about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon 18-70 f/3.5-4.5G AFS DX

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
51 132266 Feb 10, 2011
Recommended By Average Price
88% of reviewers $237.08
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.50
8.63
7.9
DX-18-70_L

Specifications:

AF-S DX 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G

A convenient standard zoom lens with high quality optics, high zoom ratio and good cost performance for use with Nikon DX Format Digital SLRs. The ample 18-70mm zoom range is equivalent to a 27-105mm lens in 35mm format offering maximum versatility to accommodate tight portraits to expansive landscapes. Optical performance is augmented through the incorporation of 3 ED glass elements and 1 composite aspherical lens that together provide appropriate compensation for aberrations. And through the adoption of an SWM (Silent Wave Motor), the AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED enables swift, silent AF (Auto Focus) performance with the AF systems of Nikon Digital SLR's.

1. Popular zoom range coverage from 18mm to 70mm (35mm equivalent: 27-105mm)
2. Exceptionally high optical performance designed specifically for use with Nikon digital SLR sensors
3. Three ED glass elements minimise chromatic aberration with higher resolution and superior contrast
4. Nikon exclusive SWM (Silent Wave Motor) for whisper quiet and fast Autofocus.
5. Outstanding cost performance

AF-S DX 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G Main Specifications

Lens Construction: Elements / Groups 15 (3 D)/13
Closest Marked Focusing Distance [m] 0.38
Filter Attachment Size [mm] 67
Dimensions: Dia x Length (extension from lens mount), [mm] 73 x 75.5
Weight [g] 420








 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4  next
          
pythagoras
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 24, 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 25, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp enough for A3+, perfect range for general shooting
Cons:
Feels a bit "plastic"

This lens came with my first digital experience the Nikon D70S. Used to working with Zeiss lenses I was bit sceptical and since it came with the body and didn't cost too much I decided to give it a change. I was surprised with the results. Sharp pictures at 3,5-4,5 nice sharp details. When shooting in Berlin in the evening it was surprising to experience that I could shoot at 1/10 without any blur , even behind my computer monitor at 150% everything was sharp.

Jan 25, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add pythagoras to your Buddy List  
ecidi
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Apr 22, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 2088
Review Date: Dec 24, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: very sharp, AF-S fast and silent. i have no problems with this lens like the other bias reviews above.
Cons:
none

This lens is an excellent walk around lens. AF-S is fast. With ED i get very sharp images and decent bokeh. There is some vignetting and acceptable CA at 18 mm. i don't have any problem at all with the sharpness of this lens. Most of my images I get with this lens are tack on sharp.

Dec 24, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add ecidi to your Buddy List  
Oblivious
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 24, 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 336
Review Date: Dec 19, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Cheap, great kit lense, build quality, ED, AF-S, great range!
Cons:
Slow, not pinsharp.

It's a great kit lense. Beats the 18-55 in every aspect.
The build quality is great, it's light, but sturdy.
18-70mm is a great walkaround coverage. And the AF-S is fast and noise free. This is a great lense!

What bugs me is the 3,5-4,5. It's just to slow for me, I live in Norway and don't get that much light. So I'm looking for exchanging this one with a Tamron 28-75 and a wide angle lense.

I could definetly recommend this one to the kit. Chip in a few extra bucks and get the 18-70 over the 18-55, you won't regret it!!


Dec 19, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Oblivious to your Buddy List  
Silent Thunder
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 19, 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 90
Review Date: Dec 6, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Cheap, wide angle
Cons:
Soft, f/3.5-4.5

I got this lens together with my Nikon D70 DSLR.
It's just a great first lens, nice all-rounder; not to expensive.

Buy this one if you are new to photography; and you wanna fool around before spending $$


Dec 6, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Silent Thunder to your Buddy List  
markgoldberg
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 27, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 11
Review Date: Dec 6, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great zoom range, makes nice images, light and compact for its capabilities
Cons:
Hood blocks flash sometimes, some edge darkening

This lens came with my D70 kit and helped make for my introduction to digital SLR photography. Overall, I have had excellent results with this lens, and it is both versatile and fun to use. Along with the D70 it helped convince me to give up film and take the step into digital. Before this lens was offered, I would have had to by a 24-85 or put up with a narrower field.

When I have to travel light, or just grab a cam and go, this is the lens of choice. It has also served me for social event and portrait jobs and is a great all around lens. However, now I bought the 17-55 because I have gotten more critical, but that 17-55 would not be my choice for travelling light.

The accompanying lens hood is a nice touch, but blocks the built in flash at the wide end. The is some exposure fall off at the corners, although this has not been a problem. Other more expensive lenses like the 17-55 are sharper, but if anything has affected sharpness of my shots it has been focussing mistakes and not this lens.


