about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EOS 1D Mark II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
98 140734 Nov 22, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
98% of reviewers $3,361.23
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.79
9.16
9.4
1D2

Specifications:
The EOS-1D Mark II establishes new benchmarks for quick response, flexible control, imaging excellence and RAW image management for professional digital photographers.
- New, 8.2 megapixel CMOS sensor
- High-speed shooting at 8.5 fps.
- Improved autofocus
- New, Digic II processor
- New, Digital Photo Professional (DPP) program for high-speed RAW processing
- E-TTL II Flash Exposure
- More efficient power consumption for better battery life
<a href=http://web.canon.jp/Imaging/eos1dm2/html/specifications.html target=_blank>[More...]</a>


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7  next
          
hvr_oosterzele
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 9, 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 565
Review Date: Jul 15, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast in all aspects, much better controls. Low ISO noise (compared to my D60 at least). Sensitive shutter release.
Cons:
It's very strange but now and then AF locks without having a good focus.

Finally a worthy replacement for my EOS 3.


Jul 15, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add hvr_oosterzele to your Buddy List  
maxx9photo
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: May 19, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 2233
Review Date: Jul 15, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: All
Cons:
None

Not much to say, it's just amazing camera. If you have the cash to burn get this! Smile

Jul 15, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add maxx9photo to your Buddy List  
anderson
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 18, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 80
Review Date: Jun 23, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,499.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Built like a tank. Extremely low noise on higher ISOs. Very fast. Great AF. Very good color rendition. You can bracket EVERYTHING!! Very fast. Lots of pixels. Battery lasts forever. Uses Canon Lens system. Did I say Very Fast !!??!!
Cons:
Costs big Bux$. You will hurt yourself if you drop it on your foot!

I've been playing around in photography for over 40 years ... digital for over 5. This is one of the best cameras I have ever used ... film or digital. There have been a great number of complaints from folks on different forums about color, softness, etc. In my experience these are all totally unfounded. The results I have been getting are truly impressive. Even when I error taking the shot, the file has enough latitude to be easly corrected in the computer without artifacts. It's very fast ...

Jun 23, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add anderson to your Buddy List  
Choun W
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 3, 2003
Location: Thailand
Posts: 27
Review Date: Jun 21, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,450.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build quality, fast performance with SD flash, Focus accurate (far better than 10D), Battery usage life, image quality and fast preview.
Cons:
Expensive and size

This is a second Digital Canon SLR after 10D, the impression of this camera is a build quality (for sure because it the first thing you can see after open the box). The focus performance is the next thing I looking for during testing the camera and up to now I would confirmed that it is good and accurate even using 100-400L IS with EF1.4x II which come to f8 but the sensor (only in the middle that it still work in this condition) is still keep doing work accurate and fast enough.
At beginning, I'm a bit surprise about the softness of the picture direct out from the camera but after work with Raw converter it not an issue for me anymore.
The battery is also the next thing I keep looking, because I'm not a photographer as professional (not earn from it) even I started my first battery charging on the first day I bought this camera (05 June 2004) but I didn't use it everyday (only on week-end) and keep the battery out off camera when not using. Until now after 588 pictures the battery sign still shown full, quite good and still waiting for "How many pictures I could take from one full charged?".

you could check the picture by going into this bellow link.

Last updated: I could took pictures until 1120 before the battery is realy empty, very good


http://www.pbase.com/chounws3/1_d_mark_ii


Jun 21, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Choun W to your Buddy List  
maljo
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 1, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 464
Review Date: Jun 16, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,499.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Solid, Fast, Excellent Image Quality
Cons:
Heavy and Large and Expensive

Coming from a 10D, this camera is enormous! It doesn't fit in some of my
camera bags.

It works just great: fast, resposive, solid.
Image quality is superb.

I'm very pleased with this camera.
It's as close to the ideal camera as I've found.


Jun 16, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add maljo to your Buddy List  
Chatsphotog
Offline
Image Upload: On

Registered: Sep 7, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 631
Review Date: Jun 13, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,400.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Fast, Responsive, Easy to use, Sharp
Cons:
Buggy software (date bug in EVU, camera images not recognized by Windows), no functionality similar to 10D C.Fn.5.3 AF Assist/No Flash

Canon have done a great job with the hardware in this camera. The only hardware quirk I can think of is the hypersensitive vertical shutter button. Another quirk, the lack of a C.Fn. similar to C.Fn.5.3 on the 10D.

The software is another story. I am amazed at the sheer lack of quality control - it's almost as though the software division don't have any standards, or, they are lackadaisical. Quite disappointing. I think Canon should outsource software design to PhaseOne, BreezeSys or Adobe - someone qualified to write decent looking and functioning software.

