about | support
home
 

Search Used

Sigma 12-24mm f4.5-5.6 EX DG Aspherical HSM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
104 288791 Jan 15, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
94% of reviewers $632.87
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.88
8.79
8.7
l3a_copy

Specifications:
The large angle of view (122 degrees super wide angle of view at 12mm along the diagonal axis) is ideal for shootings indoor as well as landscape photography. It has a variable angle of view from 122 degrees at 84.1 degrees. Four Special Low Dispersion (SLD) glass elements are provided for effective compensation of color aberration, which is a common problem with super-wide angle lenses. Two pieces of Glass Mold and one-piece hybrid aspherical lenses offer excellent correction for distortion as well as all types of aberration. By effective arrangement of lens elements and advanced technology this lens has Super Compact dimensions of 3.9 inches full-length, and 3.4 inches maximum diameter.

It is equipped with Inner focusing system that will keep the length of the lens unchanged while controlling aberration. The models, which are equipped with HSM (Hyper Sonic Motor, available for Sigma, Canon and Nikon camera mount lens) system offer Full Time Manual Focusing. It has a minimum focusing distance of 11 inches (28cm) at all focal lengths. This lens is equipped with an integral Petal-type hood to block out extraneous light.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7  next
          
contaxs
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 10, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Review Date: Jan 12, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $650.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Half of this lens is great. Very sharp for the money. Very little distortion. The right side of my images are terrific.
Cons:
The left half of my images are soft. I returned my first copy to Samy's (with some grumbling on their part) and the second was just the same. Good on the right, bad on the left.

It sure would be nice if Sigma had just made a good 12mm prime and let it go at that. For anything beyond 12mm I use my 17-40L. And it's too bad Canon doesn't offer a really good 20mm prime.

Jan 12, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add contaxs to your Buddy List  
JLeber
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 14, 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 1
Review Date: Dec 14, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $699.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Ultra Wide Angle for Crop or Full size Cameras, barely no Distortion, built very solid, HSM, sharp, nice Contrast
Cons:
Vignetting when Hood is attached @ 18+ mm, Rear filter Design - Front Filter only 82mm (expensive!) with lens hood (vignetting >18mm)

When you're using a crop Camera (in my case a 20D) a 24-70 lens is no langer wide angle, so I had the choice of 17-40L, EF-S 10-22 and the Sigma 12-24.
The 17-40L would have given me just 7mm over my 24-70L. The 10-22 is EF-S so I would'nt be able to use it with a full size SLR or DSLR.
I've had a Sigma Lens before (24-70 2.8 DF DG) and it was not what you would call a perfect Experience: Soft @2.8, Slow AF.
F4.5-5.6 is not the real deal (f4.5 only available @12mm), but the lens is quite nice. IMO the Filter Design is pure Crap and the only Reason for the 4/5, otherwise it would have been 5/5


Dec 14, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add JLeber to your Buddy List  
MichaD
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 29, 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 407
Review Date: Nov 30, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $730.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: WIDE WIDE WIDE, lack of distortion
Cons:
only rear mount filters, flare (but what ultra wide doesn't?)

If you need to go wide on a 10D this is basically your only option. I don't mind the slow aperture at these focal lengths. Need to watch out for flare a bit as usual for ultra wides but it's well controlled. AF is decent but sometimes misses the point. Amazing low distortion. Rest of image quality is good although not spectacular. Does it really need to be a zoom? A prime might have been cheaper or better quality.

Nov 30, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add MichaD to your Buddy List  
Fundy
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 18, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 820
Review Date: Oct 30, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Wide baby. Pretty dang sharp. Super rectalinear. No bowing here.
Cons:
Bulbous and slow aperture, constant f/4 would be better

Mine seems to be a good sample. It looks like there is some variation, test your lens before you buy it, or be able to return it if it sucks.

