about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 24mm f/2.8

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
67 256740 Jul 31, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
93% of reviewers $271.17
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.78
9.08
8.7
ef24mmf_28_1_

Specifications:
24mm lenses are the entry into ultra-wide angle photography. And this lens is the ideal starting point: it's extremely sharp and offers superior correction of linear distortion, and its f/2.8 aperture makes it easy to use with slow, fine-grain films or in low light. It focuses as close as 10 inches (25cm), and for many photograhers gives the ideal combination of a wide-angle "look" without excessive perspective distortion.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5  next
          
Sanderman
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 8, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 16, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very sharp, light, rapid focus
Cons:
Some vignetting and slight softness wide open at the corners on FF but not bad at all

This lens is a gem. I use it primarily outdoors for landscapes. It's so small and light it's almost like not having a lens on the camera. It very slightly beats my 35L (just back from Canon for calibration) for sharpness. Focus is very quick if a little noisy - it makes a brief buzz as it locks in and a small thunk at the ends of travel - but so what? At these prices how can you complain? A little CA in challenging high contast shots but all in all this is a fantastic little lens in absolute quality (not just for the money). If you don't need the low light indoor / small DOF capalilites of the 24 or 35 Ls this is not a significant step down in ultimate image quality. In case you can't tell, I love it. Above comments on a 5D.

Feb 16, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Sanderman to your Buddy List  
AbramG
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jan 30, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 2461
Review Date: Feb 4, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $250.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp , light-weight, well built, decent AF , oh and. sharp. corner to corner. enough said.
Cons:
Light weight ( i know.. i just like heavier lenses :) ), a better MF ring would be nice, like the one on the 50 1.4 even, and MAYBE ( this is being picky here ) an f/2 aperture?, and USM would be nice of course.

I was in the market for a good workhorse wide prime, and a good friend recommended i look at this particular little gem over the 24 L ( which i was craving ) . and man am i glad he did! The colors are fantastic on this little lens, and when you shoot b/w. simply stunning. its, light-weight, easy to carry in a bag, and does everything i want it to do.

After all the tests i did with it, it has yet to let me down, its completely sharp, has very good corner to corner sharpness, contrast is pretty good ( but not amazing ), but overall, its fantastic as a good user lens, and i would recommend it to anybody with a full frame body. ( i never really tried it on a 1.6x ( guess i should while my 10D is still in my posession )


bottom line:

if you need a solid wide angle prime lens, and dont really want to spend oodles of dollars, have a look at this lens. i seriously doubt youd find a better buy.


Feb 4, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add AbramG to your Buddy List  
digiman69
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 20, 2005
Location: Italy
Posts: 4
Review Date: Jan 9, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very sharp, 2.8 aperture usable, small and lightweight, excellent resolution even at borders. Nice mid wide angle prime on Canon 1.3 crop series.
Cons:
Flare (you must have to use the lens shade), vignetting, noisy focusing.

Forget the fast USM autofocus, but who cares on a wideangle prime? The problem is much more on the noisy motor.
Use the lense hood and try to control flare, vignetting is gone at f4. I'd like to see a wider manual focus ring on it.
All the people with a Canon 1.3 crop camera should give this lens a try. I'm very happy with it, this is a very sharp lens and with better resolution at corners at all aperture respect to the much more expensive 24 1.4L (I tried 2 copies).
For the price is a bargain!


Jan 9, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add digiman69 to your Buddy List  
ilind
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 11, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Review Date: Dec 28, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $280.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp images, good color, small and unobtrusive, relatively inexpensive.
Cons:
A few instances of missed focus.

The 24mm joins the 50mm f/1.4 and 85mm f/1.8 in my Digital Rebel XT bag.

After a week of use in a variety of settings, I'm very pleased with this lens. I was worried that it wouldn't be wide enough for use as an everyday lens, but it fills that niche just fine and yields good images.

I've posted some sample images and a few additional comments at:
http://ilind.net/reviews/24mmsamples/


Dec 28, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add ilind to your Buddy List  
Tom Lisciandra
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 25, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Review Date: Nov 22, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Light, sharp, cheap.
Cons:
Hunts in low light.