I eagerly await an updated version of the firmware and software.


Jun 13, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Chatsphotog to your Buddy List  
gvan
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 8, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 83
Review Date: Jun 12, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,995.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Ditto on all that has been mentioned, but I'm particularly impressed with the fps.
Cons:
Like the 1Ds, the earlier 1D also had the “Depth-of-field AE” feature, the 1D Mark II is lacking this feature.

I’ve had the Canon EOS 1D Mark II for only a few weeks, but overall I’ve been very impressed with the camera.

Greg


Jun 12, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews View gallery Add gvan to your Buddy List  
digitalspike
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 5, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 89
Review Date: Jun 7, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,499.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image Quality, Lower Noise, Higher Sharpening Threshhold, Speed, Autofocus Ability, Battery Life!!!!!!
Cons:
2 Button menu handling, Keep it simple Canon! But I guess all of the above items make it tolerable. :)

I received my 1D MarkII just before Labor Day Weekend! Having a 10D and moving up to the MarkII is like Driving a BMW and upgrading to a Ferrari. The handling is smooth and precise. The BMW is no slouch but when you drive that Ferrari, you feel oh so special! The speed on the MarkII sent my heart racing! It tracks like you wouldnt believe. Definately a lot more keeper shots. The Iso noise is incredible. I did some shots at Viejas Casino at night with a 24-70 lens at 2.8 with no flash and was floored at the image quality at 1000 iso.

I also tested it with action shots tracking motocross riders and was also very pleased with the results. The more I use this camera, the more excited I get. People who complain about the sharpening on the MarkII must be doing something wrong. I use C1Pro which generates incredible results when shooting in raw. I decided to test it out in jpg with a sharpening level of 3. I placed my 100-400 lense on and headed for the Zoo. What I have found with the 100-400 lense photos out of the camera is that they are slightly soft, but when shot in raw, and processed in raw they are gems waiting to happen.

On the MarkII, and jpeg... WOW! I know my 70-200 IS is definately sharp, but check out the pics below, the birds are shot with the 100-400 and the motocross was shot with the 70-200. Canon has created an incredibly wonderful Camera in the MarkII.

If you can justify the cost, shooting Nirvana awaits you.

A BIG NOTE
I used a previously unformatted CF Card that was used on my 10D and when I downloaded my MarkII images it showed over 5900 shots. I was livid. I talked with one of the owners of 17th Street Photo and Not Only was his attention on the matter exceptional, he shipped back to me the same MarkII next day and paid for the postage. The reason he sent back the same camera is Canon Contacted him and gave him the scoop on the high number on the camera issue. Here is a little bit from the email:

TIDBIT FROM CANON
> If you take a freshly-formatted card and put it into a brand-new,
> factory-fresh camera and take the first picture with that body, it will
> record as #0001. If you take another picture, it will record as 0002. So
> far, very predictable. BUT: if you now take that card out of the camera,
> and replace it with a card that has taken one or more pictures in another
> camera (even a different brand camera, like a Nikon Coolpix or whatever),
> the next shot on the brand-new camera will NOT be 0003 -- the camera will
> see the contents of the CF card, and add "1" to the highest number on the
> card. Your third picture with this factory-fresh camera could now be 5276
> or 8732 or whatever.

Take Heed and avoid what I went through!!

Hats off to 17th Street Photo, I have permanently adopted them as my lifetime camera vendor!!!!!!!!!

Enough, now here are some test shots:

http://www.digitalspike.com/photos/viejas_indian.jpg - 70-200 2.8/iso1000 no flash
http://www.digitalspike.com/photos/bird1.jpg 100-400
http://www.digitalspike.com/photos/bird2.jpg 100-400
http://www.digitalspike.com/photos/moto1.jpg 70-200
http://www.digitalspike.com/photos/moto2.jpg 70-200
http://digitalspike.com/photos/mywife.jpg 135 f2

Vroom, Vroom, VRRRRRRRRRROOOOM!


Jun 7, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add digitalspike to your Buddy List  
Melor
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 9, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 3935
Review Date: Jun 3, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Large bright viewfinder, focus lock speed, great CMOS images.
Cons:
High cost, certainly to be replaced by a camera that costs 1/3 less in a few years. These things depreciate faster than American luxury cars.

More fun than a bottle of Viagra.

