about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon D2Hs

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
26 45616 Mar 17, 2010
Recommended By Average Price
88% of reviewers $4,167.95
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.86
8.50
8.7
D2H

Specifications:
* True Nikon pro SLR compatible with most Nikon F-mount lenses.

* 4.1-megapixel CCD, 2,464 x 1,632-pixel images

* ISO from 200 to 1,600 ("ISO Boost" to 6,400)

* Very fast shutter response and cycle times.

* Wireless image transfer capability with separate transmitter accessory.


 


Page:  1 · 2  next
          
framer
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 29, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 13
Review Date: Mar 17, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: I agree to my previous speaker: "One of the best sensor ever released, weak AA filter for razor sharp files (nice jpg - amazing raw files). Super fast autofocus, great colours, light NEF files for fast post production work but still great (with good primes) to print stunning A3+ even with just 4mp...believe it or not!" Donīt confound the D2Hs with the D2h, they are two different animals. I kept my D2Hs when I got my D3s. It does nice 1600 ISO. Other reviews I've seen here that state otherwise are D2h not D2hs. I also use this with the WT-2 wireless adapter which blows away the old WT-1 with the D2h body. Way underrated. Bargain at todays prices.
Cons:
None,



Mar 17, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add framer to your Buddy List  
like_this
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 3, 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 93
Review Date: Dec 2, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: fast, IQ, handiest ergonomics, resilient,...
Cons:
ISO > 1600

I agree to my previous speaker:
"One of the best sensor ever released, weak AA filter for razor sharp files (nice jpg - amazing raw files). Super fast autofocus, great colours, light NEF files for fast post production work but still great (with good primes) to print stunning A3+ even with just 4mp...believe it or not!"

Donīt confound the D2Hs with the D2H!

I would only exchange my D2Hs for a D3.


Dec 2, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add like_this to your Buddy List  
digiman69
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 20, 2005
Location: Italy
Posts: 4
Review Date: Aug 7, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: One of the best sensor ever released, weak AA filter for razor sharp files (nice jpg - amazing raw files). Super fast autofocus, great colours, light NEF files for fast post production work but still great (with good primes) to print stunning A3+ even with just 4mp...believe it or not!
Cons:



Aug 7, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add digiman69 to your Buddy List  
PJ Fish
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 24, 2006
Location: Denmark
Posts: 18
Review Date: Dec 6, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Wow lovely fast camera action when pulling the trigger of the camera ,for daylight PJ work and especially sports its super great,its so fast so its overwhelming BUT the noise is NOT so good and i think the classy Nikon D1 H is better at iso 800 and iso 1600/iso 3200!Otherwise it is the best for fast action i have used this with the Nikon D1 H and D2x as well.Loong batterylife,easy and light camera not so heavy.Yummy.
Cons:
Hmm too noisy at iso 800 and 1600/3200. 4 mill pics is ok..but only for press- and daily newspaper work.

This is an awesome fast camera i really really love the fact that when you really NEED to capture the situation You grab this like a nail when you pull the trigger,everytime.!
Therefore its super for sports and fast action and PJ work in generel,to keep it in simple words you get the shot when you need it.!
I also like the long batterylife and the instant/easy admission for all the benefits this pro camera can get you;Good flash and perfect exposure with SB 600/800 and so on....
the camera is a product you can always rely on and i like to work with it.
Could you imagine a lovely set up with this Nikon D2Hs as a complement to the princesses and queens from Nikon ?; D1H ,Nikon D2x or D200/300 or perhaps the King;THE NIKON D3..Huh???.(dreaming).Yummi.


Dec 6, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add PJ Fish to your Buddy List  
fujifilmnut
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 7, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Review Date: Apr 25, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent color, white balance, low noise, accurate and fast focus and wonderful logical controls. A well balanced camera built like a tank.
Cons:
None

When we compared it to a new Fuji S5, the color was better and noise the same. But it was clearly better in focus speed and accuracy, not to mention loads faster to shoot and save files. The S5 is like a snail next to the D2Hs. We sold the S5 after 2 monts on a trade for another D2X. Nikon color, speed and consistency in the D2 series are incredible.

Apr 25, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add fujifilmnut to your Buddy List  
brad_w
Offline
Image Upload: On

Registered: Oct 17, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 350
Review Date: Apr 8, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Speed (AF, buffer/write speed and shutter lag), IQ if you nail exposure and WB at low ISO
Cons:
Terrible IQ at high ISO or with underexposure at low ISO, Quality control (shutter/meter issue)

I was issued one of these by my employer and was very mixed on the camera. For daytime shooting, it was great: super-fast in every respect and with proper exposure and WB the files were fantastic. As a result, I shot RAW exclusively, even though I was shooting for newsprint.

