about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EOS 1D Mark II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
98 139890 Nov 22, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
98% of reviewers $3,361.23
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.79
9.16
9.4
1D2

Specifications:
The EOS-1D Mark II establishes new benchmarks for quick response, flexible control, imaging excellence and RAW image management for professional digital photographers.
- New, 8.2 megapixel CMOS sensor
- High-speed shooting at 8.5 fps.
- Improved autofocus
- New, Digic II processor
- New, Digital Photo Professional (DPP) program for high-speed RAW processing
- E-TTL II Flash Exposure
- More efficient power consumption for better battery life
<a href=http://web.canon.jp/Imaging/eos1dm2/html/specifications.html target=_blank>[More...]</a>


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7  next
          
LDRider
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 14, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 1679
Review Date: Nov 22, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The camera is bullet proof. Image quality is outstanding. Very versatile for the pro or casual shooter. You need to understand the basics of photography in order to realize its full potential.
Cons:
Big and heavy. Not for the beginner. Read the manual and rely on online resources to set it up.

This camera has served me well for the past 10 years or so. I attach nothing but "L" lenses to it in order to take advantage of its high image quality. I never shoot RAW and rely on in-camera jpeg processing which is outstanding.
The camera can be set up via the CF's to cover just about any shooting situations.
Its robust, dust and water resistant.
Auto focus is lightening fast. There is nothing the camera cannot do.
Stop reading this and go buy one...you will not regret it.

Happy shooting!


Nov 22, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add LDRider to your Buddy List  
dwile38
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 24, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 940
Review Date: Aug 9, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $650.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent IQ, speed, build, and ergonomics. Bargain price for what you get.
Cons:
None for me, for some high ISO however I never shoot over 200 does not matter to me.

After owning 10D thru 40D, 5D and 1D the 1D Mark II is by far my favorite. It fills my needs for my style of photography, I have invested in L lenses so I am more concerned with quality from glass, love the file sizes and can take RAW very well. Best bang for your buck as far as cameras go. I even prefer it to my old 5D, I will use it till it dies. I love this camera, nuff said.

Aug 9, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add dwile38 to your Buddy List  
bryPT
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: May 9, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 286
Review Date: May 10, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $550.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast. Great focus. insanely well built. Perfectly balanced. Excellent image quality.
Cons:
None.

Can an 8 year old DSLR still be relevant? Can it still perform and compare to newer cameras today?

It really tells you something when people are still reviewing it 8 years after it's original release date. I picked mine up 2 weeks ago and after about 2 minutes of use, I kicked myself for selling mine 3 years ago. I have a 7d and 60d that are sitting at home right now since I made this camera my every day walk around body. So fast, so accurate focus wise, and so solid, I cannot get enough of it. And for the price, it really is a steal. Images are excellent still. With enough light, this camera is still a winner. It may suffer at higher ISO compared to the newer cameras, but if you have enough light, it performs perfectly. For sports, it is still killer with 8fps.

If you can score one of these, I would do so. It still works fantastic to this day.


May 10, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add bryPT to your Buddy List  
oldwarrior
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 14, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 8
Review Date: Mar 10, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: well built, great for tracking motion and sports action
Cons:
none

I shoot mostly sports (soccer and ringette [like ice hockey]) and started using the 1d series with the Mk III, upgraded to the Mk IV when it became available. I have been looking for a backup sports body and tried a 7d recently, which I did not like. Just could not get as much keepers as with the 1d Mk III or IV, focus tracking and speed in locking on to action just plain superior on the 1d's.

Recently came across a Mk II (was looking for a Mk II N) for Cdn $700 with 4700 clicks on it, in absolute mint condition, like it just came out of the box. Decided to get it as my backup sports camera. I absolutely LOVE this thing, it is freaking awesome. The focus speed and tracking action is as good as the Mk III or IV, in my opinion. Yes, it does not have video, and is only 8mp, but the results speak volumes, tracks action and focuses quickly which result in a high percentage of keepers.

