about | support
home
 

Search Used

Tamron 24-135MM F/3.5-5.6 AD Aspherical (IF) Macro

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
48 200071 Mar 15, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
85% of reviewers $324.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.93
9.36
8.9
24135mm_1_

Specifications:
Introducing in the third in our series of high power zoom lenses, following on the successes of the 28-200mm and the 28-300mm mega-zoom lenses. The new zoom lens from Tamron covers everything from the 24mm real wideangle that professionals and serious amateurs demand to 135mm telephoto suitable for portraits-all in one compact package. The first SP lens among Tamron's high power zoom lenses, the lens represents a new concept in high power zoom lenses, achieving outstanding performance characteristics worthy of the name SP (Super Performance).

Model 190D
Lens Construction (Groups/Elements) 10/14
Angle of View 84-18
Type of Zooming Rotation
Diaphragm Blade Number 7
Minimum Aperture F/22
Minimum Focus 15.7in. (0.4m)
Macro Mag. Ratio 1:3.3
Filter Diameter 72
Weight 18.7oz. (530gm)
Diameter x Length 3.1 x 3.2in.
(78.5 x 80.6mm)
Accessory Lens hood
Mount Canon, Minolta, Nikon-D, Pentax


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 
      
blink76
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 28, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 107
Review Date: Jan 6, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharpness, Contrast
Cons:
Don't really like that the zoom ring turns countercloskwise, but you get used to it.

I bought the Canon 28-135 IS and tried it, then bought this lens and tried it for a while. It was really no contest in my opinion. Even without the IS, the Tamron is a better lens. It is sharper and performs better than the IS lens. It is well built and has a quality feel to it. Focus is quick and accurate. It will 'hunt' sometimes in low light, but it's not a problem. Colors are accurate and bright. I have no experience with L lenses, but I can't imagine them being a lot better than this. And they cannot possibly be a better value for the amount paid. I rarely say this, but this is a very good product. I highly recommend it.

Jan 6, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add blink76 to your Buddy List  
planete
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 1, 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 10
Review Date: Dec 30, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $280.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: comfortable handholding weight on a Rebel 350D, perfect range for a walkaround lens, nice and sharp!
Cons:

i just purchased this very clean used copy from B&H for $280, which included shipping, and it seems like a terrific deal at that price. i also own a Canon 70-200mm 2.8 L lens and a Canon 100mm macro. i'm happy to report that the Tamron keeps up with those lenses for sharpness and clarity. at a phenomenal price!

Dec 30, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add planete to your Buddy List  
cogitech
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 20, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 11365
Review Date: Aug 25, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: For a zoom of this range VERY SHARP (if stopped down slightly), excellent build quality, truly a great walk-around lens.
Cons:
Soft wide open from 100-135mm, but 1 stop down cures that. Not fast, but ISO 400-1600 on the 20D cures that.

I have given this lens all tens because it has truly exceeded my expectations. Sure it has it's limitations, but what zoom lens doesn't?

One reviewer here compares the sharpness to the Canon EF 50mm f1.8 prime. This truly is a fair comparison. I cannot say that it is as sharp as the prime, but it is in the same league.

The wide end is not "ultra" wide on a 1.6x crop, but it is still wide enough for most situations.

I love this lens and I highly recommend it as a walk around, general purpose lens for those people who are just not satisfied with cheaper all-in-one zooms.

The pros will say "if this is a 10, what would you rate an L lens?" Well, show me an L lens with this versatility and sharpness for this kind of price and I'll rate it a 12 for you.



Aug 25, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add cogitech to your Buddy List  
thomass
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 21, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 21, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $370.00 | Rating: 7 

Pros: Size, focal range, and sharpness.
Cons:
Flare and vignetting

This was my sole lens when I started to get back into photography. I felt the lens delivered excellent pictures as long as I kept in mind the lens's weaknesses. The provided lens hood vignettes the image strongly at the wide end of the zoom range (on a full size frame), and you will see flaring in outdoor photos even with the hood on. Both problems were usually controllable.

I would recommend this lens to anyone looking for a nice sized all around piece of glass. It will deliver sharp beautiful photos.


