about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
215 485084 Oct 11, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $1,194.63
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.37
8.22
9.5
ef_35_14_1_

Specifications:
L-series professional f/1.4 wide-angle lens with an aspherical lens element to correct aberrations. The floating system enables high picture quality to be obtained over the entire focusing range. Autofocusing is quick and quiet with rear focusing and ring USM. Full-time manual focusing is also possible.

Focal Length & Maximum Aperture: 35mm 1:1.4
Lens Construction: 11 elements in 9 groups
Diagonal Angle of View: 63°
Focus Adjustment: Rear focusing system with USM
Closest Focusing Distance: 0.3m / 1 ft.
Filter Size: 72mm
Max. Diameter x Length, Weight: 3.1" x 3.4", 20.5 oz. / 79.0 x 86.0mm, 580g


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next
          
NDP_2010
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 7, 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 721
Review Date: Dec 12, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,350.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp wide open, very sharp stopped down. Fast focus, wide aperture. Overall IQ is very pleasing
Cons:
CA's can be extreme wide open and in harsh conditions. Build could be a little better

I have found the lens to produce very sharp images at f/1.4 and get slightly sharper f/2.8-f/4. These images are razor sharp. The colours / contrast increases a little stopping down.

The focus is fast and smoothe, and generally accurate, however, it does play up a bit with inconsistant focus on my 1D3.
The overall construction is quite good, however I think it is not as solid as other L primes. This is not a big problem as it is not designed to be bashed around.

The hood is nice and effective.

CA's wide open are quite significant, especially with backlit subjects. Not sure if any wide , fast lens out there is free from this though.

Overall excellent lens, and a very nice focal length I have found on 1.6x 1.3x and FF bodies.


Dec 12, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add NDP_2010 to your Buddy List  
craniof
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 2, 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 2, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros:
Cons:
Oct 2, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add craniof to your Buddy List  
Todd Klassy
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 27, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 290
Review Date: Sep 28, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Razor sharp, beautiful bokeh, and amazing color rendition. And like virtually all Canon L-lenses, this lens is very well built.
Cons:
None

The Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM is often considered one of Holy Trinity of Canon's prime lenses (which also includes the 135mm f/2L and 85mm f/1.2L), and rightly so. Aside from not having IS, which is not a significant absence for this sort of lens, it is an amazing piece of hardware and worth every penny.

Also, this is the only lens in my collection I have dropped it on hard pavement more than once. Each time I cringed, worrying about the results. However, like a Timex watch, this lens has taken a beating, but keeps on ticking.

I have owned this lens now for many years and it's hard to find fault with this lens. The photographs it captures makes it an easy choice for any photographer. It still performs very well on cameras with large sensors, too (i.e. the Canon 5D Mark II).

Here are some examples of photographs I have taken with this fine lens:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/latitudes/89521051/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/latitudes/2789508180/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/latitudes/155681977/


Sep 28, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Todd Klassy to your Buddy List  
trigrad
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 26, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Review Date: Sep 13, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Almost everything
Cons:
CA in some scenes

If not for the longitudinal CA, this would be just about perfect.

The build doesn't bother me - decent focus ring feel, and good fit and finish. Don't think I'd want it any heavier, so I'm ok with good plastics (and this is made with good plastics for sure).

Focus is very quick and accurate even in very low light (with a moderate amount of MA). Contrast and color are excellent.

The CA isn't a deal breaker for me. The other attributes make up for that, although I'd jump at a II that kept the current positives with a reduction in CA.


Sep 13, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add trigrad to your Buddy List  
placek
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 26, 2010
Location: Poland
Posts: 0
Review Date: Aug 15, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp,Sharp,Sharp,Sharp,Sharp! Even at f 1.4.
Cons:
Plastic!

