about | support
home
 

Search Used

Tamron 14MM F/2.8 Aspherical (IF) SP AF

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
9 79578 Oct 24, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $659.67
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.78
8.00
8.9
14mm

Specifications:
The optical system of the new SP AF14mm F/2.8 Aspherical (IF) lens, composed of 14 elements in 12 groups, includes two Hybrid Aspherical lens elements. These large Hybrid Aspheric elements efficiently compensate for aberrations thus achieving flat-field image depiction from corner to corner. With a fast F/2.8 aperture and a sophisticated optical system, photographers can create dynamic photographs that take full advantage of the rectangular characteristics of the lens.

Model --
Lens Construction (Groups/Elements) 12/14
Angle of View 113.8
Focus System Internal
Diaphragm Blade Number 5
Minimum Aperture F/22
Minimum Focus 7.8in. (0.2m)
Macro Mag. Ratio 1:6.5
Rear Filter Slot Gelatin filters can be placed on the rear section of lens
Weight 23.3oz (661g)
Diameter x Length 3.4in. x 3.5in.
(87mm x 89mm)
Accessory Lens hood, Case
Mount Canon, Minolta, Nikon-D, Pentax


 


      
Peter Kotsa
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 1, 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 267
Review Date: Oct 24, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp, cheap price as compared to Canon
Cons:
A tad flare prone

I had the Canon 14mm L II for around 2 years and was generally happy with the results. I couldnt justify $2k for the amount of times I used it.

I sold it a while ago.
I recently purchased the Tamron as it was under $500 and I read some reviews.
The lens is tack sharp in the centre at 2.8 and only gets better stopped down.

The edges are almost as good as the Canon, but the Canon has the slight edge.
CA is easily controllable in post , so that is a non issue.
I am very impressed with this lens that manages to produce sharp contrasty images for a quarter of the price of the Canon.

At certain angles to the Sun, it promotes some flare, but nothing major

Definitely a keeper.


Oct 24, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Peter Kotsa to your Buddy List  
Svenning
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 31, 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 40
Review Date: Apr 4, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: I use my 14mm Tamron on a Canon 5D MkII and I get good results from >f/5.6. The lens is well built.
Cons:
Flare and a poor made lens hood.

Be carefully where you have the sun when you shoot with this Tamron 14mm lens. It flares very easy and it will destroy your picture.

Apr 4, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Svenning to your Buddy List  
Manuel Barrera
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 28, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 27
Review Date: May 25, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $450.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Recently our camera club had a competition where most of the images were buildings with a lot of clutter in front, this lens allowed me to get in close behind most of the clutter.
Cons:
The cover for the lens, I am very careful when using this lens.

The edges are soft but not some thing that can be fixed in post processing. The lens, also, allows for creative work up close.

May 25, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Manuel Barrera to your Buddy List  
Geofn
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 31, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 842
Review Date: Aug 5, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $460.00 | Rating: 7 

Pros: Reasonably sharp wide open and quite sharp by f/5.6. Solid feel. Can be found used for about half of new cost.
Cons:
Really bizarre combination (half) pouch and lens cap. Very very noisy focusing. Can't manually focus when in auto mode (ala the Sigma 20/1.8).

I have the Sigma 12-24 zoom, but wanted a 14mm large aperture prime. Couldn't justify the price of the Canon so that left the Sigma and the Tamron. I really would have preferred the Sigma, but now that they have been discontinued they don't show up too often. Found this Tamron on e-bay for a good price and seem to have gotten a good copy.

Sharpness is slightly better than the Sigma 12-24 and not as good as my Canon 16-35L. There is quite noticable barrel distortion, even on a 1.6 crop body. And occasional wicked CA at very high contrast boundaries such as the edge of a window in daylight when photographing dark interiors.

Build quality is overall good with a nice solid feel. But the focus motor is very noisy and high pitched. Rather whiney in fact. And you can't manually focus with the lens set in auto mode. Finally, Tamron really missed the boat with the bizarre half-pouch/lens cap combo. This lens really needs more protection that this affords. A slip-on solid cap and a full sized pouch would be a much better solution.


Aug 5, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Geofn to your Buddy List  
Andrew Maier
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 4, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 230
Review Date: Nov 29, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,099.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Small, light, great sharpness at this focal length
Cons:
noisy AF is it really. gold band ...?, not canon L series...but someone here's got the bug

Most lenses at this focal length leave something to be desired. This lens is not perfect but it definately stands on its own at this length. I'm very pleased with the images I have been able to create on my 5D.

-A


Nov 29, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Andrew Maier to your Buddy List  
slobomitic
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 19, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 11
Review Date: Sep 11, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,099.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: sharp, good contrast and colors
Cons:
none

I went to a local store and tested:
Canon EF14mm 2.8L USM
Sigma 14mm 2.8 and
Tamron 14mm 2.8.

I set 5D on a tripod and shot several images at 5.6 and 8. Later I examined all images very close to find out that Tamron was BY FAR the best lens.


Sep 11, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add slobomitic to your Buddy List  
Cuttingglass
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 24, 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1
Review Date: Jan 27, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $450.00 | Rating: 6 

Pros: On some camera's sharper compared to Sigma 2.8 14mm and close to Nikon
Cons:
Flare worse compared to Sigma and/or Nikon

Second hand it can be OK if it is suitable for camera and/or ccd. It had terrible flare with my Kodak 14n. Nikon came 2nd and Sigma came 1st.
New it is way too expensive. Will never live up to a $1000 lens


Jan 27, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Cuttingglass to your Buddy List  
mjsutherland
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 13, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3
Review Date: Aug 2, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Nice and sharp,
Cons:
Nil, perhaps lense hood (built in) could be bigger or it would be supplied with a bigger one to attach, the lense is vulnerable to damage and like any similar lense prone to flare.



I use a canon 20D with 1.6 crop and am impressed. I also have Canon 24-70 2.8L and 70-200 2.8L IS and it compares well with the 24-70. I was expecting less due to the extreme wide angle but with the 1.6 crop camera I am very impressed. Autofocus a bit slow and noisy compared to Canon USM but accurate. I always have great trepidation buying lenses as there seems to be great variation with copies including canon L series ( I am not 100% happy with sharpness of 24-70 2.8L at 900 ($1500 USD) )Recommended.


Aug 2, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mjsutherland to your Buddy List  
MarkWatkins
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 3, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 954
Review Date: Feb 10, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Nice and WIDE even on a 1.6 crop Dslr. Affordable price used. Very sharp from f4 down.
Cons:
A bit prone to flare.

A great wide angle for either 1.3 or 1.6 crop Dslrs. The huge exposed front element is a source of constant concern. So far no scratches. Very solid build and decent autofocus.

Try It You Will Like It!


Feb 10, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add MarkWatkins to your Buddy List  




Tamron 14MM F/2.8 Aspherical (IF) SP AF

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
9 79578 Oct 24, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $659.67
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.78
8.00
8.9
14mm