about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
218 486031 May 9, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
93% of reviewers $683.18
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.50
7.59
9.0
EF10-22

Specifications:
• Focal Length & Maximum Aperture: 10 - 22mm; 1:3.5-4.5
• Lens Construction: 13 elements in 10 groups
• Diagonal Angle of View: 107° 30' - 63° 30'
• Focus Adjustment: Inner focusing system, with focusing cam
• Closest Focusing Distance: 0.24m / 0.79 ft.
• Zoom System: Ring USM
• Filter Size: 77mm
• Max. Diameter x Length, Weight: 3.3" x 3.5", 13.6 oz. / 83.5 x 89.8mm, 385g


 


Page:  10 · 11 · 12 · 13 · 14  next
          
francishmt
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 3, 2005
Location: China
Posts: 1922
Review Date: Aug 7, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super wide. Fast focus. Sharp.
Cons:
Price. Hood is not included.

Talk about super wide angle!! This lens is the widest zoom lens currently available in the market. Not only does it give you all the creative shots, but it's a excellent lens to do walk around. On my 20D, It's 35mm equivalent is 16-35mm.

This lens is very sharp. It also has great build quality. USM focuses fast and quiet. Colour and saturation is great, although not as "wow" compared to my "L" lenses.

For those of you who shoot wide, this is probably the best lens. Compared to Sigma, Tamron and Tokina, you get the Canon quality. In addition, Canon is giving you the 10mm, and I believe only Sigma really goes to 10mm.

Highly recommend.


Aug 7, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add francishmt to your Buddy List  
Chrisxxx
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 20, 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 13
Review Date: Aug 4, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Wide, sharp and light.
Cons:
A little unsharp in the corners.

I'm very happy with my EF10-22 on the 20D.




Aug 4, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Chrisxxx to your Buddy List  
borderlight
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 6, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1746
Review Date: Jul 13, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Only Canon superwide for 20D and Rebel. Lightweight. Sharp. Shares the same lens hood as the 17-40 f4L.
Cons:
None.

This lens fills the super-wide deficiency posed by the newer Canon 1.6x cameras. Before this lens your options were: the 14 f2.8L ($1800), a poor performing third-party prime lens, or a $8000 camera body and a 16-35 f2.8L, or scan film shot with a super-wide. None of those options appealed to me.

The beauty of this lens is that is produces sharp, contrasty images. Yeah, it may not be as perfect as certain wide-angle L lenses at their best focal lengths, but for super-wide shooting this lens is very good. Unless a lens is an outright dog, I am more concerned about the content of the photograph than splitting hairs on this vs. that, or it could be better if it was only something that wasn't available.

It definitely needs a B+W 77mm Slim filter. At 10mm it will cut-off in the extreme corners with a standard 77mm.

I recommend this lens to anyone who feels short-changed on the wide-end of their 20D, or Rebel. It's a keeper.







Jul 13, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add borderlight to your Buddy List  
The Big Bad
Offline
[ X ]

Registered: Feb 19, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 4082
Review Date: Jul 10, 2005 Recommend? no | Price paid: $749.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: size/weight, 77mm filter, USM, 16mm equiv (sorta)
Cons:
though 16mm equiv has the distortion of a 10mm, cost, very soft corners, EF-S only

Well this lens has alot going for it but I dont feel its the wide angle solution that APS-C sensor usesr might hope.

Its very small and light which is great. Ive had the 16-35 2.8, 17-40 f4 and sigma 12-24 and those are all twice the weight of this. UWA to me means travel and light weight is always a plus. The build is pretty decent as well, not sealed like some of the L's but its well made Id say

Fast USM focus, shares 77mm filters, though will vinette at wider settings unless you use slim ones, and with f3.5 on the wide end, its reasonably handholdable even at very slow shutter speeds

$749, Im used to the world of L supertele's so technically this feels "cheap" to me, but at the same time with what other options are on the market, its pretty high. Sigma, tokina etc all are coming in around $500 or less so.......

