about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 15mm f/2.8 Fisheye

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
70 182816 Sep 3, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
91% of reviewers $563.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.57
8.27
9.1
ef15mmf_28_1_

Specifications:
Fisheye lens with a 180 angle of view for unique and intriguing effects. The wide depth of field makes it even more interesting. The short minimum focusing distance of 8 in. (20 cm) gives new meaning to close-up shots. The lens has a fixed petal-type hood and a gelatin filter holder at the rear.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5  next
      
Soulphoto2014
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 3, 2014
Location: N/A
Posts: 0
Review Date: Sep 3, 2014 Recommend? no | Price paid: $650.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Compact, fair price, lightweigh, sharp, built in metal lenshood
Cons:
out of production

Compact little fisheye out of production, it's good but the Sigma 15 2.8 is better, I had them both and used them for partyphotography (in fact the only lens I used for this).
It's a good lens but if you can still chose, go for the Sigma 15 2.8.


Sep 3, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Soulphoto2014 to your Buddy List  
JesseShotland
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jun 17, 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 308
Review Date: Jul 17, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: sharp wide open, lightweight, built in metal lens hood, great solid metal construction.
Cons:
loud autofocus, manual focus ring feels like a toy

If there was a lens that did, this is the lens that deserves a red ring.

Jul 17, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add JesseShotland to your Buddy List  
svassh
Offline



Registered: Mar 4, 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 664
Review Date: Dec 8, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $525.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Sharp at f/2.8, not a strong fish eye effect relatively mild even on FF. Well built but small enough to take everywhere.
Cons:
Focus a little noisy and no USM

Purchased this used as no longer made. Really impressed with how sharp it is wide open and the MFD is great when you want to accentuate the fish eye effect.

Dec 8, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add svassh to your Buddy List  
Gunzorro
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Aug 27, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 6551
Review Date: Sep 26, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Amazing color and sharpness. Surprisingly low flare, and ghosts look good.
Cons:
None

I bought the lens used in excellent condition. So sorry this isn't being made anymore. Incredible quality of imaging and construction -- deserves an "L" and red ring. Special use, but worth owning.

Sep 26, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Gunzorro to your Buddy List  
michi098
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 20, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Review Date: Jun 18, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros:
Cons:

I bought this lens refurbished directly from Canon. What a wonderful lens. Compared to all the other L lenses, this lens is actually small. The lens cap is of a odd design, it would have been nice if it locked in place somehow, but it does the job.

The focus motor is on the louder side, but then again, the distance it has to travel is so minute that it really doesn't matter, it only "buzzes" for a fraction of a second until something is in focus again.

Build quality is good, nothing to brag about, but not like a cheap kit lens either. It should be fine unless you plan on abusing it.

Picture quality is really impressive. Even wide open, my copy is surprisingly sharp in the corners. Not, not as sharp as the center of course, but perfectly usable. Stopping down, and it's pretty amazing.

Wide open, you get some pretty strong red chromatic aberrations in the corners. I find them to be easily correctable with software though.

They do call it a fish eye, although I find it to be more of a hybrid between fish eye and ultra wide angle lens. The lines do curve strongly, but not ridiculously. I have played with correcting the lines, and nearly always find the original results more natural and pleasing to the eye than corrected ones with straight lines.

When I went to full frame, I really missed my Canon 10-22, but this lens makes up for that. I really enjoy this lens. If you can find a used or refurbished one, I recommend giving it a try. Compared to the prices of lenses Canon is selling now, this lens is a steal.


Jun 18, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add michi098 to your Buddy List  
nswelton
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 16, 2006
Location: N/A
Posts: 248
Review Date: Apr 11, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: small minimum focus distance, sharp, relatively fast to focus
Cons:
could be built a little sturdier. kinda spendy for what you get.

having used the canon, nikon and sigma variations of the non zooming fisheye i'd say this is the best of the bunch. really shape and the small minimum focusing distance allows you to really milk the fisheye effect for all it's worth.

Apr 11, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add nswelton to your Buddy List  
dimsonation
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 30, 2010
Location: Israel
Posts: 7
Review Date: Mar 14, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: sharp across the frame
Cons:
lens cap, no USM

not my most used lens but definitely a fun one when i DO need it. considering it's age, it provides excellent results even on today's demanding FF bodies. my copy is VERY sharp across the frame from f/5.6 to f/11
it's a real shame canon stopped making it, rather than introducing an updated version with USM


Mar 14, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dimsonation to your Buddy List  
NDP_2010
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 7, 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 723
Review Date: Mar 13, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $550.00

Pros: small, light, quite sharp at 2.8 in the centre, fairly solid build
Cons:
no USM.

Creates very interesting fisheye photos.
The lens is sharp and the auto focus seems sufficient for this ultra wide lens. However an ultrasonic focus would be nice for action pictures.



Mar 13, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add NDP_2010 to your Buddy List  
jcmedeiros
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jun 30, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 760
Review Date: Dec 28, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $510.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Fun to shoot
Cons:
Front lens cap restraint design

I carry lens with me wherever I go because it is so much fun to shoot and never fails to produces the most remarkable images. I've not owned any other fisheye lenses so I can't compare it quality wise with anything. All I know is the images this lens produces consistently puts a smile on my face. I own a lot of lenses so it is quite unique in that regard.

