about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon D70s

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
58 76850 Feb 6, 2009
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $3,480.74
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.61
8.82
8.7
D70

Specifications:
6.1 effective megapixels

New Nikon DX Format CCD imaging sensor for 3,008 x 2,000-pixel images

New advanced digital image processor to optimize image quality, control auto white balance, auto tone and color control

Accurate white balance regardless of lighting conditions achieved by Nikon's acclaimed 3D Color Matrix Meter with 1,005 pixels

Continuous shooting at 3 frames per second for a continuous burst of up to 144 pictures (The number of continuous shots possible in a single burst may be fewer depending on the type of CF card used)

Immediate power-up has the D70 ready to take pictures before your finger can reach the shutter button

High performance System LSI uses next-generation programming to greatly increase the speed of all processing and writing operations

High-speed, high-precision 5-area AF system

Maximum shutter speed of 1/8,000 sec. for full creative control

Seven new automated Digital Vari-Program selections including Auto, Portrait, Landscape, Close-up, Sports, Night Portrait, and Night Landscape for crisp and vivid results that match the intended shot

New generation color reproduction system offers a choice of three color modes

New JPEG and NEF Combination Filing System enables simultaneous recording of NEF (RAW) and JPEG data for the same shot to optimize and accelerate workflow

Large LCD monitor with user-friendly menus

New AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED zoom lens designed to deliver high performance and outstanding value as a perfect match for the D70

Built-in auto pop-up flash features exclusive i-TTL flash control, fast 1/500 sec. flash sync shutter speed, and supports Nikon's Creative Lighting System

Nikon software bundled


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 
          
OwlsEyes
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Feb 22, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 4354
Review Date: Oct 3, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $899.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: In my opinion this is the best digital camera body that is currently available to amateurs wishing to experience digital SLR photography. It is solidly built and full featured. It is a perfect back-up to a D1 or D2 pro camera at a price that will not break the bank. Bravo to Nikon for constructing an into level digital w/ spot meters, 3fps drive, large/fast buffer, and easy interface.
Cons:
Where is the cable release socket? Where is mirror-up? Where is the grip extender? It is clear that Nikon does not want the pro community to be satisfied w/ this camera... as a result, they denied the camera some pro features that would have cost Nikon very little to include.



Oct 3, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add OwlsEyes to your Buddy List  
fullyfocused
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 15, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Review Date: Sep 15, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,299.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: This camera feels awesome. People are always complaining that it's plastic, but it does NOT feel plastic at all, it actually feels better in the hand then the D100 does. I love how quick the focusing is, right when you turn it on it focuses right away and ready for a shot. Not having a vertical grip is not a big deal, because the shape of this camera holds it's own. It's very well made. The quality of photos are great, I think it's a grea professional camera. You dont need to go out and buy a $4,000 camera when you can get just as good results with this one for 1/2 the money.
Cons:
If I was to pick out a couple of cons about the camera it would be that focus is very sensitive, you have to know what you are focusing on and take the shot, one slight move and your object is out of focus. White balance could use some tweaking but you can work around that.

I had the Canon 300D and I sold it.. the D70 is a much better camera performance wise. Continuous shots are great, quick focus, battery life lasts a long time, and the charger fully charges it in an hour. This camera has alot of options, you can do just about anything on it.

I get a kick out of some people saying it's not a professional camera, you could have fooled me. It's the person behind the camera who can bring the profession out in the camera.

I would recommend this camera to everyone.. Goodbye Canon 300D, Hello Nikon D70!



