about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 28-105 F/3.5-4.5 II USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
118 314478 Sep 26, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
89% of reviewers $214.26
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.31
9.02
8.3
ef_28-105_35

Specifications:
Canon's mid-range 28-105 f/3.5-4.5 features ultrasonic ring focus motor, inner focus, rotating zoom (non-turning front element), and full time manual focus. 15 elements in 12 groups. 2.8 X 3 inches (72 X 75 mm), 375 grams. 58 mm filter.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8  next
          
Vishal
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 3, 2008
Location: India
Posts: 30
Review Date: Jul 3, 2008 Recommend? | Price paid: $219.95

 
Pros: Sharp throughout its focal length spectrum, lightweight, fast, extra-ordinary image quality & economical both in terms of size & price.
Cons:
None encountered yet.

To add another dimension to my previous review of this lens (which was within 2 months of my purchase), this is a bit more thorough & detailed evaluation of the lens.

Its so damn good in the day time that i started doing nights with it & the results are Spectacular !! to say the least -
Here are some rippers shot with this lens in Dawn/Dusk Lighting & at Night. (Below every photo you will also get an option to look-up the EXIF data, right at the bottom of the page).

Obviously during low light conditions you would need a steady hand and a slight increase in ISO (for hand-held shooting upto an extent) whereas for stationary subjects choose the lowest possible ISO & let the lens pass over some fine fodder for the camera to cook & turn into a work of art Smile

The details this lens encompasses & its lightning fast speed (silent too) are just a joy to play with.

Give it a bit of light & it will sink its teeth right into it to produce some extraordinary images.

It goes without saying that its my favorite lens & i'm certainly not parting with it anytime soon.

Cheers - Vishal


Jul 3, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Vishal to your Buddy List  
markarce
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 5, 2008
Location: Philippines
Posts: 478
Review Date: May 7, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $190.47 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: i have a very sharp copy that also produce very good colors.
Cons:
the barrel that extends seemed to be loose whether zoomed in or out. it scares me to put the hood on and off. this is not really a big deal since after months of use, it's still as intact as when i got it. if you have a filter mounted, the zoom creeps but not entirely.

never regretted getting this. after months of L zoom exposure, when i mount this onto my camera, it still excites me to see the pictures. i could only imagine what the japanese version produces.



May 7, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add markarce to your Buddy List  
scissorlock
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 5, 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: May 5, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great general purpose lens. It has a good (but not great) zoom range, very good colors and contrast, fast and accurate USM with FTM.
Cons:
The telescoping soom sucks in dust, especially behind the front element itself. I have no idea if it's possible to clean it at this point.... Also, I find this lens a bit soft. Of course, I'm spoiled by my razor-sharp 50mm f/1.8 (nifty-fifty) lens, but it's still a bit soft for me at any f-stop. This lens definitely has it's own "character", which may or may not be to your liking.

I was originally torn between this model and the 28-135mm IS lens, but I ultimately couldn't justify spending an extra $300 for the IS feature and an extra 25mm of zoom. Although the zoom range feels a bit odd - not quite wide enough on the short end, and not quite tight enough on the long end - I still feel it was the right choice.

As long as you're not expecting sharp, super-zoom, silky-bokeh results from it, I think you'll be satisfied.


May 5, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add scissorlock to your Buddy List  
Henry Enriquez
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 31, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Apr 11, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $230.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Durability/build, AF, very quiet, bang for the buck
Cons:
Zoom creep

My walk-around lens...on my XTi 90% of the time. The build quality is great...certainly much better than any of the other lenses I have. My only real annoyance is the zoom creep, which really only occurs at steep angles, but not bad enough to dissuade anyone from getting this piece of glass.

Apr 11, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Henry Enriquez to your Buddy List  
graemeak
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 30, 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 313
Review Date: Mar 30, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Super fast AF, durable lens, good image quality, decent zoom range for every day use.
Cons:
Not really a complaint, but the focussing ring isn't the best of quality, it works well, just doesn't feel extremely strong.

This lens is definately a good lens, even though its widest angle is 28mm, which isn't too good on a cropped 1.6x sensor. Its not too soft at f3.5 and the focussing speed is great. It does hunt a little bit in bad lighting conditions, but it usually finds what it wants to focus on fast enough.

Good lens, which I recommend for every day use.


