about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon D70s

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
58 76603 Feb 6, 2009
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $3,480.74
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.61
8.82
8.7
D70

Specifications:
6.1 effective megapixels

New Nikon DX Format CCD imaging sensor for 3,008 x 2,000-pixel images

New advanced digital image processor to optimize image quality, control auto white balance, auto tone and color control

Accurate white balance regardless of lighting conditions achieved by Nikon's acclaimed 3D Color Matrix Meter with 1,005 pixels

Continuous shooting at 3 frames per second for a continuous burst of up to 144 pictures (The number of continuous shots possible in a single burst may be fewer depending on the type of CF card used)

Immediate power-up has the D70 ready to take pictures before your finger can reach the shutter button

High performance System LSI uses next-generation programming to greatly increase the speed of all processing and writing operations

High-speed, high-precision 5-area AF system

Maximum shutter speed of 1/8,000 sec. for full creative control

Seven new automated Digital Vari-Program selections including Auto, Portrait, Landscape, Close-up, Sports, Night Portrait, and Night Landscape for crisp and vivid results that match the intended shot

New generation color reproduction system offers a choice of three color modes

New JPEG and NEF Combination Filing System enables simultaneous recording of NEF (RAW) and JPEG data for the same shot to optimize and accelerate workflow

Large LCD monitor with user-friendly menus

New AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED zoom lens designed to deliver high performance and outstanding value as a perfect match for the D70

Built-in auto pop-up flash features exclusive i-TTL flash control, fast 1/500 sec. flash sync shutter speed, and supports Nikon's Creative Lighting System

Nikon software bundled


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4  next
       †††
andylaiphoto
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 28, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2871
Review Date: Jun 3, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $999.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Quick, comfortable, reliable, relatively inexpensive.
Cons:
No Nikon vertical grip, auto-focus is fooled sometimes.



Jun 3, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add andylaiphoto to your Buddy List  
fimchick
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 20, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 89
Review Date: May 31, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $100.00 | Rating: 7 

Pros: Low price, good build for the money
Cons:
Horrid noise at higher ISO. I'm talking ISO 640 and you are screwed!

This is my 2nd digital camera and I'm pretty happy with the overall package. I'm disappointed, however, at the horrible noise compared to Canon. It's a real put-down and it makes me upset that they can't provide at least *somewhat* better quality (I'm not asking for comparable b/c the Canon is more expensive, but a little better than what the D70's noise is now would have been nice).

May 31, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add fimchick to your Buddy List  
begreen
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 26, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 344
Review Date: May 14, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,160.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Great colors in the photos I take. Great value and leaves me plenty of versatility to integrate the Nikon system.
Cons:
Noise at higher ISO, noise at higher ISO.

I love this camera, my only gripe, and it's a doozey, is that this camera lags so behind what Canon has done with the noise issue. One of my main interests is night/low light photography so this hurts a lot.

May 14, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add begreen to your Buddy List  
billkoplitz
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 14, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Apr 14, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $999.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Great camera, light and fast. I think the price that's showing at the top of this section needs to be updated. LOL 6k for one of these? Don't think so. At the current price they are almost disposable.
Cons:
Hate that aluminum D-70 sticker on the front of the body, does it look cheap or what?

This is a great entry level Digital SLR.

Apr 14, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add billkoplitz to your Buddy List  
Chipouille
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Sep 10, 2004
Location: Afghanistan
Posts: 206
Review Date: Apr 3, 2005 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 3 

Pros: Very good metering, excellent flash system (i-TTL), cheap camera, full control over almost all settings possible, spot metering, battery life, nice buffer.
Cons:
the WORST viewfinder EVER ! Cheapo plastic camera, SLOW shutter, SLOW AF, unstable with slow speeds, unefficient AF on most subjets, totally unusable AF on moving subjects, impossible to focus manually, no vertical release button, ugly little flash included, noisy pictures, burned highlights, noisy shadows (even at ISO 200 in RAW), only 6Mpx, APS size.

