about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
219 494742 Nov 30, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $1,192.94
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.35
8.21
9.5
ef_35_14_1_

Specifications:
L-series professional f/1.4 wide-angle lens with an aspherical lens element to correct aberrations. The floating system enables high picture quality to be obtained over the entire focusing range. Autofocusing is quick and quiet with rear focusing and ring USM. Full-time manual focusing is also possible.

Focal Length & Maximum Aperture: 35mm 1:1.4
Lens Construction: 11 elements in 9 groups
Diagonal Angle of View: 63
Focus Adjustment: Rear focusing system with USM
Closest Focusing Distance: 0.3m / 1 ft.
Filter Size: 72mm
Max. Diameter x Length, Weight: 3.1" x 3.4", 20.5 oz. / 79.0 x 86.0mm, 580g


 


Page:  10 · 11 · 12 · 13 · 14 
      
Tiziano
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 8, 2004
Location: Italy
Posts: 4
Review Date: Nov 10, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,080.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: It's FAST. Sharpness, color balance e contrast. Bokeh.
Cons:
Vignetting at f1.4 It cannot zoom :)

I sold my 24-70 2.8 after I got this. It's an other world from 1.4 to 5.6.
Color balance it's impressive, more neutral, the zoom has a yellow cast in comparision.
Super fast focusing.
Perfect lens for indoor available light family pictures.


Nov 10, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Tiziano to your Buddy List  
traveler
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 8, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 3453
Review Date: Nov 5, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,050.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Lightning fast autofocus Bright Viewfinder Superb build Top low light performance
Cons:
Not crisp wide open

You can tell you have a "L" on your DSLR body with this guy at work. Nice weight and balance. I find the image wide open, while not absolutely crisp is workable in post processing. Considering the nice high shutter speeds you end up with in low available light situations it's a real Godsend. It's actually a great lens for capturing walk around street photography and events with people milling around. I can see this as a great lens for a indoor party as well when a flash might be obnoxious. In the end it's worth it's rather high price tag. It more than competes with any mid tele zoom and once stopped down will exceed their overall performance.

Nov 5, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add traveler to your Buddy List  
leuphrates
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 18, 2004
Location: Turkey
Posts: 9
Review Date: Oct 21, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Everything (Faster, Sharper, Lighter)
Cons:
Nothing (24-70 is second grade compared to this lens!)

How? 24-70L is not even close to this lens! I borrowed a 24-70 from a friend and used it for a week. Either his lens was faulty or people here don't understand what sharpness is!!! At 1.4 35 is sharper than 24-70 at f2.8 till f4. At f2 35 is sharper than anything 24-70 could give. Much lighter. It is a light lens considering it as a super prime. It is not as fast as my noisy nikkors still, but fastest of my canon ef lenses. (I have 70-200 2.8 IS, 15mmfish, 24TSE)

Oct 21, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add leuphrates to your Buddy List  
cannga
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 27, 2003
Location: N/A
Posts: 41
Review Date: Sep 4, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Fast. Wondrous color, saturation, sharpness. Subjects appear to have more depth and dimension (could just all be in my head--I own two tube pre amps and Quad speakers so that should be a warning. :-)). In my very humble opinion, the ONE lens to have if you could only afford one L, is NOT the 24-70 L zoom, but this one.
Cons:
None

I have a number of Canon zooms and primes (14mm f/2.8L, 85mm f/1.2L, 135mm f/2 L, 70-200 IS, 17-40 L, etc.) and this is the lens that stays on my camera 90% of the time. The 35mm focal length, for my 1D with 1.3 crop factor is very versatile and useful, as both a travel lens and one "around the house", to take pictures of family members. The speed (1.4) is extremely useful in low light although I use it at >1.8 most of the times.

The day I acquired this lens was the day that I stopped using my 24-70L. YMMV (meaning please don't get upset if you love your 24-70L) but the image quality difference (contrast, sharpness, color) is enough, for *me*, to accept the inconvenience of a prime. Your findings may be different so if you have a chance, please test this lens against your current "daily use" one. You may just feel the power of the best Canon L prime. I did. :-)

Recommended without reservation. If you have time, please check out my pbase web site http://www.pbase.com/cannga . Most of these shots were taken with this lens.


Sep 4, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add cannga to your Buddy List  
jimhsu
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 29, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 474
Review Date: Jun 1, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,079.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Beautiful colors, as sharp as one would ever want, wide open possibilities, solid construction, silent and deadly focus
Cons:
High price?? (you get what you pay for with this lens, though!!)