Overall, I was pretty happy though, that is until I went and used it. Very soft in the corners and I personally dont really care for 10mm perspective in most shots

See, while the crop gives this lens a modest 16mm FOV, its still 10mm and the perspective is pretty wild. Good for some stuff but gives a great deal of distortion to other things such as buildings etc. Not a fault of the lens per say, just the focal length. This is why some still prefer full frame, so you can get wide angle but still have a fairly "normal" focal length.

Now thats a subjective thing but what I feel really was a deal breaker was the soft corners. yes its UWA but its just unacceptable to my standards. Even in websized images I can see the softness in the corners, almost as if I used the photoshop radial blur tool. My sigma 15mm fisheye is so much sharper when framed the same. now the 10-22 goes wider but what good is wide if the image quality lets you down ?

As for me, Im sticking with 17-40 and 15mm FE when needed. I will try the new sigma 10-20 and see how that fares but if like me, you really want the best image quality in your UWA landscape shots, then FF is the way to go.

Keep in mind though, this lens is still great for casual vacation snaps etc. Im very very picky and just have high standards for my work as I do gallery prints etc.


Jul 10, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add The Big Bad to your Buddy List  
LeeG
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 11, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 220
Review Date: Jul 1, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $675.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: W I D E angle! Good quality build.
Cons:
None

I see a lot of complaints about this lens on the forums. Most the negative is about the price.. Sure it xpensive but it's worth the couple xtra bucks to get a quality lens that performs. Sharp, good colors and smoooooth operating! I love this lens. If you like landscape, vacation photography you will enjoy this lens. I have had the lens for 4 months and have used it on many desert trips without a hicup. Go for it.

Jul 1, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add LeeG to your Buddy List  
Ostwind
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 23, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Review Date: Jun 23, 2005 Recommend? | Price paid: $720.00

 
Pros: Very sharp at all focal lengths
Cons:
The focus and zoom rings are located backwards from other Canon lenses, i.e the focus ring is nearest the camera, the zoom ring is furthest.

Update to my last review. The lens came back from Canon and what a difference! They replaced the "lens assembly middle" Certainly not a scientific test, my field results show a remarkable improvement. Now at 10mm it has excellent center sharpness with some softness at the corners, but still very good even "pixel peeping" at 1:1 in Picture Window Pro. At 22mm it is sharp across the field. No noticeable light fall off at medium apertures at 10mm.

Frankly, I'm impressed with the performace of this lens. It is right up there with my 17-40mm L lens.

Canon repair/warranty service came through for me!

I'd change my previous rating to 9 or even 10!


Jun 23, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Ostwind to your Buddy List  
joezasada
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 24, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 3062
Review Date: May 30, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: really wide... good image quality, lens build is better than your average consumer-grade lens but not as good as an "L".
Cons:
Rather costly for a consumer-grade lens; f2.8 would have been nice; if it fit on a 1D2 or a 10D it would be even better, almost too lightweight for my tastes...

If you have a rebel or 20D then this lens is a must-have. It's the only Canon option for true wide-angle on these dSLRs. Who needs full-frame anyways.... Too bad the 10D and 1D2 owners have nothing...

May 30, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add joezasada to your Buddy List  
popey
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 10, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 7
Review Date: May 29, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Build quality Wide angle of view (equivalent to 16mm on 20d) Image quality
Cons:
None that I can think of

It's not a cheap lens, but then you get what you pay for.
Having been used to having a 15mm lens in my rangefinder outfit, I really missed not having an equivalent in digital. This put me off making the move to a decent D-SLR until this type of optic was available.
I've not been disappointed with the 10-22mm: the shots are crisp and have good contrast.
The lens handles very nicely, although it takes a while to get used to the zoom and focusing rings being the opposite way round to the 17-40mm L series.
Some reviewers have commented on the lack of a lens hood - not an issue for me, as the hood that came with the 17-40 fits. At last, something for free!
Someone else commented on the need to use narrow filters. Well, that's not a fair criticism of the lens. It's a function of its angle of view. All super-wides will be affected by this!