Sep 15, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add fullyfocused to your Buddy List  
booster286
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 1, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 604
Review Date: Aug 31, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,300.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great resolution. i-TTL is a sure winner and so is the wireless remote to the new SB series. Small and compact with a fairly high fps to capture sports events. Price is a big plus too.
Cons:
White balance needs tweaking. Sorta sluggish AF and sometimes incorrect focusing. No vertical grip which means only 1 battery. Noise unbearable above ISO 800

A very handy dandy dSLR for consumers wanting snapshots or more mainstream photography like sports or fashions. The resolution of the images are very high creating sharp and crisp images. Images are well contrasty and NEF allows flexibility in post processing images. However, this camera is not very suitable for those who considers photography as a career. AF is often not tack on the subjects. Don't construe that as backfocusing (something that lots of non-experienced photographers whine about the D70). Mine had no backfocusing problems at all and I'm sure all D70 also has no backfocusing problem. One negative aspect is the white balance. Cold Cold Cold images often come out of this camera. No vertical grip too. Although the battery provided can last fairly long time, an addition of the vertical grip would allow a longer photography experiment.

Aug 31, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add booster286 to your Buddy List  
NiekH
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 27, 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1
Review Date: Aug 27, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Handling (excellent weight, feel), speed (instant shooting when switched on), ease of use, versatility, battery life, looks (!)
Cons:
Viewfinder too small, noise in higher ISOs could have been less, lack of ISO 100, no mirror lock-up, no battery grip, expensive external flash units

Wonderful camera - I love it. It's so fast (especially when coming from a digital compact like the Canon G1). It handles beautifully - and it is easier to use than mentioned G1! Even my wife uses it, who is not really into photography. She switches on Auto or Program and is impressed with the speed and results. The images are good, but I think Nikon should have improved on the D100 more. Although ISO 800 or 1600, in some situations, is no problem, I still think Nikon could have upped on the Canon 10D/300D, being newer. I love the fact that you can manually set almost anything - and fast. Just one more niggle: Nikon should have given us a bigger viewfinder - it's a big improvement from a compact, but still a long way from those old analogue SLRs. And as far as I'm concerned, Nikon could have left out all those exposure programs.
Oh yes, one more thing: auto white balance is not always accurate, I have found. Outside is OK, but especially fluorescent light is very bluish. Manual WB is advisable. As to focusing problems, reported in many a forum, my camera has not been afflicted, however, one should be very careful in focusing and setting aperture. Depth of field is more of a concern here than with a compact. And post-processing is important, at least with the neutral settings I have been using. In all: not a perfect camera, but a wonderful tool all the same and I would not hesitate recommending it.


Aug 27, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add NiekH to your Buddy List  
kim a
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 20, 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2
Review Date: Aug 21, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: speed, usability.
Cons:

The camera is really nice to operate, everything works just as it should.
Now i just need some decent glass...


Aug 21, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add kim a to your Buddy List  
Unregistered
Offline
Location: Denmark
Review Date: Aug 14, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $999.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Price; Better in nearly all respects than a D100 (but cheaper); excellent metering (1,005 sensor); excellent RAW/NEF processing speed; superb battery life (400-800 shots, depending on flash & LCD usage).
Cons:
Relatively poorer (than D100) viewfinder (smaller, darker, poorer eye-point); no mirror lock-up; weakest aspect is the AF sensors (old CAM900, with sensors too wide for an APS-sized CCD sensor). No 10-pin socket;

A superb camera - especially for the price.

In many respects, it's closest cousin is.... the D2H !!!

If only it had the CAM1300 or better AF system, better viewfinder, mirror lock-up and the 10-pin accessory socket (I don't care about the vertical grip - only the socket it needs ;-) then it would be as near perfect as any camera of this or any previous generation.

The exposure meter is very good and accurate, the colour, detail, and overal image rendition is excellent - and the new CLS speedlight system is brilliant. It manages to to TTL-BL all on it's own 99% of the time, and as a remote commander the camera is of professional standard - recommended.

The only real "problem" is that the price will tempt many beginners and those who otherwise may have chosen a digital compact to enter the world of digital SLR - without necessarily budgeting for the additional lenses required to make a comprehensive system - there is no good cheap glassware!