Nov 22, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Tom Lisciandra to your Buddy List  
sylphe
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 2, 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 22
Review Date: Nov 20, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $250.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very sharp lense, Excellent construction, light, small, CHEAP second hand!!! Excellent standart lense on 1.6X DSLR but even more fun to use on FF
Cons:
Noisy AF and no FTM, some flare... but I realy complain for nothing

In term of optical and construction quality, this lense is realy great. I bought mine on ebay and the lense date code say it was made in 1988 (the year it was introduced). The construction is still dense and tight like a brick, in part with my best L lenses. Its nicely sharp at 2.8, a tad better than my 17-40 at f4. It get realy good from f4 to f11.

I use de 17-40L more often on my 20d just because of the range on 1.6x DSLR, but my little 24 2.8 will regain its supremacy when I'll be able to buy a FF DSLR body. Highly recommended!


Nov 20, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add sylphe to your Buddy List  
samk2
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 5, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: Sep 5, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $150.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Ideal focal length for general use on a DSLR, and sharp even wide open. Nice build quality.
Cons:
For what it does, it's a bit large and heavy on a DSLR, as it was designed for FF use. Focussing is not as precise as I would like with Digital Rebel XT/ 350D.

With the crop factor on a 1.6x DSLR, this becomes the equivalent of 38mm, which is a very good general purpose focal length. It is quite sharp even wide open at f/2.8, giving it an advantage over most zoom lenses for low-light use.

Autofocus accuracy leaves something to be desired with the Rebel XT as far as middle distances are concerned, as it is prone to focussing errors in the 8 to 15 foot range, where it has only a very small amount of focus travel. (The errors are relatively small -- they are noticeable wide open, when there is not much depth of field, but not when stopped down.) At first I thought it might be my own copy (purchased used), but I tried a brand new one in a store and it was the same. It seems to work better with the focus sensor of the 20D.


Sep 5, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add samk2 to your Buddy List  
Heechee
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 19, 2004
Location: Finland
Posts: 383
Review Date: Aug 26, 2005 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: Small, nice focal length
Cons:
Soft at all apertures

I may have had a bad copy, but sharpness was clearly below 17-40L at 24mm f4, for all apertures of the 24mm 2.8 lens. And no, it wasn't misfocusing. The lens has very nice size on 20D.


Aug 26, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Heechee to your Buddy List  
m3elmo
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 16, 2005
Location: United Arab Emirates
Posts: 0
Review Date: Aug 20, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $150.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Bang for the buck value, sharp at 2.8, sharper when stopped down. Lightweight
Cons:
noisy autofocus, AF even hunts a bit in low light

Compared to the 50mm 1.4, this lens is not as sharp, but it's a good companion. The optical quality between the two is very close. The AF hunts a bit in low light, but it's fairly quick in better lighting. The AF is also on the noisy side. I can't really say it's worth $300. Compared to the 50mm 1.4, that is a much better value. mainly because it has FTM, and USM. Overall the 24mm F2.8 is very good lens, very sharp, and a better value than it's "L" counterpart.

Aug 20, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add m3elmo to your Buddy List  
ToxicBug
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 17, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 36
Review Date: Jul 30, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $220.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very sharp, great optical quality, small, common 58mm filter, 38mm on a 20D (1.6x crop).
Cons:
The autofocus is a bit noisy, but acceptable.

I like this lens a lot since it makes a perfect general-use prime for a digital camera since it becomes a 38mm on a 20D and I like this focal length a lot. It has a nice focusing ring, takes 58mm filters so I can use the same filter on different lenses, it also has a metal rear mount. The build quality is great and its a very solid lens. It is inexpensive for what the image quality it offers.

Jul 30, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ToxicBug to your Buddy List  
jazzy17
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 3, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 102
Review Date: Jun 21, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Small, light, cheap, relatively fast and easy to use.
Cons:
None for the price.

Bought this one second hand (nearly new) with a hood.

Unless you need a quality picture straight out of the camera with minimal post processing and don't rely on photography as your only income, I don't see the need for the 24L. For sure, this lens does not give the same quality of picture but that is what software is for. The pictures straight from the camera (20D in my case) have been more than satisfactory and only required minimal standard adjustments. I use this lens for documentary style shooting and even a family portrait shot in tight spaces. I have been really happy with the results. Even brand new this lens is worth the money at about 1/3 of the L lens price.


