about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
215 489120 Oct 11, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $1,194.63
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.37
8.22
9.5
ef_35_14_1_

Specifications:
L-series professional f/1.4 wide-angle lens with an aspherical lens element to correct aberrations. The floating system enables high picture quality to be obtained over the entire focusing range. Autofocusing is quick and quiet with rear focusing and ring USM. Full-time manual focusing is also possible.

Focal Length & Maximum Aperture: 35mm 1:1.4
Lens Construction: 11 elements in 9 groups
Diagonal Angle of View: 63
Focus Adjustment: Rear focusing system with USM
Closest Focusing Distance: 0.3m / 1 ft.
Filter Size: 72mm
Max. Diameter x Length, Weight: 3.1" x 3.4", 20.5 oz. / 79.0 x 86.0mm, 580g


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next
      
juberisk2
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 16, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 406
Review Date: Dec 31, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,050.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: great balance/feel, very nice bokeh, superb images by f2.8 with stunning color/contrast/sharpness
Cons:
usable wide open but wish it were a little sharper by f2, distortion



Dec 31, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add juberisk2 to your Buddy List  
Mike Tuomey
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 22, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2826
Review Date: Dec 22, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Build, color rendition, bokeh
Cons:
Cost, softness and vignetting wide open

Overall a keeper because it's the best Canon can do around this focal length, but I don't believe it deserves rave reviews.

Colors and bokeh are wonderful on both my 1D and 5D. It sits on the 5D most of the time. Great for available light candids, walk-around shooting.

It's quite a bit softer wide open than I expected. Past f2-ish the lens sharpens up. And the vignetting is also surprising - it doesn't moderate until around f4 or so.

I guess you can argue that some softness and vignetting in low light shooting is acceptable, but it's still disappointing,

Paying $1100 for a sharp, balanced 35/4 with nice color and bokeh seems extravagant.


Dec 22, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Mike Tuomey to your Buddy List  
Hacker
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 24, 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 98
Review Date: Dec 10, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,350.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Amazing bokeh for even a 35mm lens. Very sharp at f1.4 and contrast and colors are excellent.
Cons:
Price and weight. Lens hood too bulky when transporting or carrying in a compact bag.

Ultimate 35mm lens for SLRs.

Dec 10, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Hacker to your Buddy List  
alfieri
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 25, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 175
Review Date: Dec 6, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Canon's best wide-angle prime; excellent colors; love the perspective on 5D and 20D; very sharp at f/2 and higher, good down to f/1.4; particularly sharp on 5D, though not as sharp as 135/f2L or 85s; no issue with the weight or handling
Cons:
front external glass seems to collect dust more than other lenses; vignetting is noticeable below f/2; the lens could be a little sharper and I'd more for that

sample images and ramblings are here:

http://alfieri.smugmug.com/gallery/1655634


Dec 6, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add alfieri to your Buddy List  
timster
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 30, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 162
Review Date: Dec 1, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: solid construction. superior color, contrast and detail will make many of your lens seem lacking. vignetting sometimes gives character.
Cons:
large glass element and red-ring makes this a not-very-subtle lens with a not-so-subtle price tag. vignettes wide open. superior color, contrast and detail will make it hard to use other lens that you might have paid a lot of money for.

i know i'm probably another fanboy just throwing over more praise on the already massive pile over this 35L.

so i'll just say this. if you want a wide-angle low-available-light working lens for candids and hate using a flash or if bokeh makes you feel warm and fuzzy all over, then this lens delivers. in spades.

if you're happy to shoot stopped-down, and have the wife-factor to worry about - or just think it's downright asinine to blow $1100 on a prime, there's plenty of good alternatives out there!


Dec 1, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add timster to your Buddy List  
DLai
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 28, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1130
Review Date: Nov 28, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Size, weight, build, sharp at 1.4, perfect for day/night time wedding events or general street photography.
Cons:
Price...but then again you get what you pay for. No weather sealing though.

Fantastic lens at an outrageous price! Its true that nothing is more flexible than a zoom...but if you are willing to sacrafice the zoom capabilities and have something faster than f2.8, this is it. I find myself reaching for this lens more often than my 24-70L. This along with my EFS 10-22 and 85 make up my travel kit. (I shoot with a 20D)

Nov 28, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add DLai to your Buddy List  
Ed Cucci
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 18, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 39
Review Date: Nov 19, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,230.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Great wide open, lightweight, good for avialble light
Cons:
not the 24mm

Love this prime. Great for clubs, seminars or anywhere that flash is either a detriment or not useful. To be honest, I really wanted the 24mm but it was soft at the edges to f4 - couldn't live with that. But I'm real happy with it. Love to see it on a FF. Great product!

Nov 19, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Ed Cucci to your Buddy List  
jmaio
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 26, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 382
Review Date: Nov 15, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: One of the few lenses I've bought where I can say its really sharp wide open.
Cons:
None

I just received this lens a few hours ago and did some images of a test chart at f/1,4. Its one of the sharpest Canon lenses I own and by far the sharpest WA lens.