I DON'T LIKE this camera.
Sorry fot the rating, guys, but this is NOT what I call a proper camera.
For the price, well, what could I expect ?
I could answer : a brand new second hand F100...
Everything in the D70, except metering and battery life, is horrible. How can you work with such a viewfinder ? How could you just FOCUS manually, when it needs to be corrected because the AF is so out of the hook ? It focusses properly with long lenses but so inaccurately with my wideangles. Sent back 3 times to NPS, nothing really improved. Second D70 replacement body, same approximation in the job.
Holding this plastic body in my hand feels terrible (a toy ?).
Worse : the shutter is so slow... I should have bought an old bridge camera ! You miss the action every time !!!
Of course, I compare it to my film cameras I'm used to : F100, F5, F6. Of course, it's less expensive and it's digital.
I don't care. No excuses for such a terrible viewfinder, such a slow general operation.
Since D2x is too expensive, I ca't wait for a D200 or something better, comparable to the Canon 20D, much better in every aspect.
Shame on you for this one, Nikon.
(OK it's better than the Canon 300D but who cares when you own a Nikon system?)


Apr 3, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Chipouille to your Buddy List  
brianzchuk
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 1, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: Apr 1, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Most bang for your buck in Digital SLR's.
Cons:
Won't work at all with my AF-S 300/f4.

The AF-S 300/f4 works fine with my F100 but DEAD on my D70.

Apr 1, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add brianzchuk to your Buddy List  
mzcat
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 11, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 23, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $999.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Easy to handle, light, able to use existing lenses.
Cons:
Dust on CCD (problem on many DSLRS), remote should have hole so you can attach to strap, LCD cover should come with strap



Feb 23, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mzcat to your Buddy List  
nikuser
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 12, 2005
Location: Nigeria
Posts: 1
Review Date: Jan 12, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,295.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Instant everything - fast Excellent build integrity - calling it plastic does it no justice User-friendly operation Excellent colour rendition Custom colour curves
Cons:
Nothing that a firmware review couldn't take care of - absence of mirror lockup Nikon Capture should be provided free of charge

This is the camera that revolutionised the industry. It set the benchmark for what digicam should be - now even compacts are coming with instant on and super-fast shutter speeds. You saw it first here folks.

I saw it mentioned earlier that you had to go through the menu to adjust white balance - actually you have full control over white balance settings using the buttons and dials on the camera body - very convenient. Self-timer can also be adjust as easily. It is amazing, the amount of customisation that can be done without recourse to the menu - really user-friendly. I saw mentioned that only i-TTL is available. This is not a disadvantage as i-TTL is a clear upgrade over D-TTL.

Something that does not get mentioned enough is this camera's compatibility with the Creative Lighting System. For flash photography there simply no other manufacturer that currently has an answer to this - it works like pure magic. I am able to use multiple speedlights wirelessly without buying any other accessory (ie transmitter). Canon's solution pales in comparison. For a start you need to spend an extra $200 for the transmitter and then it works via infrared, severly limiting placement. With the D70 and SB-600 you can place the flash around corners or even behind you and it works perfectly every time - no other camera vendor is capable of this.


Jan 12, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add nikuser to your Buddy List  
kpataky
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 12, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Review Date: Jan 12, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $999.99 | Rating: 8 

Pros:
Cons:

I shoot a lot of Minor League Baseball - action photography mostly. And I have noticed that when I try to take vertical shots, zoomed all the way in on my 70-300 f4.5mm Nikon lens, often times the picture is out of focus. For a pitcher who is reaching back about the throw, his body head to knees is sharp and crystal clear, but from his knees down are out of focus. If I turn the camera and focus horizontally, I don't have this problem. I also have a Nikon 80-200 f2.8 lens, and have found this problem doesn't occur as much. Most likely because the subject material does not take up the whole frame.

Jan 12, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add kpataky to your Buddy List  
Kari Post
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 9, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 659
Review Date: Jan 10, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: price, build, not a lot of noise even at ISO 1600, dual knobs allow you to quickly adjust exposure, good battery life, fast, EXIF data, versatility, focus lock, purchase included battery, charger, software, and other extras
Cons:
white balance was a little tricky to use, no self timer button (you have to go through the menu), lowest ISO is 200

