a wedding photographer, so you can see some pictures where I used the 50mm 1.4 (the dancing pictures)
Photographe de Mariage à Montreux

In comparison to that, here I used the 50mm 1.2 (the close portraits):
Photographe de Mariage à Lausanne


May 15, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add hans.dampf to your Buddy List  
Robin Smith
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 19, 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 126
Review Date: Apr 22, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent image quality. High quality to price
Cons:

This is an excellent standard lens.

At full aperture, despite what many say, this lens produces a nice image as long as you have the focus where you want it. There is reduced contrast and, as expected, the image quality in the corners and edges is not as crisp as it is at f2.8. You will need a Zeiss Otus for that. However, many people's issues with this lens are I suspect due to inadequate focusing, focus the lens via live view and then check out the image - it'll be much better than many naysayers pronounce. By f2 the lens is nicely crisp and at f2.8 and smaller, very good indeed.

The build quality is OK: nothing special and not nearly as sexy as the Sigma 50s or the 50L for example - which I think is one of the reasons why people may downgrade this lens. I find the AF works with no problem and is the equal of my other Canon lenses (L and non-L). Manual focusing is not as smooth as those lenses with the usual USM focusing mechanisms. Although I have had no problems with this lens at all, there is quite a lot of negative feedback about its AF, and I suspect this may indeed be because the lens has less robust USM. Poorly treated secondhand copies may largely account for these negative reports. Mine was bought new and is 5 years old with zero issues. I do treat this lens more carefully than my other lenses because of these reports, but apart from this I think this is a very good "classic" standard lens. Yes it could be better at f1.4, but I am not sure that I care as the % of shots I take at f1.4 is about 1% - most of my wide aperture shooting is at f2.


Apr 22, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Robin Smith to your Buddy List  
dkyeah
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 10, 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 26, 2014 Recommend? no | Price paid: $389.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Price, size, sharpness
Cons:
Construction, AF, durability, no weather sealing

I bought this lens about a year ago in the hope of replacing my 50 1.8 which was too loud for wedding photography. The first few days I was pretty excited about it, it worked great. Though it's not stellar and not an L lens by any means, for less than 500$ it was quite good.
Then I took it out with me on a wedding and things didn't go as expected… Most of the shots were either front or back focused depending on how far the subject was. For example if I shot an environmental portrait the lens would front focus and if I shot something closeup it would back focus… So MAF wasn't an option. I tried to shoot with smaller apertures, but it didn't change a thing. I sent it back to Canon under warranty and they changed the AF motor. It worked for about a week or two and then the problems started again.

I can't wait for Sigma to get their new 50mm 1.4 Art Serie out! I will then decide if I get the Sigma or the 1.2. Will see, but either way the 1.8 is a better option than the 50 1.4, except for the loudy AF.

I've shot the following wedding mostly with the 50mm 1.4 if you want to see sample images. The one display on the link are in focus though :P http://quentindecaillet.com/blog/3213-photo-mariage-erica-alphadio.html


Mar 26, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dkyeah to your Buddy List  
avi monin
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 14, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 351
Review Date: Oct 4, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $349.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, fast, 1.4!!!
Cons:
none so far

I've had this lens for a few months now, maybe I am lucky I dont know but my copy is very sharp (kicks the Tamron 28-75's behind), I just love the 1.4, the images gets a nice flow from sharpness to bokeh.
It is built much better than the 1.8 version.
why spend the money of this lens? well you get very well built lens, much better glass which leads to sharper image, and the 1.4 is just lovely.


Oct 4, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add avi monin to your Buddy List  
grizzlywon
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Apr 14, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 234
Review Date: Oct 4, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $325.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Price. The quality is amazing for a lens you can get for $300-350.
Cons:
Not great at focusing in low light, but way better than the 1.8

Unless you make a lot of money doing photography I would recommend this over the 1.2 just do to the fact that it's only $300-350.

Oct 4, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add grizzlywon to your Buddy List  
scott_scheetz
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 31, 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Sep 9, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $287.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Nice image quality, great bokeh, good AF, Sharp
Cons:
Micro-USM, build quality

This lens lives on my camera most of the time. I love the 50mm focal length, its just right. The image quality is great, and the bokeh is quite lovely, but the build quality is sub-par. Its not even on the same level as the EF 85mm f/1.8 USM, and the EF 28mm f/1.8 USM, which in my opinion, it should be on that level at least. The price is very similar to both the 85mm and the 28mm.

