about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon 18-70 f/3.5-4.5G AFS DX

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
51 133011 Feb 10, 2011
Recommended By Average Price
88% of reviewers $237.08
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.50
8.63
7.9
DX-18-70_L

Specifications:

AF-S DX 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G

A convenient standard zoom lens with high quality optics, high zoom ratio and good cost performance for use with Nikon DX Format Digital SLRs. The ample 18-70mm zoom range is equivalent to a 27-105mm lens in 35mm format offering maximum versatility to accommodate tight portraits to expansive landscapes. Optical performance is augmented through the incorporation of 3 ED glass elements and 1 composite aspherical lens that together provide appropriate compensation for aberrations. And through the adoption of an SWM (Silent Wave Motor), the AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED enables swift, silent AF (Auto Focus) performance with the AF systems of Nikon Digital SLR's.

1. Popular zoom range coverage from 18mm to 70mm (35mm equivalent: 27-105mm)
2. Exceptionally high optical performance designed specifically for use with Nikon digital SLR sensors
3. Three ED glass elements minimise chromatic aberration with higher resolution and superior contrast
4. Nikon exclusive SWM (Silent Wave Motor) for whisper quiet and fast Autofocus.
5. Outstanding cost performance

AF-S DX 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G Main Specifications

Lens Construction: Elements / Groups 15 (3 D)/13
Closest Marked Focusing Distance [m] 0.38
Filter Attachment Size [mm] 67
Dimensions: Dia x Length (extension from lens mount), [mm] 73 x 75.5
Weight [g] 420








 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 
          
60mm
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 12, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Review Date: Feb 1, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp past 24mm, tack sharp past 35mm. Very little distortion. Not much to say here, just a great lense.
Cons:
The fact that it does soften it up at the wide end. I dont really like feel the how the hood feels hooking on and off. Also, some minor vignette at wide end, but is easily corrected with vignette control in Nikon Capture (if you shoot nef). Rings could be smoother.

Got it as my starter lens for the D70 and I like it very much. As the others have said, it is a little soft at the wide end, but sharpens quickly. Even at 70mm it is tack sharp. The build quality is pretty good, it just doesnt feel like a tank. Which doesnt bother me. For the price you get it at, its killer. Really good walk around lense.

Feb 1, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add 60mm to your Buddy List  
CheckSix
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 19, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 205
Review Date: Jan 24, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Good for the price, good image quality overall, AF-S, G
Cons:
A little slow (only F/3.5-4.5), lens hood is sometimes hard to get off of the bayonet (I'm afraid I'll twist to hard and break the whole thing!), a tad soft. Build quality is okay, but not great.

Good starter lens for the D70. The build quality is okay, but not great. The lens hood is a little hard to get off somtimes (but that's not a biggie). It is a tad soft wide open. Good quality for the money.

Jan 24, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add CheckSix to your Buddy List  
ColoLense
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 5, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 287
Review Date: Jan 19, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Good focal length range, very quiet
Cons:
Soft at wider aperatures

I got mine as part of the D70 outfit. I tested all marked focal lengths at every available aperature and was not happy with the sharpness at 18 and 24mm at any aperature. Sharpness improved greatly at the longer focal lengths. I returned the kit and a new one showed the same results. I got very similar results with a third lense on the stores display camera and my lense on the display camera and the display lense on my camera. Just to make sure I didnt want to exchange the kit for a Canon, I took some shots with the canon 17-55 kit lense on the 20d and the results at the wide end were comparable. So the common demoninator in this whole deal was me and so I kept the lense. The images sharpen up acceptably in PS.

I was doing my testing on some silk flowers and from 35mm or so on up, from about 4 ft away, its sharp enough to see the thread in the fabric. Set the camera's WB to fluorescent to match my lighting and the color was dead on.

All the real reviewers out there say this lense is an outstanding value.

Take some test shots at the wide end if you can to see if you like the results.


Jan 19, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ColoLense to your Buddy List  

   



Nikon 18-70 f/3.5-4.5G AFS DX

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
51 133011 Feb 10, 2011
Recommended By Average Price
88% of reviewers $237.08
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.50
8.63
7.9
DX-18-70_L


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4