about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon Deluxe Backpack 200 EG

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
69 88277 Dec 4, 2010
Recommended By Average Price
91% of reviewers $41.59
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.72
9.53
8.3
46512canon_200EG_1_

Specifications:
A nicely apportioned backpack with Canon's recognizable black & olive color scheme, the 200 EG backpack comfortably holds a dedicated shooter's needed gear for a daytrip hike. Constructed of waterproofed polyester & nylon, it is finished with a crosswoven fabric to ensure years of practical use.
Key Features
Lash tabs with straps on the sides to hold clothing or various other lightweight items
Two gusseted side pockets with velcro closures
Zippered fullsize front pocket with external flap zippered pocket
Keyring retainer inside exterior's main pocket
Comfortable waist strap, sternum strap & wicked mesh backing
Tripod straps on the pack's bottom


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5  next
      
recumbent615
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 25, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Dec 4, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 5 

Pros: price, size , configurable
Cons:
Zippers, padding, not overly usable.

This is my second bag - I needed something to "take with me" when I did not need all of my equipment. The problem is you can not get to anything in this back with out taking it off and laying it flat - or risk having a lens go crashing to the ground. The elastic roping on the bag, I have yet to find a good use for this "feature" other than getting it caught on things. as others have reported - the zippers are all broken after a year of use - and I never let it out of my sight since it says "CANON" on it - not that I think I would let any bag out of my site if it had my gear in it...

Dec 4, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add recumbent615 to your Buddy List  
huddy
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Oct 18, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 1826
Review Date: Dec 3, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $35.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Cheap cost Holds a lot.
Cons:
Somewhat flimsy

When I needed a cheap first bag, this was the one I settled on. I use this as a travel bag to carry my bodies, lenses, etc on trips. It's perfect for what I bought it for as I carry it on planes and it is sturdy enough to pack in the car. I don't expect it to last forever or go on a hike up El Capitan, but I am pleased with it through a year as it is still in good shape.

Oh, and I'm a Nikon shooter. Here is what I pack in here:

Bodies
D90
F75/N75

Lenses+hoods
50mm f/1.8D AF
35mm f/2D AF
24mm f/2.8 AF
55-200mm VR
Tokina 12-24 f/4

Other stuff
SB400 Speedlight
Quick charger
8 rolls of film
Spare batteries and memory cards
Lens cleaning kit.


Dec 3, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add huddy to your Buddy List  
buddyRoland
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Oct 30, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 195
Review Date: Jan 13, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $40.89 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Cheap price.
Cons:
None for the price.

Materials are not the best but for the price and for what it can hold, you can't be it. Nothing else compares for the size and price. I can carry two camera bodies (5DM2 & 50D), 580 EX II, 70-200 2.8, 24-70 2.8, 50 1.4, and 85 1.8 when I want to take a lot of photos and they all fit comfortably. I blackened the logo with a sharpie but real camera probably recognize this bag on sight because it's been around a while. Purchased mine cheaper through Amazon from Adorama than I could straight from Adorama, go figure.

Jan 13, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add buddyRoland to your Buddy List  
squareeyez
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 22, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1333
Review Date: Jan 9, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Durable; affordable; useful; subdued colors; convenient
Cons:
can't take the damn Canon badge off without minor surgery - No need to advertise it's camera stuff inside to thieves!

I've had this bag around 2 yrs. now. It's starting to show some signs of fabric wear at the bottom but to its credit, I take it with me everywhere, every day. I mean that, too - EVERY DAY/EVERYWHERE. It's great for carry-on at the airport as you can put books, cell phone, etc. in it conveniently. I've had quite a bit of gear in it (400 5.6, 24-70 2.8, and 5D II with 70-200 mounted) along with other stuff in it and the shoulder straps show no signs of fatigue or unstitching. I have a different bag I take if I want to do a day of shooting with all my lenses but this is my daily bag. I'd recommend it.

Anyone have good advice for taking the Canon badge off? I ain't no seamstress so unstitching the top is not an option. Maybe some electrical tape... M-Nu...


Jan 9, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add squareeyez to your Buddy List  
Jacob Vink
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 7, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 106
Review Date: Oct 8, 2009 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 6 

Pros: Low cost, plenty of room
Cons:
Uncomfortable straps, bad zipper

I received this bag as a gift. The bag has good inside space and the pockets were ok. The straps weren't the most comfortable I've had on a backpack. I didn't care for the fact that you cannot remove the camera without opening the bag all the way. If the zippers are left at the top of the bag, it has a tendency to open. The zipper itself failed me recently, it will no longer stay closed.