Do I want to give up the higher ISO rating of the Mk IV, or the higher MP or nicer preview screen? Not really, but I am using the Mk II way more than I ever thought I would and I think it is going to get a lot of use this summer out on the soccer fields.

If you are looking for a camera to capture action, without all the bells and whistles (video, etc), try the Mk II if you get a chance, you will NOT be disappointed.


Mar 10, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add oldwarrior to your Buddy List  
jay1hawker
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 23, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 2775
Review Date: Jan 24, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $888.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Built like a brick (good thing) Joy to use Fast auto focus Pretty good low light res Takes two types of cards...
Cons:
not much other then heavier then a bag of hammers...

I got this camera about a year and a half ago from Adorama used with 35k clicks. It was in surprisingly good shape and I'm assuming a trade in. With a Canon NP-E3 new battery, I can usually shoot 500-600 shots before battery runs down. If you shoot with an "IS" lens, will drain after about 300-400 shots. Very satisfied with the build. Nice to have the AC/DC dummy battery and bypass the NP-E3 when needed. I use it for shooting symphony photos of a youth orchestra and usually shoot anywhere from 500-700 shots of three orchestras and have never had any failures. The only downside is the weight, I recently had some vertebrae fused in my neck and I have to use a monopod to shoot with it anymore. Looking at picking up a 60D or something a bit lighter. If you're looking for something cheaper to shoot sports/subjects on the move, I highly recommend it.

Jan 24, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add jay1hawker to your Buddy List  
asamimasa
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 28, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 199
Review Date: Oct 3, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $650.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Build, FPS, AF, handles noise very well, feels good in hand.
Cons:
two handed operations a bit confusing at first



Oct 3, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add asamimasa to your Buddy List  
mccc
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 23, 2010
Location: Portugal
Posts: 7
Review Date: Jul 26, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $700.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: All
Cons:
None

This camera is a peace of art!!!!!!!!!!

All the Photojournalism photos are taken on a 1D MArkII!!!
(Portugal,China,Cambodia)

http://www.mariocaldeira.com/#/galeria_fotografia/


Mc
Portugal


Jul 26, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add mccc to your Buddy List  
Lance Lee
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 26, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1708
Review Date: Apr 2, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: AF, image quality, feel in your hands, built in grip, wonderful viewfinder.
Cons:
Strange button pushing needed to review images/zoom, etc.

I've never written a review before, but I just had to. I've never been so excited about a camera before, even my beloved old FM-2n. Like me, you have probably heard the praise heaped on these cameras, and now I can see why.

Finally, I have a camera that feels like it can do anything I want to try.
1. I can compose and focus the way I want to. I can keep focus on my daughter playing with our dog, or on a bride walking down the aisle.
2. My lenses, while not as long, seem much more useful.
3. Image quality is superb compared to my 40D. Also, they take Genuine Fractals very well.
4. High ISO performance is far better than I thought it would be. 3200 is better than my 40D.
5. AF just works. It sounds so simple, but it is such a revelation. And no false focus locks! If the focus confirmation lights up, then it is in focus. I could never trust the 40D that way, especially in lower light and the flash AF assist light.
6. Manual focus is possible. I have seldom heard this mentioned. 10D, 20D, 40D, 50D, 5D I have never been able to trust MF. I ended up buying split image screens for them, but that only works in the centre. But now I can trust MF on the ground glass. Amazing.
7. The higher relief of the viewfinder is nice, my nose isn't pressed against the LCD screen.
8. One last thing. One thing I've often wanted to do is have a flash in the hotshoe, but then plug my radio slave transmitter into the PC terminal to also trigger remote flashes. You guessed it, on the 40D and 20D it would work sometimes but not reliably. The mk2, of course, just works.

Considering the current price of mk2's, these are the best deals out there.


Apr 2, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Lance Lee to your Buddy List  
Marc_h
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 19, 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 153
Review Date: Mar 22, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $700.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Amazing feel to it. Fits perfectly in my hand. Iso 1600 is incredible looking at the age of the camera. It's incredibly fast and the 8,5fps is pure satisfaction.
Cons:
User interface is something to get used to, but I've just had it for one evening and I am already getting used to it. ( switched from canon to nikon, no back to canon ).