I've had my D70 for two months now and I use it all the time. The digital D-SLR gives me the freedom to shoot anything and everything (no rationing 35mm film for me anymore). I bought mine from B&H for $800 (body only) -- it was either a demo model or refurbished but its as good as new, and costs $100-$200 less than a non "previously loved" model. It came with the battery and battery charger as well as some good software. I absolutely love this camera. It is fast (no shutter delay, no write delay), just as fast as my 35mm SLR, which is super important when shooting sports. I shoot at 1600 ISO a lot because I'm stuck doing action indoors, and the images are very nice and smooth -- sure there is noise but not nearly as bad as you would expect. I would say that 1600 ISO on the D70 is much better than 400 ISO on many point and shoot models I have seen. The slowest film equivalent on the D70 is 200 ISO which is kind of a bummer, 50 or 100 would have been nice. However, with the smoothness of 1600 ISO being what it is I wouldn't be suprised if 200 ISO looked smoother than its 200 rating. The controls are nice and the menu is pretty easy to use. It is pretty similar to my N65 in those respects. I haven't even fiddled with all of the options on this camera. I will say that manually setting white balance is kinda tricky, I usually have to attempt it more than once to get a reading because I somehow screw it up, but once I get a good reading it really does enhance the pictures. I haven't even tried the self timer yet, to get to it you have to dance through the control panel, something I really don't like after getting used to pressing 2 buttons on my N65. I just bought the ML-L3 remote for $18 and I'm going to use that. AF is usually pretty good, although predictive AF tracking doesn't seem as accurate as my N65. However I have only used this guy for indoor sports so far (in poorly lit gyms), something I barely bothered with on my N65 so I think that the D70 might be much better outside or in better light. I have noticed improvement when I shoot at facilities with better light so thats probably my problem. I love the EXIF data recorded by my D70 (most digital cameras have this, so don't think the D70 is special, but it is a nice change from 35mm). However the recorded focal length doesn't account for the 1.5x increase (so my shot taken with a 50mm lens reads as 50mm even though its 35mm equivalent is 75mm). The 1.5x itself can be an advantage or disadvantage; I love it since extra length is usually a blessing for sports and wildlife photography. Many landscape and architectural photographers probably won't like it so much. Image quality is okay, with better color and constrast than many digital cameras (here I'm talking point-and-shoots, I don't have the luxury to compare to other D-SLRs). Overall the D70 is an excellent camera that I would highly recommend. You really can't go wrong for the buck. (For a while B&H was offering a brand new D70 kit for $1200-$1300; however with the rebate their D100 kit costed the same, so if you need are new to D-SLR photography and want to buy a complete package with lens and stuff, consider the D100 as well for the same money. I have never tried one, but it is the upgrade to the D70 so you might as well look at the reviews and maybe get more for your money. I'm not sure if the offer is still available, but check it out at www.bhphoto.com)

Suggested Tips: Buy a large capacity fast memory card. I have the 1 GB Lexar 80x WA compact flash card. It cost me only $20 more than the 4x write speed Lexar, but it is as fast as film. I can take "burst" shots in the largest size (6MP jpeg basic -- haven't tried it in fine yet) without waiting for them to be recorded at all. The 1GB card lets me take over 500 pictures in 6MP basic mode (about 250 in fine), so you really get a lot from the card. It's an excellent value and worthwhile investment. If you shoot sports, you cannot be without a high speed card.

If you can afford it get an extra battery too. I haven't done so yet, and the battery life on this camera seems pretty good, but it really sucks when it just stops working in the middle of a game.


Jan 10, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Kari Post to your Buddy List  

Offline
Review Date: Jan 7, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,600.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Fast, good ergonomics, great picture, spot metering, 1/500 flash synch
Cons:
does not support old flashes, 200 ISO as a lowest, picture review functions are not obvious and confusing, AF-C or AF-S through menu only

Well, the whole camera's ergonimics is 5 of 5, no doubts.
CF compartment door: wow! 3 times better than on 20d.
Pretty good HSM 18-70 lens, colors are not very brilliant though.
Nice viewfinder despite of all that talks about pentamirror vs pentaprism. My EOS 20d' viewfinder is not better and not brighter for sure.
The great frustration: it does not support my SB-28 which I liked a lot!
Usability issue: it switches different views of current shot while i am trying to change AF point (need to half-press shoot button first).



Jan 7, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add  to your Buddy List  
digmershooter
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 7, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Review Date: Dec 7, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,029.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: high flash sync speeds,DOF preview,instant on speed,fast buffer,iTTL technology.
Cons:
iTTL only with the newest Nikon speedlights,some settings are lost when camera is turned off,pop up speedlight a nusiance at times.

This is my first head-long leap into the digital domain, and I think I've got the perfect camera just for that very purpose!