Oct 8, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Jacob Vink to your Buddy List  
Jim Hanover
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 12, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Review Date: Sep 6, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $38.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Has worked out great. I have my 40D, flash, 5 lenses, batteries, cleaning gear, extra memory and batteries, battery charger and more packed in this baby. Great value.
Cons:
None found, especially at this price.



Sep 6, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Jim Hanover to your Buddy List  
MichaelJ in IL
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 23, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 25
Review Date: Mar 20, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Low cost, convenient, compartments for additional items, easy access.
Cons:
Soft thin padding for rougher use.

Good idea to remove or cover the "steal me" patches as others say. I'm not a professional, so this bag gets use about half of the time, and my Lowpro CompuTrekker Plus AW is used the other half. I find I can get all of my necessary equipment for day use in the main compartment, and some personal things (phone, water, snacks, etc.) in the outside compartments. My camera body with 20-70, 70-200, 300 (f4), extension tube set, 1.4x, and more fit inside of this.

Mar 20, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add MichaelJ in IL to your Buddy List  
1decmal8Tango
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 26, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 453
Review Date: Mar 19, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $38.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Lots of room, cheap price
Cons:
for the price, nothing.

I haven't had this bag long enough to judge the durabilty yet, but for the price, especially compared to the outragous prices for most other bags, you can't beat it.

It's large enough to fit everything you would need for just about any shoot. I've got 3 lenses (one being the monster 70-200mm 2.8), a 580exII, a DSLR, a film SLR, and 6 roles of film in the main compartment with room for plenty more. Then of course there is room for CF cards, batteries, cleaning supplies, filters and all the other little things.

I'll be taking this on hikes and climbs in Alaska where I live, and its construction will be put to the test. So far it's held up fine.


Mar 19, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add 1decmal8Tango to your Buddy List  
abam
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 25, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 4201
Review Date: Jan 17, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $79.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: lots of room for a simple location shoot or a vacation. lots of extra room for cables, chargers, snickers bars and such. good build quality. relatively low price.
Cons:
no weather sealing or built-in rain poncho. no secondary securing of the front flap so that your gear doesn't fall out in case of a zipper failure.

with this backpack, i can comfortably carry a 40D, 5D2 with 35L attached, 3 extra (short) lenses w/ hoods reversed, and all the accessories (cards, chargers, etc.) that i would need for the bodies.

it seems to be well-made, and it's padded on all sides.

for a simple vacation pack (minus tripod), or for a hiking trip, this is a nice backpack.

i recommend it.


Jan 17, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add abam to your Buddy List  
William Baker
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 21, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 18
Review Date: Jan 12, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $30.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Inexpensive, especially second hand. Good construction, padded, lots of room.
Cons:
Zipper pulls snap sometimes.

I can see how this would not fit the bill for a pro. But for an amateur without a whole lot of equipment it works fine. I have one camera, two lenses, one flash, one flash diffuser, and the usual mix of CF cards, batteries, etc. I even found room for a few of my favorite photo books in the front flap.

Lots of straps to carry whatever. The temptation would be to pack too much stuff and make it too heavy.

As far as the other comments I read about the Canon label being an advertisement to steal: all I can say is that I keep my equipment with me or secured in a safe place if it isn't with me. Someone wanting to steal it would have to take it from me and that would most likely cause them serious harm either from myself or my friends smith and wesson. I leave the Canon logo untouched.


Jan 12, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add William Baker to your Buddy List  
Jeremy Gaston
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 11, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 14
Review Date: Nov 19, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Storage. Mine currently holds: - 20D - D60 - 70-200/2.8 (on 20D) - 17-55 - 50/1.8 - 28-135 (on D60) - 580ex - 420ex - batteries, filters, cards, charger, and room for an macbook.(my boss's fits, haven't picked mine up yet...) Backpack-ness: Having two straps is nice for mobility. It's gotta weigh 20-30 lbs, but I can run with it (if I have to...) Lots of pockets, pouches & straps - work for everything from tripods to skateboards. The side pockets are a little insecure, but fine for business cards... Also of note: broke down once without a belt, and actually fashioned one that got me 20 miles into town out of the flexy cord on the outside pouch...
Cons:
Zippers - I've broken 2/3rds of them, but just replaced them with the little string thingies that were attached to it... Steal-me stamps: Replaced mine with my band's patches (email me if you want one, they're pretty cool (www.godproject.net) Not a lot of padding - less drop proof than other bags I've had.


Great cheap bag, and one better looking one's out there...