Yes it's true, I only paid 700 bucks for this 1D. More incredible is the fact that it only had 15000 shutter actuation's. That is incredible!

I now understand why this series of cameras is so addicting. It just gives you this feeling that's unbeatable. I've never been more comfortable with a camera in my hands and I'm sure that even though it's an old model. It will shine.

AWESOME!

Sample of a photo at ISO 1600:

http://i358.photobucket.com/albums/oo26/Marc-Haers/NQ5Z6354.jpg

No noise reduction shot in RAW.



Mar 22, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Marc_h to your Buddy List  
woppydop
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 22, 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 1, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great images, enough said. The looks you get when using it, people tend to think your serious about your shooting and treat you accordingly.
Cons:
Two button menu adjustments is a bit of a pain at first but once you get used to it it's not really a big deal. The looks you get when using it. It intimidates some people when they are using compacts.

After dropping my beloved 20D and having it replaced with a 50D I was not happy, Sure it's got all the bells and whistles but somehow I didn't take to it at all. Traded the 50D on a 1DmkII and haven't looked back. Love the weight of the camera, it just feels like your holding something tangible. As has been said by others the 1.3 crop is ideal. It saves having to worry about softness and vignetting over the full frame bodies and definitely gets the best out of L lenses.

Feb 1, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add woppydop to your Buddy List  
JackyFong
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 27, 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 0
Review Date: Dec 16, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Well solid built, ISO 50, good weight, large viewfinder, good colours with L lenses, good RAW qualities over Jpeg, nice shutter release sound, goes great with my 50mm f1.8, nice blue light on the top LCD display
Cons:
No exposure meter on top LCD display, needs 2 hands over preview of images and set functions, needs USM on images (maybe partly due to my hands), can only tethered shooting with firewire

Camera Body --- A photobeast that has passed its prime? No way, it is still a monster. Decided to use some of my bonus to get a pro body. The 1DsMK2 & 1DsMK3 still way overpriced, and 1DMK2N is a bit pricey too. Saw an used set of this 1DMK2 body, well maintained, tried and bought it. Images are very sharp using studio lights from f8 to f22 on my 17-35mm f2.8 L & 70-200mm f2.8 L. It compliments well with my 50mm f1.8 too.

But the body is maybe too heavy, my hands cannot support well. All my walkaround images suffered due to mild handshake, maybe still not used to the weight of 1D series. But a speedlite solves the problem, afterall, I am shooting events which requires speedlites or location shoot which needs studio lightings.

Images Produced --- May need some smart sharpening or unsharp mask to sharpen image a little. But the colours produced are great, Jpeg images are softer while the RAW images needs a bit sharpening. Maybe its a downside a little due to sharpening. From ISO 50 to 200 usable, just that at ISO 200, image quality suffers a little.

Colours are nice with studio lights or speedlites, without them, only a well exposed scene produced nice natural lighting colours. They display well on my MacBook Pro. Needs little or no colour adjustments at all.

Like all Canon WA lenses - whether L or non-L WA - Wide images suffers from distortion and soft, but a good 20mm and above gives sharp images. I foresee I will shoot a lot from 20mm to 35mm on my 17-35mm L.

Functions --- No exposure meter on top LCD display, you need to view thru the viewfinder. You need 2 hands to operate the functions by pressing the buttons.

Overall --- My verdict on the 1DMK2: Still a monster that can produce stunning works (images). Havent really tried printing the images but I am confident with the right printer, nice and impressive prints can be produced.

Small LCD screen at back!!! No problem, if you can shoot, you can shoot. A good 3 to 5 times zoom in with see the images produced whether it is sharp or not. Digic 2 sensor!!! No problem, still a fast responsive camera. 1.3 crop factor!!! No problem, it is wide enough and goes well with my 5D too.