My next compliant is the lousy AF motor. It says "ultrasonic" on the lens, but its actually a micro-USM, so its not as fast or durable as a real USM motor, and isn't as accurate in low light. Its also not quiet. You can hear a slight wiring of gears as it focuses. I would have been more than happy to pay $50-$100 more for a lens with a real a real USM motor in it like the 85mm and the 28mm.

Other than the build quality and the AF motor, I love this lens. Its sharp, great colors, and marvelous bokeh.

Some sample images on the Canon 5D:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/scottscheetz/9684526258/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/scottscheetz/9481963519/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/scottscheetz/9681288107/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/scottscheetz/9681285985/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/scottscheetz/9262848829/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/scottscheetz/9096239571/


Sep 9, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add scott_scheetz to your Buddy List  
oldshutterhand
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 24, 2012
Location: Hungary
Posts: 0
Review Date: Aug 21, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very unique and excellent image quality, good and quiet autofocus
Cons:
perhaps some distortion on FF, and built quality little fragile


This is a wonderful lens for portrait or for wedding. I can imagine a sharper lens, but this lens makes excellent images even when out of focus, or completely in the shade. F1.4 sharpness is very useful in a dark room. I highly recommend this lens if you after image quality and need this focal length. I heard about different quality copies though.


See in more detail at:
http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/canon-1-4-50mm/


Aug 21, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add oldshutterhand to your Buddy List  
JCollett
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 8, 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: May 8, 2013 Recommend? no | Price paid: $310.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Um, I guess inexpensive but not really. Good center sharpness at f/5.6 to f/8
Cons:
EXTREMELY soft in centerfrom f/1.4 to f/2. Very soft until f/4. Inconsistent focus lock.

This was a lens I've wanted for some time. The very first EF lens I purchased was a 1987 EF 50mm f/1.8; the original one with the metal mount. Been a decent lens but nothing to write home about. Got the 40mm f/2.8 STM this past year and have loved it for its size and great sharpness from 2.8 to the diffraction limit. Got the 50mm f/1.4 USM brand new thinking this should at least improve on the 50 1.8 that is 26 years old and purchased 2nd hand. NOPE! The old lens wide open at 1.8 was a bit sharper than the new 1.4 lens at 1.8! The lens only gets good at f/4 and is very good f/5.6 to f/8 but what lens isn't? My 24-105 f/4L zoom can do just fine at f/4 and is far more versatile. For size reasons, the 1.8 is even smaller and getting equivalent sharpness. So the only minor advantages this lens showed was manual focus override and a somewhat quieter autofocus. The lens will be going back and I have to really think if it is worth attempting another copy. Really wanted a normal lens with a wide aperture; may have to keep waiting to see if Canon ever updates this like the 35, 28, and 24 have.
For those interested, here is the Reikan FoCal Aperture Sharpness test results for the lens.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/5pigd2s97sxpkt9/130507_183425_FoCal_ApSharpness_5DmkII_3621701455_EF50mm%20f_1.4%20USM_50mm.PDF


May 8, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add JCollett to your Buddy List  
rater
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 26, 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 22
Review Date: Apr 19, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great for low light environments, nice optics.
Cons:
None.

Since I bought this lens it has been on my camera much of the time I have been shooting. In a crop sensor makes a great portrait lens and in full frame I find is wide enough as a walk around lens.

Although some people complains about build quality, if you are upgrading to this lens from a 50mm 1.8 you will be positively satisfied with its quality. Obviously, you can not compare to the build quality of an L lens, but then the price is not the same.


Apr 19, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add rater to your Buddy List  
ImNOTpermanent
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 13, 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Review Date: Feb 16, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: beautiful background blur, incredibly fast autofocus, sharp pictures
Cons:
on a cropped sensor there's less in the frame than ideal.

great price, great lens. on a cropped sensor it doesnt leave much in the frame and i constantly found myself wanting to move further and further back and sometimes not having that option became frustrating. otherwise the lens produced incredible quality images. great color, great contrast, beautiful bokeh. and on a full frame this lens would be the absolutely perfect combination of price, performance and size. i'd highly recommend it for full frame cameras, otherwise if you're sticking to a cropped sensor i'd sooner recommend the Sigma 30mm f/1.4 at about the same price and performance.