At ISO 640, it started to fall apart and above 800, I reached for the D1H.

Underexposure of a stop or more led to strange color shifts that were hard to correct in post and the noise has an ugly, blotchiness. Histograms and blinking highlights were inaccurate (blinked when channels weren't clipped), which could lead to underexposure unless the photog compensated.

Ergonomics of the D2H were (and are for subsequent D2 series) great. AF was fast and accurate even in low light, AF tracking worked well. Battery life is phenomenal (I could shoot for a week on a single charge) and the weight is reasonable (unlike the Canon 1-series, IMO).

The main qualification, as I said, regards IQ: top-notch for well-tuned files, but it's a steep drop if shooting conditions or photog technique deteriorate.


Apr 8, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add brad_w to your Buddy List  
bellyface
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Mar 17, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 5069
Review Date: Oct 15, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast. No other D-SLR faster. 37ms shutter lag. Great buffer. 25/40 raw/jpeg buffer. 2.5" LCD. Menus are easy. A+ smart-battery. Relatively light pro body. Great feel. AI lens aperture index ring. AWB is great. 100% shutter with full readout. Many more to list A+ all the way.
Cons:
LCD screen not super accurate, but OK. Exposures are sometimes a tad off, +.03 compensation fixes this. rubber tends to peel, as all other nikons. Not many negatives at all.

D2h... bliss. These have been falling off photogs arms at about $1100-$1300 range... get one, or two...

A few pros:

What can I say, this is an amazing machine, it's über-fast. It's simply just right. multicam 2000 trumps all other PRO D bodies, even IMO the canon's. 11 point AF zones is all you need. Everything is simply laid out exactly where it needs to be. Menus, controls, dials, oh dials... love em! And the battery... the best battery system. Battery menu tells you how many frames you have left. iso 200-6400, 4 custom WB presets, Kelvin WB, AWB works pretty well. Full readout in the viewfinder means it's 100% coverage, also have iso readout in the viewfinder too. Weather seals... and resoution: 4.1mpx is not a problem whatsoever. I have a few 24x36's to prove it. It can hold up well with many others out there. The color, clarity is possibly the best I've seen from any nikon, to date. I've used them all except a D2x & D2hs. This is a nikon designed sensor, LBCAST JFET, and I hope it evolves into other future bodies.

A couple cons:

D2h has this wierd thing with exposures, every now and then it underexposes, so I usually use +.03 compesation and it seems to be working fine. The rubber, as with all other pro bodies has a tendency to peel. Especially when shooting in hot environments. The LCD is not the best, color is not the best on it. the size may be a bit big at times, but thats ok.

The D2h and a D2x would be a killer duo, a bit on the lighter side, a D2h and D200... it's an amazing camera that should be around every photogs neck.


Oct 15, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add bellyface to your Buddy List  
billgriffin
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 1, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Review Date: Mar 10, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Professional feel, speed, durability and image quality.
Cons:
None given what this camera is.

I've been using this camera for nearly two years. I also have a D2X (which I use largely for commercial applications). I routinely go back to the D2H for my personal work. I absolutely love it's speed. It's like an F5 in that respect. I think I've only had to wait on the buffer a few times when shooting in RAW. The speed of this camera tells me to shoot like mad and critique later.
The second thing I love about this camera is it's color feel. In my early days I cut my teeth on EPR 64 and processed it myself with sodium hydroxide added for warmth ( kind of an 81b feel ). This camera set at Auto WB resembles that former film / processing feel. I do very little color balance correcting on images shot through this camera.
Thirdly, it's sharp. Generally, I don't need more than 50 % / radius 1 in Unsharp Mask.
Thus far, I have not printed anything larger than 8 x 12 on files through this camera. Those images are sharper than any 35mm film camera I have ever used. I use the Camera Raw upsizing feature in Photoshop instead of step interpolation. My sports shooter friends tell me extreme prints are gorgeous when enlarged via Genuine Fractals.
If you pay close attention to exposure this is probably all the camera anyone would ever need.


Mar 10, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add billgriffin to your Buddy List  
Jeriann3
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 19, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 48
Review Date: Dec 26, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,099.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very rugged design, yet easily handled; Extremely nice image renditions for a 4.1MP camera; Large buffer for continuous shooting, especially nice with RAW; Battery life is superb
Cons:
Had to send mine back for the metering problem, but ever since it's been updated, it's even better than before in AF, WB and image quality.