My only negative comment is the front lens cap which is restrained only by friction (felt lined cap). I always have the feeling this cap is going to fall off leaving the front element exposed. Other than this little nit, I am very pleased with the construction of this lens.



Dec 28, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add jcmedeiros to your Buddy List  
Todd Klassy
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 27, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 290
Review Date: Oct 25, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Very sharp, rectilinear focal length, small size, does the job very well on cameras with a full frame.
Cons:
No USM, nosier focus, lens cap, no full-time manual focusing, colors a tad muted than other Canon lenses I own.

The Canon 15mm f/2.8 Fisheye lens is a bit of a boutique lens, but can come in very handy in certain circumstances if you own a camera with a full-frame sensor. If your camera(s) has/have a APS-C or APS-H sized sensor, this probably isn't the lens for you.

This is a rectilinear lens, which means the geometry of straight objects, such as walls or the sides of buildings, will appear less curved despite the extremely wide focal length of this lens. The lens, however, still maintains a fisheye 'look' as objects will appear increasingly stretched and enlarged the closer they are to the edge of the frame.

Overall this is a good lens. Build quality is good, images are sharp, and it is very lightweight. It could, however, use some updating, as it does not have USM focusing (it is somewhat noisier than all other lenses I own when it focuses), its lens cap is an annoying design, it has no full-time manual focusing, and colors are a tad muted. But since it is a boutique lens and is only on my camera in specific situations these shortcomings are not all that annoying in the grand scheme of things.

Here are some photographs I have taken with the Canon 15mm f/2.8 Fisheye lens:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/latitudes/2058114898/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/latitudes/274509497/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/latitudes/3833097929/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/latitudes/1664079216/


Oct 25, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Todd Klassy to your Buddy List  
LucianoMenardo
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 7, 2010
Location: Argentina
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 7, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $650.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Ultra wide. Fast. Sharp. Funny style.
Cons:
No filter (painy scratchs danger everytime). Noisy like a rat.
Oct 7, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add LucianoMenardo to your Buddy List  
Jos Tesseract
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 28, 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 615
Review Date: Sep 15, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: fun! wide! fast AF, crystal sharp, amazing colour
Cons:
fogs over easily, fixed petal, lens cap, no filters

What can I say... this lens rocks. I rented it for a weekend music festival where colour was abundant and this lens captured every little streak of it. In texture shots, it still performed very well and rendered pleasing shots.

The colour saturation was mind blowing for me. Never before had I captured such intense colours from other lenses so completely. Many fall short in one or two areas of the spectrum - not this one. Reds were vibrant, Blues were strong, Yellows were punchy and everything in between was excellent.

My only real complaint about this lens is that if can be difficult to frame the shot properly, knowing that things are going to find their way into the pic that you don't want... like a dirty dancefloor.



Sep 15, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Jos Tesseract to your Buddy List  
iomega
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 11, 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 4, 2010 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

Pros: sharp, sharp, sharp, sharp.
Cons:
barrel, barrel, barrel, barrel. Not so wide with x1.6 cameras. Can't use filters. Old design.

I use it exclusively with canon 5D. At F8 you cannot get any better sharpness with other lens. Period. Even nikkor legends are far from this one. VERY FAR! the close focus helps a lot with creative subjects. use DxO software for barrel correction and you get better results than the 8 times more expensive 14mm L lens. This one looks like a russian lens because of it's outdated inbond hood and it cannot be removed. Don't clean the front element, it looks too sensible and thin.

Jul 4, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add iomega to your Buddy List  
mmari
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 20, 2008
Location: Singapore
Posts: 21
Review Date: Jan 30, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: very sharp wide open, only slight improvement when stopped down. nice built quality even though its an L. fast & accurate AF even though its not USM.
Cons:
front lens cap always & easily detaching by itself. no AF manual overdrive, its more like a clutch type but in switch form. cant use filters. abit noisy AF but its fine with me.

i really loved this lens from the day i bought it. its my new walkabout lens.

Jan 30, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mmari to your Buddy List  
sachkan
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 22, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 112
Review Date: Nov 7, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Fun lens, sharp images
Cons:
Cap, great care needed for front element, no pouch

Contemplated this and the Sigma 15mm f2.8 EX Diagonal Fisheye. I even posted this dilemma on FM. From the answers I got, the Sigma won so I ordered that one. But at my shop, the Sigma was out of stock. They offered the Canon at a bit of a reduced price so I bought it. I am very happy with it.

You have to be really careful with the front element as it is unprotected (no filters) and the cap is not very secure on it
but otherwise the IQ is great, it focuses quickly and it is a fun lens to work with.

Highly recommended!



Nov 7, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add sachkan to your Buddy List  
iomega
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 11, 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 0
Review Date: May 11, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Spees, well built, wide
Cons:
big, heavy, lens cap

i use it in my bag all the time and grab it when i enter a large hall or cathedral for politic or religious photogrphy only for 15mm wide and i correct the barrel later in ptlens software. In the end and get better results than any other wide angle lens i have available for my work ( and i'm endorsed by local canon dealer wich let me use any lens i want! ). Get one in your bag too and wont regret.

May 11, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add iomega to your Buddy List  




Canon EF 15mm f/2.8 Fisheye

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
70 182816 Sep 3, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
91% of reviewers $563.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.57
8.27
9.1
ef15mmf_28_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5  next