Jul 21, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add thomass to your Buddy List  
Halsmithromi
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 21, 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 21, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Very sharp, contrasty, accurate color rendetion, great range, build quality, nice rubber coating, size and price.
Cons:
may be a bit slow at low light with AF, but really not that much. a bit of barell distortion at wide open.

OK, ive had this lens for a week now and i am really impressed by the performance and the ergonomics of this cute lens. i did some comparison tests with my D70 kit lens, which is pretty good hey, and the results of Tamron proved even better. the zoom range is just so right that pretty much covers my walk around needs. talking about versitility, this lens is absolutely the right size, weight and mass. i read in some reviews that it was heavy, but when i started using it, i was surprised that it wasnt at all.

However, and as some reivewers have already mentioned, the 72 filter is expensive and will add some cost to you buy. also, it hunts a bit more than the kit lens, but not by a big margin.

Overall, i am very happy with this lens so far and if everything goes well with quality control stuff, this lens is definitely going to be a keeper for me. I strongly recommend it.


Jul 21, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Halsmithromi to your Buddy List  
drgreenberg
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 28, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 10
Review Date: Jul 14, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $250.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Very sharp at all focal lengths and out to corners on APS-C DSLRs Low distortion, confined to 24-35mm range Well-controlled CA Solid-as-a-rock build Included hood and pouch
Cons:
A bit heavy Slightly long wide end on APS-C DSLRs Somewhat slow AF, with focusing ring that moves during AF Takes expensive 72mm filters

I bought this lens more than a year ago to be the primary walk-around lens for my Digital Rebel/300D, which I've since replaced with a 20D. The lens has worked marvelously on both bodies, offering extremely sharp performance to the borders at all focal lengths and maintaining sharpness well at wide apertures. CA is also not a problem at all and build construction is commendable. The inclusion of the lens hood and pouch further increase the value for the money.

I have, however, since switched over to using the Canon 17-85mm much more often. This is partly due to the fact that I missed the 17-24mm range more than I was using the 85-135mm range. In addition, Tamron's AF is somewhat slow and causes the focusing ring to move (which one does get used to). The lens is a bit heavy compared with the Canon, uses more expensive, larger diameter filters and is missing IS.

Contrast is great on both lenses, with the Tamron rendering slightly warmer colors.

Nevertheless, it's hard to fault this lens for the price and I plan to keep it in my arsenal for when I know my needs of the moment will be skewed more toward the tele end or in good lighting when I need the sharpest results.


Jul 14, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add drgreenberg to your Buddy List  
bushwacker
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 11, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 873
Review Date: Jun 18, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $399.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Optically Sharp, Contrasty Lens, Produces nice colors, Aluminum alloy Barrel & Build Quality
Cons:
NONE

Here's my review: Tamron 24-135mm SP

Just plain common sense and feel. Tested on 20D EOS body.

=======
Results
=======

Optics:

1. Sharp all the way! Sharpest aperture is f/5.6
2. Contrasty.
3. Very good color reproduction.
4. You might ask how sharp? If you have a CANON 50mm f1.8 it's just like that. I compared the pictures myself.
5. NOT SOFT!
6. Better and far sharper than CANON 18-55mm kit lens [ which is soft ]

Handling:

1. Aluminum alloy barrel
2. Nice Zoom lock
3. Metal mount
4. AF speed is fast
5. AF doesn't hunt [ on my 20D ], it just focuses right there where you point to. [vertical and horizontal]
6. The lens is like a "ROCK" very solid. [ It's metal ]
7. I don't mind the STIFFNESS. [ zoom barrel ]
8. Made in Japan













Jun 18, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add bushwacker to your Buddy List  
Netgarden
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 6, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2547
Review Date: Jun 7, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Great range, clarity and optional wide angle/macro as well. Perfect walk-around lens. Can't beat it for the price. No regrets on this first non-canon lens purchase.
Cons:
Zoom ring a little tight. Baby finger may catch on the focus ring as it focuses. A little heavy, but compact, which is good, for those who don't like lugging large/long lenses around, this one is perfect. 72mm filters more expensive.

I've only had the Tamron for a week, but I immediately loved it. I have the Canon 17-85 IS, so I really didn't need this, but I find the "85"mm just isn't enough sometimes, and I hate changing lenses all the time.

The added plus, is I now have a Wide angle lens plus a great Macro range too! This lens is very consistent for me, maybe even a little faster focus than my canon mid price lenses.