I just sent my 24mm f/1.4 because of soft focus wide open and if they can get it anywhere near this lens, I'll be one haooy camoer.


Nov 15, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add jmaio to your Buddy List  
Andy M
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 10, 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 9
Review Date: Oct 29, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp at f1.4. Relatively compact. Extremely well built. Provides excellent results.
Cons:
Quite expensive.

Probably my favourite lens.

Not a lot to say, other than buy one if you can!


Oct 29, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Andy M to your Buddy List  
Rajan Parrikar
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Sep 9, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1318
Review Date: Oct 28, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,150.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Optical performance - speed, colour, contrast, sharpness - and build quality.
Cons:
None.

I purchased this lens primarily for low light indoor and outdoor photography and it has not disappointed. Autofocus is quick, the colours and contrast outstanding. This is a versatile lens and a valuable addition to my arsenal.


Oct 28, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Rajan Parrikar to your Buddy List  
kapytalyst
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 13, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 692
Review Date: Oct 25, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,150.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Fast AF & Sharp & Compact & f/1.4!
Cons:
If you learn how to use it there are no negative aspects of this lens.

This lens deserves its legendary status. For those of you who say this lens is "soft" wide open I suggest you send it back to Canon for fine-tuning or check your camera settings or your technique. I sent mine to Canon telling them I wanted it to be as sharp as possible at f/1.4 and the little bit of fine tuning they did turned this lens into a monster. I have never used Leica M series or Zeiss optics but I can't imagine anything mounted on a 35mm body that has much better sharpness, color or contrast than this lens. What would that look like?

At $1,150 this lens used to be considered expensive but can that still be said compared to Canon's starting prices for the newer zooms, especially those of the f/4 IS variety?

If you want to create works of art - or just take drop dead gorgeous pictures - I suggest you give this lens a try.


Oct 25, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add kapytalyst to your Buddy List  
Andrew Maier
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 4, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 230
Review Date: Oct 24, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,128.83 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Fast Focus, Slight Bokeh, Good For both close up and far away shots; took amazing pictures of a local band playing by a table-lamp. the 1.4 Really helps out here. My frist lens ever and it's really got me excited about photography again.
Cons:
Expensive. Makes me want to check out wider lenses for taking pictures of all these skyscrapers in Atlanta and I'm eyeing the 85 L for portraits. L series is addictive.

The 35mm 1.4L is truly a pleasure to own.

Pictures speak for themselves:

www.flickr.com/photos/andrewmaier


Oct 24, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Andrew Maier to your Buddy List  
rjenson
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 4, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 344
Review Date: Oct 12, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Fast focus, great skin tones, sharp at f1.4
Cons:
None. Buy it. Best lens I've ever used.



Oct 12, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add rjenson to your Buddy List  
Alistair Watson
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 21, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5848
Review Date: Sep 25, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: f1.4, build, very fast AF
Cons:
can be a little soft wide open

Since getting this lens, it has lived on the front of my 1D2D, a really great lens and the wide aperture just increases the areas where I can use this lens without flash. There are times when I feel this is a little soft at 1.4 but now that I have build up my desired lens collection of Canon L glass, I will shortly be sending everything, including the bodies, to Canon for complete calibration and exposure optimisation. Hopefully this will sharpen it up a little at wide open but careful post processing seems to fix it pretty well. Overall a great lens and in my opinion, great value.

Sep 25, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Alistair Watson to your Buddy List  
Lasse Eriksson
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 13, 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2773
Review Date: Sep 17, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Image quality, Build, Bokeh, Very fast
Cons:
A bit soft wide open



Sep 17, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Lasse Eriksson to your Buddy List  
cjac
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 12, 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2530
Review Date: Aug 18, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,008.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Nightshots are perfectly possible - excellent lens for night event photography, if you need wider then 85mm.
Cons:
Had to wait for the third lens to have an acceptable amount of vignetting ; softness and vignetting in corners below f/2.8

This lens is great for nighttime photography, but beware : at large apertures (between 1.4 and 2.5), the softness in the corners and vignetting can be annoying. On 2 samples, it was actually so bad that I had to return the lens and ask for another one (I never did this before, so it's not like a habit of mine ...). I'd say between f/1.4 and f/2.0, postprocessing to remove the vignetting is pretty common.

From f/2.8 onwards, it's a very good lens - but no need to buy this lens if you only shoot 2.8 and up. My third sample beats both 24-70 f/2.8 and 17-40 f/4 @ 35mm up to f/5.6. This was not true for the first two I got !

I bought it because I need it (for event photography). But whenever I can, I'd rather step back and use my 85 f/1.2 ... But sometimes, there's just no alternative (I tried the 24mm f/1.4, and that's IMO no good on a FF sensor).


Aug 18, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add cjac to your Buddy List  




Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
215 489120 Oct 11, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $1,194.63
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.37
8.22
9.5
ef_35_14_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next