about | support
home
 

Search Used

Tamron 90MM F/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
53 195849 Jul 23, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
92% of reviewers $429.40
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.47
9.47
9.4
lens_1_

Specifications:
Di: Digitally Integrated Design, is a designation Tamron puts on lenses featuring optical systems designed to meet the performance characteristics of digital SLR cameras.



Tamron introduces a new version of the famous 90mm macro lens for film and digital photography. Tamron's 90mm macro lens, often referred to as "the portrait macro" and loved by photographers all over the world, is now reborn as a Di lens that is perfect for use with both film and digital cameras.

Model 272E
Lens Construction (Groups/Elements) 9/10
Angle of View 27
Type of Zooming --
Diaphragm Blade Number 9
Minimum Aperture --
Minimum Focus 11.4in.(0.29m)
Macro Mag. Ratio 1:1
Filter Diameter 55
Weight 405g (14.3oz)
Diameter x Length 2.8 x 3.8in.
(71.5 x 97mm)
Accessory Lens hood, Case
Mount Canon, Minolta-D, Nikon-D, Pentax


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4  next
      
ghamden
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 10, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 119
Review Date: Jul 23, 2013 Recommend? | Price paid: $325.00

Pros: Bought ths Lens used from KEH excellent condition I have shot about 50 shots with my D700 all are tack sharp bokeh is very nice
Cons:

Bought ths Lens used from KEH excellent condition I have shot about 50 shots with my D700 all are tack sharp bokeh is very nice

Jul 23, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ghamden to your Buddy List  
vsg28
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 7, 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 1227
Review Date: Aug 27, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Price, Image quality, Great manual focus
Cons:
Noisy AF in low light, nothing else really

Fantastic for the price, great IQ and doubles as a very nice portrait lens too. Can't really complain.

Aug 27, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add vsg28 to your Buddy List  
JaronRH
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 15, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 15, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $490.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: 1:1, Extremely Sharp, Great Bokeh, Can be used as a Portrait lens, AF Limiter switch
Cons:
Build Quality, Slow AF (hunts in low-light)



Oct 15, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add JaronRH to your Buddy List  
bartoszwozniak
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 3, 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1
Review Date: Sep 13, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Great sharpness, contrast and colors, good build, nice AF/MF clutch switch, smooth MF, good Value for Money
Cons:
Slow and Loud AD, hunts a bit

I absolutely love this lens. It is great for macro and portraiture. The AF is indeed slow and noisy, but it just takes some getting used to.

Buy it!


Sep 13, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add bartoszwozniak to your Buddy List  
Fr3d
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 28, 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 292
Review Date: Dec 5, 2009 Recommend? no | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: optical quality, inexpensive, light, nice handling (manual focus), hood and pouch included, came with 5 year warranty
Cons:
loud and slow af and pasticly build quality give this lens a cheap feel

I bought it and sold it. I previously owned the Tamron 180mm f/3.5 SP Macro 1:1 but sold that one because of it's size it would only come along when I planned to shoot macro subjects. So the plan was to get a shorter macro that would also be a nice short tele for non-macro shooting (like portraits). But what a dissapointment. The lens just feels very cheap which I attribute to the build quality and the slow-, hunting and loud af. I am now switching to the non-extending Canon 100mm 2.8 Macro which I have already tried in a shop. It is faster and has silent AF. The premium I have to pay for this worth ot to me. If you don't plan to use the AF on the Tamron, I would actually recommend the lens, because it handles quite nice in manual focus mode. Otherwise I would recommend to look for another lens with better build quality and more capable af.


Dec 5, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Fr3d to your Buddy List  
pans007
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 4, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 56
Review Date: Jul 13, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 7 

Pros: Good IQ and Sharp
Cons:
Bought it new and had to send it to Tamron for focusing issue. Slow AF and Hunt a lot.



Jul 13, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add pans007 to your Buddy List  
08ese
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 31, 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 0
Review Date: May 31, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: The photos!! A great all rounder lens, for general use. great for intside work too.
Cons:
SLOW to focus, noisy as hell, hunts a lot.

once i got over the lenghthy slow focusing... and the way the lens can hunt around. it actually surprised the hell out of me, the clarity, the colours.... wow!

to get the hairs on a caterpillar, only 20mm long...

seen here..


http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2445/3572162687_f09433e874.jpg



best lens i have now Smile


May 31, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add 08ese to your Buddy List  
Badmono
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 9, 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 20, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: A great macro lens - good VFM
Cons:
None

I was offered this by a friend who was getting a Canon macro, I wasn't a big Macro fan but the price was right so I bought it - what the hell, you know that must have it, gut feeling.
Well what do you know, I regularly use this lens and love the results - ultra sharp with great colours, it's opened up a whole new and fascinating world of ugly creepy crawlies for me to explore and photograph - And I love it.
>
I have to say If it wasn't for the price I'd never have bought a macro lens, but now I have one it's here to stay:-)))
>
Try one - like me you may love it;-)


Mar 20, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Badmono to your Buddy List  
NikonianBG
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 27, 2009
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 27, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated

Pros: Sharp, lightweight, nice colors somewhat to the warm side
Cons:
Noisy, focus slow and hunts, pronounced chromatic aberrations before f5.6

A very nice lens for portraits in good light conditions. Lack of stabilization for macro is a minus for me and I usually dont use it for that purpose. The bokeh is nice, has focus limiter. If you cannot afford something more expensive and if you are willing to swallow its negative traits, go and buy one.