I've had this lens for about 1.5 months now. For a 10D (1.6X crop) this lens is what I use most of the time as it is essentially the standard normal focal length after 1.6X. It puts no limitations on what I can do: indoors, outdoors, bright light, almost no light.

I love the colors that come through this lens. Naturally vibrant and realistic. Minimal sharpening and color adjustments are needed if anything at all.

http://gallery.photo.net/photo/2381591-lg.jpg

Four-digit price is steep, but if it is feasible, I can't see how one could go wrong with this lens. Its construction is solid as are all L lenses.


Jun 1, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add jimhsu to your Buddy List  
bouch
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 7, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 1731
Review Date: Jan 28, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $930.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Fast and fast-focusing, lighter than 28-70, balances well on pro bodies, very sharp & very good color contrast
Cons:
price?

Sharp in the center even wide open, and very sharp from about f/2.8. Corners start getting sharp about f/5.6. One of the only Canon wide angles with sharp corners. Terrific colors & contrast, great bokeh.

Focuses quickly and decisively in low light - it's more accurate and much faster than the 50 f/1.4.

People often say this is overpriced compared to the 35/2, but in my opionion there is more difference between the 35/1.4 and 35/2 than between the 85/1.8 & 85/1.2.


Jan 28, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add bouch to your Buddy List  
dougorama
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 7, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 31
Review Date: Dec 21, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $950.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Balances nicely on bigger camera like 1Ds. Fast AF.
Cons:
None

The irony of the FF 1Ds: Where are the excellent wides? I've tested two 20s: Fair. The 16-35, only "good" The 17-40 I've purchased beats the 24-70 @ 24mm in corners 3/5 times, @ 4.0 and smaller. So what about this fast 35mm? And the "deal" 35mm f2? The 2 is almost as good as the 17-40 when stopped down to 5.6: big deal (its cheap). BUT THIS 1.4! I'm not sure I really "need" this lens, but no lens I've used (85 1.2, 200 1.8, 400 2.8 etc) beats it. Just stare at the corners by 4.0... its like... ah... perfect. You're kidding the f2.0 is as good @ 5.6. This lens is as good or better than the 17-40 wide open @ 1.4. Now to test the 24mm 1.4....

Dec 21, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dougorama to your Buddy List  
rebel300
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 30, 2001
Location: United States
Posts: 13833
Review Date: Oct 6, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $875.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Very sharp
Cons:
not much sharper than the 24-70 at 35mm and I'm not sure it's sharper

Very good lens...very good color...sharp at all f stops
Great wide angle for a Canon Wide (which are not that great overall)
If you have a 24-70/2.8 you do not need this lens...
The Rebel


Oct 6, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews View gallery Add rebel300 to your Buddy List  
danks
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 5, 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 289
Review Date: Jul 28, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Everything!
Cons:
Nothing!

Just can't say anything much. Everything is excellent about this lens.

That said, I find I use the 16-35 f2.8 more often. Why? Well certainly not because it outperforms the 1.4 at 35mm! Just convenience I guess.

This is an EXCELLENT lens! I think all agree about that. Its wide aperture allows even AF-challenged bodies like the D60 to focus swiftly and surely in low light.


Jul 28, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add danks to your Buddy List  
Jack Flesher
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Oct 23, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 3489
Review Date: Jun 17, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Fast, Sharp, great "L" build quality
Cons:
Size and weight, extra cost for one stop over the excellent 35/2

If you like the 35mm focal, and you need f1.4 OR you want the excellent build-quality of an L lens, then you won't be disappointed. My copy generates very sharp images at f2 and f2.8, and from f4 up it is definitely "L-class" glass all the way. Vignetting is quite visible at f1.4 and f2, just detectable at f2.8, and essentially gone by f4 -- which is about the same as I recall my 35/2 doing. Because of this fact combined with the added cost, I have to knock at least one point off its overall rating.

Jun 17, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews View gallery Add Jack Flesher to your Buddy List  
stan_g
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 8, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 232
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp, Fast (1.4), fast AF (ring USM), FTM (full time manual focusing)
Cons:
kinda heavy (20.5 oz.)

I needed a low light lens that focuses quickly on different Eos bodies. This lens does that. With a 1D it focuses in near dark.

Mar 30, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add stan_g to your Buddy List  




Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
219 494742 Nov 30, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $1,192.94
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.35
8.21
9.5
ef_35_14_1_


Page:  10 · 11 · 12 · 13 · 14