I shoot mainly weddings and when a friend of mine convinced me to check this lens out. I was confused…. fast moving subjects and no zooming possibility hmmm… sounded like a mission impossible. I shoot two weddings since then. After the first one I was confused even more. How is it possible to take 95%!!!!! of razor sharp images at F 1.4-2.0. Well the second wedding confirmed it… The combination on a wide angle lens and a wide aperture gives a stunning result. This thing is SHARP at f/1.4. Hopefully it helps. I am sorry for my English. Not my native language. Greeting form Poland!


P.S.


One other thing do NOT be misled. The DOF is shallow with the close up objects… if you shoot a FF and try to catch for example a couple dancing… the DOF is much easier to catch. You will be able to use Al servo in all the focus points with 90 % accuracy. The AF is fast and thanks to the wide angle the DOF is not as shallow as you would think. The bokeh.....OMG!!!!


Aug 15, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add placek to your Buddy List  
hatch1921
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 12, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 4546
Review Date: Jul 16, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,260.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super sharp! Great color and contrast. Hits at F/1.4 and does it well. Love the bokeh!!!
Cons:

Made use of the Bing cash back and Mr.Rebates.com... picked the lens up for $1260.

Bokeh is fantastic on this lens! I sold the Canon 24-70 to fund this lens...very pleased I did.

Well worth the money IMO.
Hatch


Full res samples here.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/hatch1921/sets/72157624371998443/with/4795136074/



Jul 16, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add hatch1921 to your Buddy List  
felipin
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 1, 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 41
Review Date: Jun 16, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, color, contrast.
Cons:
None.

If you are a photographer, you MUST learn to shoot with a 35mm lens. And if you are a Canon photographer, you MUST choose this gem.

Jun 16, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add felipin to your Buddy List  
leftheaded
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 2, 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jun 7, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp fun lowlight indoor street
Cons:

this is my main walk around lens with a full frame sensor (5d mark 2). me and my family simply love the results this combo delivers. so fun

Jun 7, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add leftheaded to your Buddy List  
Mike Mahoney
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 8, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 5442
Review Date: Jun 1, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp wide open, colors, lack of CA and purple fringing, quick focus
Cons:
Price, build quality, severe vignetting at wider apertures

Based on the many reviews and comments on this lens I was expecting to be blown away, but my overall feeling is just a moderate positive one .. yes it is a great lens, but nothing like the heaven sent experience some reviewers claim to have with it.

It is sharp from wide open and my copy has very little (if any) CA and zero purple fringing, even wide open. The colors are good and the bokeh renders a nice pop to your subject, even if it is a bit nervous. Focus is quick and accurate. And yes, it does have that certain "Je ne sais quoi" about it that separates it from the rest of the pack but let's get over it just a little bit .. it's not the holy grail of lenses.

Build quality is a bit plasticky (think 50 1.4 or 85 1.8), not on par with my 24-70 2.8, or even my 135L. And in $1,350 price range, it is a bit expensive for what you get.

If you're a dedicated prime user needing low light performance or just like wider angle bokeh this lens will suit you. But if you're using lenses in the 2.8 or smaller range look elsewhere.


Jun 1, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Mike Mahoney to your Buddy List  
LeoJan
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 26, 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 0
Review Date: May 25, 2010 Recommend? | Price paid: $1,050.00

 
Pros: You can use this lens from F1.4. Lens is normal sharp, good color, nice weight and size. Nice bokeh.
Cons:
Lots and lots of CA. Even at F8.0 I had green fringing in the corners. Not so very nice.

I use this lens very much and I love it and hate it. The CA is a real problem and sometimes simply ruin's you photo. I love 35 mm, if I should have to chose I chose 35 mm. And there is no alternative so you pay big money for a lens witch is far from perfect.

May 25, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add LeoJan to your Buddy List  
djpapa
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 4, 2009
Location: China
Posts: 234
Review Date: May 24, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: image quality , colors contrast ,boken, special color tone.
Cons:
none

This is the LENS I'm still miss it when i sold it almost 2 years for some reason.

special color tone in canon.
Amazing sharp and boken .