Paul



Jun 3, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Melor to your Buddy List  
colincarter46
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 13, 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 455
Review Date: May 30, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The best allround digital SLR on the Market. Unmatched performance. AF superb, ETTL 2 flash is deadly accurate. Colours Superb, battery performance is fantastic (2000+ shots from single charge using image stabilizer lenses and review facility after shot).
Cons:
None.

What a camera, my old 1D's have just been relegated to book ends and the 1Ds's to back up duties for most shoots. This camera produces superb Jpeg and Raw files with little post processing. The colours are superb and blown highlights are almost a thing of the past. There have been posts saying that reds cause problems, but this is not the case. For pro wedding photographers this camera is the best, the combination of speed, accuracy and the awesome flash system make it a no brainer purchase.

As far as resolution goes it is a superb landscape camera also, resolving very slightly less detail than the 1Ds (11 mpixel), but hardle worth mentioning in prints upto 30inch x 24inch.

The best all round professional camera on the market, for any job, no exceptions.

Well done Canon.


May 30, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add colincarter46 to your Buddy List  
christo™
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 20, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 1676
Review Date: May 25, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Nearly everything is the best there is in a dSLR!
Cons:
1/250 flash sync, Menu navigation awkward, NiMH battery + charger inferior to Li+, costly, single sourced, and heavy.

You pay your money and get what you pay for with this baby: pure performance. Enough AF & inter-shot repeat speed for PJ & fast action, enough resolution and image quality for portraiture and art (35mm class anyway), as-good-as-it-gets metering and ISO & AF performance for ambient light, WB & in-camera-processing for event photography, great and the best Canon has delivered flash metering. Automatic systems that are all as good or better than anything else in 35mm photography, and nearly complete control over customization to deal with issues the automatic systems can't handle right or situations where you can't adapt the automatic system setup fast enough.

The digital equivalent of the EOS3 / 1v with a drive grip, and a whole lot more. The EOS3 and EOS lens lineup made me move to Canon at great glass expense. The 1D MkII turned that move into one of the best decisions I ever made about photography equipment.

My hat is off to the Canon engineers on this project: they had to have listened hard to what photographers were saying about their previous efforts, filtered the noise from the good and bad, left in the good, improved everything they could, and delivered the best all-around dSLR that exists.

I've shot all the Canon dSLR's, but passed on all of them after serious consideration until the 10D, because I just knew that none of them would really replace my EOS3 + PB-E2, and why bother with another partial-featured camera? I went for the 10D a few months after introduction because, while I knew I was stepping backward in AF performance and speed, the 6MP CMOS sensor delivered the qualities (resolution, high ISO noise) I needed for a fair amount of work, and I knew I needed to learn more about Canon dSLR image development (about how much I was not so insightful, and woefully underestimated). In my equation the 10D performance/price ratio made it a no-brainer.

The 1D MkII delivers on all the positive aspects of the 10D except the battery situation (in which the 10D is the best I've experienced) and the 1D (except a notch in flash sync), adds or even improves the AF performance of the EOS pro bodies, goes beyond anything else I know about in dealing with that darn WB for situations where RAW development is out of the question, and delivers unprecedented speed with the resolution, noise, and image qualities necessary for all my 35mm work. I don't need that 8.5 fps much, but I am SO GLAD to finally have a digicam that eliminates a big frustration I've had with digital photography since getting into it in 1996: forever having to break rythm, miss shots, and waste precious time waiting for a buffer full of images to slog to flash memory.

My "negative aspects" are all really nits. The 1/250 sync limitation, which seems odd at first glance in that it is inferior to the predecedent 1D, is equal or superior to nearly all SLR's, and a trade-off for getting the CMOS advantages over the CCD technology. For photographers who face situations where the 1/500 x-sync really paid off, it's a bummer, but physics is physics, and the 1D's taking advantage of the ability for the CCD to fake the shutter an anomaly. Personally, the CMOS advantages over CCD completely ovewhelm the loss of that one CCD advantage. All other complaints I've heard about this camera are either really nits, personal preference stuff like "it's too heavy", lack of understanding of the trade-offs between CMOS and CCD (and what is going on in the camera to those "sharp" CCD images) and how to deal with sharpening, or just plain wishful thinking comparing this camera to some theoretical ideal rather than what it should be compared to: other 35mm class cameras. With this camera, the comparison need not be limited to other dSLR's: this camera fully outshines 35mm film cams in nearly all ways, even more so than the 1Ds. (That is IF you've invested the time and capital into some rather tedious-and-complicated-but-getting-easier-and-faster development software and workflow.)

Some people might consider me a bit of a gear head, but I got tired of buying a new digicam every year or two only to get totally disgusted with the limitations, and I had no interest in buying each model even as stuff got truly useable with the Canon and Nikon dSLR lines. The 10D was cheap enough to warrant the education, and I've easily saved the purchase price back in film and development.

