about | support
home
 

Search Used

Tamron 28-200MM F/3.8-5.6 XR Aspherical (IF) Macro AF

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
9 158370 Sep 13, 2008
Recommended By Average Price
89% of reviewers $111.50
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.75
9.63
8.4
a03

Specifications:
The world's smallest, most lightweight 28-200mm high magnification zoom lens. With a minimum focal distance over the entire zoom area of 49cm, and a maximum magnification of 1:4 (at 200mm), this remarkable lens achieves high magnification zoom performance with the compact size of a standard zoom lens. Through XR (Extra Refractive Index) glass and
efficient use of aspherical lenses, Tamron has achieved a 25% reduction in size and a 27% reduction in weight over the previous model (Model 371D), along with a decrease in filter diameter by two-steps 72mm- 62mm) without compromising the superior image quality characteristic of Tamron 28-200 lenses.

Model A03
Lens Construction (Groups/Elements) 14/10
Angle of View 75-12
Type of Zooming Rotation
Diaphragm Blade Number 7
Minimum Aperture F/22
Minimum Focus 19.3in.(0.49m)
Macro Mag. Ratio 1:4.0 (at 200)
Filter Diameter 62
Weight 12.5oz. (354gm)
Diameter x Length 2.8 x 3.0in.
(71 x 75.2mm)
Accessory Lens hood
Mount Canon, Minolta, Nikon-D, Pentax


 


      
Kiron Kid
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 19, 2004
Location: N/A
Posts: 820
Review Date: Sep 13, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $45.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Very good results, considering the price paid for it. I'd buy another one.
Cons:
None. You get more than you paid for.


This is the third edition in the Tamron 28-200 line. I've used the first two (not bad), but prefer this one. Small, compact and pretty sharp. Decent build quality too. A fantastic value for th eprice.

Kiron Kid


Sep 13, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Kiron Kid to your Buddy List  
dcains
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 8, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 7377
Review Date: Jun 20, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $89.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Very inexpensive, nice build-quality, nice image quality, light, small, good zoom range.
Cons:
Zoom ring is a bit tight, but maybe it will loosen up with some use. variable aperture, but at this price, that's expected.

Wow, count me as another impressed user of this lens. I'm a Canon shooter, with plenty of high-end bodies and glass, but I found a nice, used Sony A350 for my wife to learn with. The 18-70 kit lens is pure junk, so I bought this Tamron with high hopes, based on these reviews, and it was only $89 shipped (in 3 days) from Beach Camera. What a massive improvement! It's an absolute steal at this price, maybe at even twice the price, and the image quality is quite nice. The AF is pretty quick, and accurate, too. I'd recommend this lens without reservation, although can't make any promises about copy variation or performance on other mounts. Works great with this Sony.

Jun 20, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add dcains to your Buddy List  
kool100vr4
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 23, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Aug 19, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $85.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Very sharp lens
Cons:
none really.

I got this lens for 85$, used it on my Sony A100, oh!, its so sharp at all ranges, a very good buy..Im very happy with it..If your copy is not sharp then you should buy Sony A100 with Anti shake in body.

Aug 19, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add kool100vr4 to your Buddy List  
Shaun Montgome
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 31, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3
Review Date: Mar 31, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Sturdy construction, no lens slip, good colour and saturation. Great price
Cons:
Somewhat soft at times

I bought this lens about 6 months ago to accompany my s/h Canon 10D. I wanted an inexpensive walk about lens to go with my Canon f1.8 50mm fixed lens.

At first I thought the lens too soft but made more of an effort to hold the camera steady when shooting as I had been used to an IS lens on my Panasonic Lumix FZ-7. Results now are much better, especially since I have realised that this camera is quite well able to give very good results at ISO 400. Any softness responds very well to USM in post processing.

Colour and saturation are just right for me and look very natural.

Have a look at the recent shots taken at my daughter's recent 6th birthday party. They were all taken with this lens:

http://beta.myfamily.com/shares?aid=Rhyqlv_G4-o$

I see myself keeping this lens for quite a while yet.


Mar 31, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Shaun Montgome to your Buddy List  
LeeLau
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 18, 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Review Date: Jan 24, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $100.00 | Rating: 6 

Pros: - Reasonably sharp at long end; tough to hand-hold but I cheat and either lean against something or prop it up on a ski pole - Light - Compact - Cheap
Cons:
- AF is slow as molasses. I'm getting used to pre-focusing on the area I want to shoot then using MF and then shooting - Build quality is budget - but then what would you expect in a lens this reasonably priced.