So, if you have a Canon D-SLR and want a superwide, then give this optic a go. I don't think you will be disappointed.


May 29, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add popey to your Buddy List  
Ostwind
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 23, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Review Date: May 27, 2005 Recommend? no | Price paid: $720.00 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: Good, but not outstanding performance at 22mm. Center sharpness is acceptable at moderate apertures at 10-14 mm.
Cons:
Either I got a bad sample, or this is the worst lens Canon has ever produced. I sent it to Canon Service but it came back the same as when I first sent it in.

I bought this lens from Cameta Camera. Big big mistake. These scums won't do anything for you once the sale is made. I did not get a warranty card with the lens, though they claim it is new. I am left to deal with Canon. Canon does seem to be making an effort to rectify the sad situation. As of right now I am leary of Canon WA zooms, and the EF-S lenses. My L lenses are worth every penny though. I hope Canon sorts this out.

May 27, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Ostwind to your Buddy List  
chinks
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 18, 2004
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 266
Review Date: Apr 21, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $630.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Wide!
Cons:
Expensive! Huge filter thread.

It IS the widest zoom offering from Canon for an EF-S mount EOS. So finally being able to shoot in the 16-35mm (equivalent) range is great news for all those who've been missing it.

Supposedly, L quality glass has been used in this lens, thus one WILL expect pretty high quality optics and pictures quality. And at just a few pennies short of the price of a 17-40mm/4L, this lens is a pretty penny considering it has no red ring.

It is sharp right to its edge, even at larger apertures, but it does suffer a little wide open. Unfortunately, sharpness and contrast at the centre of the image, even at f/5.6, losses out to my EF-S 17-85 IS. The colours, though good, and far better than the common EF-S 18-55 kit lens, also is slightly duller than the 17-85 IS, which leads one to wonder where all this L glass type quality is coming in???

The filter thread is 77mm. Wow... talk about expensive filters!!! And I'm not even sure it really needs such a large filter thread, since the front element is actually much smaller in diameter. The threads also seems to protrude quite a bit forward. And of course, not being L, you have to buy your own lens hood if you want one... and it's not cheap.

But after all that's said, you just can't complain about the awesome wideness this lens gives you. Sure there's obvious edge distortion of closer subjects, but which wide lens doesn't? And it outperforms the Sigma 12-24mm comfortably. In my books, there is no contender.


Apr 21, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add chinks to your Buddy List  
kawter2
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 10, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 168
Review Date: Apr 19, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $789.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast AF, FT Manual Focus, Great Color, Great Contrast, great sharpness up to f8, oh and it has 10mm
Cons:
performs poorly stopped down, front element moves when zooming, $$$ for a non"L", f3.5-4.5 ( I would have prefered a constant f4) a bit inconsistant with sharpnes

Well I have been trying to decide on this one for a WHILE!!! This lens has brought back the excitement of W/A photography to me, (lost with the 1.6 crop) here is one shot that makes me remember why I missed WA http://ericcotter.com/blog/index.php?showimage=114

All thought this lens is REAL sharp when it is on, there are sometimes when it should be sharp and it isn’t (i.e. f8 @ 1/400) but it is worth the money. With the problem of dust on the sensor these days, I am surprised that Canon is still making $800 lenses with elements that suck in air/dust when zooming


Apr 19, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add kawter2 to your Buddy List  
a.rivard
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 13, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Apr 13, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp & wide with deep depth of field, and option to use a surprisingly close working distance.
Cons:
Necessary use of thin filter which have inadequate lens caps. Price is high. Aperature at f3.5 to f4.5 is a bit slow for low light situations.

Am currently using this lens with the Rebel and picked it for the field of view. It has the wide attributes I was looking for to investigate pictorial opportunities for mainly architecture and landscape, but am finding it useful for many kinds of subjects. Am finding it a very sharp lens - auto focus is quick and accurate. The ability to touch up focus with manual is excellent. Am not to happy with the slow and variable max aperature, a faster constant would have contributed to versitility. Here is a sample: http://www.pbase.com/undieyatch/image/38871032

Apr 13, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add a.rivard to your Buddy List  
Kagetsu
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 16, 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 355
Review Date: Apr 3, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Solid build, possitive feedback from manual control, full time manual focus. Colour reproduction is excellent, with little unexpected distortion.
Cons:
No carry bag (not really a big one), but no lense hood. Attachment of more then one filter causes vignetting when wide out.