This time I finally got a digital camera that will suit my needs well on into the future, just like I used to get when (rarely) buying a new film body. Maybe someday when flash memory is way faster and way cheaper, 35mm class lenses have made a quantum leap in spatial frequency performance, and you can pick up a camera of this performance or better with twice the resolution or more, I'll buy another, but in the mean time, I'm finally done having to mess about with new digicams to learn every couple years, and glad to be so.

Thanks, Canon!!! My EOS3 is now fully just a backup camera, and, based on my experience abusing Canon pro equipment, I might as well take the batteries out of it.


May 25, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add christo™ to your Buddy List  
Alan F
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 21, 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 95
Review Date: May 23, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Near perfection, build,performance, high iso with little noise, image quality
Cons:
Sensitive shutter buttons (compared to 10d) heavy

Very happy with the camera for the first 3 weeks, now its back at canon service centre. err o1 code stopped the camera working several times they say its communication fault,not very good for a pro camera ! ! ! hopefully they sort it quickly

May 23, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Alan F to your Buddy List  
fotografz
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 11, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 218
Review Date: May 14, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,200.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Incredibly responsive and tight feeling. Reminds me of a Porsche. Perfect compliment to the 1Ds. New color indicators in menu selections ( verses 1Ds). Useable ISO 3200 if FM actions are applied and non-cropped print requirements are confined to 7X10 image size (common wedding print size). Artistic grain look similar to high ISO films that are scanned.
Cons:
Small type in menu selections. 1/3 X lens factor (which is okay with me due to also having a 1Ds, but may cramp those who don't and want W/A views).

This camera is intended to compliment my 1Ds for weddings. I am specifically interested in candid, low light work at higher ISO RAWs, then converting to B&W in PSCS in order to replace use of high ISO B&W film... we'll see.

This is the fastest digital camera I've used to date. Seems as quick as my 1V.

17 RAW frames @ 8 frames a second shot to buffer before lock out... and that was using a IBM Microdrive.



May 14, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add fotografz to your Buddy List  
Mike D
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 18, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 73
Review Date: May 11, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,195.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: VERY fast! Focus and tracking are just about foolproof. Color is a knockout. ISO 3200, will be fine in newsprint, new noise reduction works like a charm!
Cons:
Vertical release button is a bit more sensitive than the 1d, or the MkII top button for that matter, but is CAN be adjusted by Canon.

There are a few subtle differences between this camera and the original, I think much of this is due to the fact that the new one is CMOS, and the 1d was not. There are many color choices to experiment with, so far I have only had tile to try two of them, but they all seem to have their purpose. Battery life is incredible, and the added resolution isn't bad either. No problems with anything on the camera so far, so maybe I got lucky this time around. Seems like I always had at least some of the issues that appeared on the older digitals.

May 11, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Mike D to your Buddy List  
chrlsbux
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 23, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 52
Review Date: May 7, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,500.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Really quick response, improved LCD w/magnifier, great color in AWB, on-camera flash actually works well (a first in my experience w/digital).
Cons:
Maybe it's the AA filter, but files straight out of the camera (high JPEGS) look soft, and while they can be sharpened quite nicely, there's a big difference between the MK II set on sharpen 2 and the 1-Ds w/no sharpening(excellent:mindblowing post USM)- why so soft?

The listed "average" price for this camera is nowhere near any reality. Amazon does not offer the camera at some absurdly low price.
Ridiculous that the back-up card system limits continuous shooting to the smallest capacity card, and that you can not set camera to seamlessly jump from one card to the next when capacity is reached-you must instead push multiple menu buttons and choose to continue on second card. Doesn't anyone at Canon ask actual photographers about these things??
I work under tight deadline and must hand files more or less directly to clients, so I'm not happy that the in-camera sharpening needs to be set rather high ( a setting of 2 is a minor improvement) In PS USM settings are as high as 200-300 per cent with radius of .3. Can this be a good thing? Was this Canon's intention?


May 7, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add chrlsbux to your Buddy List  
DavidWEGS
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 15, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 3799
Review Date: May 5, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image noise (lack of). Crisp action to just about all mechanical workings. Excellent playback speed. Robust and competent in all conditions I have found to date (10 days).
Cons:
Price. AA fiilter too strong. Portrait grip shutter release button is a little sensititve.



May 5, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add DavidWEGS to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EOS 1D Mark II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
98 140734 Nov 22, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
98% of reviewers $3,361.23
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.79
9.16
9.4
1D2


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7  next