about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 24mm f/2.8

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
67 256955 Jul 31, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
93% of reviewers $271.17
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.78
9.08
8.7
ef24mmf_28_1_

Specifications:
24mm lenses are the entry into ultra-wide angle photography. And this lens is the ideal starting point: it's extremely sharp and offers superior correction of linear distortion, and its f/2.8 aperture makes it easy to use with slow, fine-grain films or in low light. It focuses as close as 10 inches (25cm), and for many photograhers gives the ideal combination of a wide-angle "look" without excessive perspective distortion.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5  next
      
Peter Kirk
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 25, 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 309
Review Date: Feb 17, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: sharp, its light, and compact, not too expensive.
Cons:
No USM., no hood supplied...its an optional extra.

I bought this lens 5 years ago and sold it after a few weeks to go for a zoom...28-70 2.8L.
I just re- purchased it and am keeping this.
Its superb. For the money I paid, the results are outstanding.
At 2.8 this thing is sharp....and I love the out of focus rendering. Nice piece of glass for not so hefty a price.
well done Canon...I couldnt afford the 24 f 1.4, but this will do just nicely.


Feb 17, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Peter Kirk to your Buddy List  
mateo_
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 27, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 688
Review Date: Jan 16, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $275.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Image quality, size, build, price
Cons:
Non-USM AF, little bit soft wide open

I really like this lens. It is quite sharp with excellent color, and while you get a significant boost at f/4, wide open is no slouch either. It is well built, with a metal barrel and lens mount and a securely fitting, well designed lens hood, and is very inconspicuous. The only drawback is the non-USM AF, but it's nowhere near as noticeable as it is on something like the 50mm f/1.8 II. If this lens had USM, it would be near perfect.

I would recommend this lens + a 50mm over a single 2x-70 lens any day. That two small prime kit will teach you loads more photography while matching, perhaps maybe exceeding, that mythical "L" optical quality.


Jan 16, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mateo_ to your Buddy List  
tech058
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 24, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 28
Review Date: Jan 5, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $200.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Small, lightweight, price, good focal length for DSLR 1.3x or 1.6x, 25cm min focus. Non-rotating front allows for perfect hood.
Cons:
A little soft at f/2.8 (not bad though).

I owned this lens for awhile until I traded it for something worse, now I miss it and plan to get another.

I used this lens quite a bit while I had it. Its a decent walk around lens on a DSLR w/1.6x crop. It comes out a little wider than "normal" but has a minimum focus of 25cm so the reproduction size on the image sensor comes out to about 1/8. Its not a macro lens, but as I said for a walk around lens it does a good job if you want to get up-close on something.



Jan 5, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add tech058 to your Buddy List  
Fer1
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 3, 2005
Location: Italy
Posts: 9
Review Date: Jan 3, 2005 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 2 

Pros: Small, light, reasonable AF speed and accuracy, reasonable distortion, very small vignetting.
Cons:
Lack of sharpness, visible CA.

I may have a lemon, but I'm really disappointed with this lens.
I already have a Sima 15-30 and a Tamron 24-135, but I needed a faster lens for concert shooting (I already have a 85/1.8 for tight shots).
I figured this Canon should fit the bill, expecially after having worked with the beautiful 85/1.8.

I was very wrong. This lens gives me worse pictures than my Tamron 24-135 at 24mm at the same aperture. We're talking about a Canon prime vs. a 3rd-party 5.5x zoom!
The edges (1.6 crop here: 10D) are expecially bad.
Focus speed and accuracy is OK, and manual focusing is doable, even if the ring isn't exactly buttery smooth (too short a throw, BTW).
Not quite useful to buy a full-frame prime if you get soft (and fringed) edges up to f/8 on a 1.6 crop DSLR...!

On the plus side, it's small, light, reasonably built, barely visible distortion on 1.6 crop.

I'll ask Canon service to check it... I can't believe it's really meant to perform this way.