The EF-S mount wasn't really something I considered an issue when purchasing this lense. And to be honest, if you're looking at the uncropped focal length on a full frame camera, it's really digging into a different sort of lense in any case.

It becomes clear when using this lense, that someone in Canons R&D really likes their 1.6 crop sensors. It really is a stunning lense to use and hold. Everything is solid, from the focus to the zoom, to the way it reproduces vivid colours, with wonderful distortion that is a wide view lense.

In my opinion the lense does produce L class results, but like any lense, it still has it's draw backs too.

The front attachment ring is too small for the lense, which may have been made so, to help avoid the extra cost of larger filters. If you're after it's full range, then attaching any more then a single filter is too much, vignetting occurs in the corners when a second filter is added, almost right through to 16mm (25mm). Many polarisers will also cause vignetting as they're a little longer, though my current Hoya UV filter sits just off it's edges, and doesn't interfere with the picture.

If you have a cropped sensor camera, I personally believe this is a must have lense in the series.
I'm far from an expert, but have had immense success with this lense in some of it's results, and it won't dissapoint if a wide angle is what you're after.


Apr 3, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Kagetsu to your Buddy List  
sippinsoma
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Aug 23, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1474
Review Date: Mar 20, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $699.99 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very sharp, focuses like a dream in low light, lightweight
Cons:
Build quality is terrible (this is my second lens), front element moves :(

Like I said above, the lens is very, very crisp wide open at 10mm and throughout the range. The low light focusing is pretty amazing; near pitch black alleys were no problem for it. The lens is also VERY light weight. I was able to hand hold it at 1/4 sec. with great results.

On the opposite side, the lens is not built well at all. My first copy was literally breaking in two, and my new copy still feels loose at the mount. The focus ring isn't very tight either. Lastly on the negatives, the front element moves forward and back with zooming -- without sealing this lens is asking to be filled with dust.

Overall, the resolving power and overall optical performance make up for the shoddy build.


Mar 20, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add sippinsoma to your Buddy List  
dave chilvers
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 11, 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1691
Review Date: Mar 18, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Small, light,fast(takes the same hood as my 17-40) distortion held to a minimum.
Cons:
Hmmmm! slight CA(easily fixed in camera raw)

At last a decent wide angle lens with the added bonus of 16-35 on the 20D. It`s not cheap and neither is the way it performs. You couldn`t class it as an L lens but I did a comparison at 17 and 20 mm focal lengths against my 17-40 L and you can`t separate them. It`s small and focus is spot on with speed every time. It`s not a 2.8 but in my case I use it for the impact of good DOF and lets face it how does any lens do wide open at that focal range. There are some more lenses made for the 1.6 chip coming out but they will have to be good to topple this from my high markings. My 20D was my tele lens camera and I used my FF for wide stuff but not anymore. This is an exciting lens. Since the days of my Leica M6 with 21 Asph I have longed for a decent super wide to fill a gap in my shooting technique and this lens looks like filling that gap.

Mar 18, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dave chilvers to your Buddy List  
chocy
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 11, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 410
Review Date: Mar 12, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: SUPER WIDE!! Good control on barrel distorsion. Minimal CA, weigt, shall I go on?
Cons:
None as far as I am concerned

It is an awsome lense!!. Great sharpness almost all the way throughout. Minimal CA (not noticable unless you go 200% +crop. It is great for my architecture shots as well as some interested distorted images. It is definitly a fun lense to play with.

Mar 12, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add chocy to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
218 486031 May 9, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
93% of reviewers $683.18
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.50
7.59
9.0
EF10-22


Page:  10 · 11 · 12 · 13 · 14  next