As I've just obtained the camera I can't really give a too detailed review as of yet but it appears from reading the posts of others here and on websites thoughout the WWW ( I first heard about it on C-Net ) that I've made a wise investment!

You can shoot in full "point & shoot" mode or go full manual...the choice is up to you!

Will be buying a Ikelite housing to take it underwater as well...


Dec 7, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add digmershooter to your Buddy List  
go4it
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Sep 2, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 746
Review Date: Nov 25, 2004 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 4 

Pros: It's a Nikon ...
Cons:
An average PRICE PAID OF MORE THAT 9,900 BUCKS!!!!!!!!!

"Fundy" / Andrew,

The average price paid is a "calculation" of the numbers you reviewers enter. Either you're being cute or simply crazy - or you genuinely made an error - when you entered the price you paid as 99,000 dollars.

You have "KILLED" some prospective buyers by your numbers. Can you please correct them?

Thanks!


Nov 25, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add go4it to your Buddy List  
crabtreec
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 19, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Review Date: Nov 21, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Image quality, ease of use, ergonomics, cost, buffer size.
Cons:
No vertical grip accessory, too many buttons - not enough dials, awful high ISO performance, constraining viewfinder.

I purchased this camera to back up my D100 at even shoots, and it has provided solid, if unspectacular results. The camera seems to have a pretty high build quality, but I'm not so sure how it would handle a fall. While not scientific, I simply prefer the D100. It feels better in my hands, especially with the grip attached, and seems to be more robust and dependable overall. That being said, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the D70 to anyone looking at a foray into digital photography.

Nov 21, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add crabtreec to your Buddy List  
rcorrington
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 8, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 514
Review Date: Nov 20, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,299.95 | Rating: 10 

Pros: I love the D70. The camera is immediately ready, a battery charge lasts for days, the interface is mostly straight forward, and I can zoom when reviewing the image, and fine tune the white balance setting. The 3D color matrix metering is terrific. The auto white balance is awesome. It is right most of the time, especially when shooting indoors. Oh yeah, it takes great pictures.
Cons:
1) The LCD is so small. I wish the D70 gave me a way to zoom the image without having to press extra buttons. 2) Some of the buttons are multi functional depending on the current state of the camera. For example, if Iím reviewing an image, the white balance (WB) button is used to lock the image. If Iím not reviewing an image, it enables me to fine tune the white balance. Personally, I rather dedicated buttons. 3) Auto focus seems a little so to me. 4) The LCD is protected by a crappy, not-so-translucent, plastic protector. Iíd love to find a better solution. 5) The D70 supports five focus brackets (or focus areas). IMHO, the two on the left and right are too far away from the center. When I attempt to take a vertically oriented portrait, I always make sure the subjectís eyes are within the selected focus area to ensure the eyes turn out as sharp as possible. Because the focus areas are so far away from the center, I often find the images lacks sufficient headroom for the subject. The closer I am to the subject the worse this problem is. So, Iíd like to see the two focus areas closer to the center.

Originally, I bought an Olympus C-8080 8-megapixel. Three things drove me crazy: the electronic view finder, the slow startup and shutter release, and its in ability to handle low light conditions well. The D70 kicks the snot out of the Olympus C-8080 in each of these areas.

Nov 20, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add rcorrington to your Buddy List  
Fundy
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 18, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 820
Review Date: Nov 9, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $99,000.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: A great little plastic camera. I mean, we all know this isn't an F6 body, so for what it is - a $1000 for free film until it dies - this baby rocks. If you can't get good results out of this camera, it's your own dang fault. If you have a good understanding of photography and photoshop (or just buy Velvia Vision and Intellisharpen from Fred here) you get fantastic results
Cons:
Autofocus and small viewfinder, but hey, that would add to the cost, then it would be a D70.

If you have a good understanding of photography and photoshop (or just buy Velvia Vision and Intellisharpen from Fred here) you get fantastic results

It is great. Just buy one and go shoot. I put over 350 frames on it the first 2 days I owned it. That's 10 rolls of 36 exposure film, probably close to $60 in film and developing even on the cheap.

Andrew


Nov 9, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Fundy to your Buddy List  

†††



Nikon D70s

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
58 76603 Feb 6, 2009
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $3,480.74
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.61
8.82
8.7
D70


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4  next