about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
20 59677 Nov 2, 2011
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $192.90
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.35
9.37
9.3
sb600

Specifications:
Guide number (at 35mm zoom-head position, 20 C/68 F): 30/98 (ISO 100, m/ft), 42/138 (ISO 200, m/ft)

Flash exposure control : i-TTL, D-TTL, TTL (film based), Balanced Fill-Flash, Manual

Flash shooting distance range (in TTL auto flash mode): 0.6m ti 20m (2 to 65.6 ft.) (varies depending on the ISO sensitivity, zoom-head position and lens aperture in use)

Power SW: OFF/STBY ON

Recycling time: Alkaline approx. 3.5 sec.

Number of flashes: Alkaline approx. 200 times

Creative lighting system: a variety of flash operations are available with camera's compatible with CLS: i-TTL mode, Advanced Wireless Lighting, FV Lock flash, Flash color information communication, Auto FL High-Speed sync, and Wide area AF-Assist Illuminator

Display: LCD: segment type

LCD back light: LED type

Shoe-lock: One action lock

Battery: 4 x AA-type: Alkaline, Lithium, Nickel, NiCd, Ni-MH (All four batteries must be the same type)

Zoom: Auto 24x85mm, Manual

Dimensions (W x H x D): Approx. 68 x 123.5 x 90mm (2.7 x 4.9 x 3.5 in)

Weight (w/o batter): Approx. 300g (9.6 oz)

Included Accessories: Speedlight stand (AS-19), Soft case (SS-600)

Optional Accessories: TTL flash cable (SC-29), TTL flash cable (SC-28), Color Filter Set (SJ-1)


 


Page:  1 · 2 
      
GronyTeen
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 7, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 69
Review Date: Jun 20, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $209.99 | Rating: 10 

Pros: The TTL, the Comander mode, great results...
Cons:
I haven't found any (yet)

Just got it and it does exactly what you'd exect it to do and more... it's very easy to use and produced great results... I'm sure the SB800 is a superior flash, but for the money you're not going to fault it's little brother, that has so much of it's functionality.

Jun 20, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add GronyTeen to your Buddy List  
kmitch
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 29, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Review Date: Mar 12, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $195.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Works fantastic with the D100. Will do almost everything the SB800 does, just not as far away. Works great in TTL BL, TTL and Manual. Great features and function for the price
Cons:
Would have liked the 800's AA and A mode, but it seems nit picky as it does a great job without them.

It was a vast improvement over anything I have used prior. The D100 has a reputation of being a tough camera with flash. THe SB 600 seems to tame it down pretty well. I have excellent results with standard settings, DTTL, TTL and manural. Manual mode is fast and easy with the flash ratios displayed on the lcd. Why pay the premium for the 800 unless you absolutely need the extra power. Great product.

Mar 12, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add kmitch to your Buddy List  
clsward
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 6, 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3
Review Date: Feb 5, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Very well built, Great Features, Fantastic Range, Excellent Value
Cons:
None that wouldn't be knit picking.

The only other flash I can compare this with is the Canon 420EX/550 EX which I have used on my 300D, Now I own this flash with the D70.

Out of the Box - Benefits from 420EX

Better Built and has LCD Display - Has a better and more sturdy hot shoe connector. The battery cover looks solid, the 420EX looks flimsy in comparison. THe locking mechanism is a small lever rather than the screw type on the Canon flash. Lay out is better and every feature works superbly with the D70. Even the LCD light on the camera turns on the flash LCD light. The manual and extra techniques manual is better than Canons. The Nikon comes with a built in diffuser.

Using this flash

The light light seems more even and more powerful than the Canon. Also used with an Omni- Bounce and bouncing the flash gives fantastic results.

Do I think tha 420EX is no good? No, I think it's a great flash, the SB-600 just takes quality, features and useability to the next level.

Just to make things even better the flash retails in the UK for 229, and I purchased from HK for 131.

I have not used the SB-800 which can be used as a master to trigger the 600, and I can not comment on the Canon 580EX which I have not seen. But this I believe is better than the 550EX and although Canon make some great kit, Nikon seem to have mastered the art of flash photography.



Feb 5, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add clsward to your Buddy List  
labbey
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 6, 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 21
Review Date: Feb 4, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: So much much better than a built in flash Price (compared to SB800) Remote Commander mode Standy mode is useful
Cons:
The extra weight. Lack of diffuser included (though stofen make one) After unlocking the flash from the D70 it seems a bit stiff and has to be wriggled to remove it.

I nearly went for the SB-800 but after reading the reviews I couldn't see how the price premiium was justified against the SB600. Sure their is an extra bit of power on the 800 but you can still use the SB600 in remote commander mode giving you more creative options. Only thing I would have liked inclluded is the diffuser which comes with 800 but I guess they have to justify the premium somehow. I like the standby mode on the flash which means that as soon as you turn the camera on the flash powers up and is ready to go.

A bargain compared to the SB-800 for a great bit of kit.


Feb 4, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add labbey to your Buddy List  




Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
20 59677 Nov 2, 2011
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $192.90
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.35
9.37
9.3
sb600


Page:  1 · 2