Jan 3, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Fer1 to your Buddy List  
phiggys
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 7, 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 25
Review Date: Dec 9, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $299.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Fast, sharp, compact producing razor sharp images great wide angle for group shots,landscapes or general photography.
Cons:
58mm filter thread most of the others 28mm,35mm 50mm 135mm take 52mm filters

Great all round lens I now have just 3 Canon primes this one and the 50mm and 135mm these 3 primes cover 95% of what I need great for available and low light.

Dec 9, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add phiggys to your Buddy List  
Armin
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 5, 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 37
Review Date: Feb 28, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp (crop 1.6), good colors, solid metal barrel....best buy.
Cons:
little CA, no USM

On a 10D, this lense becomes a 38 mm equivalent - a very useful lenght. Good colors, relative sharp and solid - same filter diameter as the 50 1.4 with better overall built quality (metal). No USM, but fast focusing with acceptable noise (in most situations).

Even on a 10D slightly CA, not disturbing and barely visible in prints, but noticeable when inspecting the pix with photoshop.

Second hand lenses are often in a very good condition, and availible around 150-200$, thats what I call a best buy.


Feb 28, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Armin to your Buddy List  
vince
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 18, 2002
Location: China
Posts: 306
Review Date: Feb 2, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $250.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Very sharp, decent build, small, light and compact.
Cons:
None.

This was the first real wide angle lens I bought for my EOS system. Some of the most interesting shots I have were taken using this lens. Its sharpness, contrast and color saturation are excellent. It's nice to have a distance scale and a solid metal lens mount unlike the pathetic 50/1.8-II. This lens needs a hood - I noticed a little flare in some pictures I shot with hotspots in it. The images I've shot using this lens are distortion free. AF is very fast. This is an excellent lens.

Feb 2, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add vince to your Buddy List  
Thomas V
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 27, 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1
Review Date: Jan 27, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $195.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Very sharp at f/4.0-f/8. Little distortion for a WA lens. Internal focusing - fixed front element. Good sealing. Lightweight.
Cons:
Image slightly soft + colours not as bright, when shot wide open. Manual focus ring feels a bit flimsy.

I like this lens. Overall image is very sharp, especially at f/4.0-f/8.0. Colour and contrast is also good at this aperture range.
Wide open, image quality degrades slightly, but is not a major concern as I prefer to shoot with a bigger DOF for WA photos, meaning the lens will be stopped down for most shots.

One thing I particulary like about this lens is that distortion is well controlled. On full-frame shots (without digital crop factor), you get very good-looking perspective shots with very little curvature on the edges. On DSLR with 1.6x crop factor, distortion on edges is further minimised - not only that, the focal length converts to a comfortable 38.4mm which I think is perfect to use as a standard lens.

Overall build quality is fairly good. It has good sealing on the front to minimise any possibilities of dust getting inside - as well as being small and light for walk-around or travel photography. The only downside is the manual focus ring which is a bit flimsy for my liking. Overall, an excellent performer for its price. Paid 38,000 Yen for this lens brand new from a photographic retailer in Japan (roughly 195 GBP) - a very good Quality/Price ratio IMO. Am very satisfied with the results from this purchase.

(lens used with EOS 500 and D60)


Jan 27, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Thomas V to your Buddy List  
trsqr
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 24, 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 38
Review Date: Jan 9, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $279.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: sharp, small, inexpensive, 58mm filter size
Cons:
loud AF motor

There really isn't much negative to say about this lens. The design is rather old, ie. there's that small MF ring, AFD motor and no full time manual focusing possibility.

On the other hand, optically it performs very well even wide open and even better when stopped down. AF is noisy, but rather fast.


Jan 9, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add trsqr to your Buddy List  
Gochugogi
Online
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 25, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 9814
Review Date: Jul 11, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp, small, light & inexpensive
Cons:
More DOF markings needed

My widest prime is the EF 24 2.8. There are a lot of things to like about this lens: small (48.5 mm L), light (270 g), close focusing (25 cm), well corrected for distortion, extremely sharp (Photodo 3.9 MTF), contrasty and very flare resistant. Because it employs a rear focusing group, the front element does not rotate nor does the lens change in length when focusing. This lens would complement a travel kit nicely with its 58 mm filter size and diminutive statue.