The colors are true, and clarity is superb for this price range. This is the final answer for everyday use, parties, landscapes and macro. Comes with perfect hood and nice storage bag.



Jun 7, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Netgarden to your Buddy List  
rifu
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 31, 2004
Location: Italy
Posts: 1
Review Date: Jun 3, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Very good range from wide to tele, solid construction, hood included in price, very sharp pictures especially above 5.6. Great lens, i use it since 3 years never a problem. Stay on my 300 D 90 % of the time.
Cons:
Autofocus slower than Canon L series and a little noise.



Jun 3, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add rifu to your Buddy List  
Julius
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jan 26, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 941
Review Date: Apr 29, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $369.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Very good zoom range, excellent built quality, reasonable price, as sharp as any of my other Nikkor lenses from f/5.6.
Cons:
Sensitive for flare if not shielded properly.

I had one of these lenses before and really liked it. I was not sure how it would hold up in my Nikon D2X but I was pleasantly surprised how well it performs. It easily stacks up against any of my other Nikkor lenses I have, including the 17-55 DX lens. It is not a fast lens and not fast focusing either, but for general picture taking situations it is an excellent lens.

Apr 29, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Julius to your Buddy List  
uccmmcpo
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 22, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 2596
Review Date: Apr 14, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Great build quality . Sharp at all apertures and focal lengthsand reasonably priced.
Cons:
Stiff zoom ring however no lens creep . Should loosen up with use.

Can`t say enough good about this lens. Tamron has a sure winner here. My copy is respectably sharp wide open and at all focal lengths. Even better than my sharp copy of the Nikon AF18-70 kit lens. Focus is plenty fast and spot on accurate.
I`m using it on my D70 and compared with images taken with my Canon 10D with a comparable 28-135 IS attached this one blows the Canon away. The 200mm+ reach is wonderful and the extra 4mm at the wide end also makes a substantial difference too.
This is the lens that going to be on my D70 99 % of the time. Kudos Tamron!


Apr 14, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add uccmmcpo to your Buddy List  
vg1952
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 28, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 28, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Good all around lens for the price. Covers most needs. Sharp. Can be used with small and normal sensor cameras.
Cons:
Color saturation is not very high.

This is a prety good all around lens. Covers most needs of everyday photography. Very reasonable price.
Another good thing is that it can be used with both 35 mm and smaller sensors.
I wish it can start from 18 mm for my Canon 20D.
Color saturation is OK but not as good as in my film Contax, but I probably should not expect it from this lens.


Mar 28, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add vg1952 to your Buddy List  
jimyd
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 23, 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 7
Review Date: Mar 23, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: nice performer even though it doesnt go to 2.8...well built
Cons:
slightly noisy

nice lens and very good range. Very Sharp from f4 and above

Mar 23, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jimyd to your Buddy List  
Kirk77
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 5, 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 4
Review Date: Mar 21, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $550.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: I like the range of this lens, optical quality is superb for a relatively cheap lens, wish it was 2.8 all the way
Cons:
build quality not like "L" canon quality.

top unit for everyday use and running around. optically its great from 5.6 to 16 it rocks

Mar 21, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Kirk77 to your Buddy List  
Peter Kirk
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 25, 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 309
Review Date: Mar 20, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: very sharp, nice and cheap
Cons:
loud focussing

Good value for money....not "L" but sharp enough for the price

Mar 20, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Peter Kirk to your Buddy List  
jefferynoble
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 3, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 10
Review Date: Mar 3, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Great range on a DSLR. Sharp and contrasty with good control of CA. Zoom lock.
Cons:
Quality control. The first one I purchased was soft and had chips on the edges of the glass. (The second one was perfect.) AF motor is not very fast and makes noise that may bother some.

This is a great lens for its range on a DSLR. My copy is very sharp throughout the range, good control of CA and great contrast to match. Variation of quality is very strange and could take time to find a good one.

If Tamron can fix the quality control issues and get smoother and quieter AF motors they would sell a lot more glass.


Mar 3, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add jefferynoble to your Buddy List  




Tamron 24-135MM F/3.5-5.6 AD Aspherical (IF) Macro

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
48 200071 Mar 15, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
85% of reviewers $324.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.93
9.36
8.9
24135mm_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3