Oct 30, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Fundy to your Buddy List  
Bruford
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 21, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 88
Review Date: Oct 28, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: This is a great lens!! Works great with my 10D's 1.6 X factor. Sharp and clear. Nice finish on lens and the build quality is great. Well worth the $$
Cons:
Can not mount filter to lens. Other than that no problem.

I highly recomend this lens. It is a great value!!

Oct 28, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Bruford to your Buddy List  
Lunatique
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 10, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 931
Review Date: Oct 24, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: It sure is wide! Feels quite sturdy.
Cons:
Stupid rear filter design. All my other lenses are sharper.

If you want wide, this will give you wide. In fact, for those that shoot the Canon 1 series, your only choice for ultrawide zoom is this one. I don't use this lens very often, because it's rare for me to need to shoot that wide, but when I need to get an entire room into a shot, or need anything wider than the 28mm end of my Tamron 28-75 DI, my only choice is this Sigma.

The build is quite sturdy. No complaints there.

The image quality is middle of the road--nothing to write home to mom about, but not a dog either. The distortion isn't bad at all, unless you have people at the edge of your shot--then you'll notice the horizontal stretch--but that's just how ultrawide lenses are--you can't get around it.


Oct 24, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Lunatique to your Buddy List  
brn68
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 17, 2004
Location: Austria
Posts: 25
Review Date: Oct 7, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $650.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: feels good, solidly built, very reliable. distortion negligible. sharp. good contrast.
Cons:
front lens is very sensitive to dust.

sharper than anything i know in this wide angle range.
wait - i don't really now anything comparable to this lens. a few years ago this lens would have been beyond dreams.
it's a little heavy, but gives the 10D w/ BiG ED3 a nice balance.

the front lens is very sensitive to dust. can be a problem you not only buy it for looking at it (which is very nice though), but take it with you to the nasty world outside. well, be a little careful and this lovely lens will definitely broaden your artistic spectrum.

this lens is worth every cent - and every ounce: as my 100-400L, i bought this lens by weight: every gram a euro Smile

have fun,
bernhard peball


Oct 7, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add brn68 to your Buddy List  
SouthFla
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 15, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 697
Review Date: Sep 23, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Well built, not too heavy, sharp, WIDE, great on a MKII!
Cons:
None, yet!

I couldn't be happier with this lens. I like this lens so much that this is actually the only time I have wanted to post a review. Perhaps I just got lucky with a "good" copy, but regardless this lens is wonderful.

I made an even trade for the lens with my 17-40L, so I was a little concerned if I had made a mistake. But after two days of shooting with it, I couldn't be more pleased.

Shooting on a 1dMKII, there is virtually no barrel distortion, the lens is sharp throughtout the range and frame, the CA is virtually non-exsitent. I really love doing landscape work, and I already can't imagine how I lived so long without it.

It was tuff giving up the "L" glass, but I'd do it again in a flash. The Sigma now perfectly compliments my 24-70L, 70-200ISL, and 100-400L.


Sep 23, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add SouthFla to your Buddy List  
njezzo
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 16, 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 23
Review Date: Sep 22, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Wild 12mm, Great Contrast, Photoshop USM Friendly, and it's HSM
Cons:
No Filter..barrel distortion

I've been having this lens since last May and am still in love with it.
I reckon this is a must have lens for any landscape photographer outhere.

Photos taken with this lens recently:
- Wreck Beach: http://www.gallery1905.com/details.php?image_id=407
- Grotto: http://www.gallery1905.com/details.php?image_id=408

So Sad......, but I have to sell this lens: http://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/topic/141327


Sep 22, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add njezzo to your Buddy List  
eeprete
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 4, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 3733
Review Date: Sep 19, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $650.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Wide angle that will work with 1.6, 1.3 and FF bodies; Excellent Sigma glass
Cons:
Gel filters; 82mm filter size; big; sharpness on some copies; Distortion when not parrallel to the ground (as with any WA).

All in all an excellent lens if you need a real wide angle on a full frame, or just a wide lens on the 1.6 crop factor bodies. However, if you don't fully need that 12mm, the 17-40 4L is a much better and more consistent lens for the money.

