about | support
home
 

Search Used

Tamron 28-105MM F/4-5.6 (IF) AF

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 27439 Feb 12, 2009
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $128.33
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.50
8.50
8.3
28105f4mm

Specifications:
Model 179D
Lens Construction (Groups/Elements) 12/15
Angle of View 75-24
Type of Zooming Rotation
Diaphragm Blade Number 6
Minimum Aperture F/22
Minimum Focus 19.7in.(0.5m)
Macro Mag. Ratio 1:5.6
Filter Diameter 62
Weight 10.8oz. (305gm)
Diameter x Length 2.8 x 2.9in.
(71 x 73mm)
Accessory Lens hood
Mount Canon, Minolta, Nikon, Pentax


 


      
Zuazua
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Jun 6, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 215
Review Date: Feb 12, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $125.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Color Accuracy, Good AF Speed, Good Range for parties, sporting events, & candid shooting. Compact in size
Cons:
Variable F-Stop range. 28mm on a non-full frame camera is not wide enough for those incredible landscape scenery.

I just sold mine last night after having it for 4 years. This was the first lens I purchased when I bought a used Canon D30 w/ 50mm 1.8. At the time I also needed a all in one sort of speak lens. This did the trick. I quickly out grew it for another Tamron brand 70-300mm Di lens, and it stayed in my camera bag ever since. Having to shoot a lot more indoor I began to look at a faster lens. Ended up with a Sigma 28-70mm F/2.8-4 DG, wow I disliked that lens and quickly sold that with a Sigma EF 500 DG ST (also worthless for me).
I had nightmares last night probably becasue I sold me baby. I know that the new owner will be extremely happy with that lens and treat it with care like I did.
I have no regrets and feel that If I had no money for any 2.8 lenses I will repurchase that lens time and time again.
Learning a specific lens positives and negatives you will never be surprised (Just dont compromise).
I have a new baby Im nursing... Sigma 24-60mm EX DG 2.8 with a newly acquired 550ex and a Sigma 500 Super... My journey has just begun...


Feb 12, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Zuazua to your Buddy List  
jetinder
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 26, 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 26, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: The images this lens gives are brilliant and are pin sharp, Auto Focus is very fast, the lens is made of plastic but build quality is solid and very very good.
Cons:
Wish it wasnt a 28-105mm zoom, wish it was 17-105mm zoom.






Feb 26, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jetinder to your Buddy List  
Lupe Talamante
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 1, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 96
Review Date: Jan 4, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $100.00 | Rating: 7 

Pros: Colors are good; Focusing is fast when contrast areas are well-defined; Good economical lens.
Cons:
See review text below.

Bought this one used as money was burning hole in my pocket. I confused it with the 24-135 which is rated a 9.3 here in this forum. It is a good deal for someone on a budget needing a range nearly similar to the 18-55 kit lens but does not desire higher quality. Hey, what can you expect for less than $100?

Zoom ring is smooth. Colors are true. Focusing is very fast. It will hunt in scenes where the focusing points can not define clear edges or contrast. Satisfactory results inside a HS gym although not spectacular. I wouldn't recommend selling high-priced photos from this camera unless people don't care. I think that it does not do any better than a kit lens would. If you lose your kit lens, this is a good replacement for it. But heck, better lenses can be had with just a little more money.

I discovered that mine won't go to F4 at the widest setting. It will at 31mm. The rest of the time it is at F5.6. It's going back to the store and I'll spend a little more for a Sigma or Tamron or Canon in the same range.


Jan 4, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Lupe Talamante to your Buddy List  
jimjenjake
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 23, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jun 25, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $160.00 | Rating: 6 

Pros: Decent Speed Focusing nice color
Cons:
seems to hunt after focusing on close object then focusing on a far off object. (wierd)

I think overall this lens is nice for the price paid. Very nice pictures. Will call Tamron on the hunt issue.

Jun 25, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jimjenjake to your Buddy List  




Tamron 28-105MM F/4-5.6 (IF) AF

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 27439 Feb 12, 2009
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $128.33
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.50
8.50
8.3
28105f4mm