Mar 30, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add graemeak to your Buddy List  
JetwashImages
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 24, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 40
Review Date: Mar 28, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $229.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Quick AF, build quality, price, sharpness
Cons:
Lens hood not included

I am quite satisfied with the quality that this lens produces. My copy is sharp through the range. The build quality is decent. The only downfall is that you have to purchase the lens hood separately. I used this lens for roughly a year before upgrading to the 24-105mm F/4 L IS. Overall this lens is a great value and I highly recommend it based on the quality for price factor.

Sample photos taken with this lens:

http://www.airliners.net/photo/North-American-T-28C/1333357/L/

http://www.airliners.net/photo/USA---Navy/Boeing-F-A-18E-Super/1311039/L/




Mar 28, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add JetwashImages to your Buddy List  
James Roberts
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 25, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 15
Review Date: Mar 16, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Value, Sharpness, Build Quality, Focal Ranges, Can't go Wrong!
Cons:
Focus Ring is small, would of been better if it had a fixed apperture.

This lens is great replacement for the standard 18-55mm kit lens and for an extra £80 you get so much more in every way. It feels like a solid lens and grips well, the variable apperture is a pain but liveable.

Mar 16, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add James Roberts to your Buddy List  
Vishal
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 3, 2008
Location: India
Posts: 30
Review Date: Feb 26, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $219.95 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Its Tiny, Lightweight, Economically Priced, Silent & Very Smooth Zoom, Very Crisp Picture Quality both in terms of Colours & Sharpness.
Cons:
none

I basically bought this lens to shoot airplanes, and i must say i'm in Love Wink Wink
Let the picture do all the talking : http://www.jetphotos.net/viewphoto.php?id=6182166&nseq=3
(shot at 97mm & produced one of my best shots yet)
You can check its EXIF Data below the photo

Thats just one example, you give the lens a little light to work with & its a lens like no other.

I've been fortunate to've also used the 24-105L & i notice almost no difference whatsoever.

Its quite reasonably priced & a sure value for money product.

You can checkout more photos shot through this baby here - http://www.jetphotos.net/showphotos.php?userid=30826

Cheers - Vishal Jolapara.


Feb 26, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Vishal to your Buddy List  
avi monin
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 14, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 351
Review Date: Dec 11, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $150.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Its well priced
Cons:
none

I think the lens is very good quality for the price, yes there are much better lenses out there, but you will also pay more, I think for the money that I payed I got a good lens and it also has USM and the feet/meteres window. I had it more than 2 years, and the only reason I would replace it is if I get something faster, otherwise its here to stay.

Dec 11, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add avi monin to your Buddy List  
michael49
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jun 9, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5480
Review Date: Sep 27, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: USM, colors
Cons:
Very dissapointing sharpness, minimum focus distance, not wide enough on crop sensor.

I purchased this lens after reading so many glowing reviews about it.

I was very dissapointed by the sharpness. My kit lens was sharper, much sharper!!

Here's the proof: both lens wide open, tripod mounted, MLU, no PP, 100% crop.....

28-105 at 50mm f/4.0
[url=http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1061/1449619821_07434edd50.jpg]

Kit lens at 50mm f/5.6
[url=http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1319/1450476084_340e50e72c.jpg]

Two other things that annoyed me about this lens: poor minimum focus distance and not nearly wide enough on a crop sensor for a "walk-around" lens, at least for me.


Sep 27, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add michael49 to your Buddy List  
Sam White
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 29, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Sep 12, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $150.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent IQ for the price. Small and lightweight. Good build. Quiet and accurate focussing. No zoom creep.
Cons:
CA clearly visible wide open, especially at the wide end.

Decent build quality for a consumer lens and a worthy poor-man's alternative to the 24-105mm. An excellent travel lens for a 5D (or even for a crop body if you can live with the relatively narrow field of view at the wide end).

Images are, as expected, slightly soft at f/3.5 at the wide end, particularly around the edges, but the lens sharpens up well enough by f/5.6. The longer end however is relatively sharp even wide open, and doesn't seem to benefit as much from stopping down. The USM focussing is quiet and accurate. Suffers a bit from CA but so do most lenses wide open.

It obviously doesn’t match the 24-70 or 24-105 in terms of colour and contrast but for the times you need a small and compact lightweight 'standard' zoom you could do a lot worse than the 28-105mm.


Sep 12, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Sam White to your Buddy List  
anthonygh
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 8, 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1855
Review Date: Aug 21, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: A very versatile lens and real value for money.
Cons:
None for the price.

