about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
215 489320 Oct 11, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $1,194.63
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.37
8.22
9.5
ef_35_14_1_

Specifications:
L-series professional f/1.4 wide-angle lens with an aspherical lens element to correct aberrations. The floating system enables high picture quality to be obtained over the entire focusing range. Autofocusing is quick and quiet with rear focusing and ring USM. Full-time manual focusing is also possible.

Focal Length & Maximum Aperture: 35mm 1:1.4
Lens Construction: 11 elements in 9 groups
Diagonal Angle of View: 63
Focus Adjustment: Rear focusing system with USM
Closest Focusing Distance: 0.3m / 1 ft.
Filter Size: 72mm
Max. Diameter x Length, Weight: 3.1" x 3.4", 20.5 oz. / 79.0 x 86.0mm, 580g


 


Page:  10 · 11 · 12 · 13 · 14 
      
Unregistered
Review Date: May 7, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,120.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Superb Image Quality & Low-light Ability
Cons:
Price

I love primes, and this is the one I love best. Although both my 50/1.4 and 85/1.4 have great color, contrast, bokeh, sharpness, and speed, this one takes the cake. It excels in all those categories and shines in one other above the rest--resolution. The detail it can pick up is amazing. And its image rendition has a certain creaminess to it that is so pleasing.

This is the lens that stays on my 10D 90% of the time. It's a wonderful tool for shooting natural light candids indoors. I also find it to be the perfect focal length for the job. I've tried the 24/1.4L, but it's a bit too wide, and 50mm is a bit to tight for casual shots (though fine for head & shoulder portraits indoors).

I have no hesitation in recommending this lens for someone who appreciates and needs the characteristics and abilities noted above.


May 7, 2004
Edit/Delete Message
bouch
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 7, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 1731
Review Date: Jan 28, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $930.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Fast and fast-focusing, lighter than 28-70, balances well on pro bodies, very sharp & very good color contrast
Cons:
price?

Sharp in the center even wide open, and very sharp from about f/2.8. Corners start getting sharp about f/5.6. One of the only Canon wide angles with sharp corners. Terrific colors & contrast, great bokeh.

Focuses quickly and decisively in low light - it's more accurate and much faster than the 50 f/1.4.

People often say this is overpriced compared to the 35/2, but in my opionion there is more difference between the 35/1.4 and 35/2 than between the 85/1.8 & 85/1.2.


Jan 28, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add bouch to your Buddy List  
dougorama
Offline
Image Upload: On

Registered: Jul 7, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 31
Review Date: Dec 21, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $950.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Balances nicely on bigger camera like 1Ds. Fast AF.
Cons:
None

The irony of the FF 1Ds: Where are the excellent wides? I've tested two 20s: Fair. The 16-35, only "good" The 17-40 I've purchased beats the 24-70 @ 24mm in corners 3/5 times, @ 4.0 and smaller. So what about this fast 35mm? And the "deal" 35mm f2? The 2 is almost as good as the 17-40 when stopped down to 5.6: big deal (its cheap). BUT THIS 1.4! I'm not sure I really "need" this lens, but no lens I've used (85 1.2, 200 1.8, 400 2.8 etc) beats it. Just stare at the corners by 4.0... its like... ah... perfect. You're kidding the f2.0 is as good @ 5.6. This lens is as good or better than the 17-40 wide open @ 1.4. Now to test the 24mm 1.4....

Dec 21, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dougorama to your Buddy List  
rebel300
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 30, 2001
Location: United States
Posts: 13833
Review Date: Oct 6, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $875.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Very sharp
Cons:
not much sharper than the 24-70 at 35mm and I'm not sure it's sharper

Very good lens...very good color...sharp at all f stops
Great wide angle for a Canon Wide (which are not that great overall)
If you have a 24-70/2.8 you do not need this lens...
The Rebel


Oct 6, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews View gallery Add rebel300 to your Buddy List  
danks
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 5, 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 289
Review Date: Jul 28, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Everything!
Cons:
Nothing!

Just can't say anything much. Everything is excellent about this lens.

That said, I find I use the 16-35 f2.8 more often. Why? Well certainly not because it outperforms the 1.4 at 35mm! Just convenience I guess.

This is an EXCELLENT lens! I think all agree about that. Its wide aperture allows even AF-challenged bodies like the D60 to focus swiftly and surely in low light.


Jul 28, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add danks to your Buddy List  
Jack Flesher
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Oct 23, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 3489
Review Date: Jun 17, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Fast, Sharp, great "L" build quality
Cons:
Size and weight, extra cost for one stop over the excellent 35/2

If you like the 35mm focal, and you need f1.4 OR you want the excellent build-quality of an L lens, then you won't be disappointed. My copy generates very sharp images at f2 and f2.8, and from f4 up it is definitely "L-class" glass all the way. Vignetting is quite visible at f1.4 and f2, just detectable at f2.8, and essentially gone by f4 -- which is about the same as I recall my 35/2 doing. Because of this fact combined with the added cost, I have to knock at least one point off its overall rating.

Jun 17, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews View gallery Add Jack Flesher to your Buddy List  
stan_g
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 8, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 232
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp, Fast (1.4), fast AF (ring USM), FTM (full time manual focusing)
Cons:
kinda heavy (20.5 oz.)

I needed a low light lens that focuses quickly on different Eos bodies. This lens does that. With a 1D it focuses in near dark.

Mar 30, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add stan_g to your Buddy List  




Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
215 489320 Oct 11, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $1,194.63
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.37
8.22
9.5
ef_35_14_1_


Page:  10 · 11 · 12 · 13 · 14