Sep 19, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add eeprete to your Buddy List  
Unregistered
Offline
Location: United States
Review Date: Aug 27, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The only real wide angle lens for a dslr.Very sharp,perfect for landscapes.Balances well on 10D.Looks and handles great. Distortion is hardly noticable.
Cons:
Awkward to use filters,but can be overcome.

A perfect lens for landscapes and general photography.
Stays on my 10D 90% of the time.
82mm polariser can be rested in the petal hood with care,no problems from 16mm upwards.
Well done Sigma,a truley remarkable lens.


Aug 27, 2004
Edit/Delete Message
chechuprisma
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 5, 2004
Location: Spain
Posts: 2
Review Date: Aug 18, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $672.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: contrast, sharpness, high focusing speed
Cons:
weight, canīt add front filter in you donīt make an attachement

It is a really fantastic zoom. I use it at architectuauarl and lifestyle pics and is amazing. If you use it on 1.6x crop dslr, you can put the black ring on the petal hood without vignetting.

Aug 18, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add chechuprisma to your Buddy List  
RikWriter
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 22, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 2501
Review Date: Jul 25, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $700.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Incredible wide angle, great sharpness in good light, good durability.
Cons:
No way to use a screw-on filter, shadows with built-in flash.

I was considering this product and the Canon 17-40L and tried them both beforehand, but I simply didn't notice any sharpness difference in the sample pics and the difference in the field of view between 12 and 17mm was dramatic. This lens is perfect for landscapes, which is what I bought it for, and is wonderfully sharp, especially in good lighting.

Jul 25, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add RikWriter to your Buddy List  
Unregistered
Offline
Location: United States
Review Date: Jun 27, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Superb for indoors and architectural shots Excellent build quality Very sharp considering how wide it is and the price Can be used on digital or 35mm
Cons:
Fairly heavy (but compact - length wise) Inability to use front filters

I am very impressed with this lens. I bought it as the equivalent to my 19-35mm on 35mm, to use with my Canon EOS300D. It easily out performs my previous 19-35mm lens, a Tokina, but of course at 2.5 times the price, it should!

Well, I am very pleased with the Sigma. It is amazing on 35mm, but for goodness sake be careful if you fake shots in portait as tilting it down only slightly includes your toes!!!!

Yes, others have said about lack of crispness around the edges, but come on folks, get real! This is a Ģ500 lens that we are talking about and it is extremely wide. It does the job extremely well in my opinion and if you want something that is super sharp at this focal length, then expect to pay a few thousand pounds, not 500...........


Jun 27, 2004
Edit/Delete Message
Mirdita Havlar
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 18, 2004
Location: Russia
Posts: 1
Review Date: Jun 18, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $645.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: The widest lens for Canon ever made.Thanks Sigma! Pretty fast AF, not too heavy. Surprisingly small distortion.
Cons:
Front element moves when zooming. No front filter mount (gelatine only). Acceptable sharpness only at f11 and up.

Giving you 12mm-wide focus it is practically a prime with nice and solid look and feel. Despite of some cons I regard it as a must heave lens to accompany any digital SLR.

Jun 18, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Mirdita Havlar to your Buddy List  
Henri
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 25, 2004
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1
Review Date: May 25, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Widest angles available, good to excellent optical quality and very low distortion for this kind of wide-angle-zoom
Cons:
Huge bulky construction, filter-system tricky

I have excellent results with the new Kodak DCS Pro SLR/n. Every wide-angle-construction of this type needs to be stopped down to at least f8-11 for critical works. Great lens for landscape, architecture and nature.
If used on D1x (or similiar) great wide-angle-value, equivalent to Nikon 12-24 at lower price.


May 25, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Henri to your Buddy List  

   



Sigma 12-24mm f4.5-5.6 EX DG Aspherical HSM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
104 288791 Jan 15, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
94% of reviewers $632.87
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.88
8.79
8.7
l3a_copy

supersize


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7  next