I can confidently use this lens at weddings etc as it gives superb results without fail. I confess to using a flash set-up that sticks within the f5.6 -f8 range and so it is probably within the optimum range for resolution but...this lens is real time USM, spot on focussing, very very sharp with great colours. and although not L build quality it seems to be robust enough for 'normal' use! Also reasonably light and compact, but still nice to handle. On a 10D I find it has a very useable zoom range at functions, and it produces a lot of saleable images.

PS...how does one start a review for a new lens? I own the 35-135, bought new many years ago, and it's still one of my favourite lenses...I'd like to know what others think. Suggestions anyone?


Aug 21, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add anthonygh to your Buddy List  
aero145
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 1, 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 333
Review Date: Jul 29, 2007 Recommend? no | Price paid: $450.00 | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: Light - Cheap - No lens creep as people complain about - Smooth zooming - Fastest focus I've seen on a Canon lens!
Cons:
It backfocuses on my 20D!

Paid little for this one, but it backfocuses and is just not a good lens. If you can get a good one it might be alright, but my example sucks. Going to try to afford a 24-70 f/2.8L and put this one to my "retired stock".

You gotta buy this one from a shop and you have to be able to test out its focus. And oh, the quality sucks all the way to stopped don't f/9.


Jul 29, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add aero145 to your Buddy List  
Joshua June
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 14, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Review Date: Jul 21, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $170.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Price, Quality, Decent IQ, Reach, Color quality, Sharpness, USM
Cons:
Sometimes convinces itself into a blurry image, lower and upper ranges do distort or fuzz a tad... however stopping down always fixes the problem

I think I'm going to own every canon lens by the time I turn my Xti in for a full professional model... Anyway this lens does wonders as a walk around or adventure lens when you cannot lug a lot of equipment with you. (I had mine in a zip lock bag in a Tupperware container to go khiaking.) The range is excellent the colors and DOP wonderful and with RAW images tweaking is simple and the results vibrant. Now to compare it to other bargain (50-350$) lenses:

Tamron 28-80 f3.5-5.6 - The canon kicked the crap out of this little guy, color, sharpness, "sound", Range, everything (the Tamron was only 50$ so I cannot complain)

Canon 50mm f1.8 Prime, MkI - This is an unfair comparison the 50mm is just so damned sharp and contrasty, although I had more AF issues with the prime compared to the Canon 28-105, and the AF was slower on the Prime then the 28-105. All the other aspects where superior slightly with the 50mm.

Tokina 28-70 F2.8-4.5 macro - Think the wider aperture would help this lens? Nope, grainy, noisy, slow, and flat comparatively to the canon only the Macro is superior, which is the only function of the Tokina in my bag.

Nikon AFS Nikkor - 18-135 mm F3.5-5.6g - This was actually on a friends camera but apparently it cost 400$ or so, however the lens had no bite, constantly blurry, no color rendition, and was bulky as all get out.

In other words this lens is worth the money, new or used. Get a lens hood though cause It does flare on the occasion. Buy it.



Jul 21, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Joshua June to your Buddy List  
Mike Ganz
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Sep 5, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1966
Review Date: May 9, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $229.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Best bang for the buck as far as image quality goes. Great performance from a nice little package.
Cons:
Zoom action feels a bit 'jumpy', but this may improve with time.

I bought this lens new, primarily as a walkaround lens for my EOS Elan 7e. Rather than load up some film, I tried the lens on my 30D. All of my test images were very sharp and crisp, from close-up to distance shots. The test images were shot in RAW and needed very little PP. To be honest, I was pretty much surprised at how well this lens performed, even compared to my 24-105L. This is an awesome little lens, and I would highly recommend it.

May 9, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Mike Ganz to your Buddy List  
Pablo Vicente
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 24, 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 160
Review Date: May 2, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: best price/quality balance found in a lens so far, fast and silent focus, not heavy, very useful, actually it is the lens I would recommend to start with, nice range, lots of options, good quality
Cons:
hood should be included as standard, watch out with the sealing, soft wide open but not that much of an issue unless you print musea art all the time

Having used this lens for years with no problems and a lot of portfolios prints, I find it to be of the best /price/quality balance to be found in the ef line, giving you a good range for lots of options.

Switched to L-glass in the meanwhile, but keeping this lens as a backup or a replacement for risky shoots


greetings,


Pablo

www.pablovicente.com
www.digitalpixels.net


May 2, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Pablo Vicente to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 28-105 F/3.5-4.5 II USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
118 314478 Sep 26, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
89% of reviewers $214.26
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.31
9.02
8.3
ef_28-105_35


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8  next