-J


Nov 19, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Jeremy Gaston to your Buddy List  
Gutted Hatch
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 1, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 84
Review Date: Sep 20, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $35.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Bang-for-the-buck is HUGE. It's quite roomy, and for the price, well built. Comfortable to wear for extended periods.
Cons:
Zippers like to open; padding wears thin after a while; Canon logos = theft target

I bought this backpack when I got my first DSLR almost three years ago. Since then it's been on 20-plus trips with all my gear in it. I've noticed that the padding is starting to wear thin, but then again, this bag was $35, and has stood up to some hard use in the past 2.5 years. Definately a great bag for light loads. I'm keeping it around for quick trips where I don't need a majority of my stuff. But I've since upgraded to a Lowepro Computrekker Plus AW bag for my two bodies and notebook computer.

As for it's drawbacks, a few bucks and a few minutes of your time, and they are eliminated.

Zippers - I went to Wal-Mart and picked up a pack or small Coleman carabeeners (snap hooks) in the camping secton and just clipped my zippers together so they coudn't open.

"Steal Me" logos - I went to the local mall and went into one of those trendy stores, and bought a couple patches as pins to cover all the insignia. Those few things really changed the look of the bag and stopped screaming camera bag, and started screaming "Huge dork who likes his soda, watches too much Cartoon Network, and shops at trendy stores in the mall."

Tripod straps - I went to the local surplus store and got some 1-inch nylon utility straps, and a couple QR buckles for under $5, and made quick release straps for the bottom of the bag. Worked quite well, actually.

As for the padding wearing out after hard use - The bag costs $35. How much durability do you really expect from a bag that is half the price of its cheapest rival? At that price, you can afford to go through one a year and still be ahead.


Sep 20, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Gutted Hatch to your Buddy List  
rex07734
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 16, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 50
Review Date: Sep 10, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $38.99 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Tons of room, very comfortable on the shoulders, and tons of places to put stuff.
Cons:
The Canon steal me logo is a drawback but that is why I pay for insurance.



Sep 10, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add rex07734 to your Buddy List  
Richard Nye
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: May 30, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2422
Review Date: Jul 16, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $35.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Price is right, nice size, pretty comfortable too
Cons:
Probably not as durable, less padding than most.

OK, so it probably won't last a lifetime, but for $35 I'll just buy another one when this one gives out.

I'm very happy with this bag. It's just about the right size to hold my 30D, 100-400L, 24-105L, 10-22, 100 macro, and flash, plus accessories. Any bigger and God help the man (or woman) that tries to lift it.

I took it on a 10 mile hike and it was pretty comfortable actually. The waist strap and chest strap are useless as well as the tripod straps. Just cut them off so they don't dangle all over.

The padding is a little sparse, but good enough if you don't throw the bag around. And the pockets are adequate too.

Look, this isn't an outstanding bag, but for the price it's darn good.


Jul 16, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Richard Nye to your Buddy List  
jrstrother
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 19, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 41
Review Date: Jul 15, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Great Price, has lots of storage, in the car turn it face down and it looks like a useless kids backpack that no body should want. Sheds light rain. Fast access to my 20d w/ 70-200 mounted. Also room for 580ex , 28-138, charger, diffuser, 50mm, 1.4 extender and a wide angle.
Cons:
Stiching starting to come loose, velcro wears out quickly, zippers unzip themselves, not alot of padding on the face side.

My 20d w/ a 70-200 L IS mounted worked the zippers open because the velcro strap wore out and hit concrete hard on a long walk to the stadium. Filter ring bent, focus and zoom ring jammed, lens cap smashed, hood damaged. Expensive repair and the lens is nowhere near the same, I plan to try a second round to Canon. I have removed the tab to one of the main compartment zippers so I will never be tempted to leave both of them zipped to the top of the backpac again.

Jul 15, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add jrstrother to your Buddy List  
Steve Wood
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 4, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Review Date: May 11, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $34.99 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Affordable and ample room for equipment.
Cons:

I just received my bag and I really like it! It has plenty of room for my Rebel XTi and lenses. I also put my Fuji S3100 in it. It has plenty of compartments for all my accessories. The only things I would change is making the handle on the top a little more comfortable. I still haven't figured out what to use all of the straps on it for. It is a good bag for someone who is on a budget.

May 11, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Steve Wood to your Buddy List  




Canon Deluxe Backpack 200 EG

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
69 88277 Dec 4, 2010
Recommended By Average Price
91% of reviewers $41.59
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.72
9.53
8.3
46512canon_200EG_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5  next