Jun 21, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jazzy17 to your Buddy List  
justThorne
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 6, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 26
Review Date: May 14, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $290.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: very useful and good sprawl on 1.6x crop, "quick enough" focus, "sharp enough" wide open, sensational color and impressive contrast, good value, surprisingly useful for model photography (as described below)
Cons:
cheap, marginal by exacting standards, somewhat softish wide open, minor CA and vignetting, no USM or FTM, slightly buzzy, don't take the crop factor for granted (as explained below)

This is a cheap lens that can prove terribly useful for those on a budget.

I learned about "cheap" with this lens - broke the focus ring the day after delivery. But I blame myself too, and the replacement's given me no trouble, though I think my first one was a bit sharper than the second.

By many standards, this lens will match or exceed zoom lens of comparable price (as a prime lens should). It's a little buzzy, but the main time you'll notice is when the autofocus loses its bearing and suddenly lurches way off target. Mostly, it focuses quickly enough and well. Some chromatic aberration in worst-case scenarios, but nothing awful or unexpected. Vignetting, even on a 1.6x crop, can be noticeable, mainly in sky shots, but gradual rather than sudden. (Might be unacceptably worse on a full-frame camera.) Undue distortion seems minimal - haven't really checked but also haven't really noticed, if you see what I mean. Flare seems average, perhaps better than one would expect from such wide glass. Bokeh is nonchalant, not dreamy but never intrusive.

But at the price, the positives make up for the negative and "average" tendencies. It's vibrantly colorful and contrasty almost to a fault. Hard light is a little more challenging with this lens. It's softish wide-open, but very unobjectionably - have yet to regret shooting at f/2.8. My main lens is a 50mm f/1.4, and switching back and forth on the same aperture setting is perfectly functional in practice. Lose a little crisp for taking in four times as much space, and that's a trade-off I can run with. (Their filter threads match too.) At f/4 and higher, I get "plenty sharp," though I've never seen "unreal sharp" from this glass (as I have from the 50mm).

"Crop factor" over-simplifies the effect of mounting a wide-angle lens on a 1.6x camera. Yes, the field of view will match 40mm on a full-frame, but the perspective will not, because you'll be closer to your subjects. Shooting living subjects (like bands, models, or street life) will require a learning curve, so beware mission critical work before you've broken yourself in.

That said, I bought this lens primarily for "head-to-toe" model shooting in my modest studio, and it's been a real asset. Interestingly, it tends toward a very useful "slimming effect" that makes hippy girls look more slender and shorter girls more ambiguous in height (at least at the "head-to-toe" distance from them). Disconcerting at first but terribly useful once you've gotten the hang of it. (Beware chicken legs or the reverse from dramatic perspectives.)

I read every review I could find before purchase, and this lens seemed to be a magic middle between the higher cost clarity of the 20mm and the cheaper lesser sharpness of the 28mm. Near as I can tell, I nailed it. This is not a spectacular lens, but a very very functional one if you need an affordable wider angle that generally won't let you down.


May 14, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add justThorne to your Buddy List  
Michael-M
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Apr 21, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 2698
Review Date: Apr 2, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: excellent lens..........sharp
Cons:
none

not much to say other than it's a nice lens

Apr 2, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Michael-M to your Buddy List  
jimyd
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 23, 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 7
Review Date: Mar 23, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: resist flare very well..and sharp.
Cons:
plasticky feel..no usm

nice peice of glass for a cheap price


Mar 23, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jimyd to your Buddy List  
jabog6
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 11, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 294
Review Date: Mar 21, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $230.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Size, weight, flare resistance, sharpness and contrast.
Cons:
Loud-ish AF, cheap feeling focus ring.

I really like the feel and the perspective of this lens with a 20D. I often prefer this as a walk-around lens instead of the kit lens. It has similar sharpness, but much better contrast and flare resistance.
I also appreciate the light weight and discrete size.
All in all, a very nice little lens, capable of producing good images, and a pleasure to walk around with.
The only significant negative is the cheap-feeling focus ring. I wish it was smoother.


Mar 21, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add jabog6 to your Buddy List  
Kirk77
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 5, 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 4
Review Date: Feb 17, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp and Cheap. Small in Physical size.
Cons:
none...you get what you pay for.

Top buy....

Feb 17, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Kirk77 to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 24mm f/2.8

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
67 256740 Jul 31, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
93% of reviewers $271.17
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.78
9.08
8.7
ef24mmf_28_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5  next