I bought the D2H to go along with my Fuji S2. I'm primarily an outdoors/nature photographer, however in accordance with my job, to do assignment photography as well to support libraries and subject content. While I loved the S2 for general scenic work, it was just too slow to handle wildlife, especially birds, butterflies and moving creatures! I highly value shooting in RAW mode, and the S2 just didn't keep up with my demands. So I purchased the D2H when the price plummeted, and was pleasantly surprised that I was getting images as good or better as the S2, once I learned to master some of the settings available.

I love the menuing system, the ability to assign banks of settings for various shooting scenarios.... the ease of browsing and setting various parameters, and even a handy FUNCTION button to assign as needed. A HUGE plus too has been the CLS system. I purchased an SB600 with my D2H. Setting the D2H to sync up with the shutter speed is way cool.

As mentioned, my D2H did experience the "dead metering" syndrome, and right when I was due for an autumn color shoot in North Carolina... I had to send it in, and luckily the S2 and my F100 filled the bill for this photo trip. The S2 was fixed and waiting to be picked up at the post office when I returned home, about 7 days later. It's really been performing excellent ever since. Happy shooting!

I have one lens, an older Tokina 80-200 f2.8 that the D2H will not always AF with, sometime will, sometimes won't... perplexing! Since I loved the D2H so well, I've since sold my trusty S2 and am in line to get a D200 to go with ... I think these two excellent Nikon bodies will cover my needs digitally, and along with my Nikon F100 which I just won't part with ... I'll be well equipped.


Dec 26, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Jeriann3 to your Buddy List  
barisaxer
Online
Image Upload: On



Registered: Feb 21, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 484
Review Date: Oct 12, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very good resolution for 4.2 megapix. Fast handling and great prices now a newer model is out. I can print large prints on my Epson 4800 16*22 and am very happy with the results from Raw. From jpeg not as good but not awful at this size either. I do Black and White this size also with good results.
Cons:
For the price I paid none.



Oct 12, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add barisaxer to your Buddy List  
Ruut
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 2, 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 3, 2005 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: good ergonomics ; great batterylife ; good AF ; nice menu structure
Cons:
noisy from 400 ISO ; poor AWB ; bad mixed light icw flash , rubber coating peels off easily

I bought this camera as soon as it came out. Before I used F3īs,F5 and went digital with the D1. I lent a D1H and was overwelmed with its high ISO performance and thought the D2H would succeed. It did not :-(
Images from ISO 400 where very noisy, an ugly pattern of noise hard to correct. Most of the time images where too reddish or using when flash too yellow. However, this could be corrected in PP when you have the time for it. Nikon did agree there was a problem with the yellow cast but denied the noise part. Though I liked the exposure with the SB800 I hated the colours when using flash, especially onder mixed lightconditions.
This camera made me very dissapointed in Nikon so I left and switched to the Canonsystem.


Oct 3, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Ruut to your Buddy List  
jb_va2001
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 12, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: May 18, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Rugged, feature rich, fast focusing, fast FPS. A solid pro-grade DSLR.
Cons:
Noise in under exposed areas over 800 ISO.

A rugged pro-grade DSLR which is loaded with features. Excellent image quality under 800 ISO. 4 mpix may limit some enlargements but it easily handles 8x10 and larger. Excellent battery & ergonomics. High ISO noise an issue for some uses over 800 ISO. Long exposure noise reduction makes this a great choice for night photography and infrared. The SB-800 is an ideal flash for the D2H.

May 18, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jb_va2001 to your Buddy List  
leewoolery
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Feb 27, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1277
Review Date: Apr 23, 2005 Recommend? no | Price paid: $3,199.00 | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: Fast start-up and easy control menus
Cons:
reliability, back focusing, noise

The D2H is the most disappointing professional photographic product that I have ever owned. The first copy had to be sent back to Nikon 3 times because of back-focusing and exposure problems and once because the shutter went out.
Besides the performance issues, picture quality was a problem in all but ideal lighting conditions...noise being the biggest problem.

After the "lemon" law took effect, Nikon finally sent me a brand new, in the box D2H in November of 2004 and I had hoped to sell it and put the money towards a Mark II but then discovered Nikon lowered the price by about $1300.00 so I kept it for awhile. Who would pay me $3200.00 for a brand new D2h when you could get one from a camera dealer for $1995.00.

The replacement camera developed the same back-focus and exposure problems as the first copy after a couple of months so I took it back to my dealer and he said that it would have to go back to Nikon for focus adjustment....again?

