about | support
home
 

Search Used

Lowepro Pro Mag 2 AW

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
7 43822 Mar 3, 2009
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $131.59
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.14
8.29
8.9
Pro20Mag

Specifications:
A slim-profile bag for special assignments. The OverLap Zipper™, All Weather Cover™ and high-density, closed-cell foam provide serious protection. A divider system, removable, see-through FilmPack™, and many pockets keep you organized. There are straps for a light tripod and side attachment loops for optional SlipLock™ add-ons. The award-winning Pro Mag 2 includes a Belt & Buckle, thickly padded shoulder strap and padded leather handle.


 


          
walter23
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 30, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 2686
Review Date: Mar 3, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Carries a lot of stuff; big front pocket to store miscellany, deep enough to seat camera with long lens in upright position for easy access. Pretty easy gear access. Belt is more useful than it sounds; you can remove the bag from your shoulder, swing it around front and let it hang from the belt if you have to do any deep rummaging. Has one of the better (easier to access) all weather covers on a lowepro product I've used.
Cons:
Like all other lowepro bags the internal divider system is kind of bulky and tends to shed a bit of fiber (velcro stuff, plus some little white circular flakes that seem to come from the foam internal components). I've used several different lowepro systems and this hasn't really caused me too much headache (nothing inside my lenses or anything) but I do wish it wasn't there! Don't like the external look of the thing; not exactly incognito (neither are those stupid crumplers, unlike what the salesmen tell you in the stores - they scream "yuppie fashionista with laptop and/or camera gear"). I'd rather have a plain green army-surplus canvas bag, but the carrying features and usability of this bag work for me so I'll suffer with the working-pro black camera bag look. Price. It's a freaking cloth bag. $150 is a bit high! I guess these are lower volume, highly specialized products though; camera bags are always expensive.

I bought this principally to carry a lot of gear, and mainly for the following purposes:

#1. Macro. I use a complicated macro kit and it's been a hassle to transport it. I've been throwing stuff loose into a big hard case but that's really not ideal. This solves that problem.

#2. Travel and casual shooting; I can put a pretty big diversity of gear into this bag (including a 1930s 9x12 plate camera - large format that tucks into a corner of my 35mm gear bag, how cool is that!).

#3. Airplanes. I haven't tried it out for sure but I'm 99% certain this will go into almost any overhead compartment on any airline I've ever flown on, even dinky little short-trip turbo-prop planes.

#4. Paid work, if I ever decide to actually seek it out again. Will easily carry a spare body and lots of necessary accessories. This is not too likely, but the utility of a bag for this sort of thing is an added bonus.

It's pretty much as ideal as a bag can get for any of these. A removable backpack-style strap system would be cool but I may be able to jury rig something like that anyway.


Mar 3, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add walter23 to your Buddy List  
mjsneddon
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 14, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 33
Review Date: Oct 12, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $119.95 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great quality construction. Provides substantial protection. Greater capacity than what is apparent.
Cons:
I really don't have anything negative to say about it.

I purchased mine in September of 2002. I am just as pleased with it today as I was four years ago. The quality of this bag is superb. I agree with other reviewers in that the amount of stuff you can put in this bag exceeds your first expectations. I have put in it the following: Canon 20D, Canon 5D, 50mm, 16-35mm, 28-70mm, 70-200mm IS plus Flash (EX550), filters and other incidentals. Yes, it was packed and no, it was not easy to use with this much stuff in it...but it worked. I am impressed with the strap - the amount of padding and the overall construction is excellent.

The bag is heavier than others of this size - but it provides more protection than other bags. And the bag can get quite heavy due to the amount of equipment you can put in it. But then again, these aren't really negative comments.


Oct 12, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mjsneddon to your Buddy List  
Kagetsu
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 16, 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 355
Review Date: Jun 29, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: More room then it looks from the outside, comfortable to wear.
Cons:
A little on the tight side (inside), forward compartment a bit flimsy, hard to open top of the bag while shouldered.