Although it uses the Arc Form Drive (AFD), the EF 24 2.8 focuses fast due to its internal focus (IF) design. AFD designs aren't totally silent like USM, but are quieter than the AF motors of most other lens makers. However, this lens and the EF 135 2.8 SF are unusually quiet during AF. Unfortunately, AFD designs lack the FT-M feature of ring-type USM lenses. I don't miss FT-M much on wide angle zooms (telephotos are another story). The EF 24 2.8 uses the EW-60 lens hood, a twist-on cutout design. The manual focusing ring is smooth turning, but not as fine and silky as the manual lenses of yesteryear.

The 24 mm is the widest lens I am able to easily take pictures with full frame formats (wider lenses take in too much). If you like an exaggerated, ultra-close foreground object set against a sharp but distance background, this lens can do it. For maximum depth of focus, switch off AF, dial in F11 to 22, set the hyperfocal distance on the distance window and everything from 2 feet to infinity will be in focus (the distance window has DOF markings for only F11 and 22). If candid street photography is your bag, wade in a crowd and start shooting with AF off and the lens set for maximum hyperfocal distance. With 84 degrees of coverage, you can shoot off-center subjects and they won't realize you took their picture because the camera isn't pointed at them. This is also a great architectural lens due to its virtually distortion free design. All this quality will cost you about $300.


Jul 11, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Gochugogi to your Buddy List  
Ralph Wagner
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 10, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 533
Review Date: May 24, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $240.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Compact, fast, sharp. Not an "L" but neither is the pricel
Cons:
None for what you pay for it.

My first 24mm/2.8 was absconded by a nephew who took it to the middle east - I know I won't get back. My second one I just sold. Didn't want to but in next 2 years I have trips planned that I have to travel as light as possible and conserve room. So I sold most of my primes except the 28mm/2.8, I have plans for that one, and going with a couple of F/4 L zooms and a macro. - RW

May 24, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Ralph Wagner to your Buddy List  
EB-1
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 8, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 22787
Review Date: May 24, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $289.00 | Rating: 6 

Pros: Very good center sharpness even wide open. Good distortion and light falloff properties. Lightweight.
Cons:
Chromatic aberration noticeable on 1Ds. Edges noticeably softer than center. Very noisy AF (non-USM).

I liked this lens a lot with film, but the imperfections are more obvious on the 1Ds. Still, it is a very good lens.

May 24, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add EB-1 to your Buddy List  
hugoso
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 18, 2002
Location: China
Posts: 291
Review Date: May 22, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $200.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp and contrasty optics in compact size.
Cons:
no FTM.

Best price/performance next to the 50/1.8II. Makes a good standard lens on the 1.6X cropped D60/10D.

May 22, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add hugoso to your Buddy List  
Richard N
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 3, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 146
Review Date: May 22, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $360.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Great optically, AF speed is fine for a non-USM lens, standard filter size (58mm).
Cons:
No USM, good construction, but no L standards.

Nothing much to add. I believe that this is a best introduction to wide-angle primes and has been in my bag for almost 6 years.

May 22, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Richard N to your Buddy List  
Jack Flesher
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Oct 23, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 3489
Review Date: Apr 1, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $225.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Very good optical performer for its price.
Cons:
/somewhat flimsy build feeling to it.

For the money, a very good performer. Just don't expect L build quality or USM focus speed.

Apr 1, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews View gallery Add Jack Flesher to your Buddy List  
lexvo
Online
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 13, 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3810
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $329.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: sharp (even wide open)
Cons:

Very nice lens to handle: compact and little weight. It's also very sharp, even wide open at f/2.8. Lens ratings (i.e. photodo) confirm this.


Mar 30, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add lexvo to your Buddy List  




Canon EF 24mm f/2.8

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
67 256955 Jul 31, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
93% of reviewers $271.17
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.78
9.08
8.7
ef24mmf_28_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5  next