Needless to say...I sold the D2H at a $2000.00 loss and became a proud owner of a Mark II.

The D2H did produce alot of nice images but for every good one, there were 5 deleted because of back-focusing or underexposure.

I used an F3 for 20 years and never had a problem with that camera...it took great photos up until I sold it this past winter so the quality control and reliability issues with Nikon was puzzling.

The customer service folks at Nikon were very helpful but they can only do so much when a poorly designed product is hurried to market.

After using the Mark II for a couple of months now, I can see why it has become so popular with sports and action photographers. The images that I am getting now, under any lighting conditions, are so far superior to what came from the D2H that it makes me wonder why I didn't make the switch sooner.







Apr 23, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add leewoolery to your Buddy List  
lxdesign
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 4, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 5850
Review Date: Apr 22, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast AF - Speedy camera to work with. Pro build is excellent. Layout of buttons well thought out. Easy to use camera.
Cons:
none really... some noise issues, but not enough to be a distraction.

Been playing with my D2h for just over a month now, and in that time, I have fallen in love with this camera. I pretty much don't use my D100 anymore, and when I do, only as a backup 2nd body.

I was skeptic about getting this camera for my theatrical photography work, with all the reports about noise at higher ISO. When I shoot at ISO 800, no problems with noise at all. I get a little bit of noise at 1600 - but with a little Noise Ninja, that is quickly resolved. The noise is really not as much of an issue as I thought it would be. I agree with others that the LCD does not do the picture justice, and the results on my computer screen are always far more impressive.

I would definately recommend you get a D2h if you're thinking about it!


Apr 22, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add lxdesign to your Buddy List  
seagrove01
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 16, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 119
Review Date: Dec 28, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,000.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: 8flps, construction,large LCD, fastest shutter release around, extreme battery life, ergonomics, (what everybody else says).
Cons:

Love my D2H! Having never owned an F5, the 8fps is fantastic. The autofocus on the D2 and the ability to select patterns for what I am shooting at the time is great. Tracks extremely well on moving targets. For me and my style of shooting (both business (newspaper) and personal work is pj), I could not ask for a better camera. Sold both a D1 and D1H to buy this camera and would do it again. Would love to rate it as excellent but I always feel there is room for improvement.

Dec 28, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add seagrove01 to your Buddy List  
damandit9999
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 30, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 225
Review Date: Oct 7, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,500.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Superb handling. Lots of superlatives.
Cons:
Learning curve to get the best IQ.

Positives:
-Fast focusing. I mean fast.
-Huge and useful viewfinder.
-Huge and useful LCD screen.
-Small file size, don't hesitate to shoot RAW+JPEG anymore. I use the RAW most of the time, and JPEG when I have my editor breathing down my neck.
-Hand grip as comfortable in landscape as in portrait format, although the vertical AF-On button can be too close, but it's minor.
-Surprisingly light. Weighs about as much as my old setup, Fuji S2 + MB16 grip.
-Battery lasts and lasts. Compared to the S2's AA NiMH solution...haha what a joke.
-iTTL and high-speed FP sync with SB800, I can't find a fault in them. Works as advertised. Again, beats the Fuji S2 by a mile.
-I haven't needed the manual since I got it.

Negatives:
-Condensation from my nose gets under the LCD cover in landscape orientation, regardless of which eye I shoot with. No problem in portrait format. Supposedly less of a problem elsewhere, but here in the Northeast it's somewhat annoying.
-Not as forgiving as my Fuji S2 in terms of underexposure, noise will rear its ugly head even at my comfortable ISO400.
-AWB not as good as I thought. Mixed indoor lighting (tungsten+fluorescent) is rendered puke yellow. I still think the Fuji S2 is better here, just from experience. Perhaps the way I shoot, the external WB sensor on the D2H can be partially blocked by my big flash bracket, so that may be the culprit. Of course, now that I shoot RAW+JPEG it's not that big of a deal anymore; thank god I'm not a quantity shooter, I'd spend all night messing around in front of the computer.
-Lens release button is huge, good for shooting with gloves on. But you can accidentally press it and drop an expensive lens on hard concrete.
-Can use a second memory card slot.
-The sound of 8 FPS can scare little children or anybody not in the NRA.


Oct 7, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add damandit9999 to your Buddy List  

   



Nikon D2Hs

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
26 45616 Mar 17, 2010
Recommended By Average Price
88% of reviewers $4,167.95
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.86
8.50
8.7
D2H


Page:  1 · 2  next