Jan 24, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add LeeLau to your Buddy List  
icetm
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 2, 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Nov 14, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Superb travel/one lens does all. light and compact (compared to similar). Excellent price. Bright, sharp and quick to focus in all light levels (except pitch black)
Cons:
A little soft at 28mm. Difficult to use hand held at 200mm. Minor distortion at extremes of focal length.

Have used the lens for over 3 years. I think it is fantastic value for money and from 35mm - 130mm, the lens is faultless. Below 35mm some softness creeps in, getting worse the closer to 28mm you get.
Above 130mm camera shake starts to become a factor in handheld shots, if using a tripod then this is not an issue.

There is some image distortion at the extremes of the focal lengths but this is not bad enough to stop me regularly using both 28mm and 200mm.

I still use mine and am overall very pleased with it.


Nov 14, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add icetm to your Buddy List  
KLH2
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 17, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 18
Review Date: Jan 23, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $100.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Cheap. Picked it up for around $100 on ebay. Pretty sharp and contrasty.
Cons:

Really a very good quality, low cost knock around lens. Actually, very surprised by the quality for the price paid.

Jan 23, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add KLH2 to your Buddy List  
cogitech
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 20, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 11365
Review Date: May 1, 2005 Recommend? | Price paid: $250.00

Pros: As stated before
Cons:
As stated before

Just to add to my earlier comments.

I have read reviews here of the Tamron 28-300 and a common complaint is that the lens get very soft between 200 and 300.

The 28-200 also gets a bit softer at it's longer focal lengths, but it is not a "drastic" change in quality. I think much of this softness can be attributed to camera shake, especially with the 28-300 lens. People are taking this "walk-around super-zoom" and trying to hand hold shots at 300mm. It's not surprising that the images are not as impressive, considering that aperture stops down at these lengths requiring either longer shutter speeds or higher ISO, both of which just reduce quality.

Also, from what I have read (I'm surely no expert), this sort of image deterioration at longer focal lengths is common of all "consumer" zoom lenses. The only way to get "amazing" 300mm shots is with a nice, fast (2.8), prime on a tripod (or with IS).

From what I have read here and elsewhere, this 28-200 easily beats Canon's version, which says a lot when price is considered.

We still love ours.


May 1, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add cogitech to your Buddy List  
cogitech
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 20, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 11365
Review Date: Apr 20, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Sharp, contrasty, small for such a large zoom factor (it's the same length as the Canon EF-S 18-55mm). Solidly built, no lens creep yet and if it becomes a problem, there's a zoom lock. Nice bokeh! Nice lens hood too!
Cons:
Hunts a bit in low light and close focus, but this is really my own fault. Gets a bit less sharp wide open.

First, I should mention that the picture shown here is not the one I have. Mine is the silver version and it has no manual aperture ring.

They want $500 CDN for this in camera shops. Even at that price it's a great lens, but I got it for half price on e-bay. What a steal!

My wife and I are using this on our Digital Rebel (300D) as a replacement for the EF-S 18-55mm. When we first got the 300D, we were a little disappointed with the shots we were taking with the kit lens. After reading a bit on the internet, I realized that we were being limited by the kit lens.

Ever since we got this Tamron lens, all our pictures are much better. More contrast, better colour saturation, etc. We are very happy with the "bokeh" produced by this lens as well, very soft and natural looking, without much sign of the aperture blades. The huge zoom range on such a small lens really makes it ideal as a main run-around lens. There are so many different kinds of shots you can take with it and it's so easy to frame your subject, no matter what distance.

At the short end, it isn't quite as wide as we'd like it (due to the 1.6x crop of the 300D, but on the other hand, the long end becomes 380mm. We just got a Peleng 8mm for the wide shots anyway. It should be fun.

This obviously is not a "professional" lens, but if you hate your EF-S 18-55mm and want a sharp, contrasty lens with a huge zoom factor in a very small package, you can't go wrong here. Especially if you can get it for the price I paid.


Apr 20, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add cogitech to your Buddy List  




Tamron 28-200MM F/3.8-5.6 XR Aspherical (IF) Macro AF

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
9 158370 Sep 13, 2008
Recommended By Average Price
89% of reviewers $111.50
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.75
9.63
8.4
a03