Feb 16, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ImNOTpermanent to your Buddy List  
asanduloiu
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 2, 2009
Location: Romania
Posts: 377
Review Date: Feb 3, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great opportunity for indoor use! Good autofocus, sharp even at an open aperture.
Cons:
Not an L, but also far from the L price...

Already enthusiastic about the possibilities offered by this lens. I do owe some three L lenses, but all of them are f4. Some pictures on www.sanduloiu.ro

Feb 3, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add asanduloiu to your Buddy List  
Gunzorro
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Aug 27, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 6394
Review Date: Sep 26, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Terrific imaging, great size.
Cons:
Micro USM motor, older EF lens design.

Great lens for the price.

Often criticized, but it is hard to fault the imaging. I've read some Zeiss fans say the lens is "flat", but I disagree. The lens has very nice tones and is very sharp. I prefer it to the ZE 50/1.4, and it doesn't have that lens' severe focus shift.

If I sound bitter about the ZE, I am. Wink I sold this Canon to help finance the ZE, only to find out it was no better in imaging for my needs, and had the worst focus shift I'd ever seen. Sold it, and that adventure left me without this nice Canon.

Needs to be redesigned and rebuild for the mechanics, but the optics are first class.


Sep 26, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Gunzorro to your Buddy List  
Henning
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 9, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 29
Review Date: Sep 9, 2012 Recommend? no | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Not very expensive, light, sharp in the middle from f/2.
Cons:
Too expensive for what you get. Fragile focussing action, mushy and dull in the corners.

Focussing manually or via AF was never smooth nor accurate, then it started binding and refusing to AF under 3ft. Was told that repair was pointless, as these lenses had issues with the focussing. I'm glad I listened, as a number of acquaintances also had problems which in the end didn't get resolved by Canon.

Got the 50/1.8 and have been happy at least about the price/performance ration.

I have a number of other 50's from other manufacturers and I would rate every one of them higher.


Sep 9, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Henning to your Buddy List  
wuxiekeji
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Sep 6, 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 336
Review Date: Sep 7, 2012 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Image quality, portability
Cons:
Build quality, autofocus accuracy, horrible manual focus throw, no manual aperture

Optics are great, but it's VERY poorly designed.

1. For a 50mm lens, which I use for about 70% of my photos, it stays on my camera for a VERY large fraction of the time. This means it NEEDS to be able to take a beating. Mine has already basically fallen apart, the AF/MF switch fell out, and the focus ring has become completely unusable. Plastic build? Unacceptable. I mean, come on, there are so many cheap 50's made in the past 15-20 years that perform well AND made of solid metal.

2. Autofocus cannot possibly focus a f/1.4 lens accurately enough. Period. Think DOFs so thin that it makes a difference whether you focus on the nose, eyes, eyeglasses, or eyelashes for portraits. Whether or not autofocus is desired at times, manual focus is a fact of f/1.4 photography and should be supported. I need this kind of control from a large aperture lens, and that means focus throws should be long and precise. Complete fail.

After my 50mm literally fell apart I switched to a Zeiss Planar (C-Y adapted to EOS) and have been happy ever since. And the cost isn't that much different from Canon.


Sep 7, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add wuxiekeji to your Buddy List  
Prasann Patel
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 20, 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Review Date: Jul 13, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, light, good sized focus ring, decent build quality
Cons:
Better on a full frame rather than crop sensor

For the price you pay, the 50mm f/1.4 is a fantastic lens. The image quality is considerably better than the 50mm f/1.8 and the build quality is adequate.

The focus ring is a nice size and is rubber for good traction. Focusing is also quick.

I've used this on a 5D mkII and on my 7D. Both produced great, sharp images, but the the crop factor of the 7D made me lean more in favor towards the 5D mkII.

Great overall lens, and an excellent way to start building your lens kit.


Jul 13, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Prasann Patel to your Buddy List  
nelvayut
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 26, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 104
Review Date: Jul 6, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: small, inexpensive, sharp, and light weight
Cons:
none

Great lens for the price.

Jul 6, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add nelvayut to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
387 1165449 May 15, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
92% of reviewers $320.79
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.93
8.73
8.9
ef50mmf_14usm_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next