Jan 27, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add NikonianBG to your Buddy List  
chylld
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 8, 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 0
Review Date: Dec 9, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $650.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Very sharp, smooth focus ring action
Cons:
Barrel extends alot when focusing closer, AF doesn't work on my sample

Awesome lens, definitely the best in my bag at the moment. AF broken on my sample (my D90 doesn't recognise it as an AF lens) but the shop is replacing it this weekend.

The shots that come through this lens are absolutely stunning. Colours, sharpness, and especially bokeh are amazing. Haven't done much portraiture work with it yet since I'm using it on a crop sensor and MF isn't easy to use with impatient human subjects Smile

The included hood is nearly useless, firstly because the front element is recessed so deeply inside the lens already, and secondly at 1:1 the hood will probably bump part of your object or something around it.

I was choosing between this and the Sigma 105mm macro; both excellent performers at the top of their class, but this one was about $100 cheaper and much easier to find.

Highly recommended!


Dec 9, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add chylld to your Buddy List  
LMT1972
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 26, 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 739
Review Date: Nov 6, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $650.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp, contrasty, and light. Build is decent and price is very good.
Cons:
Has some CA up to f8 on high contrast edges but really only noticeable at 100%.

My main macro lens. It's sharp and light so I use it handheld 90% of the time. Sharpness is very good even at small apertures (f20-32). Optimum sharpness on the D300 is between f8-14 range @ 1:1 and it's pretty good at wider apertures for portrait shots. Bokeh is excellent and probably close to the 70-200VR IMO. I have used it extensively with Kenko tubes (2x) and with the Kenko 1.4 TC & reversed 50 1.8 with excellent results up to 2.5x mag @ f20. I've found the working distance is fine for most subjects even with the tubes attached (about 70mm). The front element is recessed about 40mm inside the barrel so don't even worry about the hood, it's not needed.

I find the AF/Manual clutch arrangement quite good and means you can change very quickly from AF to manual if needed. The AF is slow & does hunt a bit with low contrast subjects but I have used it to capture bees in flight on my D70s so it is capable with some practice.

People say the build quality is not great on this lens but I've found it quite solid and while it's not as good as the Nikkor 105VR I'm sure in 10-15 years time it will still be going strong.

The only improvement Tamron could make with this lens would be to make it IF rather than the extending barrel arrangement.

Overall a superb lens. Buy one, you'll be impressed.


Nov 6, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add LMT1972 to your Buddy List  
tonymgr1710
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 23, 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Nov 3, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $285.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: A smooth focusing, and easy to change from manual to auto focus. A crisp image at the end
Cons:
Haven't found any yet, and not expecting to



Nov 3, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add tonymgr1710 to your Buddy List  
marcelotk
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 2, 2005
Location: Brazil
Posts: 63
Review Date: Oct 31, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Very sharp and lightweight
Cons:
The focus is a bit slow but it's not an issue here

It's a nice surprise to see how sharp and contrasty this lens is.

It handle very well on my D200 and the focus ring is smooth making the MF work for macro photography easier.


Oct 31, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add marcelotk to your Buddy List  
lextalionis
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 28, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 1076
Review Date: Jun 11, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $380.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Sharp and good color
Cons:
Lot of plastic, slow AF, no IF (trombones)

This is probably the only Tamron I will ever buy. It's a very good macro and portrait lens. Once you overcome some of its weaknesses it will serve you well at decent price.

Here are some shots taken with a Pentax K100D:

Sample Shots

-Roy


Jun 11, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add lextalionis to your Buddy List  
robeede
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 9, 2008
Location: N/A
Posts: 0
Review Date: May 10, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $450.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: sharp lens, excellent, creamy bokeh, a delight to use.
Cons:
sometimes hunts for focus; shallow depth of field at macro distance; sharpness drops off dramatically below f8; variable minimum aperture at macro.

A great lens i'd highly recommend. I actually prefer it over the Nikon 105mm VR due to price, and also because the sharpness is almost the same, and i find the 90mm easier to use w/ digital than the 105mm.
Overall a great lens: the creamy bokeh makes flowers, butterflies, etc. stand out and look great.
I find the manual/auto push pull to take a couple times to get used to, but it soon becomes a no brainer.
At macro, depth of field is always a problem- stopping down doesn't help because beyond f8 the sharpness rapidly deteriorates.
I got the Tamron $90 rebate, a great plus, and received it with in 2 weeks of filing for it!
Overall I'm very pleased with this lens, it is a great addition.


May 10, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add robeede to your Buddy List  
danbachmann
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 14, 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 16, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $475.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Excellent sharpness - even wide open, great bokeh, durable, light weight
Cons:
no silent focus (ie: USM/SDM) option

This lens impressed me with film and has completely spoiled me with digital. I have been searching for years for lenses that are of such quality and have found nothing.

It is excellent as a portrait lens, which I understand is rare for a macro since the bokeh on most macro lenses is not as smooth as you will find on this model. Most of the shots I take with this lens are not macro and most of what I take with this lens ends up being keepers.

(note price paid was actually 299 - about $475 at the time)



Mar 16, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add danbachmann to your Buddy List  




Tamron 90MM F/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
53 195849 Jul 23, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
92% of reviewers $429.40
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.47
9.47
9.4
lens_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4  next