Last but not least, it needs L lenses to produce good results, but a few good non-L like my 50mm f1.8 and future 100mm USM Marco will do the job. Highly recommended to photographer who would like to have pro bodies but on a budget. It is not entirely a budget 1D pro body afterall, is its qualities and work abilities that separates it apart from XXD & XXXD series of Canon bodies.


Dec 16, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add JackyFong to your Buddy List  
adamo99
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 21, 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 427
Review Date: Dec 15, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: AF speed, build quality, image quality, balances well with long/heavier lenses. An absolute bargain in the current used market.
Cons:
Ergonomics are poor compared to the Nikon pro bodies. Eyecup not secure, and is easy to lose if you're not paying attention. Canon batteries are poor, but numerous third-party options available that are much better.

After shooting Nikon for well over fifteen years, I switched over to Canon for the fast prime lenses. I love everything about the 1DmkII series, but the angles of the body. The Nikon Pro bodies fit my hand much better, and the rubber is far grippier, resulting in a more secure grip on the camera. (I hear the MkIII versions are much better).

That said, I love(!) the images out of this camera. Added a 1DmkIIn also, and use them to shoot weddings, portraits, motorsports (superbikes), and for general photography. All of my favourite images have been taken with the 1D bodies.

The files are nice and clean, and high ISO images are very usable with some noise reduction (I use the NoiseNinja plugin).

In the current used market, with these selling for @ $8-900, there is no better bargain on the photography market.


Dec 15, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add adamo99 to your Buddy List  
andreas612
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 6, 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 107
Review Date: Dec 4, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Big camera, fast, good high ISO performance (3200 is acceptable), extremely sharp.
Cons:
No automatic dust cleaner

Awesome camera. Really love the big size of the camera (compared to my old 400D). Very fast, excellent for sport. The images are very sharp. Although the camera has 8mp, the results are way sharper than my old 400D (10mp). Even if I print them to A3/A2
Love this camera!!

Andreas


Dec 4, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add andreas612 to your Buddy List  
AbramG
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jan 30, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 2452
Review Date: Nov 22, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Built like a tank, blazing speed, great IQ, dual memory cards, rugged rugged rugged!
Cons:
ISO really only safe up to 1600, batteries don't last forever and are expensive to replace, the charger is an unwieldily monster.

I haven't owned my mark II for a couple years now, but when I did man was that thing unstoppable!

The IQ was excellent in all but the lowest lighting conditions, and it was SUPER fast, especially in the AF department.

I still think it is a very capable camera by today's standards, and I know it's still regularly used by journalists and sports photographers around the world.

I wouldn't even mind getting another one myself!


Nov 22, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add AbramG to your Buddy List  
OwlsEyes
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Feb 22, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 4364
Review Date: Aug 4, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: 1D interface, Rugged, Quick AF, 8.5 FPS, 1.3x crop, Sharpens very well
Cons:
Batteries are heavy, Battery charger is very bulky

I took one of these to Tanzania last June and it was my primary body until it fell of the safari vehicle. I replaced it with a 40D that just never seemed to make me quite as pleased with the shooting experience. There is something very nice about the build and interface of the 1-series bodies that can only be understood with long-term use.

I am about to do a display of my Africa work this year and most of the images were interpolated to print at 20-24"... the 1D files are flexible enough that this is not a problem. For an 8mp camera, you can produce very detailed and rich images...

this camera is a bargain in today's used market.


Aug 4, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add OwlsEyes to your Buddy List  
fusionphoto
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 16, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 17
Review Date: Jun 25, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great handling, superb IQ, fast,fast,fast.
Cons:
Boy is it heavy, but it balances well with L lenses.

I have not had this camera long so this is an initial assessment. So far I am very positive. The camera function well, focus is quicj and accurate and IQ is superb. The 1D mk1 my long time favourite has now been knocked of its pedistal but not compleyely replaced as I love it for portrait and street work, but I think this camera with its smooth CMOS image will give me another string to my bow.

Jun 25, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add fusionphoto to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EOS 1D Mark II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
98 139890 Nov 22, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
98% of reviewers $3,361.23
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.79
9.16
9.4
1D2


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7  next