about | support
home
 

Search Used

Tokina 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6 AT-X 840 AF-II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
20 145344 Jul 4, 2008
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $426.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.53
9.29
8.2
atx840af2

Specifications:
Another first from Tokina, a complete range of lenses in one! Tokina created the world’s first 80-400 mm f/4.5-5.6 lens that can boast a brightness of f/5.6 even at 400 mm! It’s still the world’s smallest 80-400 mm zoom lens.

The AT-X 840 AF-II model adds a built-in tripod collar and refinements in the auto focus gearing for a smoother AF. The optical design incorporates SD (APO) glass and an internal flare cutting mechanism, which removes unnecessary light (flare) to render clean sharp images. Another highly functional feature of the AT-X 840 AF-II is the zoom lock, which secures the zoom lens in its most compact position at 80 mm.

Using the included bayonet lens hood (Tokina always recommends using a lens hood) further eliminates unwanted flare. All metal barrel construction, chrome plated brass mount plate and SD glass all combine to create an AT-X lens built for travel photography.


 


Page:  1 · 2 
          
creechge
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 15, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Review Date: May 15, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $480.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Solid build, price, sharpness at smaller apertures, compact
Cons:
Softeness at wider apertures (unacceptable below f/8).

I bought this lens to capture wildlife with my D70. It's solidly built (a little heavy), but compact compared to other lenses in the same category. My complaint has been the unbelievable softness at wider apertures. At F/8 and above, you can achieve good quality but below that, forget it. I've only tested it through f/22, and the sharpness improves as aperture gets smaller.

All in all, though, if you want high magnification and you can't afford the $1,400 Nikon 80-400 (which hasn't been rated much better, anyway), then go for the Tokina. I haven't found a better option, particularly for the price.


May 15, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add creechge to your Buddy List  
spartan123
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Nov 9, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 3683
Review Date: Apr 12, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Size / weight, sharpness color and contrast. The Price can not be beat either, especially if you buy used. (I have found no CA with my copy) Built like a tank!
Cons:
A little slow focusing. but for the price who cares.

I bought this lens as a walk around nature lens for my 10D with no grip. It is a perfect combo. I find the lens very nice wide open and outstanding stopped down a few notches.

The lens is very nice sized, but yet a little heavy due to its excellent construction. The weight is nothing you would get tired of working with for any length of time.

As usual the Hoya optics are fantastic, I find no CA on my copy and the color / contrast to me are on par with canon L photo's.

If buying try finding on used, being that it is a 3rd party lens the used prices are spot on for what you should pay.

Also get the newest ATX-X II (pro)

In my opinion, the only thing the lens could use (as with any Tokina lens) is a faster AF motor. Even with that said, I am still able to track my dog with the lens with no problems.

I would not hesitate to recommend this lens to anyone looking for a great priced zoom of this range.


Apr 12, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add spartan123 to your Buddy List  
walder
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 24, 2005
Location: United Arab Emirates
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 22, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Size and built
Cons:
CA, rotating front element, non-removeable tripod collar

A compact lens for the range coverage - likely to be in your bag rather than in your cupboard. Very good metallic build. The real disappointment is the CA which is very evident at the telephoto end.

All-in-all, reasonable value for money. Not recommended for purists, but for enthusiasts - yes!


Feb 22, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add walder to your Buddy List  
jameslander
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 27, 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6
Review Date: Jan 22, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very well made [metal] but relatively light. High contrast results and pretty sharp overall. Good hood included.
Cons:
Non-removeable tripod ring gets in the way of zooming. No IS, so a tripod or monopod is needed at 400mm.

I bought it as a more portable alternative than the Sigma 50-500, and it succeeds in this role.

The lens is sharp at shorter lengths but really must have some sort of support at 400mm, otherwise you will think it unsharp.

Focussing is not the fastest, so for birds in flight photography it is not ideal [on my Cano 10D or 20D].

There is slight CA at 400mm but otherwise optically sound.

It is a real bargain compared to the Sigma or Canon alternatives, especially if you distrust IS.

I generally always have it in my "ready bag" unless the light is poor.


Jan 22, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jameslander to your Buddy List  

   



Tokina 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6 AT-X 840 AF-II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
20 145344 Jul 4, 2008
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $426.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.53
9.29
8.2
atx840af2


Page:  1 · 2