about | support
home
 


Olympus P400 Post a Review
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 15704 Apr 11, 2007
Recommended By Average Price
80% of reviewers $290.00
Cartridges Price Rating Paper Quality Rating Overall Rating
5.20
9.20
9.0
P400

Description: The P-400 dye-sublimation printer produces dot-free, continuous-tone prints as 8x10, 5x7, 4x6, 3x5, wallets and thumbnails, and in just 90 seconds, too. You can even print without a computer thanks to SmartMedia and PC Card slots, and preview and select which images to print beforehand using the LCD panel.
Amazon Ad:
MPN#: 200365
B&H Ad:


freddyb
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 9, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 86
Review Date: Apr 11, 2007 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Professional quality prints hassle of clogged ink jets.
Cons: slow, bulky tray insert for cartridge, cartridge is pricey and hard to find , proprietary papers ..........ink will not dry on any other paper



Apr 11, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add freddyb to your Buddy List  
beluga
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 3, 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: Aug 16, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The best printer but.....
Cons: Banding, color

Okay, best printer ever but i have some issues and surprisingly, no one mentioned these. When printing a picture with even colored blue sky, i get a bit of banding. It is barely there but still, enough to anoy me a bit. Also, my blues are a bit muddy. Overall, colors are fantastic but blues are a notch under the high end ink-jet printers. Sharpness is beyond belief.

Aug 16, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add beluga to your Buddy List  
David R
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 25, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 607
Review Date: May 28, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $220.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent prints, seamless color gradations, and no clogging or wasted inks.
Cons: Relatively small print size.

Given how prices have dropped on these printers, they are an amazing value for smaller print sizes.

If you use this printer, be sure to go to Dry Creek Photo web site and buy the profile for this printer ($25) and follow their printing workflow. Doing this I am getting prints that are practically identical what I'm editing. More importantly the proofing capability in PS is showing me exactly what can and can not be printed, so I can make any adjustments before wasting time and materials.


May 28, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add David R to your Buddy List  
zrhue
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 6, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 190
Review Date: Nov 30, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Outstanding prints. Media is reasonably priced.
Cons: Can't do full 8.5x11

The p400 is my first and only dye sub printer.

I am very happy with the prints. Colors are vibrant and crisp.

I am very satisfied.


Nov 30, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add zrhue to your Buddy List  
wheaton
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 17, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 568
Review Date: Jan 23, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $450.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Un beatable quality. Continuous tone - No pixels. Protective layer protects prints against water.
Cons: Can't do full 8x10, only 7.65x10. Paper and Ribbon (Ink) expensive ~$2 per page.

Every InkJet print I have ever seen is easily identifyable as Inkjet. Areas that should be one nice smooth colour look like a collection of red yellow and blue dots. Not with this printer, even with a magnifying glass you cannot find any pixels.

The prints are waterproof too. You can spill a cup of water on the print and the ink wont run.

Only problem with the printer is that it cant do a true 8x10. The newer P440 is different only in that it can do a true 8x10.

The ink and paper is expensive. Dont accidentaly print out a webpage on this printer. Paper costs about $1 a page. The printer uses a ribbon rather than Ink. Each page uses the same amout of ribbon regardless of what is printed on it. Enough ribbon for $50 pages costs about $50.

The printer includes a slot for camera memory so you can print directly off the card. I have no clue why. I cant Imagine anyone with this printer would print without photoshoping first.


Jan 23, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add wheaton to your Buddy List