I actually think the "scene modes" could be dropped - otherwise it leads folk into thinking it is aimed at "point and shoot" folk - and it really isn't. I'll suffer a "full auto" mode - so impatient and inexperienced fok can use the camera before reading the manual... but really only M,A,S modes (oh, ok, maybe P for occasional use) should be included on a camera of this calibre.

I would recommend this camera to anyone loooking for a camera at the D100/300D even the 10D/D1-series level - build quality is the only major difference. (Good job I'm flame proof?)


Aug 14, 2004
Edit/Delete Message
NinjaZX6R
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 6, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 35
Review Date: Aug 11, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $999.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: 3 frames per second Instant On feature Compatible with all newer nikkor lenses Although not heavy, it still feels like a solid camera Autofocus has never been too slow for me PRICE!
Cons:
No metering with older MF nikon lenses

It is really hard to sum up this camera in a few words, but I'll do my best. Although it's my first digital slr, it is not my first slr camera. I was using a maxxum 7 before this. I am happy to report that the change was smooth with minimal getting used to. This camera is very easy to get used to. There are many features that are found in MUCH more expensive cameras. To list a few:

1/500 flash sync
1/8000 max shutter speed
ISO 200-1600
Virtually no noise up to ISO 800.
3fps continuous shooting with 144 fram jpeg buffer

With this camera out, I see no reason for anyone to buy a D100. Yes, the D100 has a vertical grip, but I have never needed one. Of course, this is just my opinion, but I couldn't be happier with this camera. Nikon has done a fine job at bringing a sub thousand dollar digital slr to the market.


Aug 11, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add NinjaZX6R to your Buddy List  
sidcarter
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 21, 2004
Location: India
Posts: 7
Review Date: Aug 9, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Extensive features. Very Flexible. Flexibility in Flash. Comfortable Grip. Low noise upto ISO 800.
Cons:
No Vertical Grip. The lowest ISO setting is 200.

I have been using the D70 and It almost feels like a professional SLR. The body doesn't exactly feel like plastic and the grip and all is pretty comfortable. I feel the viewfinder is smaller than normal, but is bright enough. The LCD display is just right.

A very good camera for people who plan to get into Professional photography.


Aug 9, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add sidcarter to your Buddy List  
clonardo
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 19, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 608
Review Date: Aug 7, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $999.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: flexible, great continuous shooting mode, instant-on, fast CF interface, good battery life, decent high-ISO performance
Cons:
doesn't meter with older MF lenses, no vertical grip, AF performance could be better, minimum ISO of 200

(this review is directed at the body-only setup, no cheap zooms for me)

I'm a low-budget photojournalist, and the D70 serves me pretty well. The build quality is good enough to stand up to my everyday shooting requirements, the instant-on feature is priceless, and the continuous shooting mode and buffer depth can help.

That being said, I do have some complaints. The viewfinder is, naturally, cramped (though no worse than a DRebel), the AF performance seems merely average, and I have to use a handheld meter to get any usable shots out of my old manual-focus lenses.

I would also kill for a portrait grip, and some sort of dust filter on the CCD (like the one used by Olympus in the E-1) would be nice.

All in all, a great buy, better than the DRebel. I haven't had any major problems with moiré in 6,000 actuations. Compared to the DRebel, for $100 more, you get continuous servo AF, flash exposure compensation, instant-on, and a better continuous shooting/buffering system. It was worth it to me, I can't afford to have a camera slow me down.


Aug 7, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add clonardo to your Buddy List  
cGerman
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 20, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 323
Review Date: Aug 6, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $999.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: speed, quality, build, and the amount of custom functions you can adjust to get just what you want; plus very good software
Cons:
after real use, the ccd sensor does need cleaning

I love this camera and would recommend it to anyone who likes quality and good photography. if you are wanting to make the step forward into the digital world, this is the camera for you. (if you dont' have any glass)

-manuel


Aug 6, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add cGerman to your Buddy List  

   



Nikon D70s

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
58 76850 Feb 6, 2009
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $3,480.74
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.61
8.82
8.7
D70


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4