Dec 6, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add markgoldberg to your Buddy List  
Josstover
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 29, 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4
Review Date: Nov 17, 2005 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: light-weight, fast, no noise
Cons:
very soft, obscure pictures

I got rid of it and bought a Sigma 20-40mm instead. Pictures were always kinda softy and very obscure. I could-not make sparkling images with it, especially under poor light conditions (i.e. interiors of buildings)

I think it is not very bad, much better than the Canon kitlenses so I've heard, but not good enough for me.


Nov 17, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Josstover to your Buddy List  
birdy
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 30, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 30, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: zoom range, price
Cons:
You can see the hood when the lens is at its widest angle!

For the price, I think this lens is great.

My only gripe is that when you are at the widest angle, and you have the lens hood on, its in the image!!! Perhaps one is not supposed to shoot with the hood at wide angles (?), but I thought that was poor. The lens hood itself was only ok too.

Other than that, its a good lens.


Oct 30, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add birdy to your Buddy List  
Grognard
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 11, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2143
Review Date: Aug 26, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Light, easy to use, reasonably wide
Cons:
Filter size, Nikon needs to standardize their sizes

I have been really pleased with this lens, so much it is my standard "walk-about" lens. I just wish it had a 72mm or 77mm filter size. Focus is very nice, and its reasonably priced, not cheap budget glass.

Aug 26, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Grognard to your Buddy List  
thebeephaha
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 28, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1814
Review Date: Jun 7, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Quiet, Nice Zoom, Fairly Wide, ED Elements
Cons:
Slower f3.5-4.5

I got mine with my D70 Outfit package. So far I am very satisfied with it and look forward to seeing what it is capable of.

Jun 7, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add thebeephaha to your Buddy List  
Liftik
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 12, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 72
Review Date: May 24, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $290.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Light, good range, decent built, quick and silent focus, good price.
Cons:
soft on wider end

I bought this lens to go on my D100 for a light weight DSLR and lens for hiking and backpacking. I would not buy this lens if it were not for these requirements.

May 24, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Liftik to your Buddy List  
uccmmcpo
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 22, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 2596
Review Date: May 23, 2005 Recommend? | Price paid: $300.00

 
Pros: Same as in my original review.
Cons:
None, now that I have exchanged it

My new copy of this lens is noticeably sharper at 18-24mm even wide open at f3.5 .
Lesson learned : There can be quite a variation from one lens copy to another.
I`ll not be as quick to judge another lens based on one copy .



May 23, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add uccmmcpo to your Buddy List  
manoj1016
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 12, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 738
Review Date: May 15, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent Built and Price, Great Start Lens
Cons:
None, yet

This lens came with the D70 Body as one of choices for Kit Packages. Honestly, I feel everyone should have this lens in their lenses bag. You can't find a better lens for the cost. Autofocusing is fast. I highly recommend this lens.

May 15, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add manoj1016 to your Buddy List  
uccmmcpo
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 22, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 2596
Review Date: May 12, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Reasonably priced, lightweight, decent build, and a good entry level lens.
Cons:
softness at 18-24mm

This lens is definitely capable of producing sharp, contrasty images but unfortunately not at the wide angle settings, (18-24mm) . It tends to be soft even when stopped down .
However, given the zoom range of this lens and the price point, it isn`t surprising.
Regardless , most amateurs can get by just fine with this lens and Nikon did the right thing by making it part of the D70 kit.
For what it does, it`s well worth the price of admission.
John


May 12, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add uccmmcpo to your Buddy List  
Julius
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jan 26, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 934
Review Date: Apr 9, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $250.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Reasonable price, good performance.
Cons:
None

This lens is an excellent buy for the money. A little on the soft side at wide open but stopping it down by 1 or 2 f/stops makes it as good as any of my other lenses.

Apr 9, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Julius to your Buddy List  
milanulrich
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 20, 2005
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 25, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Value for money, very good contrast and color reproduction. SWM is fast and silent.Nice balanced on D series. Sharp but its not 17-35 2.8:o) Excelent for beginers. Much better then kit glass on canons. Weight
Cons:
f/4 will be better in all focal lenghts then 3,5-4,5. Build isnt like pro glasses but for that money very good. Vigneting



Mar 25, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add milanulrich to your Buddy List  
obelix
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 21, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 194
Review Date: Feb 10, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Cost, range, great sharpness beyond 24mm. AF-S focuses very fast.
Cons:
Soft below 24mm, distortion below 24mm. Not for architecture.

A great all purpose starter lens and walk around lens. AF-S helps. Focuses very fast.

My only gripe is between 18-24mm, distortion is too bad and it is a tad soft. Photos with this lens pop with correct post processing techniques.

Recommended.


Feb 10, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add obelix to your Buddy List  

   



Nikon 18-70 f/3.5-4.5G AFS DX

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
51 132266 Feb 10, 2011
Recommended By Average Price
88% of reviewers $237.08
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.50
8.63
7.9
DX-18-70_L


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4  next