about | support
home
 

Search Used

Tamron 28-80MM F/3.5-5.6 Aspherical AF

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
7 29368 Sep 3, 2009
Recommended By Average Price
71% of reviewers $71.99
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
6.43
9.71
7.1
777-014

Specifications:
A standard zoom lens from a wide 28mm to a medium telephoto range of 80mm. The use of aspherical elements in the front group reduces the number of elements required, and the use of strong engineering plastic in the barrel makes the body a light 237g. Consequently, it is easy to carry.

Model 77D
Lens Construction (Groups/Elements) 7/7
Angle of View 75-30
Type of Zooming Rotation
Diaphragm Blade Number 6
Minimum Aperture F/22
Minimum Focus 27.5 in. (0.7m)
Macro Mag. Ratio 1:8
Filter Diameter 58
Weight 237g (8.4oz)
Diameter x Length 2.8 x 2.8in.
(72 x 70.4mm)
Accessory Lens hood
Mount Canon, Minolta, Nikon-D, Pentax


 


      
shc37
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 1, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Sep 3, 2009 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 6 

Pros: Cheap, weight, ease of use
Cons:
Softness, cheap feel

I acquired the lens through my purchase of a bundle with camera body and other goodies. However, I quickly moved on from the lens as I felt that it was soft and didn't produce high enough quality of images to suit my needs. The AF also seemed a tad slow too at times. I honestly believe I am a bit spoiled though as I started out using a borrowed XTi and Canon 50mm which produced very sharp images.

But I will say the range was within my liking as it covered most everything I would encounter on a normal day and the lens was easy to handle. Factor in the low weight, the lens would make a decent walk around lens especially if you were walking into place where you might see dirt or objects flying at you!

I am a bit of a 'noob' so to say, but I do have some experience playing with lens and other bodies. I'd say this lens is a case of you get what you pay for...I don't recommend it as it's a very slight upgrade over say, a kit lens and would think one would be better off buying a cheap 50mm or using the money and applying it towards a nicer quality lens.


Sep 3, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add shc37 to your Buddy List  
Joshua June
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 14, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Review Date: May 14, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $35.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: PRICE, range, overall durability and quality
Cons:
Hit or Miss Focus, Fuzzy corners, Lens Flare!!!

Once again a review ONLY FOR NEWBIES.

I purchased a kit with a handful of beginner lenses including this one with a Rebel Xti base. Let me say the images are of a high enough quality that no non-professional photographer shall ever complain, especially the rock bottom price.

That being said, as a general walk around lens this baby fits the bill much better then the stock Canon lens. Don't buy it. At the same price in any new kit you can pick this little number up at minimal cost perhaps even cheaper.

Of the 45,000 photos I have taken in 2 months I have found this lens a reliable work horse that no house wife or amateur will find disdainful. However...

I did buy my camera for the purpose of medical photography in my practice and some details of alacrity and clarity are lost in macro settings... For this I will explore into a Canon Macro lens or the Canon EF-S 17-55 f/2.8 IS USM for my slightly wider shots... (For you pros what room is less dust free then a surgery bay?)

In short, for the price, get this lens for general use, it is superior to the stock lens and so darn cheap (ebay) you almost have no excuse.


May 14, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Joshua June to your Buddy List  
Entropia
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 28, 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 102
Review Date: Mar 23, 2006 Recommend? no | Price paid: $100.00 | Rating: 6 

Pros: Light, cheap, AF moderately fast
Cons:
Not that sharp, build quality, slow

Got this lens as my first for the D30. D30 had serious problems focusing in dark situations but it focused quite quickly in light places. Also the focus was quick with an EOS 650 body. The lens is not sharp, but gets sharper at f/8 or so. It is however excellent for its price. If your just starting at digital SLR photography and are buying a cheap body, this lens would go with it for a few months when you get to know your way around.

Here's one shot with the lens and D30:
http://esd.sytes.net/~entropia/kuvaus/silooni.jpg


Mar 23, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Entropia to your Buddy List  
iammanas
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 8, 2005
Location: India
Posts: 0
Review Date: Nov 8, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $85.00 | Rating: 7 

Pros: price, handling, sturdiness
Cons:
slow autofocus

For a lens at this price, the photo quality is good - if not excellent - and is a nice lens on a budget to cover the zoom range and get started with.
Pretty sturdy as I use it pretty roughly in India (including, in rough weather conditions along with my Canon Elan 7N), and still didn't see a scratch.
Autofocus speed is average/ slow.


Nov 8, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add iammanas to your Buddy List  
BiGMel
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 7, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 7, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Light, good build quality, pretty quick AF for price, bought it cheap used,works decent.
Cons:
Soft seems out of focus. Noisy, sounds like an RC car servo. When focusing.

I just bought the lens yesterday, bought it used so I cannot complain much about it, the lens seems kinda soft. I also used this lens for a panoramic night shot and compared it with Canon's 18-55mm Kit lens and noticed at 100 percent crop on a light fixture there was a huge difference in sharpness attained by the Canon, the kit lens was alot shaper in detail, the tamron on the other hand was not. This may be due to this lens being used but even lighted shots seem a bit out of focus.

I still think this lens is a decent good quality lens for the price. I have seen them in a nice kit package with another 75-300 zoom lens for under 200 dollars, I think that would be a great deal for a new photographer. I have shot with that lens also and for the price it produces excellent quality pictures very sharp but a tad bit slow.


Oct 7, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add BiGMel to your Buddy List  
Woolgatherer
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 3, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 20
Review Date: Sep 4, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $69.99 | Rating: 7 

Pros: Lightweight, Durable, Inexpensive, Good Image Quality, and Ease of Use.
Cons:
A bit on the slow side (but so was Forest Gump and he achieved alot).

Well, the reason I bought this lens was to go with a Canon Rebel film camera that I recieved for free. I didn't expect much out of it, just something I could slap on the camera so I could use it. I must say I was thoroughly impress given the price I paid.

Sep 4, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Woolgatherer to your Buddy List  
prof_fate
Offline
[ X ]

Registered: Dec 15, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 5098
Review Date: Feb 18, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $69.95 | Rating: 7 

Pros: Nice lens for the price. I got it instead of the kit lens for my digital rebel. Light weight, sharp.
Cons:
Slow (3.5 to 5.6) but that is accounted for in the price.

I bought this lens instead of the kit lens for my Digital Rebel. I had heard nothing all that great about the kit lens, and this was cheaper (kit lens about $100 w/ body this was $70). Also gave me a chance to try a Tamron lens. I also got the Canon 50mm 1.8.

I like this lens! Granted, I have little to compare it to, but my only complaint would be the bokeh is not as nice as the Canon 50mm 1.8 and it is not as fast a lens. It is light weight and covers a nice range.

I can supply pics if anyone is interested - I hesitate to put links here as they may change unexpectedly.

My plan was to get this lens now, and perhaps upgrade later and sell it off without losing much - I like it well enough I may very well have it for longer than I thought, opting for other accessories first.


Feb 18, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add prof_fate to your Buddy List  




Tamron 28-80MM F/3.5-5.6 Aspherical AF

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
7 29368 Sep 3, 2009
Recommended By Average Price
71% of reviewers $71.99
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
6.43
9.71
7.1
777-014