There's no doubt that Lowpro make excellent bags, and this one is no exception. I don't believe anybody could fault build quality, so I'll jump straight into the other areas.

This bag is deceptively roomy, which it gets from its height. On a normal day, I can use it for one body with grip, my 70-200, 16-35, 24-70, and 50 prime, with a host of other gadgets. (ie. P2000, extension tubes, filters etc)

What really suprised me, was that I could pack a second full size body for transport on aircraft with this bag. It doesn't leave a lot of room to handle on the move, but as far as transport goes, its brilliant.

My only complaint is that the inside is just a little too tight. I would have liked to see just a few milimetres more on all sides, just to give that extra support for lens hoods etc.

Word of warning, if you plan to use this as a transport dog, you may wish to invest in some extra shoulder padding, as it can get very heavy.


Jun 29, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Kagetsu to your Buddy List  
mbyoungs
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 16, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 60
Review Date: May 6, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $129.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Padding, Sholder strap, Holds a lot,
Cons:
Haven,t found any

Shoulder strap is excellent does not slip,holds a 30D with a 70-200L attached. Holds 3 other lenses with room for lots more.
The Pro Mag2 replaced a Tamrac Velocity 9 (2 months old) much heavier padding. Easy to get the camera with the 70-200 in and out on my shoulder.


May 6, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mbyoungs to your Buddy List  
AlexPrudente
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 16, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 146
Review Date: Mar 18, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $110.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fits a pro body (mine's a 1D) with a long lens attached (up to 70-200 2.8). Great shoulder strap - I never feel the pain of too much weight on my shoulder. Also, I've been using this bag while riding my bicycle and it works quite well (no off-roading, just some car-dodging). Perfect hand carrying loop/strap. All-weather cover is useful and so is the no-drop pocket.
Cons:
Difficult to unzip main compartment when the bag's on your shoulder. Heavy, thanks to all that padding.

Not much else to add other than I'm in Canada and maybe that's why I got the bag so cheap (I paid ~140$CA back when the exchange rate was over 1.45$CA = 1$US).

Mar 18, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add AlexPrudente to your Buddy List  
gooch
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 7, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 342
Review Date: Feb 1, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $130.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Rainproof cover, nicely padded, can hold a lot for its size.
Cons:
Hard to access when on shoulder. Tripod straps only good for a monopod. Price

I read good reviews on this bag and have been using it for about six months. It's my main camera bag and for it's size it can hold a lot. Currently mine holds the following: 10D w/Grip and 14-40 L atatched, 80-200 2.8 L, 135 2 L, 85 1.8, 50 1.4, Meter, CF card case, filters, grey cards.

As you can see mine is stuffed. I'm actually growing out of it since the hood for the 80-200 2.8 wont fit in. The bag is very well made and has a nice raincover that is accessed from a zipper pocket on the back. It's nicely padded and is not too much of a strain on the shoulder for me even when fully loaded. I do find myself wanting more space and may upgrade to a larger model but thats a personal thing.

My only con is the price, it's pretty expensive for its capacity, and the fact that it isnt all that easy to access equipment while on your shoulder, I only open it up when the bag is on the ground, but for what it is ... a medium size shulder bag ... it's very good.


Feb 1, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add gooch to your Buddy List  
Hans Bertrams
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 7, 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 359
Review Date: Jan 20, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $169.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Good quality bag, weather-proof.
Cons:
Not easy to open when on your shoulder, to small for my 400/5.6.

Very good bag. It fits my 20D with grip, 17-40mm, 24-70mm, 70-200mm and 420EX flash and room voor some small stuff.
It has a "raincoat" for heavy rain.

The only complaint I have is that it is not easy to open when on your should.

Now that I have a 400/5.6 I am looking for a larger bag (backpack) because it does not fit in de Pro Mag 2.


Jan 20, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Hans Bertrams to your Buddy List  

   



Lowepro Pro Mag 2 AW

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
7 43822 Mar 3, 2009
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $131.59
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.14
8.29
8.9
Pro20Mag