May 24, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add djpapa to your Buddy List  
JetwashImages
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 24, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 40
Review Date: May 5, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,399.95 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Amazingly sharp, build quality, well balanced, bokeh, quick AF, contrast and color is outstanding. You get what you pay for.
Cons:
CA wide open, not weather sealed.

Such an amazing lens. So sharp and really fun to use. I am using this lens on the Canon 7D. I cannot wait for the next rendition of the 5D (mark III?) to be introduced. I'm sure this lens on a FF body will produce even more incredible results.

I own several Canon primes now and can honestly say that I will probably never buy another zoom lens again. The 24-105mm F/4 L IS is convenient and has good sharpness but the 35mm/F1.4 L is on a whole different level.

The only zoom that I may consider is the new 70-200mm F/2.8 L IS II, just based off the positive reviews that say it smokes the original version... maybe this is a sign of good things to come for other Canon zooms that are released? Time will most certainly tell.

Back on topic, I highly recommend the 35mm/F1.4 L. There is really no need for Canon to introduce an updated version. Not much they can do to improve this fine lens other than maybe weather seal it.


May 5, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add JetwashImages to your Buddy List  
willie mac
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 15, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 31
Review Date: Mar 21, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:



Mar 21, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add willie mac to your Buddy List  
Beverly Guhl
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 11, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 3090
Review Date: Mar 20, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super sharp, DOF range, creative options, lightweight, size, solid build.
Cons:
none for me

I'd come across some wonderful portraits of people and pets with a really shallow DOF and asked the photographers what lens they used, and this was it. I knew I had to have one. I LOVE this lens. It gives color, clarity, and sharpness mixed with a creamy bokeh that makes you just sit back and be awed by the images. The razor thin DOF can be challenging, but for creative, artsy effects for portraits, pets, objects it's fabulous. Landscapes and everything in between are rich and and crisp. The creative options and versatility make this a great lens to own. The price is probably just about right for a lens of this quality, but don't we all wish they were cheaper.

4 sample shots taken with this lens:

http://www.beverlyguhl.com/35L_samples/35L.html


Mar 20, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Beverly Guhl to your Buddy List  
Dietr
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 11, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Review Date: Feb 16, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,275.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, great perspective for casual portraiture, nice bokeh
Cons:
None

Bokeh is just a little nervous compared to some of the other L lenses in this category...like the 50 and 85. But that is only a small problem and not a real concern. Lens is Sharp and I mean SHARP. Right from 1.4 the center is razor and the slightly wide perspective gives a great feel to casual portraits of children. Puts you right into the action and emotion of the shot. I sold my 50L to get this one and have ZERO regrets! For the shots where I want a creamy soft background I will mount the 85L.

Feb 16, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Dietr to your Buddy List  
maiaibing
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 25, 2009
Location: Afghanistan
Posts: 10
Review Date: Jan 8, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: colors, fast focus, build, bokeh,
Cons:

This lens delivers wonderful results. It is the perfect standard lens for a crop camera and it creates beautiful pictures on FF.

The bokeh is great, it's truely razor sharp from f/1.8 and only marginally soft wide open. It's focus is soundless and lightning fast.

I shoot mainly portraits with the 35L wide open and at f/1.6.and people are really impressed. Have also had many pictures published in all kinds of media from book covers over newspapers to TV with this lens.

Did I mention that the colors are deep and saturated too?

It can go close and take pictures at available light from amazing perspectives. For indoor use is shines at taking pictures of family and friends with both crop and FF.

Of all my lenses it is the one I will always bring along - and the one I use the most. It's worth every cent you pay for it.

It may show some CA, PF etc. wide open as others have mentioned, but so does the 50L, 85L and the 135L (a sacrifice made to improve the bokeh). For this reason I often tend to shoot @ f/1.6 for just a little better colors and contrast.

The 35mm 2.0 is a close as Pluto when it comes to functionality and image IQ.


Jan 8, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add maiaibing to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
215 485084 Oct 11, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $1,194.63
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.37
8.22
9.5
ef_35_14_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next